1046

Nikon Z6 Review

Operation and controls

Nikon has done a lot to ensure that the Z6's operation feels familiar to users of its existing DSLRs. But, while the Z6's menus and interface are similar to Nikon's older models, the behavior of its AF system is likely to be unfamiliar.

Key takeaways:

  • Menus are familiar for Nikon DSLR owners
  • Touchscreen is extensively used but there's no AF touchpad option
  • i Menu now touch-sensitive and customizable
  • Buttons are highly customizable but dedicated AF mode button is absent
  • Separate stills/movie customization

Touchscreen

The touchscreen is used for a number of things: setting the AF point, interacting with both the main menu and the customizable 'i' menu (more on that further down this page) and for zooming and navigating images in playback mode.

One noticeable omission is that the screen can't be used as a touchpad when the camera is held to your eye, a few found on more and more cameras these days, including on Nikon's own D5600. Existing shooters of high-end Nikons need not concern themselves: there's an AF point joystick instead, but it does seem like an odd feature to omit on a touchscreen camera, especially given just how many focus points must be traversed to get from one side of the screen to the other. At the very least, there's a provision to skip every alternate point, if you prefer faster operation over increased precision.

Menus

The Z6's menus will be immediately familiar to anyone who's used a Nikon D200 or newer DSLR. Not only does it follow the same tabbed structure with the color-coded Custom Settings menu divided into logical subsections, but it also offers a near-identical set of options to those in the D850.

This color-coding and the 'index' screen shown above makes this the menu system we find it easiest to navigate, when it comes to complex, enthusiast and high-end cameras.

i Menu

One of the main changes on the 'Z' cameras is the move to a touch-sensitive, customizable version of the 'i' menu, used for quick settings changes. This is essentially a streamlined version of the system developed in Nikon's mass-market cameras.

Unlike the D750, which had an 'Info' button to show a screen of settings and an 'i' button that brought up a list of options, the Z6 sees the two concepts combined. There's still a full-screen info display, now accessed by pressing the 'DISP' button, but the twelve options along the bottom of this panel are now customizable and interactive.

These twelve options also pop up as an overlay in live view mode, if you hit the 'i' button. You can then navigate these either using the four-way controller and 'OK' button or by tapping the screen. You can't navigate using the camera's joystick: a slight annoyance.

Options assignable to i menu
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)
  • Image Quality
  • Image Size
  • Exposure Compensation
  • ISO sensitivity settings
  • White Balance
  • Set Picture Control
  • Color space
  • Active D-Lighting
  • Long exposure NR
  • High ISO NR
  • Metering
  • Flash mode
  • Flash compensation
  • Focus mode (AF/MF)
  • AF-area mode
  • Vibration reduction
  • Auto bracketing
  • Multi exposure
  • HDR (high dynamic range)
  • Silent photography
  • Release mode
  • Custom control assignment
  • Exposure delay mode
  • Electronic front-curtain shutter
  • Apply settings to live view
  • Split-screen display zoom
  • Peaking highlights
  • Monitor/viewfinder brightness
  • Bluetooth connection
  • Wi-Fi connection

If you select an option in the 'i' menu by tapping it, a list of available options appears, whereas if you navigate to it using the physical controls, it's simply highlighted and the camera's dials can be used to quickly scroll through the available options.


Button customization in stills mode

The two main Fn buttons (placed between the lens mount and the grip) can be used for a number of functions, either to temporarily have an effect while pressed or, in conjunction with the command dials, to cycle through the available options for a specific function.

A subset of these functions can be assigned to a press of the joystick and, with the sole exception of 'Protect' the single-press options can also be assigned to the L-Fn buttons that may exist on some Z-mount lenses.

Single-press options (Fn 1, Fn2, L-Fn, *Joystick press)
  • Select center focus point (Joystick press only)
  • AF-On*
  • AF lock only*
  • AE lock (Hold)*
  • AE lock (Reset on release)*
  • AE lock only*
  • AE/AF lock*
  • FV lock*
  • [Flash] Disable/enable*
  • [DoF] Preview*
  • Matrix metering*
  • Center-weighted metering*
  • Spot metering*
  • Highlight-weighted metering*
  • Bracketing burst*
  • Sync. release selection*
  • + NEF (Raw)*
  • Framing grid display*
  • Zoom on/on
  • MY MENU
  • Access top item in MY MENU
  • Playback
  • Protect (Not L-Fn)
Button + Dial turn options (Fn1, Fn2, *Joystick press)
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)*
  • Image quality/size
  • White Balance
  • Set Picture Control
  • Active D-Lighting
  • Metering
  • Flash mode/compensation
  • Focus mode/AF-area mode
  • Auto bracketing
  • Multiple exposure
  • HDR (high dynamic range)
  • Exposure delay mode
  • Peaking highlights
  • Rating
  • Choose non-CPU lens number*
  • None

Movie [Rec] button

Since the Movie record button isn't used in stills mode and the button configuration can be set separately for video capture, it essentially becomes a third Fn button.

Movie Rec Button press options
  • AE lock (Hold)
  • AE lock (Reset on release)
  • [DoF] Preview
  • + NEF (Raw)
  • Framing grid display
  • Zoom on/off
  • MY MENU
  • Access top item in MY Menu
Movie Rec Button + Dial Turn options
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)*
  • Image quality/size
  • White Balance
  • Set Picture Control
  • Active D-Lighting
  • Metering
  • Flash mode/compensation
  • Focus mode/AF-area mode
  • Auto bracketing
  • Multiple exposure
  • HDR (high dynamic range)
  • Exposure delay mode
  • Shutter spd & aperture lock
  • Choose non-CPU lens number*
  • None

AF-On

The AF-On button can only be used for a limited number of AF and AE-related functions.

