Monitor calibration on an M1 Mini?

Started Dec 6, 2020 | Discussions
Raffwal
Raffwal Regular Member • Posts: 389
Monitor calibration on an M1 Mini?

I just upgraded my late 2009 Mini to the new M1 Mini. I'm using an older Barco monitor and it was calibrated using an older Spyder 3, originally with Spyder's own software, later with DisplayCAL and Argyll. So I have two main questions:

- Does the previous calibration depend on only the monitor or on the monitor and computer combo? Meaning that can I just copy the old icc profile or will it be incorrect?

- What would you recommend me to calibrate with today? If possible I'd like to be able to use the old Spyder 3 and not get a new sensor since I am only an amateur and don't make a dime with photography. But if some new gear makes calibration significantly easier and better and doesn't cost an arm and a leg, getting a new calibrator isn't out of the question.

Thanks.

Raffwal's gear list:Raffwal's gear list
Ricoh GR II Pentax K-5 Olympus OM-D E-M5 Olympus E-M1 II Pentax smc DA 15mm F4 ED AL Limited +11 more
dmiller62 Contributing Member • Posts: 665
Re: Monitor calibration on an M1 Mini?

Hi Raffwal,

You won't be able to use Spyder3 (many years old, and discontinued) with any of the Datacolor software it would normally have run with, since those discontinued builds are 32-bit only for the Mac and won't run on any of the modern versions of MacOS, let alone in Rosetta2 emulation on an M1 system.

However, any other 3rd party software that supports the Spyder3, such as DisplayCal, and which has been updated for MacOS 64-bit "should" let you continue to use it.

With that said:

Spyder3 dates from a little more than 12 years ago. It was sold at a time when flat panel and laptop display backlights were CCFL; if you try to calibrate a modern display (manufacturers have long since shifted away from CCFL to LED backlight), the results won't be optimal.

-- hide signature --

David Miller