First night out with Samyang 14mm 2.8

Started Oct 3, 2013 | Photos
oivindu New Member • Posts: 19
First night out with Samyang 14mm 2.8

I finally got the time to get out and try my new Samyang 14mm 2.8 on a moonless night. I was a bit early so there were some traces of sunlight left in the sky, but I found a decent dark area without too much light pollution.

This is my first attempt to do some proper night sky photography, I still have a lot to learn, both in composing, settings and post-processing. I have learned a lot from this forum and I find it to be one of the best in dpreview, if not the best…

All photos taken with a Nikon D800 and Samyang 14mm 2.8, mirror-up, tripod, remote release.

All comments are welcome!

Regards from Øivind in Norway

ISO 3200,f /2.8 15 sec

ISO 3200, f/3,2 15 sec

ISO 2500, f/3,2 15 sec

ISO 2500, f/3,2 15 sec

oivindu's gear list:oivindu's gear list
Samyang 14mm F2.8 IF ED MC Aspherical
starman1969
starman1969 Veteran Member • Posts: 4,188
Re: First night out with Samyang 14mm 2.8

They look very nice, well done. I like the reflection on the lake.

-- hide signature --

They are watching us......

starman1969's gear list:starman1969's gear list
Nikon D800E Nikon AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G Canon EOS 1000D Nikon D4 +5 more
RustierOne
RustierOne Veteran Member • Posts: 4,312

oivindu wrote:

I finally got the time to get out and try my new Samyang 14mm 2.8 on a moonless night. I was a bit early so there were some traces of sunlight left in the sky, but I found a decent dark area without too much light pollution.

This is my first attempt to do some proper night sky photography, I still have a lot to learn, both in composing, settings and post-processing. I have learned a lot from this forum and I find it to be one of the best in dpreview, if not the best…

All photos taken with a Nikon D800 and Samyang 14mm 2.8, mirror-up, tripod, remote release.

All comments are welcome!