Sample Gallery

Time spent in the field, behind the lens is an important aspect of DPReview camera evaluations. Below is a collection of sample photos taken with the Nikon Z7.

Please do not reproduce any of these images on a website or any newsletter / magazine without prior permission (see our copyright page). We make the originals available for private users to download to their own machines for personal examination or printing (in conjunction with this review), we do so in good faith, please don't abuse it.

210
I own it
423
I want it
56
I had it
Discuss in the forums
View Comments (4484)

Comments

All (4484)
Most popular (15)
Editors' picks (4)
DPR staff (56)
Oldest first
DigitalFFUser

Great Camera! Great review!

1 week ago
Alexturton

How has this camera got such a high % score when the AF system appears to be poor? Doesn't matter how well the DR, high-iso performance is... if it can't focus properly on a moving subject then its useless to lots of photographers.

Got a feeling the DPreviewers are biased towards Nikon over canon.

1 week ago
dual12

No, they're historically biased to Canon first, Nikon second.

1 week ago
Alexturton

so How can Nikon z get a higher score than eos r when the Nikon AF is questionable unreliable?

1 week ago
zavart

I don't want to sound like some kind of conspiracy theory advocate. But somehow I find it hard to believe that one of the biggest camera companies with all its experience and know-how plus having access to all the competition's gear which was produced in the previous years will come up with a product which is on so many levels below the par with their SLR range. Sorry but I feel that they have crippled their cameras on purpose. They know that that there were huge expectations among photographers but they still wanted to preserve their SLR ground. I'm almost sure that within 12 months there will be Z6 and Z7 markII and then 12 months later markIII . Meantime they slowly roll down the SLR business and thus make a total transition to mirrorless.

4 weeks ago
muppix

Sounds exactly like Sony crippling their high-end cameras with poor menus and no touch-screen while their low-end products enjoy both. Why innovate now when enough people will buy it as-is?

1 week ago
worldaccordingtojim
worldaccordingtojim

I am pleasantly surprised by the Z7, when it was announced with the EOS R I figured they would both be a total loss. The EOS R is worse than expected, the Z7 has been better. At least now there is some competition to push Sony forward.

4 weeks ago
HenryDJP

@worldaccordingtojim "At least now there is some competition to push Sony forward."

Haha, your name is very fitting for you. Sony, sir, is already FORWARD in the mirrorless market and the Z7 is no competition. The A7RIII is not only a better value but it offers far more feature set and it's a very well built camera. Sony has it's faults and they tend to cut corners every now and then, but they make the best FF mirrorless camera for professionals and prosumers and Nikon's Z7 is not the camera that will "push Sony forward". You've gotta be kidding. 😂

4 weeks ago
worldaccordingtojim
worldaccordingtojim

First, I sold all my Canon L glass and bodies to move to Sony. But Sony is still lacking in a few areas.

1. Their weather sealing is the worst on the market.
2. 8 bit video to external recorders, which I use an Atomos all the time.
3. There is still room for improvement on the grip
4. The hard plastic port covers are terrible
5. The Wifi app is far behind all the other brands

So in these examples, the Nikon does a better job. So I would hope Sony would use these as items to improve in the Mark4 series. Everyone wins with competition.

4 weeks ago*
HenryDJP

@worldaccordingtojim "Their weather sealing is the worst on the market."

And so you've actually tested the Sony A7RIII? And if so, by doing what? Dunking it in water, 6ft under? I mean, when you make such a bold statement I would love to know which model you tested and how you tested it.......or are you going by the usual Sony haters that say that? I have seen many YouTubers pour water on the Sony A6300 and it has had no issues with functionality. Honestly, the weather sealing should be a non-issue for most, unless you using it constantly in sand storms or the rain forest. I'm sure the A7RIII would handle either one anyway.

"The Wifi app is far behind all the other brands. So in these examples, the Nikon does a better job."

Haha, I wouldn't even have brought that up. Nikon's Snap bridge sucks!. Yeah, I have a Sony A6300 and the app could use some work, but it doesn't drop signal and it functions, but Nikon is known for the Snap Bridge being the worst in the industry.

4 weeks ago*
HenryDJP

@worldaccordingtojim. Hey Good Job posting that.....uh....USELESS LINK. HAHA. Sorry but unless you're comparing the Z7 (WHICH ISN'T THERE) then don't post this nonsense. The Z7 is an overpriced camera pretending to be the D850 thanks to Nikon's lying marketing saying it's a mirrorless D850. More like a feature-less D850.
Still, most people are not shooting in constant wet situations and despite your witty response (or you thought it was) it doesn't change the fact that not all lenses are fully weather sealed, so it doesn't matter if Nikon is a little better than Sony in that respect. Do you shoot in the rain forest or constant sand storms? Even if some people do that, most people will not put their $3000 camera in that type of environment, regardless of the type of sealing it offers. Thanks for the laugh. 😂

3 weeks ago*
Mr Bolton

Lot of hate going on for a shooter who sold all his Canons and L glass to shoot Sony-so you could say he's a fan-then dares to suggest some areas where Sony could improve.

How do you know he didn't have to replace a Sony body after it got set in the condensation ring from a cold drink on a hot day..? Their weather sealing has been called into question-even by fanboys-enough to suggest that there are shortcomings in that area on some Sony bodies.

I'm going to wait for a couple of firmware upgrades before trashing the Z series, as I think it's a great start.

2 weeks ago
Jon S7

I'm worldaccordingtojim. Sony has a lot to improve

1 week ago
sandy b
sandy b

Zed shoots NCAA Basketball. Little known setting pumps of the AF. Barney, did you try this? Maybe it's the real deal.

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/61945374

4 weeks ago
Lightright

This is a Z7 review but he shot with a Z6 camera. It looks interesting though. The Z6 could have a better AF performance but let's wait for the more in depth review of its sister model. Better AF performance is usually the trade off with higher resolution and the sensor size for mirrorless.

4 weeks ago
Hausner85

89% when the list of cons has 20 (!!!) positions? And many of them important ones... Someone lacks the courage to honestly rate this camera.

4 weeks ago
fadedphotoshop
fadedphotoshop

89% for both the Z and EOSR put together. There was a time when the F-1 and F3 made Nikon and Canon the KINGS of pro photography, but rapid changes in technology demand rapid adaptability but both manufacturers hesitated. Now Sony is for my pro use. Fanboys, don`t cry over a label, just get what camera suits your needs.

4 weeks ago
sandy b
sandy b

I don't know, I think I will stick with Nikon

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/61945374

4 weeks ago
NexLupus

The Nikon Z7 scored 89 and a Silver Award...The Canon R scored 79 and no Award.
Big difference

4 weeks ago
DrEvil
DrEvil

Sony huggers think that success with one camera model is all you need to take over the market. Nikon has been making cameras for 100 years. There were bumps in the road, but it always came through. Z7 is not perfect, but nothing is. Sony has no idea how tough this market is. In a few years it will be eating dust. And not the kind of dust you can remove with a brush.

4 weeks ago*
PVCdroid
PVCdroid

Not when Sony is 3-5 years ahead of any other manufacturer in sensor tech. Whoever has the best sensor wins.

4 weeks ago
Jase619

You can have the best engine in a car, but if you don't have all the other components on point you won't be the best.

4 weeks ago
HenryDJP

@DrEvil " Z7 is not perfect, but nothing is."

The Z7 had the potential to be as "perfect" as possible, especially since Sony's A7RIII had already been on the market. Nikon had all the cards in their hand to at least match the feature set and offer Nikon-exclusive features to bump off the A7RIII. Nikon's arrogance kept them from making the perfect camera. Heck, anybody would think they would make the "perfect camera" especially due to the forthcoming holiday shopping season.

"Sony has no idea how tough this market is."

Haha, are you for real? NIKON has no idea how tough the market is. Have you checked the prices? The Z7 is currently $3400. Sony's A7RIII is currently $2800. Please by all means show me where the Z7 is worth $600 more than the A7RIII? A company that knows the market wouldn't over-charge for their product when it's less than capable of the giant who's has far more experience in mirrorless.

4 weeks ago
Noogy
Noogy

We know the dominant brands being used by most professional photographers. Sony is however the benchmark of professional reviewers such as DPR.

4 weeks ago
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

Bear in mind there are multiple factors (investment in lenses, familiarity, pro-service membership) that contribute to inertia, preventing pros switching brands. Reviewers are trying to identify what's currently the strongest camera, which doesn't presuppose commitment to a system.

4 weeks ago*
Noogy
Noogy

And thanks for reinforcing the fact that professional photographers pick the system that gives them the best results. Professional reviewers pick the best gadget. The technicalities important to professional reviewers are not the game changers that you so often make them sound to be.

4 weeks ago
Clayton1985

@Noogy... no one really cares that you shoot Canon so no need to be so insecure.

4 weeks ago
Dennis12345

Still can't believe "CANIKON" messed around all this time and let Sony let so far ahead of them. Must be taking lessons from U.S. car makers.

