Best money can buy?

Started Apr 10, 2014 | User reviews
ConanD
ConanD Regular Member • Posts: 133
Best money can buy?

I won't get too elaborate since I'm just an amateur, but I would very much like someone to show me a better lens for double what this cost.  This thing is pretty amazing for the price (currently $247 on Amazon).  For me, it comes down to optical quality.  This takes seriously sharp and colorful pics.  Those few times when I've managed to select the correct exposure, WB, etc, I'm so blown away.  I can't even believe I took the shot -- they just look too good.

The drawback is that the lens is completely made of plastic.  It "feels" very cheap (because it is).  But at this price, you could just about call it a disposable lens.  A disposable lens that takes images equal to lenses costing 4 times as much.

Here's a couple of examples (remember, I'm talking about IQ here, so ignore composition, subject and lighting choices)

ConanD's gear list:ConanD's gear list
Nikon D3100 Nikon D7100 Nikon D610 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D +7 more
Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G VR
Telephoto zoom lens • Nikon F (DX)
Announced: Mar 6, 2007
ConanD's score
Average community score
stevef1961
stevef1961 Senior Member • Posts: 2,561
Re: Best money can buy?

they look pretty darn good! worth every cent.  Under optimal conditions any Nikon will do a great job. Optimal conditions being light, best focal length for a particular lens, and best aperture setting to get the sharpest images.

-- hide signature --

www.flickr.com/photos/stevef1961

stevef1961's gear list:stevef1961's gear list
Nikon D500 Nikon Z6 Nikon 24mm F1.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm F1.8G Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR +3 more
colombiano
colombiano Contributing Member • Posts: 693

Second shot was done at 200 mm with aperture F5. This is impossible with Nikkor 55-200.