652

Ricoh GR III review

Image Quality

Out-of-camera JPEG | ISO 100 | 1/125 sec | F5
Photo by Barney Britton

Broadly speaking, the Ricoh GR III offers at least comparable pixel-level image quality to the best 24MP APS-C cameras in its class. This isn't damning with faint praise - the 16MP sensor in the GR / II was really showing its age, but the GR III's sensor on the other hand is very competitive. Ricoh's 'Std' color profile still isn't great, but a range of 'image control' picture modes offer considerable versatility for JPEG shooters.

Key takeaways

  • Modern 24MP sensor offers excellent JPEG and Raw image quality
  • Noise reduction is applied to Raw files, but dynamic range is very competitive
  • JPEG shooters will appreciate suite of 'image control' color modes
  • Redesigned lens offers excellent sharpness across the frame

Studio scene

Our test scene is designed to simulate a variety of textures, colors and detail types you'll encounter in the real world. It also has two illumination modes to see the effect of different lighting conditions.

Against other 24MP APS-C cameras, we can see that the GR III easily holds its own, with excellent detail capture across the scene, often resulting in moiré patterning. It holds up very well against the Fujifilm XF10 in the center of the frame, and the increased resolution of the new 24MP sensor versus the 16MP sensors of the older X70 and GR II is noticeable. And though this scene is primarily designed to evaluate image quality based on a camera's sensor - which is why we use standard lenses for each interchangeable lens system - it can be useful to get a broad idea of uniformity for fixed-lens cameras as well. You can see evidence of variation at points outside the center of the scene.

It's worth noting that shooting our studio scene on a 28mm equivalent lens is a real 'stress test', in the sense that wide-angle lenses generally aren't well-suited for shooting flat targets at close distances. Despite this, the GR III's lens looks great.

On to noise performance: just as with detail capture against other 24MP interchangeable lens cameras, the GR III holds its own as the ISO value climbs. At least part of this is due to noise reduction applied to the Raw at all ISO values 200 and up. As that ISO value climbs even higher, we begin to clearly see evidence of this noise reduction on the GR III's Raw files (it's that sort of 'cross-hatching' pattern). Whether this Raw noise reduction matters to you is really, well, up to you, though it can trip up third-party noise reduction software. All cameras here start to fall apart by the time you hit ISO 25600.

Let's transition to the JPEGs. In terms of sharpening, the GR III looks a bit softer than the Sony and Fujifilm while still showing hints of moiré patterning from the Raw capture. The haloing visible around these gray boxes on our ColorChecker indicates somewhat high-radius sharpening, when the camera is at its default values. In terms of JPEG color in its 'Standard' picture profile, well, we have reservations. The red patch in particular is muted and skewed more magenta than we'd like, and the yellow patch is dull and slightly greenish. The orange patch is likewise desaturated. In fact, our color wheel shows all colors from red-orange to yellow are muted with fairly unpleasant hue shifts.

Of course, the Ricoh GR III comes with a variety of different JPEG scene modes, of which we'll have a look at the real-world impact below.

JPEG Color modes

The GR III offers nine 'Image Control' color modes (shown below), plus 'HDR' and two user-customizable settings. Between them, they provide the JPEG shooter with an impressive amount of 'one click' control over the look of their images.

Of the five color modes, I find that 'Positive Film' works well for shooting sunny scenes (especially with a bit of positive exposure compensation) while four 'monotone' modes offer a lot of versatility in black and white, from the tonally rich 'soft' to the aggressively contrasty 'Hi'.

Raw dynamic range

As with most other cameras that have modern 24MP APS-C sensors, our ISO invariance test shows that the GR III performs very well. There isn't much of a difference between shooting a scene at the base ISO of 100 and pulling the shadows up by 5-ish stops, versus shooting at ISO 3200. For advanced users, working this way (keeping ISO low, but with the exposure you'd usually as for a high ISO shot), lets you capture additional highlight detail with minimal impact on other tones in the image.

Now on to exposure latitude, in which we use the camera's base ISO and try brightening increasingly dark exposures to see how much noise is being added by the camera in the deep shadows. Here, you can see that the GR III performs similarly in terms of noise to the Sony a6400, which also has a 24MP APS-C sensor. The color shift between the two cameras is due to the nature of these pushes in Adobe Camera Raw, and is not relevant for this test.

250
I own it
315
I want it
50
I had it
Discuss in the forums
View Comments (652)

Comments

All (652)
Most popular (15)
Editors' picks (0)
DPR staff (13)
Oldest first
ponyman
ponyman

I have a GR3. It is now my only camera. I use it in a similar way to the fixed lens film cameras that I had, all those years ago. 99% of my photos are never seen by anyone but myself. Does anyone else appreciate and use it for anything but 'street'?

10 months ago
Megaframe

Mine is currently on it's way! Should get it tomorrow, also bought this wireless q20 ii flash for it as well. I'm sooo tired of lugging around my 5D MarkIII and tons of lenses, I want something fun and light! I may just use this for small events! with plenty of batteries. I can't wait! It's gonna be fun! and I haven't had fun in a looong time. Check this video out bout the flash, it's AWESOME! https://youtu.be/Ndq2B--guow

5 months ago
Ondrik

late response, but I have the GR mark I and will order the 3 soon, and I use mine for everything. It is a great for hiking, taking pictures of nature. It is great for travel (small body, small batteries both in capacity and size, but that's why you can have two other with you without noticing). It is even great for taking pictures of your kids, if you learn a bit how to use snap focus.

6 days ago
sprouty115
sprouty115

I think one of the most important changes in the GR iii is the proper implementation of live view during all shooting modes. Now as you adjust the exposure on the new camera the screen darkens to show the effects.

This is not how the GR ii worked. On that camera only the manual mode showed the effects of changing exposure and then only up to a point. So if you weren't paying attention to the exposure slider you could end up with a black image even though it appears to be properly exposed on the rear screen.

This is one of the best changes to the new camera.

10 months ago
freediverx
freediverx

I'm still familiarizing myself with the GR III, but live view doesn't always simulate the final exposure. Haven't yet figured out under which settings...

4 months ago
KAllen

....or a secondhand one of these Sony Cyber-Shot RX1R ? for and against either way but worth a look I would think.

11 months ago
mnumunby

The new sensor and lense of the gr3 is a must I can do 40*60cm quality print with it, you can see here what type of photo the gr3 is good for, https://www.instagram.com/marc.sandford/

I used a lot the tactile and the af-c

11 months ago
BrexitDefCom3
BrexitDefCom3

i donna Leica price!

Dec 6, 2019
freediverx
freediverx

You have to pay for quality. There's nothing else on the market with comparable portability, image quality, and usability. The closest competitor from Sony is actually more expensive, with considerably worse build quality and usability.

4 months ago*
Ring A

Why not design the camera slightly larger for a larger battery?