4 weeks ago*
jkokich

So, neither the new Nikon nor the new Canon are really competitive in today’s market. Way too many negatives for such expensive cameras.

4 weeks ago
NexLupus

I would say you came away with wrong conclusion as the Nikon Zs received a Silver and 89 vs. Canon that received no award and only 79.

The Nikon is a much more finished product, that has better build, better weather sealing , better ergonomics, better user interface and better video than any other full frame camera out there.

If you need the best continuous AF for sports, it is not the camera for you you.

4 weeks ago
jbw28

@NexLupus @jkokich (re: sports shooting) and neither would the Sony A7 be the camera for you. You're looking at least at an investment in the A9 and at that price your dropping D5 and 1D money.

4 weeks ago
BlueBomberTurbo

@NexLupus

As stated earlier by DPR, scoring is heavily based on IQ. So the fact that the Z 7 has almost the same sensor as the A7R III is what pushed it so far ahead. Not the camera's performance and build in general. The same can be said about the R falling so far behind, having to compete with the A7 III. DPR's scoring methods need to be revised.

4 weeks ago*
NexLupus

@BluBomber
Yes, scoring is skewed towards image quality.
It is, however, completely disingenuous for you to say that that was the main reason for the score and the Silver award; especially when the opening statement in the review says that “The Nikon Z7 is the company’s most well rounded camera to date. “
That encompasses a lot more than just image quality!!!!

4 weeks ago*
BlueBomberTurbo

Unfortunately, the huge list of negatives, which encompasses nearly every major point of the camera, says otherwise. Adding usable video and usable LV AF definitely helped earn that "well rounded" statement, as Nikon was well behind the rest of the industry in both.

4 weeks ago
NexLupus

@Blue
Yet none of those negatives were enough to detract from the score of 89 or the Silver Award, or the opening statement.
You can try to detract, dissect, disinform all you want.
It does not change the fact that it is Nikon's most well rounded camera...this from a company that already has the best DSLR on the market in the D850.

4 weeks ago
BlueBomberTurbo

@NexLupus

Correct. The Z 7 has IQ that's second only to the A7R III. And the score reflects that. DPR said as much after coming under massive fire for their scoring. No detracting, dissecting, or disinforming.

4 weeks ago
M Lammerse
M Lammerse

The Z7 and Z6 are early adapter machines, for those who like to use mirrorless full frame camera's and a handful of professional photographers who are on the sponsor list of Nikon.
Great camera's for sure, but not aimed at those who are in need of photographing tools on a daily basis.
We all know that Nikon will come out in the nearby future with Z camera's which are aimed at professional usage, bigger buffer, multi functional (build in) grip, dual cards etc etc etc.

But with a camera like the D850 which is so good and so complete it will make it very hard for many professionals to switch to something which can't be seen yet as a replacement for DSLR. in relation to functionality and versatility

4 weeks ago
Tomek52580

This camera is just amazing. I own it, and I am so glad with that buy :)

4 weeks ago
Lexen Luis

I think this feature of In-body 5-axis image stabilization is outstanding.

4 weeks ago
Sergey Borachev

Just wait until Canon puts in IBIS in its cameras. Then, IBIS will be truly FANTASTIC, the greatest thing ever since the camera was invented. For now, the greatest-est thing in the history of photography is this - Canon colours! 😉😉

4 weeks ago
worldaccordingtojim
worldaccordingtojim

The Canon Color Scientists, are also in awe of their mount size.

4 weeks ago
CanonSharpShooter
CanonSharpShooter

Too expensive for what it offers! Z7 is more comparable to an A7rii priced at $1500-$2000.

4 weeks ago
CanonSharpShooter
CanonSharpShooter

Too expensive for what it offers! Z7 is more comparable to an A7rii priced at $1500-$2000.

4 weeks ago
Class A
Class A

A DSLR with such a high price tag that shared the Z7's weaknesses, such as
compromised dynamic range due to banding,
sub par AF due to less than stellar low-light sensitivity,
mediocre AF-C performance,
not a single cross-type AF sensor (they are all linear),
failing in pinpoint AF mode,
borderline battery life, and
serious ergonomic issues,
would be heavily criticised.

Strangely the very limited amount of native lenses is not noted as a negative (and no, adapters are not a fully satisfactory solution to that problem).

In other words, I don't think a DSLR in this price range with these failings would receive a 89% rating.

4 weeks ago*
lickity split
lickity split

Everywhere I read a review it’s full of excuses of why the Z bodies are overpriced turds compared to similarly priced Nikon DSLR’s , maybe after a few more attempts by Nikon they’ll get it right...

1 month ago
underxposed59

it's got the kung fu grip and you can take pix in a hurricane though

1 month ago
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

In response to the comment
"a large majority actually, of people here are just fanboys and/or stat geeks that simply don't understand the way in which $3,000+ bodies are supposed to handle/deliver. Very obvious they're not artists or pros, and obviously don't need $3,000+ bodies. "

There are many photographers and artists, who also understand electronics and statistics, and like to have the best tools for their jobs at hand. They are not fan boys or stupid geeks, just users who want the best value for their money, and to get the best their money could buy for their job or hobby.

Some people will continue to use film cameras, and others will keep their 10y old DSLR's .. Good for them .. but that doesn't make them Ansel Adams !!

On hand here, are specs and user feedbacks, that indicate major problems with this camera, at this level and at that price. That is the crux of the matter. It also, has to be compared to Nikon own D850 and Sony a7RIII.

1 month ago
Bob Jameson

What major problem? That's the thing. The AF-C issue was amplified by fanboys that made the camera so bad but that is not the case. I see that you rode with them without even trying out the camera yet.

Just look at the links below what the pro's are saying and let me know more about that "major problem" is about. The camera is fine. It has quirks. Teh demand is high and caught Nikon by surprise despite the price.

1 month ago
Benjamin Kanarek
Benjamin Kanarek

Hear, Hear! Bingo!

1 month ago
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

I tried the camera and the AF is not on par with the D850 in any shape or form.
I haven't heard anybody contest that as yet!!
All people say is; they know it doesn't function as well as D850, but they still like it, which is personal choice that I respect, but doesn't make it as good a camera as the D850.

1 month ago
armandino

@Bob Jameson
Tony and Chelsea seem to me quite expert in using and testing new gear. I rarely seen them so not convinced with any new competitive cameras, always looking at pros and cons. Tony even has a comparison between the Eos R and the A7III stating 'not clear winner" definitely valuing some of the strengths of the Eos R even if on paper is trashed by the A7III. I was quite surprise to see them not to really on board with the performance of the new Z from Nikon. To me that is a pretty big flag.

1 month ago*
underxposed59

the problem is the price

1 month ago
tbcass
tbcass

Ignore this,

1 month ago*
tbcass
tbcass

A lot of Fan boy comments below that are quite laughable. What I find curious is how a camera with an 89% score got only a silver award. How those awards are given is still a mystery and yes I have read what DPR says about it. Either the camera deserves a gold award or the score is too high. It would be nice if there was a detailed explanation of how the scores are given for each individual camera.

1 month ago*
Benjamin Kanarek
Benjamin Kanarek

Yes, exactly. The Fujifilm X-T3 received a Gold ranking and 88% where the Z7 received a Silver with 89%...What am I missing here?

1 month ago
Craig from Nevada
Craig from Nevada

What are you missing? Well, take a look at the full reviews. The "Gold" and "Silver" awards are akin to participation trophies. It is noteworthy when a camera does not receive one or the other (point and shoot excepted). Gold and Silver awards should be handed out at the end of the year in limited quantities and based on the totality of the year's reviews and not at the discretion of the reviewer. Make it meaningful. Make it hard.

Second, the scoring system does not generation enough variation. Most cameras reviewed fall into a narrow band--in the 80s. Some of this is simply due to the fact that the cameras reviewed on this site are generally very good cameras. DPReview needs to rethink this. There needs to be greater variation in the scores--88 or 89 are for all purposes the same--and greater range of scores. Toughen the testing and standards. I think I recall reading that they are working on this.

1 month ago*
tbcass
tbcass

Years ago DPR used Recommended and Highly Recommended instead of Gold and silver. It was very rare for a camera to be rated not recommended. When asked why they said they only test cameras that deserve the Recommended or better ratings.

1 month ago
Craig from Nevada
Craig from Nevada

"When asked why they said they only test cameras that deserve the Recommended or better ratings."

How would they deserved this rating without testing the camera in advance?

1 month ago
tbcass
tbcass

You've got me. I asked the same question at the time. Maybe they started testing a camera and quickly realize it was a POS and not worth their time. :-)

1 month ago
Pedro Courelas
Pedro Courelas

Nikon buy Sony sensors.
Canon don't.
In the future this will be a problem for both.
Nikon needs Sony and Canon sensors we know.

1 month ago
worldaccordingtojim
worldaccordingtojim

Canon just reuses 5 year old sensors, that do not have the performance to keep up.

4 weeks ago*
jkokich

“Hey, here’s our best effort! No, it’s not up to the competition, but the next version will be! Promise!” Okay, then why buy this one?