Oddly, Nikon has omitted the 'AF-area mode' and 'AF-area mode + AF-On' options, which exist on its high-end DSLR and allow you to temporarily switch to a different AF mode or, better still, switch modes and initiate focus. We found these could be hugely useful in fast-paced shooting and are disappointed to see them go missing.

AF-On button options
  • Select center focus point
  • AF-On
  • AF lock only
  • AE lock (Hold)
  • AE lock (Reset on release)
  • AE lock only
  • AE/AF lock
  • Zoom on/off
  • None

Button customization in video mode

The camera's buttons can be configured separately for video shooting mode, with the camera offering a much wider array of options than the D850 did. It's also possible to configure the 'i' menu to offer access to a different set of features for video capture than the ones you've chosen for stills shooting.

The camera's buttons and 'i' Menu can be configured separately for video shooting

In video mode, the Fn1, Fn2, Joystick Press and AF-On buttons can be customized. The power aperture and exposure compensation options are designed to be assigned in pairs, such that Fn1 and Fn2 offer opposing functions.

Single-press options (Fn 1, Fn2)
  • Power aperture (Fn1: Open / Fn2: Close)
  • Exposure compensation (Fn1: + / Fn2; –)
  • Framing grid display
  • Protect
Button + Dial turn options (Fn1, Fn2)
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)
  • White Balance
  • Set Picture Control
  • Active D-Lighting
  • Metering
  • Focus mode/AF-area mode
  • Microphone sensitivity
  • Peaking highlights
  • Rating
  • None

One absence to note compared to Nikon's DSLRs is the 'Access top item in MY Menu' option. This is a great shame, since it can be a really useful way to gain access to a feature you want to access.

AF-On and Joystick press

The AF-On button can only be used for a limited number of AF and AE-related functions. Note the option to initiate video recording using the AF-On button.

AF-On button and *Joystick press options
  • Select center focus point*
  • AF-On
  • AF lock only*
  • AE lock (Hold)*
  • AE lock only*
  • AE/AF lock
  • Zoom on/off
  • Record movies
  • Framing grid display (Joystick press only)
  • None
Joystick press + Dial turn options
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)*
  • None*

Other customization options

The camera lets you choose whether to use the shutter button to take photos (which it can do at 8MP without interrupting 4K capture), or to initiate video recording.

As in stills mode, the lens ring can be re-purposed. Again, by default it's used for manual focus or correcting autofocus but it can also be assigned to power aperture, exposure compensation or to have no function, in order to prevent accidental operation.

Finally, you can reconfigure the role of the 'OK' button at the center of the four-way controller. This can be set to 'Select center focus point,' 'Zoom on/off,' to 'Record movies' or to have no function. This means, in all, you can start movie shooting either with the dedicated button, with the shutter button, with AF-On, with a press of the joystick nub or using the 'OK' button.

Auto ISO

The Z6 continues Nikon's existing and excellent Auto ISO implementation. This lets you specify an upper limit and a shutter speed threshold at which the camera will increase the ISO setting. This threshold can be set to relate to the current focal length, with options to lean towards shutter speeds faster or slower than 1/focal length. As usual for Nikon, if you specify an ISO setting while in Auto mode, this becomes the minimum setting that the camera will use.

Auto ISO can be used in manual exposure mode (for both stills and video) and retains exposure compensation to let you specify the target lightness that the camera will try to maintain.

237
I own it
395
I want it
49
I had it
Discuss in the forums
View Comments (1046)

Comments

All (1046)
Most popular (15)
Editors' picks (1)
DPR staff (26)
Oldest first
User8622029851

The Z6 is also for folks, like me, who shoot everything in available light, and who may not even own a Speed Light, or flash of any kind. I have been shooting in available light sonce the 1960’s, when I bought my first F camera and Nikkor 50mm f/1.4. Low light capability is that important to me. There are probably others who have the same priority.

10 hours ago
Raven 777
Raven 777

Even so I'm Nikon shooter I was thinking to switch to Sony a7III. I've been trying a7III at photo shop and Z6 as well. But after playing with this two cameras I decided to get Z6. It's really well designed has better EVF and more user friendly for me. Mostly I'm shooting street and landscape and Nikon's AF works without any problem at all. Also low light pics looks just amazing. Z6 replaced my trusty D610 month ago and I don't regret about it even a single second.
btw I'm thinking Z6 is a replacement for D610 and Z7 replacement for D750...

16 hours ago*
Spectro

yeah, the z6 feels like a d750 when you shoot it. If they made the grip a little bigger, I wouldn't mine.

7 hours ago
In Camera

I think I’ll wait for gen 3 of Nikon Z.

19 hours ago
demaio
demaio

Nice effort, Nikon!
Now give us Z 8 with dual card slots and Canon-to-Nikon autofocus lens adapter.

22 hours ago
dereken

A larger Z is coming, no doubt positioned as a Sony A9 competitor as Nikon now seems to be following Sony's successful product strategy.

12 hours ago
vFunct

Would be great as a 2nd/3rd cameras for photojournalist and weddings combined with 28 F1.4 and/or 105 F1.4 for soft-focus shots that don’t need high resolution, while using a Z7 or D850 with 24-70 or 70-200 as the main lens for all the sharp high-red shots.

1 day ago
adrianamol
adrianamol

This photo camera is suitable for a novice photographer?