Dec 6, 2019
freediverx
freediverx

Because the primary objective here was "pocket-sized". I will happily trade battery life for pocket ability and light weight,. especially when spare batteries are affordable and take up little space when needed.

4 months ago
Indohydra

Ricoh desperately needs to upgrade the specs on this camera. Sony is killing it. Yet the GR 3 fits much better in my hand, more quickly and easily controlled, better experience all around. Ricoh could so easily have a winner here, but technically they are way behind. Maybe Sony could just hire Ricoh to take over the design of their RX camera line.

Nov 23, 2019
DaveClark

I received my Ricoh GR3 six days ago and compared the body with my GR2 yesterday. The specs claim both cameras have a 3 inch screen and one might believe it until the displays are turned on side by side displaying an image. The GR3 has a smaller screen which accounts for the fewer specified screen dots in the spec listing. I initially thought fewer dots meant less dot density across the same 3 inch screen real estate until I saw this difference. So, 3 inches doesn't literally mean 3 inches. However, the sensor sizes are specified in the spec list with accurate dimensions in mm, but screens are given in SWAG dimensions.

Jun 25, 2019
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

You're mistaken.

The GR2 has a 3.0" screen with a 4:3 aspect ratio. It has a resolution of 640 x 480 pixels (with 4 dots per pixel - RGB plus a white dot for extra brightness).

The GR3 has a 3.0:" screen with a 3:2 aspect ration. It has a resolution of 720 x 480 pixels (with 3 dots per pixel - it has white dots scattered throughout, in the place of some green ones, I believe).

Even putting to one side the fact that the GR3's screen is a better match for the sensor shape, so it likely to be better utilized, it's also physically larger (about 15% larger, by my calculations).

Jul 22, 2019
eyewanders

3 inches does, literally, mean 3 inches, as long as you did the rest of the math homework. smh

Dec 8, 2019
Leandros S

Since Ricoh also brought us the G700, an IPX8-rated camera with about the same form factor as this one, I wonder what the hurdles are to making this one weatherproof. How much more would it cost, being weather-proof? It looks to me like the demand is there.

Jun 25, 2019
freediverx
freediverx

Cost aside, weather proofing would make it considerably larger and heavier, which goes against its primary design objective.

4 months ago*
Leandros S

Forgive me for being unconvinced by your "because I say so" approach.

Sure, seals weigh something, and they require additional assembly steps, but they don't take up much space.

1 month ago
DaveClark

It seems to me, the GR2 is as sharp as the GR3. I downloaded images from Imaging Resource Comparometer of the GR2 & GR3 then upsampled the GR2 image. Then viewed them side by side. In fact, the GR2 looked sharper at times. Even so, I just ordered the GR3 for its stabilization and better dynamic range.

Jun 21, 2019
Baltijos

A lot of debate continues about the qualities of the GR and its successors. For me, a street shooter, video is irrelevant. I switch the camera off after each shot; - no battery issues. The 16MP dynamic range is exactly what I want in terms of RAW qualities, grain, contrast, mood, sharpness... I have learned to work with over five years of life 'on the street', exclusively. Sell my GR for a GRIII? No way, mate!

Jan 3, 2020
fitzrovian

Out of all of my cameras, the GR III, has proven to be the only one mostly invisible on the street, allowing me to get the shots I want.

Jun 4, 2019
freediverx
freediverx

It's also extremely responsive, which is also key for street/candid photography. Startup times and shutter response blow away everything else in this class.

4 months ago*
AmPhotoNJ

How waterproof is this camera? The reviewer said that he took the camera when hiking. What happens if rain happens? Is the camera useable or does it get water in its innards and stops working?

May 30, 2019
Alex Sarbu

Unfortunately, the GR III is not weather sealed. If rain happens, you should protect it.

May 30, 2019
AmPhotoNJ

Pity. The only totally waterproof camera that I know of is the Sealife DC2000, which is designed as a diving camera. It is also very quirky.

May 30, 2019
Ed_arizona

not even close....users always have dust issues in the long term due to the retracting non sealed lens...just imagine water

May 31, 2019
DarnGoodPhotos

AmPhotoNJ, the Leica XU is waterproof as well.

Jun 9, 2019
DarnGoodPhotos

What's you point? He asked about other waterproof cameras, not if there were any the size of the GR.

Jun 10, 2019
Alex Sarbu

That waterproofing a camera - which goes beyond merely weathersealing - makes a camera much larger, and the controls must be adjusted as well.

For hiking, weather sealing should be enough.

Jun 10, 2019*
skanter
skanter

No thanks - fixed screen makes it useless for me for street photography. I shoot different angles and POVs. My Sony a6300 with 20mm 2.8 pancake is plenty small enough, fits perfectly in hand, and - I can change lenses.

May 28, 2019*
pro photo 2011

But only Ricoh has snap focus - an extremely useful feature for street photography.

And Ricoh's newly-updated 28mm f/2.8 is far sharper than Sony's 20mm f/2.8.

Ricoh GR III is much smaller and lighter than the Sony.

A tilting screen is not necessary for a 28mm wide angle camera.

May 28, 2019
eyewanders

"Useless for street photography". hahaha

Dec 8, 2019
jonikon

No internal flash means no deal for me, so I will be keeping my Coolpix A. One of the great things about a camera like this is the ability to use fill flash in sunny conditions because all shutter speeds are flash synced. If the GR IV has a built in flash I will buy it, if I should live that long anyway.

May 23, 2019
Ed_arizona

only 7yrs away for version IV !!

May 31, 2019
MacroBokeh

everything has been negated because of that tiny little built-in flash?

Jul 22, 2019
iLandPhotos

Can someone please explain how the % rating relates to a gold vs silver award?

May 20, 2019
TN Args
TN Args

As that link explains, they are not meant to be related at all.

May 26, 2019
pro photo 2011

Although rating percentage and gold/silver award are not related, it is much harder to get a gold award.

May 28, 2019
iLandPhotos

thank you!

Jun 23, 2019
justmeMN

Hmm. I suppose a Canon M100 with 22mm lens would be a potential alternative to this camera.

https://www.dpreview.com/products/canon/slrs/canon_eosm100

May 20, 2019
tonyz1

I have this combo - bought it for my significant other but I use it quite a bit. Great if you're shooting on automatic but the manual controls are very poor. It is very compact and portable though. Raw quality is also excellent for what it is.

May 20, 2019*
keeponkeepingon

"controls are very poor".

The M100 is really not that bad for one of the most compact APS-C MILC. The touch screen is great which often more than makes up for the lack of a second control dial. You have a control wheel for shooting TV/Av and when shooting manual it's a single tap of the screen to switch between adjusting shutter speed and adjusting aperture.

Don't get me wrong there is lots of room for improvement with ergonomics even on the small body but controlling is not as bad as I thought it would be.