1 month ago
Thematic

Z8 and z9 are coming. Those will fix the issues.

1 month ago
Bob Jameson

It's better than most people think. It's has several features better than the A7R III more than the A7R III has features better than the Z7. Real photographers say it is a very good camera even edging the best all around DSLR in D850 is most cases:

https://diglloyd.com/blog/2018/20181107_1145-ReaderComment-mirrorless-systems.html

http://blog.michaelclarkphoto.com/?p=7395

http://www.naturalart.ca/voice/blog.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNAziALpnXc&t

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xup0euGZS3Q&t

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGdOIj71aXY

Only Sony fanboys will say this is a bad camera so that they can justify their purchase. I will say to Sony fanboys, buy another Sony A7 body while they are on sale. Get a second copy, enjoy it, and don't look back. Buy them ASAP because Sony just lost over 30% market share on full frame MILC. What a better way to help your company by buying a second body!

1 month ago*
Thematic

"even edging the best all around DSLR in D850 is most cases"

Debatable.

1 month ago
armandino

@Bob Jameson

"Only Sony fanboys will say this is a bad camera"
I feel this is the defensive interpretation of some supporters of the Z series. I do not think many actually are meaning that. Z6 and Z7 are really good cameras however they do not exist in a vacuum. It is hard to recommend them at their price point when you have cameras like D850, D750, A7RIII, A7II. They feel almost a generation behind in some core features, no bad for a first but facing a tough competition.

1 month ago*
underxposed59

cause it's new and shiny

1 month ago
Oskar P

Deja vu'

I remember when the Sony SLT fans slammed all cameras because of their "poor" AF and "inferior" sensors. Sony fans patted each other on the back and bragged about how soon SLTs would dominate.

But sensible photographers knew Sony doesn't make cameras for real photographers. They lack decent support and accessories and their ergonomics and menus are pathetic.

SLTs were a massive failure.

Meanwhile Canon and Nikon kept building marketshare. Even with all the cries by Sony fans, Nikon and Canon hold a near 80% market share for ILCs (mirrorless, SLTs, DSLRs).

Canon learned long ago. There is no need to have the latest most expensive technologies. Instead the focus on being the best OVERALL system and supporting existing photographers (Canon replaces many accidentally damaged cameras in the US for free, while Sony lies about weather resistance and refuses to cameras damaged by weather).

1 month ago
Thematic

The best overall system where nikon launch with 3 lenses (24-70 stinks), rely on adapters (nothing wrong with it imo), don't have a proper battery grip, only a single card slot, auto focus issues, a lens road map without fast lenses (apart from one).....

Oh ya.... They are Reinventing the whole system alright.

1 month ago
Oskar P

Thematic you made yourself look like a troll.

You admit there is nothing wrong with adapters. Which means Nikon has over 90 lenses on day one.

And the Nikon adapter isn't like the Sony crap adapters that block light and massively restrict usuabliity (2.5 FPS, etc).

So one day one the Nikon Z cameras have lenses like the the 400/2,8 and the superb and compact 300/4 and many other lenses that other systems can only dream about.

1 month ago
armandino

@Oskar P
"Canon learned long ago. There is no need to have the latest most expensive technologies".
That is what Canon do with a massive market share and a mature system. That will not work as a strategy for someone that wants to succeed in competing with Canon at this time. Sony in my opinion is doing many things right, the main of them calling the opposite strategy that Canon offers drawing to them people unsatisfied with Canon marketing strategy, successfully. Canon will offer you a BMW will a Corolla engine? Sony offers you a Corolla with a BMW engine. Complementary works. It is also great that Sony can work quite well with Canon glass. That is also why I own both systems, yet for my own preference I shoot 99% Sony and 1% Canon, hanging there hoping that Canon will drop a decent engine in one of their future models. It has not happened in a while.

1 month ago*
Oskar P

Sony is failing. They are down to 13% market share globally.
Canon APSC mirrorless (just a couple bodies) out sold Sony mirrorless, FF APSC, and SLTs combined in places like Japan...and not just for 1 year. For 3 years and each year increasing that dominance.

Now we see Sony has lost 33% market share in the past month alone. Ouch.

1 month ago
armandino

@Oskar P
"Now we see Sony has lost 33% market share in the past month alone. Ouch."
Going from 100% to 65% does not mean much at this time. It is really simplistic and naive making trends or drawing conclusions based on these numbers (i.e. are Sony Sales declining or MILC FF expanding? No new Sony model while Nikon Canon debut, etc).
Sony has had their A7SIII ready for debut for sometime, and they postponed the launch as they saw no real threat from current Canikon offerings :-) so clearly Sony has a different view from yours on the happening.
Let's pick up this conversation in a couple of years.

1 month ago*
Oskar P

November/December is the most important time for sales volume during the year. This is when sales volume is at its greatest.

Sony had already fallen to 19% market share for mirrorless in Japan. Poor sales during the 4th quarter could mean dropping to well below that.

Meanwhile before releasing a FF mirrorless camera, Canon was inching towards 30% and is already the #1 mirrorless camera seller in Japan.

1 month ago
armandino

@Oskar P
again, let's pick it up in a couple of years :-)

1 month ago
kvken

SLT's set the ground work for everything great in mirrorless cameras. Once minolta was out of the market some needed to step in and innovate. Nikon and Canon cernity wasn't going to. If you love your full frame mirrorless camera (any brand) you need to thank Sony. It was their out of the box thinking that got us here.

1 month ago*
Oskar P

SLTs had nothing to do with mirrorless. They were a massive failure.

Panasonic and Olympus pioneered mirrorless. They pioneered 5 axis IS, electric shutter, and more.
When Sony finally released a mirrorless camera, it lacked a VF, and IS. Later Sony got smart and started to copy Olympus, Panasonic and Aptina.

1 month ago
armandino

@Oskar P
If Sony did not work on FF mirrorless you can be sure that neither Canon or Nikon would be offering a FF mirrorless right now. That is pretty much a fact.
"SLTs had nothing to do with mirrorless. They were a massive failure."
SLTs are not a massive failure, Sony made the brave move to go all the way mirrorless sacrificing SLTs future, just like Nikon and Canon will follow suit with DSLRs. And again Sony is the overarching reason for which such process is happening much faster than Nikon and Canon would have liked to.
Panasonic and Olympus might have pioneered mirrorless, but Sony and just lately Fuji created the first truly competitive mirrorless to compete with DSLRs marking with this past year with the release of the A9, A7RIII, A7III, and XT3 the beginning of the end of DSLRs. Sure it is not because of the micro 4/3 systems.
But I doubt you get it Mr. Oskar who joined this forum 2 months ago and I know it all.

1 month ago*
kvken

Sony developed it's on sensor focusing on SLT's. It developed its hi res EVF's for SLT's. Focus peeking DMF and facedetection / face registration all on SLT's. SLT's were the first SLR type camera with one button video. SLT's were only a failure to close minded people who thought all this features were just garbage that sony added, with no real value. Who cares that they lost a third of a stop. Sony over came that by removing the translucent mirror, and the sony A's were born with all the technology from the SLT's. Nikon and Canon along with their fan boys laughed and said these will never be a threat to our DSLR's.?..

1 month ago*
Oskar P

Sony did NOT develop mirrorless AF on SLTs.
They had to buy that tech from Aptina.
SLTs only used mirror based PDAF until the A99ii.
And everything thing else you mentioned they copied.

SLTs were a huge failure.

And Sony's idea for mirrorless at first was a camera without a VF, without IS, and with terrible AF.

1 month ago
kvken

Minolta started IBS and sony bought it from them along with tha A mount. At least in dslr. I know minolta's IBS was part of the deal when Sony took over their mount.

1 month ago*
Oskar P

Minolta used a very different kind of IBIS. It NEVER appeared in Sony mirrorless.
Also, Sony quit using that outdated IS with video in SLTs and opted for electronic stabilization because their OLD IS created too much heat.
Sony later copied Olympus 5 axis IBIS which is what they use in their mirrorless cameras.
It is not as good, but it is significantly better that the Minolta/SLT IS.

Like I said, Sony copied pretty much everything. All they did was apply it to a larger sensor.

1 month ago
kvken

The A99 was the first to use on sensor focus point. It has 102 points. https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sony-alpha-slt-a99/11

1 month ago
Oskar P

The A99 uses the OSPAF tech Sony bought and copied from Aptina. It first appeared on the Nikon 1 cameras.

Sony's mirrorless AF was pretty bad, so they made a deal with Aptina.

And of course the A99 was a massive failure. No one talks about SLTs having a future.

1 month ago
kvken

As digital cameras became much more functional and affordable, photographers started transitioning to digital. Konica Minolta (which was later acquired by Sony) was the first to offer sensor stabilization in its Minolta DiMAGE A1 camera and it was a matter of time until other companies started adopting sensor-based image stabilization.