1 day ago
10 hours ago
Nuno Souto
Nuno Souto

Funny how battery life has started to be a problem with Nikon mirrorless...
My D80 and D200 go for weeks with a single battery charge - then again, I'm not a "pro" so I don't take 5000 photos of the same subject to get one image I can keep...
My Coolpix P1000 now suffers from the same: it eats battery juice like there is no tomorrow.
I do not believe it's all due to the EVF: my Oly EM5M2 has one and battery life is huge!

1 day ago
sandy b
sandy b

People are reporting 2000 shots on a single charge.

16 hours ago
Barney Britton
Barney Britton

It's very use-case dependent. CIPA figures are extremely conservative, but they do serve as a useful means of comparing battery life from different products. I.e., if one camera is rated at 500 shots (CIPA) and another at 1000 per charge, you can probably expect a great many more shots than that from each camera, per charge, but the camera with the higher CIPA rating will probably give you about twice as many, whatever the conditions (assuming you're using both cameras in the same way).

Long story short - don't be too scared by low-looking CIPA numbers. All cameras give much better than their rated endurance in what we'd call 'normal' use for primarily stills photography. We got 1200 shots per charge from the Z6 in a recent controlled test, and we've stretched the Z7 to ~1700 shots on a single battery.

14 hours ago*
patfish

After the announcement of ProresRAW for the Z6/Z7 no serious video shooter can go with a A7III any more :-)

1 day ago
57even

Does 'class leading image quality' now include garish degrees of false colour and false detail, as well as banding? I must have missed that particular bulletin.

1 day ago
sandy b
sandy b

Yeah, you were too busy trolling the Nikon comments.

16 hours ago
57even

Was I? Oh wait, you just made it up. Didn't mommy tell you that was bad?

14 hours ago
dereken

Why did you write this?

12 hours ago
57even

@dereken Because I cannot see in what way the image quality is 'class leading'. It is an entirely typical 24MP FF sensor with a weak AA filter, quite noticeable moire and a few banding issues. Look at the raw sample images yourself.

Surely 'class leading' should mean what it says.

1 hour ago
chary zp

First impression one month ago, loads of comments based on that-time-info. Then one one month later a real review, yet, the comments are month old, based on a month old known facts. Is posting a new article such a huge problem? Is it? Like, so that people could comment on a month worth of new known fact and the latest review and the "most popular" comments are really relevant to the article, not the first impression one month ago? Is it really technically impossible to make a new article with a bunch of links to the old "first impressions" ones, so that the mess of new and month old comments doesn't interfere? Are the internets already out of space? I mean, the new text takes up as much data as either updated or new article, does it not?

1 day ago*
mxx
mxx

Maybe DPR gets more advertising income the higher hit count per article is?

1 day ago
chary zp

mxx, this is such a horribly ridiculous idea it must be true. Because why should they have four sheetloads of views per article (fresh news, first impressions, sample gallery, full review, especially with the hot buns like new Z cameras) when they can have one ridonculous number. I really wonder.

1 day ago
rjmcsr

"Nikon says that a battery grip is in development, but since there are no electronic connectors on the bottom plate of the camera or in the battery compartment, it may not offer portrait orientation controls." It's odd namely for the higher end camera z7. But the absence of contacts doesn't mean that the grip couldn't have those controls, as we can control a camera with a smartphone the grip itself may have wireless comunication to the camera (e.g. bluetooth) enabling the controls. Not a cheap solution...but having a grip only for additional batteries doesn't seems to be a smart solution

1 day ago
mgblack74

Back in the day, one removed the battery door, and the grip had contacts that extended into the battery chamber of the camera.

1 day ago
cosinaphile

there is no reason for such a scheme to work poorly , but wirelessly with infinitesimal lag,

get with it already! ........cameras....

1 day ago
dereken

I guess they will release a larger Z camera in the future. Built in vertical grip, dual card slots, positioned as an A9 competitor.

12 hours ago
jackspra
jackspra

If I could let the D500 go I would get the Z6.Cant do it.Thanks for the great informative review.

1 day ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

I like mine! I've been pleased and I'm looking forward to the eye-AF update. Otherwise, I can't think of much I'd change. It's a nice size, feels great, easy to use as a long-time Nikon user, battery life is great, I love the 24-70S, and it's worked great with my 70-300 AFP.

I really enjoy my Z6.

1 day ago
CaPi

Sounds great :) Do you use primes like the 28mm 1.8?
How do large lenses feel? (is the 70-300 heavy?)

1 day ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

My big lenses (Tamron 70-200 G2 and 150-600 G2) feel really odd but they work. My shorter but heavy Sigma 24-35 is actually not bad, but has some incompatibilities that Sigma hasn't fixed yet.

The 70-300 AFP looks enormously long on the Z6 but it's so light it works great. easy to hold and balance and quick. I think it's the reason Nikon does't have any telephoto lenses besides the 70-200 f/2.8 on Z roadmap.

I have the 50 and 35 f/1.8 G primes and they're just perfect for the system. The S-mount versions are better but they're vastly more expensive. No thanks.

1 day ago
CaPi

Thank you for your fast and interesting answer. Much appreciated!

1 day ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

You're welcome CaPi. It's nice to find not-trolls in the comments. Let me know if you have any other questions.

1 day ago
Wild Bill - Polo Protog
Wild Bill - Polo Protog

Being a sports shooter I don't think either the Z6 or Z7 is yet for me. However, what I would like to see is a test conducted under the following conditions:
1) Shoot a sport where you use only the central AF point (this is the way I have shot a lot of sports, as I find it better to move my aim with the subject I want);
2) Shoot, simultaneously, with the 3 major brands (Canon, Nikon and Sony);
3) Shoot with a native brand 70-200 f/2.8 lens;
4) Shoot in AF-C mode (I know, called something different by each camera maker);
5) Shoot each camera in the highest FPS rate that allows for full AF and AE.
This would require, of course, three people shooting at the same time, side by side. What I would then like to know are the hit ratios for each, plus if there were any issues with AE. The odds of such a test being done are low I would expect.