May 22, 2019
Kevin DiOssi

I bought a used M5 for $450 and already owned the 22mm f/2 because I had the M50. I see absolutely no point in owning the GR III that can do only one thing really well - but that's my personal preference. I think that people considering this camera should really ask themselves how often they need a camera specifically for street photography. Having the M5 on vacation has been all I could ask for when it comes to size/weight/image quality.

Jun 22, 2019
MacroBokeh

street photography is passion and is life..again we have all different needs

Jul 22, 2019
egk4260

If Thom Hogan numbers on actual sales dollars are accepted it appears Ricoh is about the only camera company to generate more year on year sales revenue in past quarter. Now, they may have been sinking far faster than the rest, but it must be encouraging that the intended audience may be actually purchasing the camera. Ricoh appreciates the vocal supporters, hears the detractors, but needs the buyers if they are to continue.

May 19, 2019
Leandros S

The funny thing about the Hogan numbers is that they've been interpreted as evidence that this camera is making a huge impact on the company's bottom line. It would have to be one hell of a seller for that to be true, because the camera had barely arrived on the market when the quarter closed (that Hogan cited figures for and based his observation on). And it's true that it's been top dog of DPR for quite a few days now, but I wonder if other factors aren't playing a role, like the Theta, the KP, lens sales (D FA* 50, maybe), or that Ricoh has perhaps been benefitting more than other brands from new international trade deals.

May 20, 2019
justmeMN

I wonder where Thom got those sales numbers. I didn't think that Ricoh included those in their quarterly financial documents.

May 20, 2019
Al wants a bagel

Here in Hong Kong, the camera is still sold out two months after its' debut. with most preorders for the next shipment also sold out. That's pretty unheard of for a Ricoh product, they are definitely gaining customers.

May 29, 2019*
cn_a75

My phone doing exactly the same.

May 19, 2019
ffking

Factually incorrect - but if your phone takes images you're happy with, the good news is that you don't have to buy this, or any other, camera

May 19, 2019
Leandros S

Or read this website, I suppose... In fact, if you did, you might realise that your phone is not doing exactly the same. And that would seem to be counter-productive.

May 20, 2019
Archiver

I would love to see your phone. Where did you get a phone with an aps-c 24mp sensor?

May 31, 2019
freediverx
freediverx

Please show us some sample photos taken with your smartphone in low light at ISO 3200 or 6400.

4 months ago
bladerunner6

Thanks for an insightful review. This is definitely a camera that is aimed at a limited range of users but as said for street photography or people looking for pocketable camera with great image quality this can be a great choice.

May 19, 2019
Walker Truly

This is a PERFECT camera! It would be even PERFECTER if Ricoh had made every design decision completely different. Especially if they could simultaneously just keep everything the same too.
So, in conclusion: this is a perfect camera that could be vastly improved my making it a different camera.

May 17, 2019
Walker Truly

Your Welcome!!

May 17, 2019
DougDolde

Another "expert" who knows better

May 17, 2019*
May 18, 2019
hemiguy
hemiguy

Good news, they did!

May 18, 2019
ZeBebito
ZeBebito

@Walker you really made me laugh, love your post lol

May 18, 2019
onlyfreeman
onlyfreeman

So you want Schrödinger's camera?

May 18, 2019
FoxShutter
FoxShutter

At this point this new released camera is quite bad . I agree with you and with this TS :
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/62480050
Ricoh must be kidding to shamelessly ask a $1000 USD (with taxes ) for that . They should have included a small pocket flash and a spare battery at least.
The only ppl who perhaps buy it are those who really loyal yo the brand (but the brand isn’t ), not really smart consumers and some Rich folks to try it out and toss after 150 shots .
It’s not backordered ,actually as some stated , many units were recalled and returned and that’s what created it at some retailers. Here in Ontario no backorders.

May 19, 2019
freediverx
4 months ago*
Ryan Villanueva
Ryan Villanueva

Great review. I love the form factor of this camera. So simple, so direct to the point. This for me is the perfect travel camera.

May 17, 2019
caravan

Thanks for the review, this is a wonderful camera.

May 17, 2019
NeilFowler

Does anybody else wish that Ricoh had included a touch screen on the III? I think it would be very useful for shooting subtly.

May 17, 2019
luck002

GRIII does have touch screen.

May 17, 2019
PentaxNick

Er, they did.

May 17, 2019
NeilFowler

Sorry, I meant a tilting screen.

May 17, 2019
Alex Sarbu

The GR III touchscreen interface works quite well, it's very responsive and complementing the dials-and-buttons interface nicely.
I like for example how I can override the AF - if, say, it's automatically selecting the AF areas and I want it to focus on something specific. Very fast; just a touch, no need to change any setting.

May 17, 2019
Imboden

If the camera had a tilting screen, it would be bigger--and that would detract from its "unique selling proposition" as a slim, pocketable camera.

Jul 11, 2019
beavertown
beavertown

No EVF is a con for this kind of zoom range? Seriously? There were many camera reviews done by early days of dpreview back then and there were a lot fewer cons as the cameras were so good, now for some reason, they have to put as many cons to equal the pros.

May 17, 2019
SpeedyNeo
SpeedyNeo

Thanks for pointing that out, I didn't get it either!

May 17, 2019
Barney Britton
Barney Britton

No EVF option is the con. There are plenty of cameras that don't have a built-in EVF but do feature contacts for an external viewfinder unit.

May 20, 2019
SpeedyNeo
SpeedyNeo

Honestly viewfinders are like phone keyboards. People used to care about them until most of them realised they don't them.

May 21, 2019
Barney Britton
Barney Britton

I care about them! Especially in sunny conditions. I'm sure I'm not alone.

May 22, 2019
Al wants a bagel

All my years using a GR I've never had any issues without using a EVF. In the most extreme situations, since you can use any GR single handed, you just raise your other hand to use as a sunshade instead of leaving it in your pocket. It really is that simple, and it is why this camera remains truly pocketable.

May 29, 2019
Roy van der Woning

Zoom range?

Jun 3, 2019
Kevin DiOssi

Opinions....everyone's got one. I personally wouldn't own a camera without an viewfinder or at least the option to put on an EVF. Sometimes it's good to take a step back and realize that not everyone has the same wants and needs out of a camera - which is why it's great that we have so many options. If you don't care about them, then this is a great camera for you. If you do care, like me, then there is no reason to own this camera.

Jun 22, 2019
Tom Caldwell

The GRD itself was great for the compact camera for enthusiasts of its day - the GR lost a lot of its compactness benefit in the interests of larger sensor. The sensor size increase was a benefit but my GR was too large for this person to carry everywhere. So my compromise has been the no-longer-sold GM5 which is not really pocketable in my book but has the advantage of being a systems camera and can dip into the stock of wonderful M4/3 lenses against being restricted to one lens copes with all needs.

Furthermore the GM5 came with a quite useful built in evf and a little clip on flash in the box.