Minotla was first sony acquired they may bout something else I'm not going to research that. IBS started with Minolta and sony bought it soon after.

https://photographylife.com/lens-stabilization-vs-in-camera-stabilization

1 month ago
Oskar P

Again. NOT the IBIS in use today.
Olympus pioneered the 5 axis IBIS Sony later copied. It is completely different and far superior.
Sony still hasn't been able to come close to Olympus but their version is better than the inferior IBIS used in most SLTs (A99ii finally uses the superior IS).

1 month ago
kvken

This is about the fact that Sony use the SLT to develop its technology. They made have bought stuff along the way to improve it but this what built Sony cameras.Like Nikon never borrowed technology. they have never innovated anything important. Minolta innovated most of the stuff we use. I'm not bashing Nikon that was never the intent. I like Nikon products. I still have a lot of Nikon glass I may go back one day. I was really hoping for the z 7 to be a camera for me. I want a smaller package. The camera isn't the deciding factor great photos. I'm just saying the SLT's were important for Sony. If you have never actually you should. It all the things that people can't live without now, accept it had it five years ago.Yes it wasn't super refined yet but it worked well.Things it had that " real photographers" laughed at and said no real camera would have that. EVF, focus peeking, DMF, Focus zoom,face recognition, facial registration, on sensor focusing. and I'm sure there was more.

4 weeks ago
Oskar P

Again, Sony abandoned the IBIS tech from Minolta. It sucked. It wasn't near as good as ILIS and it caused massive overheating problems. Every SLT that used it for video shutdown in under 5 minutes if used on a sunny warm day. Sony was forced to abandon it for video and instead used terrible electronic IS on SLTs.
After giving up on that kind of IS Sony copied Olympus (but did a poor job).
The Olympus like 5 axis IS which is very different is found in the recent Sony cameras.
After buying Minolta, Sony abandoned their DSLR tech. They abandoned their IS tech. They abandoned most of the advanced A mount lenses. And soon they will abandon SLTs.
SLTs were a complete failure.

4 weeks ago
kvken

Last response. The SLT's had no over heating problems. Over heating did not come the small e mount bodies. You didn't answer my quest have you ever used one or is all your comments just hear-say.

4 weeks ago
Oskar P

LOL!!
SLTs had massive overheating problems.
That is why Sony abandoned the A55 body size. And in the A55 manual Sony had to a section explaining that the camera can overheating in as little as 5 minutes.
But it wasn't just the A55/A33 that over heated. The A77 was found to quickly overheat too. Sony's solution was to skip using IS during video and do it with software. But that didn't stop the problem.

4 weeks ago
redtailboas

Shocking score for a camera with such a massive list of serious issues.

1 month ago
Bob Jameson

With 1 point difference with the A7R III, it just goes to show how bad the Sony A7R III is. But Sony fanboys don't see it that way. They are like horse on blinders and just see it 1 way.

Here's a very nice camera and this does not have a serious issue:

https://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2017/10/about-getting-your-camera-wet-teardown-of-a-salty-sony-a7sii/

1 month ago*
kodachromeguy

Hmm, did you learn vocabulary from a certain orange politician in the White House? Massive, shocking, serious. Good power words that often mean very little.

1 month ago
redtailboas

😂 Only if you're dumb enough to not translate them to whatever words might make sense in your own head, or to not Google them if they're beyond you.

1 month ago*
BlueBomberTurbo

@Bob Jameson

Someone's not paying attention. ;) DPR clearly stated the reason the score was so high was because of the camera's IQ, which is what the final score is heavily weighted on. The long list of failures in the Z 7 don't affect the score much, if at all, because of this. The Silver vs Gold rating is the more important thing to look at, with the Sony being Highly Recommended, and the Nikon just Recommended.

4 weeks ago*
Tommi K1

I feel so bad about some DPR members that they are so dependent from the camera gear that every new model makes them more capable, creative and overall better photographers and they need to wait year after year to get every niche improvement that there is...

1 month ago
Thematic

How's that soap box?

You lost? This website is called digital photography review.

What are you confused about?

1 month ago*
Sir 7

Lol, Thematic. :D

Well, I get where both of you are coming from.

On the one hand, I'm SO there with Tommi. It's really obvious by DPR comments that many, a large majority actually, of people here are just fanboys and/or stat geeks that simply don't understand the way in which $3,000+ bodies are supposed to handle/deliver. They just wanna argue stats and fling endless insults. Very obvious they're not artists or pros, and obviously don't need $3,000+ bodies. What they really need is to read some Ansel Adams and basic photography books.

On the other hand there is the clear minority here that's been avidly/professionally shooting high/top-end gear for a long time and know what truly matters in a camera to deliver more/better images for their type of shooting, or all genres really. Such photographers have a very clear idea of what's out there and what's missing. Such photographers always yearn for that extra thing, that could actually make the difference in getting the "perfect" shot.

1 month ago*
PPierre

Had the pleasure to see it in use today. Coming from Sony lands, all I can say is that I wish Nikon had released this 2 years ago... It feels great in hands, looks great, but yes, it feels much more like an A7RII competitor than an A7RIII competitor.

However, let's not forget the countless awesome photos that were taken with an A7RII in the previous years : I'm pretty sure the Z7 is an awesome camera provided you don't need the fastest tracking-AF or FPS... To me, it's a nice first camera, and I'm sure Nikon will solve its shortcomings in a year or two with a more capable body.

I won't move from Sony since I've invested too much in my current equipment, and I don't feel I need much more than what I have now (plus, Sony has many great lenses now), but had these two bodies been released some 2 years ago, I think I'd have moved to Nikon.

1 month ago
kodachromeguy

Thank you for a reasoned response and overview. Quite a contrast to most of the wackjob comments below.

1 month ago
armandino

@kodachromeguy???
I think most people below would agree with PPierre. Since its first unveiling the Z7 was considered by many an A7RII competitor more than the A7RIII which indeed makes it a great camera yet now not cutting edge and the A7RII was cheaper than the Z7 even at its first release. I think, included myself, many are annoyed by the biased overall score. I do not think anyone is questioning that Nikon did a great job for a first.

1 month ago*
Clayton1985

It's easy to generalize and claim the Z7 is an A7rII competitor because of some aspects of the Z7 AF system but when you consider things like the Z7 better battery life, better EVF, better rear LCD, top LCD, much better weather sealing, better grip, and overall better build quality you can see that it is a lot more than the A7rII especially if these are things that you consider to be important for your needs.

1 month ago
armandino

@Clayton1985
comparisons are often done at performance level. Considering that right now you get an A7RII for almost half the price of a Z7, well I do not know if the advantages you are talking about buy the difference. Note that the Z7 battery is rated only 10% better than the A7RII and the Sony still has eye AF which is a really good feature and Sony offers a REAL battery grip too. So when you look at value for the money I am not so sure which one is better.

1 month ago*
Clayton1985

The Z7 battery is significantly better in the real world vs the A7rII. It isn't really close in my experience. I agree about the value to performance, that really depends on your own needs. For me, the better EVF, better rear LCD, top LCD, better battery life, base ISO 64, built in intervalometer, better weather sealing and my expectations for the soon to be released 14-30 f4 lens were the primary reasons I decided to replace my A7rII with the Z7. It was a difficult decision and I could have easily gone with the A7rIII and been happy too. They are all really excellent cameras.

1 month ago
armandino

@Clayton1985
why the Z7 and not the D850? You do realize you are paying a premium for the Z7 I hope. What sort background do you have in photography gear? What have you owned so far? What is that you primarily shoot?

1 month ago*
Anulu

This ridiculously overrated score destroy DPR's credibility further, what is one thing.

But the sad thing is, they misleading their readers, and those who are standing before buying a new camera.

Because based on the points, they take their expectations with the level of D850 and a7RIII, if so, they will be very disappointed with the Z7.

1 month ago*
kreislauf
kreislauf

will they?
did you use the Z7?
Or is this just a theoretical exercise on your part?

1 month ago*
Anulu

Yes they will

1 month ago
Mr Bolton

I hefted the Z7 at Glazer's today. Well, 'hefted' isn't the right word since it felt nicely balanced and not too heavy. It also felt quick and responsive and the EVF was fantastic. I don't have any XQD cards or reader so sadly I couldn't bring the pics home for a pixel peep :-( but the camera playback looked great.

I've tried them both now, and I think I like the Nikon a little better than the Canon. Probably the control layout of the Nikon is a little closer to the Fuji and Olympus that I'm used to-the twin dial shutter speed and aperture control (versus on the lens aperture ring) felt very Olympus.

If I had the money I'd rent one to play with it in the real world.

1 month ago
armandino

@kreislauf
a camera at this price point cannot be a generation behind in terms of AF and FPS, nor a single card slot and a tease of a battery grip especially when the battery life is far from top performance. In order to achieve top rating should have something truly special to offset the shortcomings. I do not see anything truly special about this camera. Just a good camera and understandable that the shortcomings might be irrelevant to many yet a rating is based on its value compared to the competition.

1 month ago*
kreislauf
kreislauf

@armandino
"In order to achieve top rating should have something truly special to offset the shortcomings"

yeah! like Image quality and ergonomics maybe?