1 day ago
Terkwoiz

Yeah this would be great. And honestly, why doesn’t DPR do more testing like this? They have all of the cameras and gear right there in the office. They could be doing heads-up tests like this on a daily basis and the readers would love it. What everyone really wants around here are real-world tests between the A7iii, Z6, and eos R to show objective differences!

1 day ago
MSullivan

Even then, those three different people probably having varying tracking skills. And even if the same person did all the tests the cameras handle differently with blackouts and such and some are easier to track action with than others, regardless of the AF system. What we need is an easily repeatable method that removes as many variables as possible. I would think that a dedicated enough tester should be able to create a automated system using an artificial target - kind of like a test chart for AF.

It seems to me that there's two main things you need to test:
1. AF-C accuracy when the target is moving towards or away from the camera.
2. Subject tracking, where the camera is stationary and the subject moves around in the frame.

To test the first one, put a target on a motorized unit riding on a rail or something and have it run straight at the camera. Camera is fixed and the user just has to keep AFing and shooting as the target approaches. Then, reverse direction and (continued)..

1 day ago
MSullivan

...shoot the target as it moves away.

For the second test, put the target on a motorized arm or something that can move it around in the frame. Camera is fixed, user engages subject tracking on the target, starts the target moving, and starts shooting.

Once the basic tests are working the user could devise a series of tests, such as making the targets move faster or more erratically, changing the lighting, using different targets (e.g. for face tracking), etc.

Do the same series of tests on each camera and you should be able to better compare them.

1 day ago
mxx
mxx

"Even then, those three different people probably having varying tracking skills."

Just have all three people repeat all the tests with all the cameras.

1 day ago
Wild Bill - Polo Protog
Wild Bill - Polo Protog

In reply to MSullivan:
Run the test three times, with each tester getting to use each of the three different cameras. In a lot of cases, that could be done in the same day. For example: A daytime baseball game (shoot three innings each with each camera); or a hockey game (shoot one period each with each camera).
Come to think of it, there are additional test conditions I would like to see:
1a) Test the three cameras on a daytime sport outside.
1b) Test the three cameras on a nighttime sport outside.
1c) Test the three cameras on an arena sport inside.

1 day ago
RobertJohn

Even if the one camera proofs to have a slightly better tracking ability, it is still hugely depending on a personal preference and lenses. I think it's best to just rent the considerations. If you are invested in a system, buying the if so slightly better other brand is just not worth it.

Tldr: if you are invested in a brand, de differences are too small to justify the costs of switching imho

1 day ago
visualenvy

I'll give you some insight.. Went to the local motocross track on the weekend as my first real outing with my new Z 6. I had one of my D500s with me so I could do a quick comparison.
Both bodies were mounted on a Sigma 150-600mm C.
D500 = 99% AF consistency using D-25 (I took about 100 images mostly between 150-300mm due to crop)
Z 6 = 80% AF consistency using D-25 (I took about 900 images at varying zoom ranges from 150-600mm)
Now.. here's the confusing part.
The ACCURACY of AF when acquired was better with the Z 6 over the D500. I can hit 10 fps consistently with the D500 but the Z 6 looks sharper and that's with the same lens and only 3 more MP.
And more confusing...
The AF consistency on the Z 6, in my opinion, wasn't due to the AF-C itself but the EVF blackout meant I couldn't keep the AF area exactly where I wanted when shooting in bursts. If I keep the box where I want with slower/less bursts then consistency raises.
It does however outright struggle with strong back lighting.

11 hours ago
Wild Bill - Polo Protog
Wild Bill - Polo Protog

Thanks for the feedback visualenvy. At this point, I think I stay with my D810 and D750. The blackout issue would bother me, and with outside sports I have had to shoot a lot of strong back lighting.

8 hours ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Salvation in Nikon form. The DXf

Imagine a Df (Silver and black as my retro style PREFERENCE); but thinner and APSC instead, for size and a low cost leading balance. Plus! NEW innovations; to finish fixing the current mirror-less cons. Which yes; means if and when you want it, then this new Nikon Xf or DXf also has superior video creation benefits. Now this could smoke the D500 in sports/kids and still have a decent balance for the occasional landscape detail. Plus excellent portraits. Manageable Macro and interiors options too. Which landscape resolution could easily be enhanced greatly by computation tricks and pixel shifting; to name one. Add I haven't even added a improved APSC sensor yet. 25mpx?

1 day ago*
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Also offering a combination of IBIS and one newly designed 50mm(short tele on APSC/DX) f/1.8 DXF, smaller, lower cost. better performance prime, included in the kit optionally. And a new adapter included for numerous old F-mount lenses to play with, including focus peaking for manual ones in the (programmable, open code) body. This adapter would also fully operate AF(G)/AE and VR for current tele lenses. (There could even be an AF-D motor-drive body ADAPTER option). DX or FF lens fully apply.

Now that is smaller than M43 best combo, currently! That is with the new thinner DXF 50mm. and a better total value than FF can be. At a much more fun to use and carry size(because pocket cam is your phone). More photographic options than anything else in history. At a LOWER cost for what you get! Plus maximal flexibility to play with lenses and even adapters for other system lenses.

1 day ago*
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Street photo too. And this is very much different than Canon APSC offerings; but could be applied there also; with sensor and practical mirror-less related upgrades.