I am a long term Ricoh fan and appreciate that the GRIII is a pinnacle of its type with “fixed collapsing prime lens” - but the reality for me at least is a tiny systems camera with built in evf and 100+ lenses I can choose from. But of course the GM5 is no more - but I can continue to manage as it still is a much more versatile camera than any GRD/GM can ever be.

May 17, 2019
Rolf Brenner

I love and have the GM5 too but it is a very different beast next Monday I will have both beasts :)

May 17, 2019
Archiver

There's a comfort and convenience of a camera you can slip in a jacket or even jeans pocket that the GM1/GM5 doesn't have. Even with one of those weird Olympus fixed focus pancakes, the GM1/GM5 loses a lot of utility.

May 31, 2019
Kariyam

Tom Hogan says the Nikon 1 cameras are collectables, so I am buying them for cheap and hoarding them up (Only the V1 and J5). The J5 with 18mm normal lens have excellent image quality. May be it is the poor man's equivalent of HCB's Leica for street photography. However, the protruding 18mm with the J5 cannot be compared to GR 3

May 17, 2019
Kariyam

I upgraded from the Nikon 1 V1 to the J5. Happy with the 28 and 50mm equivalent.

May 17, 2019
Alex Sarbu

There's an issue with the studio scene widget - it shows cross-hatching and artifacts on the ISO 100 RAW sample, that are not there (yes, I downloaded the ACR-generated JPEG).
But not always. If - for example - I click on the "even higher" link just below the widget, then select again ISO 100, the image looks fine.

May 16, 2019
FoxShutter
FoxShutter

I don’t know why some Ricoh users here are trying to defend this stripped down camera. The web is full of negative reviews criticizing the horrible battery life and the lack of flash. Even paid by Ricoh utube bloggers mention it in some , more hidden , way.
I’ve never seen so many negative reviews when the GRII was released and it is ,actually, a better camera overall in real use.
Ricoh perhaps aware of what’s happening and could partially rectify the issues as once Sony did with their alpha 7r and 7s : they started to include a second battery for free . Fuji , PanaLeica and Canon (M1-M2) we’re shipping their cameras with small pocketable flash units .

May 16, 2019
FoxShutter
FoxShutter

Canon EOS M1 with the free SMALL flash supplied :

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_EOS_M

May 16, 2019
Alex Sarbu

Oh, that image of the EOS-M with the SMALL flash supplied and a zoom...
Did you just decide on your own that nobody should ever use a pocketable camera? <rolling eyes> It's not like we were asking for your permission...

May 16, 2019*
FoxShutter
FoxShutter

@AlexSarbu
It’s not that I asked for your opinion or to comment under my comments , especially such a nonsense as you just wrote.

May 16, 2019
Alex Sarbu

Right... I'll post more "nonsense", then:
https://camerasize.com/compact/#819,351.348,ha,t
Those are the GR III (obviously) and the EOS M with the same lens as in that Wiki article - but without a flash.

May 16, 2019
TN Args
TN Args

LOL, thanks Alex, what a ridiculous comparison!

@Fox, show me a camera as small with as big a sensor and long battery life. Oops there isn't one! So it's difficult to criticise Ricoh here, if no-one does it better.

And I laugh at people whining about battery life. I have cameras with poor battery life and I have spare batteries and changing them in 10 secs with no tools is the least problem in all of photography. It's just whining!

With the GRIII it is even worse than whining, because you are getting something back for it: incredible size and large sensor. You can even avoid battery changes by connecting USB-C to a power bank in your pocket and shoot all day.

Don't like it? Get a bigger camera, or one with a 2-sizes-smaller sensor like a the obsolete Nikon 1. Knock yourselves out.

May 26, 2019*
luck002

While I feel like the GR III's ergonomic and battery life are behind the GR II, I really love the IBIS and the new in-camera raw development settings. The price is quite "ouch"-ey though. I think it should be around $700.

May 16, 2019
Alex Sarbu

Just buy it at a discount, Black Friday, whatever. If a GR is what you want, of course.
The price is the only characteristic you can actually negotiate to some extent.

May 16, 2019
luck002

@Alex I already bought it for around $999 here. The price hurts so much. Ricoh's price in my country is quite constant. I bought my GR II for around $700 2 years ago and the price was still the same a month ago (it is $550 now after GRIII's release).

May 17, 2019
Alex Sarbu

$999, wow, that is a lot; more than the full price where I live (including the VAT).
I actually bought mine at a discount; being a regular customer helps. ;-)

May 17, 2019
Fazal Majid
Fazal Majid

The fact it's sold out suggests the price is below what the market will bear.

May 17, 2019
luck002

@Alex You are so lucky. XD

@Fazal I think so too. Despite many people hate the GR III here, I think the unit itself just being sold well. I even need to wait for 2 weeks to get my purchase bonuses (blue ring cap + additional battery) because they are out of stock. Yikes!!

May 17, 2019
Fazal Majid
Fazal Majid

@luck002: to be sure, there is an early adopter tax. I've wanted a GR for a long while, but hesitated because of the dust issues on the GRII. I don't regret buying my GRIII one bit, and it even replaced my RX1RII as EDC despite my preferring 35mm as a FL, simply because the smaller size makes it more carry-friendly.

May 17, 2019
LucaPCP

I am getting out of my GRIII the same quality I used to get from my Fuji 645 rangefinder in the film days! Seriously, the resolution of this camera is nothing short of amazing. The price is not too high; it's an incredible instrument. It doesn't look like much, but think of it -- it's like 80 lines/mm on film days and with a lens capable of delivering it! It's sharper than most aps-c or mft lenses.

May 17, 2019
Fazal Majid
Fazal Majid

@LucaPCP: I dunno. I took some photos of the Golden Gate Bridge last weekend with my GRIII, as my father was with my Nikon Z7, and I had taken photos from the other side with my old Fuji G617. On the GRIII, the suspension cables anchoring the road bed to the catenaries look like a single cable. On the Z7, they look like two cables each. Only the G617 slides (Velvia 100) show the real 4 cables.

May 18, 2019
Vasilis D.
Vasilis D.

Wondering what would it take RICOH to make this "tool" waterproof (even up to 5m). In extreme travelling conditions i.e. continuous rain, stormy weather/snow, waterfalls, hiking, mountains, desert etc. (Iceland trip for example) an APS-C camera with Olympus's waterproofing grade would be an amazing deal.

May 16, 2019*
Alex Sarbu

Waterproofing it would be, I'd guess, very difficult - due to the retractable lens (but not only). Waterproofing would put lots of restrictions on the camera body, and I'm afraid it would result on something other than a GR.

Weatherproofing, I hope they'll manage this on the next model. I might even upgrade because of it.

May 16, 2019
Don Sata
Don Sata

A few milimiters thicker which is a lot for a camera this small, increased price, non retractable lens sticking out all the time.