"I do not see anything truly special about this camera"

that's because you are still focused only on the spec sheet instead of looking at the photos that come out of this camera nor did you use the Z7 in real live!!!

these reviews are for people who plan to buy the camera in question.
If the camera doesn't suit you, that's ok.
But WHY do you need to try to convince other people, that they shouldn't invest in that system?
Jealousy?
Or do you need to vent your post-purchase rationalization?

1 month ago*
armandino

@kreislauf
"yeah! like Image quality and ergonomics maybe?"
Neither of the two are truly special, not enough to make up for the shortcoming at least. There are several cameras out there that match or surpass that, some of them are cheaper too.
Someone needs to be pretty blind or requiring very selective needs (i.e. compactness?) to take the Z7 over the D850. Considering that the D850 is cheaper AND one year older, I still think my argument is valid. None of the new Z lenses are a draw to the system (differently from the Eos R system). Again I am not questioning if the Z7 is a good camera but its value in the current market. The Z7 will not get even close to the success of the D850, yet same rating? I Believe there is lots of solid ground on my questioning, indeed I am not the only one here disagreeing with the overall rating.
I am not in the market for either the Z7 or the D850, so maybe I see things a bit more objectively here than people more invested in either or?

1 month ago*
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

The discussion shifted completely to the 89% by DPR

The camera itself is the matter of discussion

I am not comparing to Sony, Fuji or Canon

Comparing to own D850 .. because only if it matches or better than D850 I'd move

So compared to D850, and from personal experience as well as reading all reviews and watching all videos

-EVF no match yet to OVF, due to an ever-so-slight refresh time-lag, very noticeable if you can concurrently view the actual scene outside the screen
-AF is definitely not a match, even in S-AF, there is a very slight time-lag using 24-70mm f2.8E VR at maximum aperture
-AF modes and tracking very complicated to engage, change and move about. I even asked the Nikon guy to show me any short cuts or helping tips to make it easier, and they couldn't, because there isn't

1 month ago*
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

-Missing 3D tracking which was always advertised as Nikon's industry leading technology, only till Z7 came out !! Now they say, who said it makes a big difference. Actually you did, and for a very long time!!
-Shutter doesn't cover sensor when lens off, as in Canon-R when exposed
-No Eye-AF as in Sony a7x xxx
-Much smaller shooting buffer, especially in RAW-L 14-bit
-Continuous shooting falls below 5.5fps with no EVF blackout and C-AF (9fps with MDB-18 and EN-EL-18c combo)
-Only one XQD card slot (can still use my old SD-cards in D850 if stuck)
-Banding issue limiting the dynamic range use
-Only very few Z-mount lenses available even in intermediate term (5 year plan)
-Smaller but not that smaller, and lenses still large

1 month ago*
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

All these problems or drawbacks are already in the review .. so people need to read the review and not rely on the score, which is shown to be very mathematically biased, invalid and showing external unreliability. It is not testing what it should test, and it is shown to be unreliable in comparing cameras. This is a matter for DPR to re-visit, and perhaps get a good statistician to advise. They are doing a good job testing, but using dubious measures and methods, which produce a completely invalid and un-reliable score. So, don't waste your time and get a good mathematician/statistician.

1 month ago*
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

For potential buyers, go out to the shows and shops and try it out for yourself and make that decision out for yourselves .. yay or nay

1 month ago
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

And from DPR themselves

AF system hunts in low light, due to limited sensitivity
Face detect less reliable than competition
AF Tracking less reliable than competition
AF Tracking cumbersome to engage/disengage
Touchscreen cannot be used for touchpad AF when using the EVF
Limited AF button customization
Significant rolling shutter in full-frame 4K footage
No live feed at 9fps
Live feed at 5.5fps suffers from significant drop in EVF refresh rate
Very limited buffer
Inconsistent metering, heavily weighted to AF point
On-sensor AF causes banding, slightly limiting usable dynamic range
Aggressive noise reduction at high ISO
Electronic first curtain shutter (EFCS) needed to avoid potential shutter shock (yet is off by default)
EFCS limits shutter speed to 1/2000
Two-Button-Reset and Quick Format actions missing
No linear response option for video shooters wishing to manual focus
Battery life on the short side
Single card slot
No flip-around screen for vlogging

1 month ago
armandino

It is unfortunate that the Z7 is so expensive, if it was considerably cheaper I think people would look at the comparison between the D85 and the Z7 differently. I do not shoot Nikon, but if I did I would currently stick with the D850 and wait for at least one iteration, unless you are a hybrid photographer really needing the Z7 AF and possibly the 10 bit files.

1 month ago
kevin_r
kevin_r

No matter the short comings, this is a great camera and a lot of people will produce amazing photos with it.
So thanks for the review DPR.

1 month ago
Mared
Mared

Should be for the price. That's the key factor you're missing and so is DPR - for the price and how does it stands vs the D850 & A7R3. Not so good in my humble opinion...

1 month ago
armandino

It is indeed a great camera, but at this price point, why people would prefer it over the D850? Unless portability is critical I really do not see any valid reason to get the first iteration Z7. Things would be different if it was considerably cheaper.

1 month ago
kevin_r
kevin_r

I'm somewhat perplexed at the score and rating: 89% but only awarded a silver rating?
Have you now upped the ante and requirements for achieving a gold rating?
Just asking.

1 month ago
Mared
Mared

Yes, same score as the D850. Why only a Silver??? Or, better yet, how come a silver with all those CONS???

1 month ago
Satyaa

I think that question has been asked and answered too many times. There is no correlation between the score and award. They indicate two different things.

Read https://www.dpreview.com/articles/4416254604/camera-scores-ratings-explained

1 month ago
Bob Jameson

@Mared and @Satyaa, remove your blinders and look at what the Z7 has over AR7 III and D850 and you will understand. You focused too much on the negatives that you entirely missed the big picture and that is Z7's advantages over other cameras.

DPreview got it right. In fact, the score could have been higher if not for the auto area AF. Don't worry that Sony lost 30% market share on MILC full frame the last 2 months. Good for you, they are on sale now. You can get your 2nd body cheap. Deal with it. Sleep well at night knowing your Sony can still make great pictures tomorrow.

1 month ago*
Satyaa

I am not sure how/why you interpreted my message but I wasn't talking about Z7 or A7 cameras at all. You don't have to feel the need to defend any camera from me. I'm neither buying a Z7 or A7.

My response was only to the questions about why a score of 89 does not result in a Gold award. I was pointing out that the score and award are not directly related.

Go back and look at my comments on the Z forum. I agreed with DPR's conclusions.

1 month ago
NexLupus

@Mared
They gave it that score because they felt it obviously deserved it.
Again the Sony May focus faster in CF but the Z7 has...
Much better build
Much better weather sealing
Better viewfinder
Better touchscreen implementation
More megapixels
Better user interface (I know subjective, but they DPR prefers it).
Better ergonomics
Capable of 10bit 4.2.2 video
Better native implementation of adaptor with existing lenses.

1 month ago
Mared
Mared

Bob Jameson - You're full of cr*p. First - Sony hasn't lost 30% market share. That was for for one store sales in Japan only - nothing like conflation and lying. Also - if you looked at that data, Z7 sales were miniscule - all of the dent in Sonys dominance was a temporary spike in EOS R sales. Z7 sales were flat-lined/dead :).

As for DPRs PROS/CONS if you look at DPRs positives, the Z7s are a joke in a large part. Examples: - "No need to micro-adjust lenses" No Kidding, it's Mirrorless!!!! and "Headphone and microphone socket" You think!?!? for a $3,400.00 camera!!! "Menus familiar to Nikon DSLR users" Well that's nice for Canon, Fuji, Sony, etc Users!!! "First full-frame Nikon with a usable silent shutter mode" Who cares, everyone else (Sony, Fuji & Canon) has had this forever!!!!

What a silly list of positives - DPR staff was really reaching

1 month ago
Bob Jameson

@Satyaa, my bad. I just realized I included your name. Not my intention. Sorry.

@Mared, DPReview is saying the A7R III is that bad that's why there is only 1 point difference with the Z... but you will not accept this. You knew that one small firmware fix by Nikon will overtake your beloved A7R III. That hurts really bad if it happen.

1 month ago
LookintotheMirrorlessoften

89% for a camera which is more expensive than the competition and has a weird af-implemention & a single card slot.
If you don’t shoot video, a d850 is a better choice. And that’s what Nikon wanted...

1 month ago
Mr Bolton

XQD is supposed to be faster and/or more reliable than SD. That's my understanding anyway.. SD is just about maxed out in speed capability, but XQD has a lot of headroom left for expansion. Meaning the Nikon might get faster at high FPS as its memory cards get faster.