1 day ago*
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

...And beating what FUJI is doing.

Every frekin body would want this. Why would they not? The only question is would greed foul it up? Because this has the potential of the most mass sales ever. And that is more profit, not less profit for the company who gets it, is fair, and willing work for it.

MAKE A BETTER CAMERA system!

1 day ago*
CaPi

FF is the new DX

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

No because of size limits and lack of room to LOWER costs per total system benefits value.

Nothing wrong with FF otherwise; It's just more toward specialty.

And FF could and should be much smaller; but the FF SYSTEM can, only so much.

This is not the same as APSC to M43 considerations. You might guess this can happen with future modern developments; but with more COC and diffraction issues then it isn't as likely.

APSC is the new FF.
Cell phones are the new pocket cam.
Future cell phones are quickly redefining the rules.
Current camera systems are not doing anything fast, relatively.

1 day ago*
CaPi

"APSC is the new FF."

Sony made a refresh of one body.. and you imply taht this is their new strategy not all those interesting FF that got upgrades?
I dont think so at all. Look where the money is going.

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Down the drain?

1 day ago
Mackiesback
Mackiesback

APSC is the new FF? LOL...good one. Looks like the biggest camera manufacturers missed your memo.

1 day ago
dereken

Full frame mirrorless seems to be where the profit is now and in the near future. Nikon has a few years roadmap for the Z system and no mention of APSC.

Anyway, why would they jump into a crowded pool AND split their resources away from the brand new Z system? Both Fuji and Olympus make 90% of what you describe already: https://i.imgur.com/QM4tnK3.jpg

12 hours ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Yeah why did Nikon ever have DX? Silly rabbit.

Why does Fuji have an APSC system; that keeps improving it's benefits balance? In some ways; at least.

Bunch of memos swapped there; I'm sure. Did you miss the memo?

And what if that new Fuij or new Sony hack was Nikon and an adapter for F-Mount lenses like the Z? Things that make you go hmmmm?

9 hours ago*
DenImage

Nikon made a great first effort with the Z6 👍
Let's hope the next gen are even better.
Den

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Yes and you didn't say "can" do better. Because they can and could have. Especially when looking at the very much faster cell cam developments.

I'm not buying this "give them a break' first out the gate mentality. As if we should be graced by their presents. A Nikon is one of the least worst. LOL.

1 day ago
PictureTakerPhotoMaker

Bythom.com reminds rightfully in his review that this is their 7th or so mirrorless after the nikon 1 releases.

So nothing new here, neither for nikon nor the industry.

While I like the silent shutter and viewfinder, AF is less good than in the past.

1 day ago
IvanM

Before the R release I fondled a Z at my local camera store and I was massively impressed with it...just the way it felt and looked through the viewfinder. and it made me think that there might be something special to ff mirorless...

Of course I bought the R because I'm a Canon guy and even though its 'mightly' inferior according to DPR its the best Canon Eos I have ever had and I enjoy it tremendously. I expect Nikon users to feel the same, no matter how much 'better' the Sony's are if you are a Nikon guy, the Z is what you will get...

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Nay. Opps.

1 day ago
CaPi

Clearly understandable. I am wondering if I should upgrade. From Nikon Aps-C to the Z6 is not that clear of an upgrade path.. especially if most of my lenses are DX

1 day ago
Arun H

And this is the crux of the matter. These cameras cost thousands. View them and lenses the same as tools. Only buy what improves a meaningful capability gap you have. Not because it is rated gold or silver.

1 day ago
RickRick

I think comparison between brands is somewhat interesting in a review in order to see whether a new product is up to par with the current state of technology. For users, it is mildly interesting when you're a new buyer selecting a system - where it will be only one of the deciding factors.

For everyone else: come on, competing bodies seem to be more or less up to par and you are just going to buy the one you have the lenses for.

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Buying what you have lenses for is bad advice; following bad advice.

Consider the entire system. Sell the system; if it's different. If you paid too much for lenses then why wasn't that considered in the first place? Why would't you start doing that now?

Think, it's what's for breakfast. :P

You will never own the latest camera technology. It will be old the day you receive it. All the more reason to buy balanced benefits value systems ONLY. If you had unlimited funds you would still only need a new system every so often. If not then something's up. And it's not good.

1 day ago*
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Of course by "different" I mean a system you decide you rather own and If so. With a hard case for staying where you are at; unless warranted indeed.

1 day ago
RickRick

If you are considering switching systems, you would be in the "new buyer selecting a system" category. But you probably don't want to do that just because a different brand has an only marginally better body on offer - many other factors will play a (larger) role.

1 day ago
Iloveaircraftnoise

So the Nikon Z6 is a good camera. .. And If I buy this or a Sony or an Eos R I have to make do with dust and dirt accumulating all over the sensor every time I change a lens - because mirrorless is the future...

I'll give mirrorless a miss.

1 day ago
Zdman

You can clear sensors you know.

1 day ago
wcan

I haven't heard about "more dust" on mirrorless sensors in practice. Is this an issue?

1 day ago
IvanM

The R closes the shutter blades when you change lenses. My Eos M6 mirrorless has no dust issues after a year of use.

1 day ago
GeffBourke
GeffBourke

Iloveaircraftnoise Seriously, stupid remark. I had more dust on the sensor of my D800 in a month, than I've had in my current Fuji X-H1 ever. Also, ever heard of sensor cleaning, look it up, it might interest you because I promise you whatever you are using currently also collects dust. Check your facts/try it before making such remarks.