May 17, 2019
mikphoto
mikphoto

I am waiting with the purchase because I like to learn from long time users reports. Both, my GR and GR II developed the Closed Shutter Problem which made the cameras use- and worthless before the shutter counts reached 50K frames. I hope that Ricohs Engineers quietly adressed and fixed the internal lens module parts from "dying at a young age".

My wishes for the GR IV:
- Bring back the build-in flash
- Address the cameras Achilles' heel by developing a non-rectractable 28mm pancacke lens module (ex. fuji x100 series). It could enable the camera body to become weather sealed and noticably reduce the still reported dust issue.

May 16, 2019*
Tom Caldwell

Forget the aps-c sensor - just fit a M4/3 mount and 20mp 4/3 sensor and get access to the whole range of M4/3 lens stock. Keep the GRIII as it is obviously a great camera. Call the new (extra) camera the GRX and make it a systems camera.

There is a great big gaping hole in the market since Panasonic stopped making the GM series bodies.

GRX with Panasonic 42.5/1.2 Nocticron? With their 15/1.7 lens? Or even their very nice 35-100/f2.8? Compact wide zoom? 7-14/4.0?

May 17, 2019
luck002

@Robert

Agree with you. Though I had sold my m43 gears when I had my GRII, I could still say Lumix GM1 (with franiec grip) + 20mm or oly 17mm is the best travel camera I ever had.

May 17, 2019
luck002

Ouch it should @tom not @robert. Sorry. :(

May 17, 2019
LucaPCP

I have both GRii and GRiii and the iii is amazing. The ibis and 24mp are great, and the colors in the jpegs are much better.
I also have an MFT camera, and the only lenses that come close to it in resolution (but do not improve on it) are the PanaLeica lenses; certainly not the Oly 17mm, which is quite poor, and also not the 20mm pancake. The Leica Summilux 15/1.7 is close, but the GRiii is still better resolution-wise. And a camera with 15/1.7 does not fit in your pocket.

So sure, when I go with an official large camera, I often choose my Pen-F for the ability to also use long lenses. But for a pocketable camera, or one that you can slip in your travel / work bag, the GRiii is fantastic.

May 17, 2019
Harold66
Harold66

LucaPcp.
I use the GRII professionally and once I customized the vibrant filter , my jpegs were very good
as for micro 4/3 lensMaybe you got a lemon because the 20mm is a very good lens. Most reviews says it is sharper than the 15mm
oh and the Pen-F is not a great choice for fitting long lenses unless you are talking about the smaller F4.5 to 5.6 zooms

May 18, 2019
NeilFowler

Thanks for a great review. The battery life is the only real niggle for me.

Quite pricey but worth it for the fights in this comments section alone.

May 16, 2019
PentaxNick

I was worried about battery life but luckily I also have the Olympus TG-4 with a spare which is compatible. As it turns out I’ve never had to change it while out taking photographs. I always turn it off between shots, and I’m not a machine gun shooter (doesn’t suit this type of camera anyway. I can’t say I’ve been restricted by battery life at all, less so than the Fuji X100F/T.

May 17, 2019*
Daft Punk

It's a great camera. I love mine.

It is liberating to have something genuinely pocketable with a big sensor.

28mm was always my fave focal length anyway. IBIS genuinely works and the touch screen is nice.

Positive Film is a lovely film sim - gives great JPEGS.

USB-C charging is a welcome addition.

May 16, 2019
SpeedyNeo
SpeedyNeo

Is it ok to say that this camera is actually sexy?

May 16, 2019
(unknown member)

I clicked buy the moment they told me I can raise the shadows by 5 stops. Everything else is irrelevant.

May 15, 2019
gordon94024

No mention of portraits. How is the 28mm lens for portraits?

May 15, 2019
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

Not very good. Classic portrait focal length is typically 85 to 200mm. 28mm is not very flattering.

May 16, 2019
ogl
ogl

It can....

May 16, 2019
Olifaunt

See a lot of fashion photography that uses wide lenses. Different kind of portraiture.

May 16, 2019*
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

Fashion photography is NOT portrait. For fashion work you're shooting the OUTFIT and designs, not portraits, but even for that work I've never seen a soul working with a 28mm prime. No one says you can't shoot portraits with 28mm or even 20mm, but if you plan to do a lot of it, a fixed 28mm camera isn't a very good tool.

May 17, 2019
Tom Caldwell

Fine if you can get up close and personal :)

May 17, 2019
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

Most shooters will fall back on 85mm, but the 105 and 135mm lenses have gained a lot of popularity. 200mm is also excellent and very flattering. 28mm is pretty bad for faces, fine for group or full body. If you really want to shoot people, a GR is not a very versatile pick.

May 17, 2019
kkoba

Even if you get up close, the perspective of a wide angle lens is not very flattering. You know those pictures of puppies taken with fisheye lenses? Kind of like that, but not as extreme.

May 17, 2019
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

Exactly. As much as I enjoyed my GR, it was just a poor camera for too many subjects. Essentially I found it much like a camera phone with much better quality, but stuck with an often useless perspective.

May 17, 2019
Olifaunt

People take good portraits all the time with cellphones, which tend to be 28mm. So if you can live with cellphone portraits, then yes, it's fine. MrHollywood, many of the better arts magazines will run environmental portraits of, say, celebrities that are obviously taken with wide angle lenses. The type of high school or family portraits taken by mall photographers with totally blurred-away backgrounds are literally scraping the bottom of the barrel nowadays as far as portraiture is concerned.

May 17, 2019
Olifaunt

By the way MrHollywood, I tend to agree with you that 28mm is too wide for myself. I use my GR2 less because I have a 40mm camera that is better suited to my vision. But that is not because I take portraits (which I don't).

May 17, 2019*
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

Virtually nobody shoots portraits at 28mm. Yes, they are occasions where it's done. But not one wedding shooter, event shooter or anyone who seeks to create intimate candids reaches for a 28mm prime. I don't know why anyone would argue this. Go into ANY amateur or pro forum and ask "what's the best portrait lenses?"
No one will suggest a 28mm. There may be instances where the 28mm will work. I've seen some wonderful portraits at 24mm, but that doesn't make the WA focal length something recommended.
I've also seen some great scenic stuff shot at 135mm, but if someone asks for the best ALL AROUND lens for scenic, the suggestions will be for 14-24 99% of the time.
I got rid of my GR because it was a failure when it came to being versatile. A fixed lens camera has its charms, but it has specific weaknesses that cannot be overcome. 28mm is like driving forever in 2nd gear. You can do a lot, but then there's a lot you can't do.

May 17, 2019
ffking

"I got rid of my GR because it was a failure when it came to being versatile." - slightly surprised you didn't realise that at the time of purchase...?

May 19, 2019
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

You're correct. But I wanted to give it a chance. And I did enjoy using it. I just think there are better options for street and travel.