2 weeks ago
Bob Jameson

From DigLloyd:

"I greatly prefer operating the Nikon Z7 over the Sony A7R III. While the Sony A7R IV will surely be improved, Sony is clueless about building cameras with the right ergonomics/haptics; that is a key strength of the Nikon Z7. In my view, the Nikon Z7 and Canon EOS R are already superior in ergonomic/haptic terms to any model Sony camera."

https://diglloyd.com/blog/2018/20181107_1145-ReaderComment-mirrorless-systems.html

Sony is supposed to be a camera company making lenses unlike Nikon which is a lens company making cameras.

1 month ago*
PictureTakerPhotoMaker

Yeah. Nice.you can set an AF mode it just does not make any difference. It ain't AFing.

This is what I'm reading between and not so much between the lines in every, single, ef-ing review.

As a stupid Nihon follower I have about any camera they have ever made, but usually they got better. This whole AF mess on the z series I don't understand since all 1 series where better.

But of course ymmv, my personal opinion, whatever just get it right.

1 month ago
Oskar P

It is great to see actual results where the AF is so much better than initial quick reviews.

The rest of the camera is mostly superior to the current FF mirrorless cameras (that have poor ergonomics and no weather resistance and lack lenses). 90 Nikon lenses function superbly...and there are more from several 3rd parties. And no 2.5 FPS restrictions!!

1 month ago
armandino

@Oskar P
The a9 has no 2.5 FPS restrictions, and has in my opinion superior ergonomics. As a fact the A9 is generally under valued and under understood by the majority. In simple words the Z7 looks like a petty attempts to mirrorless when you compare it to the shear performance of and A9. I am pretty sure the A9 AF and FPS will simply kill the Z6 or the Z7 with Canon glass ( not problem tracking at 10FPS), never mind with native glass, in which case the A9 lives on an entirely different planet altogether.
I find it funny how you keep on clinging on the poor Sony environmental sealing, clearly it is the only thing you can hang on. Petty you.

1 month ago*
Oskar P

But trolls keep say it can't do that! Shouldn't we believe those haters who never touched the camera?

The camera looks to be very capable. And unlike another mirrorless brand can shoot faster than 2.5 FPS with lenses like the 400mm 2.8, or a 200-500mm zoom.
This camera has a much wider choice of lenses.

1 month ago*
MikeStern

According to all these short comings I am surprised by the 89% score.
To me more like 85 or highest 86% score should have been given.

Autofocus and one card slot, even image quality... proof is there in the pudding. What happened to the proper scoring.

1 month ago
Bob Jameson

If you look at the short comings of the Sony, you can say the same thing. In fact, other than AF, the Sony has more short comings than the Nikon. Please look at it both ways and not open your eyes only to the system you already have.

1 month ago
HSway
HSway

AF-C performance is excellent news.
The dodgy AF with back-lit (& low contrast) targets - that I enjoy abundantly with my 200-500/TC/D750 - not so good news, although the Z7 is still likely a way ahead of that combo. How the Z cameras do with that combo, I would have to dig out for myself. Once again though, the positive assessment of the AF-C single point is critical.

- The review overall comes out very positive to me.

1 month ago
Beshkno
Beshkno

@HSway, I'm guessing that with your 200-500 you're shooting wildlife. If so, a £4400 camera with anything less than excellent AF performance across all modes is Imo, a deal breaker. I also have used the D750 with various lenses including the 200-500 and its performance and IQ is brilliant, thus I could not find any redeeming value in the Z7. Of course it may serve static photographers well, however.

1 month ago
NexLupus

@Beshkno
Ahh, yet another Sony shill, with an account just 6 days old...welcome to the forum, or do you already have multiple accounts, so no need to welcome you?

1 month ago
Beshkno
Beshkno

@NextLupus, My friend, Im here only because Im recovering from the effects of 2 years of chemo treatments. I have little left right now but my opinion which I will post at my discretion and without your juvenile permission. When your mother finds out how much time you spend here she'll pull the plug on you. Now go do your chores and be good little boy.

1 month ago*
NexLupus

@Beshkno
If true, I wish you a speedy and full recovery.
I really do.
However, that does not change the fact that you are trolling this thread and talking about product you haven’t used.
Nor does it change the fact that you opened your account 6 days ago, just in time for the Nikon Review, which seems very suspect.

1 month ago
HSway
HSway

@Beshkno - I can’t agree about the AF and 200-500, and especially not with 1.4 III TC.
The benefit of the Z6 is the number of focus point positions available for the framing (and there are more ways one can benefit from it, we all have different needs) and the instant feedback about useful, even critical things in these scenarios.

3 weeks ago
Ronnie T

I'm planning to get this camera but the DP review doesn't quite match user experiences found on the internet particularly the pro users. It's very highly rated by pros actually. Hoping for a Z6 review so I can decide which camera to get after that.

1 month ago
kodachromeguy

I am sure real photographers out in the real world are doing great work with this camera, using the Z and adapted F lenses. Ignore the fakes and "experts" here and you will be fine.

1 month ago
otto k

If at all possible, rent before you buy. Noone's opinion beats your own

1 month ago
ozturert

Thom Hogan says Z7 is good in AF-C but not as good as D850. I tend to agree with his findings.

1 month ago
LookintotheMirrorlessoften

Nikon ambassadors

1 month ago
Aleksa T

I think that sony has a very strong marketing office out there :)

But both cameras from canikon are just great. I think they just did on purpose some of the drawbacks because they still have to sell they dslrs

1 month ago
esmoxd
esmoxd

Sony can't rest on it's laurels even though both the Nikon and the Canon mirror-less offerings seem in a number of ways inferior to the current Sony A7III. The company Sony took over from (Minolta) was always plagued by the description It's not a Nikon/Canon as if the mere name makes them superior. Popularity does not make a camera better. In many ways Minolta made a better product, Sony has to not just be better they have to be a lot better to overcome that blind brand loyalty.

1 month ago
armandino

I really hope so. Sony is getting a lot right, now that finally Nikon and Canon are in the game they need to turn their wonderful toys in real camera. That should not be too hard to do.

1 month ago*
esmoxd
esmoxd

Funny, to me cameras are just a tool, Sony cameras are no different to any other, they are no more "toys" than Canon or Nikon, my point was it isn't what label on the front that matters it's more the outcome that it produces (the image).

1 month ago
Beshkno
Beshkno

"DPreview: " The only area where the Z7 comes up a little short is autofocus reliability and usability" So it's a bit short on focusing and reliability, huh? Heck, focusing is one of the primary functions of a camera but heck, who needs reliable focus, right? It's only a $3,400.00 body camera so thats Ok. No problem in giving an 89% rating, eh?

1 month ago
Bob Jameson

That is area autofocus only in AF-C. The AF-S focus itself and AF-S single point are fine and accurate. Your statement blacket the whole autofocus of the Z7 is bad. No, it is not.

If you take a shot of drunken cyclist, the AF will struggle. Otherwise, birds-in-flight shots, for example, is fine. See here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQFPjvIBQfE&t=744s

With all the features that the Z7 has over the Sony, for example, other than the auto area AF, the Z7 should have scored over 90% easy.

1 month ago*
Beshkno
Beshkno

So it's good focusing a static subject, hmmm.... I can do.th
at in manual.focus. Ok, your turn.

1 month ago
Class A
Class A

@Bob Jameson
I agree with you that AF-C performance is not the be all and end all of a camera. After all, landscape and portrait shooters, etc. don't need good AF-C performance.

However, DPreview have repeatedly made a point how important AF-C is for them, e.g., by rating the Pentax K-1 at 84% only, despite the camera costing less than half of a Z7 and being the only DSLR with in-body image stabilisation with a host of tricks up its sleeves.

Consistency in evaluating features would go a long way of making reviews useful.

1 month ago
Beshkno
Beshkno

@Class A, The problem Ive seen with the reviews here is they seem to compare performance with less expensive cameras to ones costing 2, 3 or more times the cost. Its like comparing a Ferrari to a Ford Fiesta.
The rating must factor price point otherwise the process is seriously flawed.

1 month ago
TrojMacReady
TrojMacReady

I read at least 3 AF problems. General reliability for tracking moving subjects (that's a big one), face tracking losing focus more than competitors and AF in very low light 2 to 3 stops less sensitive than competition (lotd of hunting).

There's something to be concerned about for a large portion of the potential userbase. Only if you solely shoot static subjects or predictable motion in good light, there's no reason for concern. But that's where practically all cameras currently do fine. Even the first mirrorless Panasonic 10 years ago. For reference, some cameras released a few years ago were met with criticism for similar AF performance.

1 month ago
NexLupus

@Beshkno
Nice 6 day old account...and you joined just in time for the Z7 full review.
Very suspect....

1 month ago
Mariano Pacifico

Can Canon EOS R top this off? Guess not.

1 month ago
Bob Jameson

The EOS-R doesn't have to top it off. They already got over 22% market share on their 2 month release. The EOS-R is good as it is given the price point.

1 month ago
AlexLex

@Bob Jameson - Something to clear out - BCN covers just over 50% of Japanese market and has a long history of "tweaked" reports. So this 22% of Japanese market, not world FF MILC market, could be right but could be also very wrong. We are living in the world of fake news...