1 day ago
ikaika777

People terrified of mirrorless camera’s are hilarious! “The sky is falling, the sky is falling“! 😂😂😂🤦🏼‍♂️

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Yes but folks with OVF still have advantages. Why?

1 day ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

Image quality (RAW) seems better than A7III. Important.

2 days ago
bayindirh
bayindirh

I noticed that too, but the banding spoils it. Yes, I know +6EV is too much, but this means there's some inherent banding in the images, and that kills the DR a little.

At the end, they are head to head.

1 day ago
Camera-Man

This is weird, because I have Z6 and don't have this issue at all. Try to imitate and nope, zero banding. Maybe is software related??? I'm using photoshop in post production.

1 day ago
DennisPhotostein

Yeah, i wonder that too. It either is a software thing or does not happen with every Z 6.
I really tried to replicate the banding to see when it starts to appear but couldn't.

1 day ago
Boss of Sony

Ah but does it take fake film cartridges like the new Yashica Y35? That’s something they failed to mention in the review. I’ll assume that means no, so that’s one point in favor of the Yashica. It’s a tough decision.

2 days ago
Nerfherder183

Best post by far

1 day ago
MikeStern

In shortest summary:
Z6 is a great camera but not as amazing as Sony a7III. And canon R... better and worse than Z6 here and there.

2 days ago
Michiel953
2 days ago
mgblack74

The Z, a7, and R all have features better or worse than each other here and there. Now everyone has a mirrorless option for their respective brand of choice. And despite certain fanboys unrelenting negativism towards Nikon, many people will stay (or even switch to (shhh!)) to Nikon. Specs on paper and regurgitated views are one thing. Using is another.

1 day ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

What's more "amazing" about the A7III then the Z6, except that it arrived earlier on the marketplace?

1 day ago
dereken

The A7III is an amazing cameras, but at the same time inferior to the Z6 in some ways. (Build, EVF, LCD as mentioned in the review.)

11 hours ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

There's a lot of negative noise but for me the Z6 is a winner.First I've got a lot of Nikon glass. Second it does everything I want fine. Reviews are useful but it basically confirms what I already know - the Z6 is up there with the Sony and Canon - the differences are comparatively small and an experienced photographer will get good images with either of them. A DSLR (I've still got my D750) will work fine or better for some subjects but for my shooting the Z6 covers all the bases. For example the focus points across the frame plus tracking means in gig photography I don't have to focus and re-compose any longer - thats a big one for me. Silent shooting means I can shoot at times when I had to hold off in the past - yesterday I was able to shoot some frames on the Z6 while videoing with the D750 - previously I could only use my Fuji X100F in those conditions. So yes, despite the noise I'm finding this is a great camera. So is the D750 but the Z6 edges it for what I shoot.

2 days ago
mgblack74

The noise comes from people who have never used it outside a camera store and suddenly everyone is entitled to their opinion. Your experience is louder than the noise. :-)

1 day ago
StevieF

@Brian Homer - entirely agree. I went as far as selling my 750 (was a bit painful!) to fund it but I have no regrets whatsoever, the 6 is a great machine. The AF is at least as good as the 750 IMO and that’s fine for my needs - any tweak to it would be a bonus.

1 day ago
mgblack74

@stevieF, I sold my D750 to subsidize the Z6 too. It kind of made me sick at the time but happier for the switch. Still have my D850 though which made the sell easier. :-)

1 day ago
StevieF

@mgblack74 - yes, the D850 is a great machine so I'm not surprised! I kept my Df (which I'll never sell) as a bit of a DSLR 'back up'. The AF is D610 vintage of course but OK - but the stills image IQ from that D4 sensor is stunning.

1 day ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

I'd put the AF above the 600/610 (I sold my D600 to fund the Z6) and at least on a par with the 750 and in some cases better.

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Yeah Brian; but since you know what your doing and what matters then almost everything you just said can also be done with a used body of about $300! Opps.

1 day ago
Mediterranean light
Mediterranean light

"The Z6 is responsive enough to capture special moments with image quality that easily beats what your smartphone can produce".
This is taken from this Nikon Z6 review.
You might scratch your head trying to understand what in heavens the reviewer wanted to say when comparing a high-end 35mm full-frame mirrorless camera to a smartphone.
There are other instances nearly as good as this one, in which the Z6 "is not" whatever fits the nonsense.
DPR needs an ombudsman, or someone with critical thinking to read thoroughly before publishing.

2 days ago*
MILC man

dpr spelled it out for people who know nothing about cameras.

it's relevant information for those people.

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

No LOL. With the speed of cell cam progression in design; it has become relevant for everyone. Good job DPR. Though I understand cell cam have a long way to go; to date. Apparently a short time to get there; however.

1 day ago
dereken

Just take a look at what some phone cameras can shoot now in the pitch dark: https://www.dpreview.com/news/4324089912/google-s-night-sight-allows-for-photography-in-near-darkness

In 5-10 years some people will still be scratching their heads as phone cameras leave conventional ones far behind. Frankly, if you're not developing your RAWs, you will already get far nicer photos from a 2018 smartphone than from a "real camera." So which one is better for someone who just wants pleasing photos of family memories to stick in an album or share on social media..?

11 hours ago
turvyT

I used to be a sad guy, typycal boring guy with a dslr camera which I don't say brand or model since I'm ashamed of it now. Used to take some pictures, sell some of them. My life followed the dull rythm of the mirror clap. I even had some enthousiasm towards those pictures, but I was completely fooled. Because I followed advice, tried a new ML and it was love at first sight. Couldn't take my eye off the EVF since then. Life through it is different, happy, weightless, perfect. I even see sometimes the rainbow! I don't care anymore about taking pictures, reading about photography or art, not even travelling. My life is now perfect, round, direct and transparent without mirrors. I'm even thinking about dating someone. She has to have a small ML too, one of those cuties! I know she exists somewhere. Welcome to life, finally! Thanks dpr.