May 19, 2019
Alex Sarbu

I find it humorous when experienced people get surprised, only after using the camera for a while, that an 18.3mm prime behaves like an 18.3mm and not a superzoom.
Then start a bashing campaign to make people know 18.3mm is 18.3mm.

May 19, 2019
Rolf Brenner

ordered! Ask why!

May 15, 2019
ronago

Its design? It's a beautiful little thing

May 15, 2019
Rolf Brenner

1/4000 flash synchro!

May 15, 2019
ronniemac

Because it's there.

May 16, 2019
FoxShutter
FoxShutter

Heck! Even Sony RX100 series have a pop up flash , and they are even smaller. And it doesn’t matter the sensor size in this regard. Smartphones got it ...
The only reason Ricoh stripped it off is because the already lacklustre CIPA rating of 150 shots per charge (less in practice ) would be a 100 shots with a flash . By ditching it out they were able to get it rated at 150 shots at least.
This camera reminds me of “optimizations” at work places .

May 15, 2019
mgm2

Wow, I'm glad you understand the thinking behind Ricoh's design.

May 15, 2019
Leandros S

"They are even smaller" - yeah, because the sensor is smaller. Not quite the biggest trick in the magician's box.

May 15, 2019
brett nz
brett nz

There again - someone who is commenting on a camera that is specifically designed for the street shooter without understanding what the requirements are.

May 15, 2019
johnami
johnami

You are joking, aren't you? The size comment I mean.

May 16, 2019
Imboden

I've had two Sonys, and both have needed repairs. The RX 100 IV is acting up again, only a few months after an expensive trip to Sony's authorized repair center. I don't know how reliable the GR III will be, but with luck, its simpler design will be less delicate than Sony's everything-but-the-kitchen-sink approach.

Jul 11, 2019
MikeB2000

Seriously high-price for a camera with fixed 28mm equivalent lens. In this market full of less expensive cameras with zoom lenses, I don't see the attraction. What am I missing?

May 15, 2019
Daft Punk

Seriously ?

A very sharp lens that is fast as well.

A large and excellent performing sensor. Much larger than normal for such a sized camera.

All in a package that fits in your back pocket.

I mean, again, seriously ??

And it is not even that expensive - where else is there a 24mp APSC sensor camera with a 2.8 lens and IBIS you can you get for $800? Let alone one with great optical quality you can fit in your back pocket.

May 15, 2019*
T3

It's a very specific camera for a very specific type of user.

May 15, 2019
mgm2

If you truly don't understand you obviously won't buy the camera as it wasn't meant for you.

May 15, 2019
AbrasiveReducer

The fixed focal length lens is the key. No wiggling, wobbling, extending, retracting, unevenly soft corners from one camera to the next. No variable quality at different focal lengths.

May 15, 2019
Alex Sarbu

Oh, the startup time... quite fast for the GR III, 2 seconds or more for the various small sensor "alternatives".

May 15, 2019
Walker Truly

Snap focus, 1/4000sec flash sync, one hand control, highly customizable, quiet, light, small.
These and other factors are each the One True “key” to this camera’s appeal to some.

May 16, 2019
Tom Caldwell

Glad you asked Mike. Why do compact cameras fail? Just as soon as they are built down to meet the popular market price.

I have had 3 out of 4 GRD models and the GR itself - at which point it became too large for my personal requirements. It was a question of whether once size became borderline the versatility of a similar size systems camera body became more interesting.

However the GRD/GR has remained interesting because it was and is an enthusiasts camera better built and has enviable firmware support. Funnily enough the firmware and enthusiast support in use does not review very well.

Those that have simply wanted a cheap easily portable compact camera have long since opted for the “automatic dumbness” of the mobile phone.

Point’n’press. The GRIII is much more than that. It is a pity that it cannot offer a built in evf and a mount system that can handle a wide variety of lenses.

May 17, 2019*
Fazal Majid
Fazal Majid

The fact it's sold out suggests it's not overpriced.

May 17, 2019
Alex Sarbu

If it had "a mount system that can handle a wide variety of lenses" I wouldn't have bought mine. Because it would no longer be pocketable, and as a non-pocketable camera I already have an ILC kit.
This is a GR; not a me too ILC. Get over it.

May 17, 2019*
glarry

Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec Is this correct? I would use a castling...

May 15, 2019*
kkoba

What is a castling? I only know that as a chess term.

May 17, 2019
Sannaborjeson
Sannaborjeson

To summarize: this camera is awesome and I would buy one with no hesitation only to support Ricoh in what they do.

May 15, 2019
riveredger

Did you buy one?

May 15, 2019
johnami
johnami

I prefer 'have you bought one?'

May 16, 2019
DarnGoodPhotos

I prefer, "Have you purchased one?" or "Did you buy it?".

May 16, 2019
Patrick Dodds

"would" is definitely all wrong in your sentence.

May 20, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

It will be interesting to see how well this camera sells. It seems to me, and I could be wrong, that the market for a camera with limited capabilities but offers great IQ in a pocketable size has limited appeal. I say this because the IQ of the 1" pocketable zooms from Sony and Canon have IQ that is nearly indistinguishable from APS-C cameras below ISO 800.

May 15, 2019
Daft Punk

The camera is back ordered everywhere.

I am trying to buy one for my son and cannot find one anywhere.

So there is a data point for you.

May 15, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

Not really. The initial orders are probably from existing owners of the previous models wanting to upgrade. The back orders most likely reflect the fact Ricoh doesn't expect to sell many. They are probably limiting production so as not to be stuck with excess inventory. It's such a niche product sales will always be limited.

May 15, 2019*
Daft Punk

I confess to being utterly baffled by your position.

A small, small camera with excellent IQ and a very sharp lens. So small it is genuinely pocketable and can be taken anywhere. It is as easy to pocket as a phone.

What is there NOT to like????

May 15, 2019
Alex Sarbu

Is there any ultracompact APS-C fixed lens camera that sells better?

May 15, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

What is there not to like? No zoom, mediocre AF, no flash, mediocre video, no EVF, OVF costs extra. For the people that want this camera these things may not matter but I believe that these limitations will turn off most potential buyers. Since this camera appeals to you, you don't understand that most people want more and are willing to sacrifice a small amount of IQ to get a 1" sensor camera that is far more versatile. I don't understand what the appeal is because small size is a lower priority for me than APS IQ so I'll take the 1" sensor zoom.

May 15, 2019*
tbcass
tbcass

Alex Sarbu

Maybe not but it's such a small market to begin with that it wouldn't take much to be #1. :-)

May 15, 2019
Darkerlight

@tbcass Yes, it is not a mass market product but that doesn't mean it makes no profit. I want to buy it because I really liked the GR for travelling but now I use a RX1r II so the overlap is too big. If you ever travel like me you will reduce all the size and weight of your stuff. And for video I now use a Osmo Pocket. Is it great? No, but for some short impressions it is good enough.