1 month ago
Mared
Mared

Bob Jameson - As AlexLex so adeptly put it, you're full of crap. The EOS R is already on it's way to flat-lining like the 6D2.

1 month ago
lantographer2017

I have very little objection to the size and weight of a camera - all three of my DSLRs have grips including the D3300 which needed to be bigger anyway - so this size 'advantage' of mirrorless seems like a detriment to me. To hear Sony users evangelise about mirrorless, you would think they were without issues, but here we have the two players with the most to lose turning in mirrorless cameras that don't perform as well as their DSLRs, despite taking so long to launch them. To me, it seems like both Nikon and Canon are more inclined to protect their core business and launch mirrorless consumer cameras just to add another product line. It sure doesn't seem like they are out to alienate people heavily invested in their existing lens system, professionals in particular.

1 month ago
StoneJack

Actually the video autofocus of Z is much much better than that of Nikon DSLRs. I know cause I own two of Nikon DSLR and use them for video.

1 month ago
Dennis from Florida
Dennis from Florida

How did it end up with 89% (one point behind the Sony a7rIII ????

Looks like you wanted to pan it but just couldn't do it. When I use the "compare" tool with a 850 or a7r3.....it looks like the Z7 should be around 84% or so.

1 month ago*
Snapper2013

Most think that even your 84% is too high and it should have been more like 79% and a bronze award.

1 month ago
James Stirling
James Stirling

They could have just as easily slaughtered Sony for their poor ergonomics and build quality. Speaking as a Sony user there is a real delusion amongst a group of Sony users that their cameras are perfect .When in fact every camera on the market has its pros and cons. The A9 the Sony camera with the best AF is now on its third firmware update that improves AF

I think they have click baited every issue with the Nikon Z cameras in the manner that you would expect from the usual youtube shills. "Oh my god if you under expose by 4,5 or 6 stops and push it back you can get banding " etc

I am interested to see what happens with the Canon Eos R which a has longer list of gotchas than the Nikon, old sensor, no IBIS, one sd card , poorer build quality and so on. Maybe the drunken junket that Canon organised to Hawaii will pay dividends come review time lol

1 month ago
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

Because our scoring system is heavily weighted towards image quality and doesn't give much (enough?) weight to AF, which is the camera's biggest shortcoming. Even then, the Z7 is good at some aspects of AF while being poor in others - a subtlety it's difficult to perfectly capture in our current scoring system.

1 month ago
BlueBomberTurbo

@!James Stirling

"When in fact every camera on the market has its pros and cons. The A9 the Sony camera with the best AF is now on its third firmware update that improves AF"

It's not that the AF was bad from the start. On the original firmware, the A9 was right with the D5 and 1DX II in AF performance, despite having a faster continuous drive and uninterrupted view of the action. Things will only get better with improved firmware. Wonder if it's to the point that it would surpass the D5 by now...

"I think they have click baited every issue with the Nikon Z cameras in the manner that you would expect from the usual youtube shills. "

You seem to have missed all the bashing Sony cameras receive in and out of their own articles. ;)

1 month ago
armandino

@Richard Butler
How did the D5 get its high rating then? It is all about AF and nothing about IQ

1 month ago*
Class A
Class A

@Richard Butler
If your scoring system is heavily weighted towards image quality, why didn't the Pentax K-1 receive a higher score at the time?

In your own words "And, while single shot image quality is extremely good, it becomes absolutely outstanding in circumstances where you can use the Pixel Shift mode."

The K-1 used one of the best Sony sensors available at the time and doesn't suffer from banding/striping artefacts. At the time you only identified two cameras that you thought had very slightly better IQ, both of them were/are significantly more expensive than the K-1. The Z7 does not offer Pixel Shift so that's another big plus for the K-1 whenever Pixel Shift is applicable.

Yet, the K-1 only received 84% from a scoring system that is heavily weighted towards image quality?

1 month ago*
Dennis from Florida
Dennis from Florida

@Richard Butler

But, but, but. The image quality is a wash on raw and the Sony bests on JPG, low light, etc. The Sony falls short on build - so if the image quality is scored higher, the Nikon point should be lower or the Sony higher.

1 month ago
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

I had the most extraordinary chat with a photographer friend.
They got the Z7 in exchange for their D850.
When I pointed out the problems, they said they are using the D500 for photography that requires accurate AF or tracking !! and Z7 for everything else !!
I wasn't sure what everything else was, as they were also using the Fuji XT3 on the move !!

1 month ago
James Stirling
James Stirling

The S-AF of the Z7 is as accurate and reliable as my Sony A7rIII . Certainly from what I read C-AF is not as good though lets face it if C-AF and tracking are vital to what you shoot you would be better off with DSLR's

1 month ago
armandino

@James Stirling
"C-AF is not as good though lets face it if C-AF and tracking are vital to what you shoot you would be better off with DSLR"
I do not think so, no DSLR has a decent eye AF and near 100% frame AF tracking. Current best mirrorless easily match DLSRs AF, exception made for Nikon latest 3D tracking, but again Nikon has no eye AF and I prefer that over 3D tracking anyway.

1 month ago
HFLM

@Stirling: ??? An A9 is easily able to compete with D5 and 1dxii. So your "lets face it if C-AF and tracking are vital to what you shoot you would be better off with DSLR's" is a bit weird. Even my A7riii and A7iii work great at weddings when tracking stuff, much better than all dslrs I used in the past (d5 is the exception).

1 month ago
James Stirling
James Stirling

Sorry guys my post has caused crossed wires . I was responding to HEWcanon and his post about a Nikon shooter and meant that they would be better served with the Nikon DSLR's .

@HFLM
The A9 after three firmware updates with enhancements to AF performance is indeed very good , the best mirrorless available. Tracking at a wedding is hardly a challenge compared to sport and wildlife. Despite the A9 performance it has not been the success I expected with very significant price drops . Maybe the Nikon's will improve their C-AF with firmware

1 month ago
HFLM

Specialists cameras are never high volume products. Nikons d5 and Canons 1dxii aren't either (but they profit from a larger user base). Additionally, many wildlife/sports shooters are invested in expensive glass. Not something one trades lightly. Nevertheless, in Germany at least I know quite a few having switched to the A9, quite successful here.
Although weddings don't press the AF as hard as sports events, all my previous dslrs had a hard time tracking the eye in dim light at f1.4 to f2 esp. with outer focus points. Low hit rate. It is interesting when talking to our fellow photographer friends or when giving workshops, this is something people complain about often. Easy with the A9. The wildlife guys at FM forum are very happy with the A9 focus capabilities, too. Quite a few are thinking of selling their 400/2.8 for the GM and A9.

1 month ago
James Stirling
James Stirling

I made no comment about the A9 capabilities just the major price drop . Since Feb it has dropped by £800 up till a couple of weeks ago there was an offer with free grip, free flash , free extended warranty . I have never seen any other Sony camera drop price so significantly in such a short period { I am a Sony user } . As you say a lot of photographers that need that level of performance are heavily invested in lenses

1 month ago
MILC man

@james stirling - as usual, you make claims about a9 package sale prices, while ignoring the fact that retailers also have package pricing on other camera brands, for example:

"Nikon D5 Kits SAVE UP TO $832.20" https://www.adorama.com/inkd5x.html

the sony a9 still lists for the exact same price that it did when it was first released over a year ago, $4,498: https://www.adorama.com/isoa9.html

1 month ago*
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

Why is Fuji XT3 getting a far lower score as mature as it is?"
Exaggerate much?
Fuji XT3 = 88%
Nikon Z7 = 89%
Sony a7R3 = 90%

Fuji should be 99% compared to the other two, if they were all on level ground. Better ergo's, usability, AF, all round. Just doesn't have the user base like Canikon.

1 month ago
MICKY_FINN

Actually, having tried the XT-3 on a few occasions (I even considered switching to it), I’d suggest the review score of 88% for it is hugely favourable. I first had a look at the XT-3 at my local retailer, they were holding a touch and try event for the Z7, and also had the Fuji there for the same purpose. I came away with the impression that as a fourth generation product, the XT-3 was some way behind the Z7 on AF, EVF and ergonomics. Before I get accused of not knowing how to set the AF up on the XT-3, the Fuji rep apparently did that for best performance.

I then went back a few weeks later to have another look at the XT-3 once it was in stock, and I was left feeling completely underwhelmed by it yet again. Also tried the XH-1 and the AF was as bad on that. For good measure, I tried a Sony FF mirrorless on the same day for comparison, and that was miles ahead of the Fuji cameras. I’ll stick with Nikon, the Fuji’s are vastly overrated.

1 month ago
wasTF

1% for the missing IBIS in the XT3 :-P

1 month ago
chaimav

That's because the X-T3 is in a different category. This score is relative only to other 'Semi-professional Full Frame Cameras' while the X-T3 is in the 'Semi Professional' category.

"All scores are relative to the other products in the same category, at the time the review was published. Scores for products in different categories are not directly comparable."

I am not saying that I agree with this approach, but that is the way they do it.

