ZS100: My Take

Started Jul 27, 2016 | Discussions
AksCT Regular Member • Posts: 229

My DSLRs+lenses are perfect at one end of spectrum (bulkiness, etc) and my cell phone takes amazing images+4K video on the other end of spectrum. I have been looking for a better P&S to replace my two small sensor (12X and 20X) cameras. The key: Image Quality

ZS100 with 1-inch sensor and 10X seemed to be the right camera for in-between of the spectrum, so I bought one.

Out of box, the build quality is excellent and although I have never used Panasonic camera before, I found physical controls and menu to be very intuitive and easy to use.

Also, this camera has a ton of HW and SW features, more than all my DSLRs, combined. I can live with a number minor issues (such as small EVF, no GPS, 4K video starts at 37mm, slower lens, slippery body, ...). I just needed to check the image quality to make sure it is a keeper.

I took numerous pictures JPG+RAW under various settings, conditions and scenes. Here is my concise take, based on visual examination (not time to measure SNR, MTF, ...):

DR: RAW files have great range, which provides significant range for creating very good JPG. However, in-camera JPGs are flat and very sub-optimal in terms of color/gray level distribution (clearly internal algorithm problem for conversion). To get the best results, you need to work on every RAW, which is not my idea of P&S for travel.

Noise: Starting at around ISO 640 noise is clearly visible in RAW and by the time you get to ISO 1600 it reaches threshold of being unacceptable (JPG images are awful at 1600 and beyond, very clumsy default noise filtering). Noise level is quite surprising for a 1-inch sensor and not much better than other small sensor cameras that I have.