2 days ago*
Michiel953
Michiel953

Good trolling attempt! Love it!

2 days ago
1 day ago
El Diablo 73

Pentax...

1 day ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Good point. Excellent point. What's the point; is the point. Because DSLR or mirror-less(DSLE) then what's it for? How is it better for photography and including how much does the total system cost. Over time.

1 day ago*
trebledee

Good balanced review, As we've come to expect from DPR.
I've had the Z7 from pre-production and onto a production model. I love it.
I had a Z6 for a few days to try out, I liked it but not enough to buy one. My working kit is the D850 and Z7 with D750 for 3rd camera or extra video setup if needed.
The Z7 is now my primary camera, with D850 in reserve or for when I need the features the Z7 can't match. I just get on with it, lucky enough to have the best of both worlds.

2 days ago
Arctican

This review of the Z6 is great enough to justify a purchase. If you are a Nikon fan or user, this camera is the perfect all-rounder and you can use your recent Nikon lens will th the FTZ adapter - no need to check the other offerings of the competitors (Sony A7iii, Canon EOS R, or FUJIFILM X-T3). Granted that there are some minor setbacks like less than stellar focusing (though still good), the Z6 may outperform the competition in terms of IQ and great video capabilities. Btw, I just purchased an A7iii and this camera has very minor weaknesses as well, though the positives outweigh the negatives.

2 days ago
keeponkeepingon

Can the EOS-R take a picture while taking a video? No.
Can the A7III take a picture while taking a video? No.
Can my iphone take a picture while taking a video? Yes
Can the Z6 take a picture while taking a video? Yes (?)

(?) I'm assuming the latter as most nikons can (and most sony/canons can't). For most nikons It's only at the video's resolution BUT that's still decent and it potentially saves you time playing hours of video then when you find that "one moment in time" looking for a compression artifact free frame to capture. Plus (and I'm assuming this) if the camera can offload jpegs to a smart phone you can rapidly share stills for an event before slogging through all that 4K video.......

And it's a shame I have to (assume) features such as this. Canon and sony dropped the ability to take a picture while taking a video from their entire line-up and dpreview, even with 1000s of page of coverage never mentioned it once......

2 days ago*
ed rader

can the Z6 use canon RF glass. NO!

2 days ago
Heywood Jablome

At the risk of being superfluous, isn't video just a series of pictures..........so your position that the Canon & Sony can't take picture while taking a video is needless. The pictures are being taken when the user specifies which frame rate to use e.g. 24,30 or 60 fps.

2 days ago
mgblack74

@heywood. You are right. However video (1080p) is only two mp and any stills taken during video 2mp in 16:9 aspect ratio. Crop to 3:2 and you lose more. Plus, if you’re at 24fps, you will see motion blur in any still taken.

1 day ago
bayindirh
bayindirh

You can select any frame in a A7III video and save it as an image, right from camera.

1 day ago
ozturert

Of course this is a huge issue for all...

1 day ago
bayindirh
bayindirh

@ozturert Yeah… I was planning to sell my a7iii if I was unable to find that feature /s.

1 day ago
photomedium

keeponkeepingon,
I can jack-off while watching a video...does that count?

1 day ago
keeponkeepingon

> You can select any frame in a A7III video and save it as an image, right from camera

I already addressed that. The issue is time. With the Z6 the stills you want can (in theory) start uploading right after you stop recording. Automagically while you go on and do something else. Meanwhile you have to chimp (defined: look like an idiot) head down in the camera slogging through an hour of video looking for frames (on a 3" screen) to upload on your A7III / EOS-R.

@heywood: "isn't video just a series of pictures.."

No it is not. Video on these cameras is compressed, a compression you can "in theory" be avoided by grabbing a still before the compression destroys it.

> Of course this is a huge issue for all

Not for a pro making a video OR taking stills with multiple cameras covering both. But for most people that use the camera for real life stuff yeah.... your iphone is better at catching the moment with stills and video.

4 hours ago*
bayindirh
bayindirh

@keeponkeepingon
I believe in horses for courses. For my scenarios, a camera is a device for producing stills, and any video capability is a nice bonus. I also do not start uploading while taking a video. I'm not an "influencer", but an amateur photographer. I take my photos, let them stew for a week to month, then select the keepers, process and upload.

My iPhone is better and quicker at video, yeah. There's no doubt, except the noise in low light situations, which I encounter regularly. I'm not sure whether iPhone takes the photos from video pipeline or direct from sensor (never tried it), neither sure about Z6. If it's doing it directly from sensor at full resolution, kudos to them.

If this feature is a must for you, go and get a Z6/7. I never acted in zealotism about mirrorless cameras, and won't do it. Coming from Pentax and Nikon, currently shooting with a Sony. All brands have their own strengths and weaknesses & they are good at their own right.

4 hours ago
icic

Great review! very detailed and objective 88% is a very good score by any means.
One issue this review is that, aside from resolution, the Z6 is every bit as good as Z7 and excelled it in a few things that really matters such as video, buffer depth, burst speed, AF speed and accuracy, AF in low light, better value for money... yet just the higher resolution make the Z7 a better camera with the 89% rating?!
The higher resolution is great for certain things, but the almost doubling of price would certainly would naturalised that advantage.

2 days ago*
basleigh

.....neutralize that advantage? Agree Z6 hits the mark but no SD card slot rules out this full-frame camera for me any time in the future.