1 month ago
James Stirling
James Stirling

Better ergonomics is BS , usability ? , as to not having the user base of Canon or Nikon .Fuji does not have the user base of Pentax

1 month ago
wasTF

Obsessing over end scores is really a bad thing, because the end score is an average about all its perks thus not really worth for anything except if its really really bad...

On the other hand DPReview 89% is becoming a meme at this point ;-)

1 month ago*
arra

Fuji should never be compared to any FF camera because is APS-C, just like you shouldnt compare small city car with limusine. For the same reason you should not compare FF to Fuji GFX.

1 month ago
kadardr
kadardr

If you want X sensor and wheels over wheels navigation you will prefer Fuji whatever the score is. If you do not like X sensor and want to shoot full frame, well, that is a different ballgame, and you can chose S or C or N as you like. Fuji cameras are for those with special preferences.

1 month ago
jimrpdx
jimrpdx

Yay I showed up early - I'm comment 4247!!
%-)

1 month ago
Thematic

Reinventing Comments!

1 month ago
BlueBomberTurbo

You get the 89%er prize!

1 month ago
FrankS009
FrankS009

Wow, that review was quick!
F.

1 month ago
Roddy McLean
Roddy McLean

89% and Silver Award for a failure! You guys are in the wrong business. You should be in politics......

1 month ago
Thematic

Sales will dictate a failure or not.

Not you. Not me. Not reviews. They influence sales slightly.....but that's it.

1 month ago
BlueBomberTurbo

If Amazon has anything to say about it, things aren't looking up. The EOS R is staying way ahead.

1 month ago
Roddy McLean
Roddy McLean

Sales was not my target, Are you DPR?

1 month ago
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

Sales aren't our target, either. We do not benefit in any way from one camera selling, rather than another.

1 month ago
Roddy McLean
1 month ago
BlueBomberTurbo

@Roddy

If sales were their target, tin foil hats would be #1 on Amazon from all the sales here. ;)

1 month ago
HEWCanon
HEWCanon

Main problem is that we are comparing 89% to a far superior D850 with same score .. However, compared to 89% and 90% given to Sony a7 III & 7R III it seems OK. Why is Fuji XT3 getting a far lower score as mature as it is? This makes the scores rather useless. I personally read the reviews and the conclusions and forget about the score, then try camera out for myself to decide to buy or not to buy .. in this case and after trying it twice .. it was not to buy.

Best thing is to forget the score .. it is not the main issue .. Main issue if you have D750 D850 D500 would you trade it in for Z7, keep it and add Z7, or keep your camera.

1 month ago
Thematic

"Why is Fuji XT3 getting a far lower score as mature as it is?"

Exaggerate much?

Fuji XT3 = 88%
Nikon Z7 = 89%
Sony a7R3 = 90%

Thats virtually identical and based off individual metrics and the Gold award was indeed given to Fuji because "relative to its class and time introduced" its the Gold standard.

Nikon is not.

Its easy to understand what Dpreview are doing. They are honest and accurate.

1 month ago*
BlueBomberTurbo

The biggest issues are class separation, image quality weight, and the moving target style scoring used. If these were spelled out continuously in the final scoring...

[89% Silver Award]
-------------in------------
[2018 FF Mirrorless]

vs

[89% Silver Award]

...for all cameras, things might not have blown up as much. The test will be the EOS R's scoring, as its IQ is significantly lower than its competitors in the class, and IQ is supposed to make up a large percentage of the score.

1 month ago*
JPatrick
JPatrick

"based off individual metrics"

I'm curious what the metrics are. What is the scoring system that Dpreview is using to come up with their score? Does anyone know?

1 month ago
Thematic

Lmao 😂 @ JPatrik

1 month ago
JPatrick
JPatrick

@ Blue Alrighty then! Good to know there is a formula. Thanks for the link.

@ Thematic I'm glad to entertain!

1 month ago
Sir 7

@BBT:

Based on your link to DPR's rating scale, looks like the Z7 should somewhere in the 60-65%ish range...

1 month ago
MShot
MShot

Nikon says the Z6 won't ship for another month.

I find the Fn buttons hard to use. Placement could be better. The front dial is hard to turn much because only a small amount of it is exposed. The back top dial isn't much better. Check the OLY OMD, Nikon. How could you do this?

1 month ago
NexLupus

The Oly is a dying system

1 month ago
MShot
MShot

I referenced only the well designed top twin dials on the OMD, how well they work, how good the placement of the Fn buttons are compared with a poorly designed Nikon.

To your Segway, there is no way you can shoot 80-840mm hand held with ANY FF system without spending 2X the money, carrying 2X the size weight & net more than a one stop improvement. To do better you have to carry a bazooka & spend as you do on a car.

If you go to a camera EXPO you will find its the DSLR that is dead. DSLR owners I know say they bought the last one. They are waiting for V2 Z & R, & replacement for flagship DSLRs.

They line up three deep in the mirrorless camera booths at Camera Expos while Canon fills their booth by giving away prints & Nikon reps have nobody to talk to. Z6 may help.

Next year OLY will bring a blizzard of new products & people who claim the system is dead will look foolish. You can't beat it for telephoto unless you have a Sherpa to carry the gear & a giant budget.

1 month ago
NexLupus

@MShot
That was a great story especially the part about the empty Canon and Nikon booths at Expos.
Completely the opposite of what i have seen.
But I digress, Olympus is dying, market share of 1 to 2% and now Panasonic shifting to FF is the death blow for the company.
Start saving up for a sherpa.

1 month ago
MShot
MShot

NextButt:

No, you didn't see the opposite. And you don't read what Panasonic and OLY say or you don't want to know it. Panasonic is adding a format, not replacing one. They are expanding the business not replacing a format. They brought out a lot of new M43 products this year. Because they can't sell them? Because they are quitting the format?

The store manager tells me he saw a light switch thrown this year from which DSLR, to which mirrorless. There will always be a market for the crop sensor and if not I can't find anything better so I'm happy to use the gear I have. If the market dies I'll stock up with spares on the cheap.

I will never spend $20K for a couple of stops of light and carry a 12lb camera and lens when the images don't look any different when you shoot in the envelope.

1 month ago
CanonSharpShooter
CanonSharpShooter

Sorry nexlupus, you’ll probably parish before the oly system.

1 month ago
MShot
MShot

Nexputz knows. He just likes bashing, not to be taken seriously.

1 month ago
Francis Sawyer

Nikon has long displayed a peculiar ignorance of ergonomics.

The Nikon FM2 shutter release was locked unless you flipped the winding lever out, so it stuck out from the back of the camera... and gouged you in the forehead when you put your eye to the viewfinder. VVTF

1 month ago*
MShot
MShot

Sure Nexputx, good enough for National Geographic but not good enough for you....

Feel free to carry 2-4X the weight and spend 2-4X the money.

https://www.jaydickman.net/

BIF with M43 but no Nikon DSLR 3-D AF

No problem

https://scottbourne.myportfolio.com/

M43 dead? Why?

1 month ago
joe_leads
joe_leads

„MFT is dead!“ is the new „But the Canon colors!“. ;-)

1 month ago
MShot
MShot

joe_leads :

It's the new Y2K. If you don't remember, all the computers in the world would stop working when the clock turned Jan 1, 2000. Billions spent on consultants to prepare for an event than never happened.

1 month ago
brownie314
brownie314

Does the Z6 actually exist? Why does all the ML talk always center on the Z7? Is there an obvious reason for this that I am just missing?

1 month ago
BlueBomberTurbo

Z 6 has a delayed launch. Still not on shelves yet.

1 month ago
Mared
Mared

I wish RIchard Butler would stop writing that scoring is heavily weighted towards image quality. It isn't. The highest current scoring camera in DPR, the D500, has a Crop Sensor and is a good, not great sensor. The rest of the camera was great - AF, ERGOS, Build, etc.

How does he explain that??

1 month ago
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

Cameras are scored by class, and the D500's sensor was very, very good at the point we reviewed it. Comparable performance to the best cameras in its class at the time.

So it got a very good IQ score and good ratings for AF, ergonomics, etc, helping it get such a high overall score.

(That said, it also scored pretty well for video, which it wouldn't, if it were tested today).

1 month ago
Thematic

Exactly. It's relative to "the time period" of the review.

Why do people like Mared insist on Dpreview owning a time machine to time travel around - past and future - and change reviews?

It isn't difficult to understand.

1 month ago
Mared
Mared

Thematic - Then why does DPR use this difficult to compare current, in production cameras to one another? The D500 isn't some out of production camera - it's current last time I checked.

To make my point easier for you to understand, I'm saying that Richard Butler & company are using this statement as cover in a BS review. Example - "We also love Sony’s Eye AF. These differences aren’t huge, but overall, the a7R III" . This is the dumbest statement ever. Eye AF is a tremendous advantage and DPR goes on to play it off as no big deal which is complete BS, just like Butlers Sensor argument (which are both Sony sensors anyways). Do you get now, Thematic??

1 month ago
Total: 951, showing: 1 – 50
« First‹ Previous12345Next ›Last »