May 15, 2019
surelythisnameisfree

may have limited appeal to you but it is outselling every other camera in Japan

May 15, 2019
Daft Punk

tbcass wants the GR to have a zoom lens, a flash and an EVF.

If it had those things I it would not fit in my pocket. Which is the whole point of the camera.

If it had an EVF or an OVF the VF would be a tiny tunnel. I don't want that.

If it had a flash the flash would be on body and essentially rubbish - better to have a tiny little flash and shoot off camera.

If it had a zoom lens it would be too bulky and the lens too slow. I dont want that either.

If you want those things there is nothing to see here - move on and buy a Sony RX ( a camera I also own by the way.. ) .

Tbcass complaining about the GR is like complaining that coffee has coffee in it.

May 15, 2019*
tbcass
tbcass

Daft Punk

I don't want anything and I'm not complaining about anything. My points were to point out why the camera has a very limited market, nothing more, nothing less. Nothing I said is a criticism of the camera but are reasons why it's not a big seller. If you go back and read my first post in this subthread you should understand that.

May 15, 2019*
Daft Punk

Fair point, but you were holding the GR3 up in comparison to 1" cams from Sony , for example.

This makes no sense. I have a Sony RX something and I see no comparison. None at all.

Ricoh are ( I am certain ) well aware that their new camera does not have a zoom lens, or a flash. They have probably noticed this and factored it into their expectations in terms of sales. I cannot see a Ricoh exec somehow shocked that their camera is not suitable for someone who wants a built in flash. Just like I am not expecting someone to compare my Sigma SD-H with a cheese sandwich. Or compare my X-T3 with a prawn salad.

Ricoh know what their market is. It clearly is not you. I get that. It's me. And a few thousand other people like me. For us, it really hits the spot.

May 15, 2019
Alex Sarbu

The entire GR line - started in 1996 - is based around this concept, of a compact camera with a 28mm-ish lens.

May 15, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

Darkerlight

Of course it makes a profit or they wouldn't sell it.

May 15, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

Daft Punk

I never said the 1" sensor cameras and the GR3 were the same.

May 15, 2019
Alex Sarbu

Oh? "I say this because the IQ of the 1" pocketable zooms from Sony and Canon have IQ that is nearly indistinguishable from APS-C cameras below ISO 800."
It looks like you're blaming the GR for not being a Sony RX 100.

May 15, 2019
Daft Punk

So why are you here? if they aren't the same? Why mention different cameras that do different things?

I am tempted to go on the Oly EM1X review comments to talk about my washing machine. It would be the same thing

May 15, 2019
mxx
mxx

"My points were to point out why the camera has a very limited market, "

And why is that fact so important for you and many others to point out? The fact that you probably use a camera that sells better, does not make you a better person than the Ricoh shooter.

May 15, 2019
SpeedyNeo
SpeedyNeo

tbcass
Man, he lack of zoom is not a disadvantage of this camera, it's rather a feature.

How many very expensive prime lenses still exist and being sold for MILC on both FF and APSC platforms? (Hint: a lot)

A prime lens appeals to many types of photographers. They don't want zoom. A fixed prime lens makes perfect sense on a camera that's made mainly to be used for street photography.

This is a perfectly accepted compromise.

May 16, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

Alex Sarbu
When I said "I say this because the IQ of the 1" pocketable zooms from Sony and Canon have IQ that is nearly indistinguishable from APS-C cameras below ISO 800" I meant it. I defy you to tell the difference in IQ between 1" sensor camera IQ and this Ricoh below ISO 800. I say this as an owner of a 42mp FF camera. The difference between my FF and APS-C cameras at iso 800 and below is greater than the Ricoh and a 1" sensor camera IMO.

SpeedyNeo

That is true but it does not address the issue that this camera has a limited market which after all was my point in the first place.

May 16, 2019*
Alex Sarbu

tbcass: it's irrelevant if you mean it or not - what matters is if it's true. ;-)
Sooo... who are you to decide I should only shoot below ISO 800? Actually, who are you do decide anything for us?

May 16, 2019
Daft Punk

Why do people come on a forum to argue over a camera they are not interested in ? Why do they think people care why they are not interested?

It is bizarre.

If i went on the Canon 5D forum saying that i do not see the point in a DSLR people would rightly question why i was there.

If i went on a forum about 80’s prog rock to talk about electronic trance music people would rightly say “wrong thread”.

So why do people feel the need to talk about a camera with a fixed lens as a key feature and argue it should have a zoom ???

Why ? Life is short. Dont they have better things to do ??

May 16, 2019
Fazal Majid
Fazal Majid

People who compare the 1" cameras' IQ to the GRIII are delusional. I have the original RX100, the RX100M4 and the GRIII, and there is no comparison. The GRIII is heads and shoulders above the mushy RX100 series.

Now if you want a zoom lens and EVF, that's your prerogative, but this is what you end up with:
https://camerasize.com/compare/#723,819

not to mention zooms this size are just mediocre compared to even an ordinary lens, let alone the GR's outstanding prime. The only thing that compares is the Sony RX1 series, the Leica Q series or the Sigma DP1M.

May 17, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

My last post. I find it curious that people defend this or any camera from even the slightest hint of criticism. The emotional attachment of some people to an inanimate object can sometimes be surprising. I would hate to see the response to someone actually trolling and saying the camera sucks.

May 17, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

I found this post in the Sony Forum from someone who "upgraded" to a Sony RX100vi;

"I upgraded from the Ricoh GRII because 28mm is no place to live 100% of the time."

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/62680116

May 17, 2019*
Daft Punk

If it is the only camera I agree. If not, then it is nonsense.

May 17, 2019
Alex Sarbu

And this is one further post after your "last" <rolling eyes>

May 17, 2019
Daft Punk

I have no attachment to an inanimate object.

tbcass is making no sense. If he cared so little, why does he go to such extraordinary lengths to question and disparage other people's choices ?

May 17, 2019
Alex Sarbu

tbcass is a Sony user promoting a Sony camera and bashing a non-Sony one. It can't be more obvious.

May 17, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

I did not bash the camera one bit.

May 17, 2019
tbcass
tbcass

Alex Sarbu
And to prove this isn't a Sony Fan thing I feel the same way about the Sony RX1R with it's 42mp FF sensor and 35mm f 1.8 fixed Zeiss lens.. Too limiting to be a big seller.

May 17, 2019
Daft Punk

So what ?

Struggling to see the point of your posts. It’s self evident the Ricoh has a limited appeal to a specific market so I think most of us really struggling to understand why you are so invested in making these pointless statements.

May 18, 2019*
tbcass
tbcass

Daft Punk

I fail to see the point of your posts.

May 18, 2019
Daft Punk

So you are commenting about a thing you are not interested in, nor have any intention of purchasing; an item that is of no appeal to you, does not meet your requirements in any way. I ( and others ) in contrast, either are interested in the item or already own it. I can see why I ( and those interested in the camera ) would comment, but what precisely is the point of you being here?

