Nikon z6 ii control rings and buttons - suggested customisations?

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
Morgs_B
Morgs_B Forum Member • Posts: 56
Nikon z6 ii control rings and buttons - suggested customisations?

I'm the proud owner of a brand spanking z6 ii. I'm glad I held off on getting the z6 and the additions are very welcome (charging via usb-c as I type).

I'm should start by saying - having been Panasonic and Blackmagic based for the last decade, and video cameras before that, I'm a total Nikon noob. I'm also just getting back into photography, with most experience being film based over a decade ago, so there's a welcome learning curve ahead on a bunch of fronts.

I'm reaching out to get feedback, and what you consider an essential customisation. Apologies if I'm duplicating threads, feel free to link me elsewhere.

While I realise I can customize nearly everything to do what I want, and am just getting started, a few defaults have left me scratching my head and am wondering if there's something I'm missing.

• The front control dial does nothing but changes ISO-auto off, unless I customise it?
  • I can't seem to use the front control dial for changing ISO or shutter - the customisations don't seem to be there.
  • In either A, S or P neither the front or back wheels by default do anything. At all (que?).

The only customisation I've made that I'll think I'll stick with:

• Fn2 to set image area (FX, DX), which has already been useful.

Thanks all, looking forward to seeing how you've tinkered!

Morgs_B's gear list:Morgs_B's gear list
Canon EOS 550D Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH4 Nikon Z6 II Panasonic Lumix G Vario 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH OIS +9 more
Nikon Z6 Nikon Z6 II
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Ninpou_Bunshinnojutsu
Ninpou_Bunshinnojutsu Regular Member • Posts: 177
Re: Nikon z6 ii control rings and buttons - suggested customisations?