I am not interested in needlepoint. Shall I go on a needlepoint forum and tell everyone why I am not interested, using hundreds of words and being argumentative? Would that be a sensible, sane thing to do ? This is precisely what you are doing. Frankly, it's weird.

May 18, 2019
MacroBokeh

troll in its finest...

Jul 22, 2019
scottenyc

I wanted to love this camera. But, it seems that my preference for shooting at night or in available light interiors is a deal killer. Miss after miss with this one. It often hunted forever and then fired at minimum focus. Maybe it's too much to ask for a better low light focusing system that fits in your pocket, but I'm asking anyway. I don't need the extra pixels, but I do need the shot to be in focus without destroying the moment with that horrible green light. Day exterior folks, trying to hide their camera, should love the Ricoh, but night stalkers will need to keep looking.

May 15, 2019
ffking

Can't you use the snap focus ? Or even manual? though I've not used it, so Idon't know how feasible this is

May 15, 2019*
Robert Garcia NYC

Did you have the updated firmware?

May 15, 2019
Daft Punk

Use snap focus. Its hyperfocal focus made easy.

AF is pretty irrelevant most of the time anyway for a lens like this.

May 15, 2019
kkoba

Even after the firmware update?

May 15, 2019
mxx
mxx

"I wanted to love this camera."

Luckily you don't have to.

May 15, 2019
dissonate
dissonate

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tv4wSsvGOb0

assuming you tried firmware 1.10, in your experience with the camera is the above youtube misrepresenting the improvement over 1.00 or the overall performance in low light?

May 15, 2019
Mac McCreery
Mac McCreery

When will folk stop judging cameras by what they lack? Handling, ease of use and image quality should be enough surely?

May 15, 2019
paleodawg
paleodawg

Cameras are judged by their price vs what they offer...

May 15, 2019
mxx
mxx

"Cameras are judged by their price vs what they offer..."

Sure, tell that to Leica users.

May 15, 2019
paleodawg
paleodawg

Leica offers their users the Leica badge...

May 15, 2019
SpeedyNeo
SpeedyNeo

paleodawg
"Versus what they offer" that includes quality of specs before their quantity, isn't it?

May 17, 2019
porrosno

a camera of the best,

May 15, 2019
SignumX
SignumX

I'm perplexed over why anyone in their right mind would be interested in this camera. The same kind of perplexity can however be seen at the Canon stand. Power of marketing and brand loyalty cannot be overlooked. Fanboys galore 😎

May 15, 2019
ffking

Ricoh? - Marketing!!?? :D

May 15, 2019*
vscd
vscd

It's not like Canon. Canon with no 4k = HATE. Ricoh with no 4k = OK, we don#t need it.

May 15, 2019
Revenant

Just because some people are interested in a product that doesn't make sense to you, that doesn't necessarily make them fanboys. They might have different preferences and requirements than you, and therefore see something of value that you're overlooking or don't care about.

May 15, 2019
goodgeorge

Simple answer Mr. SignumX: As an upgrade to my aging Nikon Coolpix A.

May 15, 2019
turvyT

@SignumX: you're right. this camera is for unassuming people who don't follow marketing strategies, most probably well informed and really interested in photography. Not for fanboys who criticize without ever having used what they criticize.

May 15, 2019
Managarm

You’re perplexed why anyone is interested in a camera with APS-C sensor, a great lens and control layout that you can just slip in the pockets of your pants or shirt? Now I’m perplexed too …

May 15, 2019
Daft Punk

I am genuinely perplexed that a person can be on a photography site and not see the benefit of a sharp fast lens and a large sensor in a tiny, tiny package that slips in a jeans pocket. It is perplexing that Signumx is so perplexed and he / she simply does not see this.

May 15, 2019
johnami
johnami

I'm perplexed why people take photos with telephones...ohh yea..convenience and boy, aren't those phones expensive......The Ricoh is convenient because it is small and quite solid, something I find isn't the case with the Sony 100s. It also has a huge sensor compared to phones or the Sony. I personally find that all cameras with retracting lenses eat dust. Let's see how well the shaking sensor in the Ricoh deals with the issue.

May 16, 2019
Daft Punk

I am not a raging fan boy type - let me make that clear.

But this is a bloody marvellous camera. Fantastic IQ and easy to use. Smaller than a small thing and well made.

AF complaints are largely irrelevent. With snap focus if you cannot get sharp pictures taken in a hurry with this camera then give up photography now , hand over your cameras and use a smartphone.

Lack of flash ? Does not matter. Get a little cheap pocket unit and a little remote cube on the hotshoe.

The price ? Getoutahere - for the IQ alone this camera is a billy bargain. Size is not correlated with value.

May 15, 2019
FantasticMrFox
FantasticMrFox

Everything you deem not important or irrelevant may be pretty important or relevant to others.

May 15, 2019
Daft Punk

The best GR3 review - from a GR2 user. Everyone on this thread should watch this.

https://youtu.be/xmV5FfSaEcw

May 15, 2019
(unknown member)

Too bad mine broke down after a couple of weeks refund given but wasted my time

May 15, 2019
ffking

@Daft Punk - thanks for the link - I'd forgotton about that guy, but he really knows his way around the camera and what it's for

May 15, 2019
mxx
mxx

"Too bad mine broke down"

Unfortunately the unbreakable camera has yet to be invented.

May 15, 2019
cali92rs

The price and AF are not too bad...but it would be real nice had they kept the pop-up flash from the GR2. It has a leaf shutter and high sync speed which makes it great for back-lit subjects or to get rid of the racoon eyes, or to add nice catch light in the eyes.

May 15, 2019
mxx
mxx

A small flash in another pocket is probably the answer.

May 15, 2019
cali92rs

Or a pop up flash such as what is included in the GR2 and the GR would have been an even more convenient answer ;)

May 15, 2019*
mxx
mxx

I actually totally agree with you, but there would probably have some sort of penalty like size or loss of other features.

May 17, 2019
Daft Punk

Off camera flash always gives better results. Have the camera in one hand and a tiny flash in the other. Easy.

May 17, 2019
Harold66
Harold66

Daftpunk the problem of this video , like most reviews on this new model, is not what they are saying but rather what they are leaving out
Most of the virtues that they praised on this model are already present on the previous model
yes the GRIII has slighty better resolution but for many long-time GR users they know (or will find out once the newness of it disappears)that the GRII is a better tool... and significantlly cheaper too

May 18, 2019
Ryan Villanueva
Ryan Villanueva

This is the perfect light stills travel camera for me. Although I did wish the 1080 video was decent, its IBIS is pretty good. Come on Fuji, bring out the X80!

May 15, 2019*
ogl
ogl

The night photo from review - ISO800 f2.8 at 1/10 is rather sharp for me

May 15, 2019
Total: 128, showing: 1 – 50
« First‹ Previous123Next ›Last »