2 days ago
ovrebekk
ovrebekk

Right... You have $2000 to spend on a camera, that would satisfy your needs, but because it uses the wrong type of card it's a no go?
Most places in the world you even get a 64GB card in the box when you buy it, so I find this argument hard to believe ;)

2 days ago
fz750

I have 8 Sandisk SDXC Extreme Pro cards: 4 128Gb and 4 64Gb (plus a collection of smaller ones) for my D7200, twin SD cards slots (of course, as once you've lost a card, you never want it to happen again.. ;-)

So, just looking at B&H, these would cost new : 4*50 and 4* 22 = $288

If I had to buy the equaivalent in XQD (Sony) it would cost: 4*155 + 4*130 = $1140

That is a significant difference - over half the price of the camera *IF* I was buying a camera which had twin XQD (which of course, there isn't, the Z6 has only (another factor for me, but that's another story..) has 1 slot, the D500 has an XQD & SD).

SDXC is cheap, let's face it and for what I want (stills only, a burst of 5-6 perhaps sometimes) it's fine and I will definitely consider this a factor when I come to get another camera body.

Also, my desktop has an SD slot, my macbook (2015 Pro) too, so it's additional practicality which I wouldn't want to lose yet..

1 day ago*
Photographer124

I had the Z6 for almost 2 months and I returned it... The review is spot on. It is fabulous camera, capable of great video and images; with perfect handling and probably the best built quality of all mirror-less cameras ever.
There are some issues, which are not bothersome for some, but critical for others, where other cameras fare better.
This is good, we are only going forward, and competition is fierce in this field now.. It means we will see higher quality products for cheaper in the future.

1 day ago
ovrebekk
ovrebekk

You're right fz750, if you have to buy 8 memory cards for the Z6 today it will cost you ;)
(fun fact, if you buy 16 cards it's will actually be more expensive than the camera!)

Personally I plan to stick to the free 64GB card included in the box until CFExpress cards come out and push prices down (XQD cards are expensive because it is a proprietary Sony technology).

As for a card reader I am just using the USB-C cable to get files directly from the camera ATM, but will probably invest in a card reader at some point. Will just wait to make sure I get one that supports CFExpress.

1 day ago
patfish

"So, unless you need the extra resolution, the Z6 is the better choice" - so why did it get less points than the Z7? ...for me the Z6 is the way rounder package!

And with the annaounced Video RAW update the Z6 will be the gamechanger in video since the GH4 five years ago!

You sould realy award Nikon and Atomos for that in 2019! ...and update the Z6 socre after the firmeware update (Eye-AF, Video RAW and CFExpress)

2 days ago*
Arctican

"So, unless you need the extra resolution, the Z6 is the better choice" This pretty much explains your complaint. Z7 is technically better vs Z6 since in terms of resolution, and some users DO need the extra resolution, which means Z7 is a better choice than Z6 - thus a higher score (IMO).

2 days ago
MILC man

Nikon doesn't have any video lenses, so there isn't much point in "raw" video output to an external recorder.

not to mention the weak preamps.

1 day ago
photomedium

Decent camera and I agree with the reviewers for the most part. However, I feel the score should be something like 88% ...of the D850 or D500 score. Cameras that can actually do focus tracking, predictably.

2 days ago
Brian P Smith

Good review, I'm sure it will ruffle some feathers in all the camps.

Can someone from DPReview explain how the "gold" and "silver" part of the awards work? Just curious to me the Z6 and the Fuji X-T3 both score an "88%" and one gets silver the other gets gold.

2 days ago
keeponkeepingon

I'm not from dpreview but they've explained multiple times here that it's a subjective evaluation and that a lesser rated camera may get the gold if it pushed the field/brand forward in some way.

What they have failed to explain is why some cameras such as the EOS-R get no gold/silver/bronze rating. Actually I don't think anything gets a bronze so we just assume no-rating equals "stay away from this camera". Or we can assume that big daddy amazon won't let them put a bad rating a potentially big seller:

https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canon-eos-r/11

2 days ago
RubberDials

@Brian P Smith

The scores of the z6 and the X-T3 are not comparable as they are evaluated in different categories. You can see what category a camera is tested in by looking at the top left in the scoring box.

If you toggle on the compare mode using the button on the top right of the box you'll then get a drop down menu where you can add other cameras and compare the tested parameters in the live widget.

A silver rated camera is usually an excellent camera that has a number of minor issues or one significant flaw DPR thinks you will come up against in use.

Most major releases from major manufacturers get a medal of one colour or another. The lack of gong for the R is fairly significant and reflects a trend started with the 6DII. The M50 got a Silver Award reflecting that DPR thinks it is a good camera but is held back by its 4K implementation and AF.

2 days ago
ekaton

Decent camera with no lenses. How will the 800 pound's answer be? Considering what versions III can do, the A7IV(r), A9II versions might put a cold sweat on Nikon's forehead. And then there is the growing number of e-mount lenses, Sony, Zeiss, Sigma, Tamron, Voigtlander😳.......

2 days ago
fb1996

No lenses? There are three Z mount lenses on the market already and plenty of Nikon and third-party F mount lenses that can be used with the FTZ adapter. In addition, six new Z mount lenses will be released this year.

2 days ago*
ekaton

@fb1996: A meaningful comparison is Z-Mount versus E-Mount. Adapters and lenses are plenty, for most mounts, some work ok, others are a pain.

2 days ago
patfish

Sony did a realy good job but they made one big mistake years ago! They didnt changed their mount size as they stept up from APS-C to full frame. The E-mount was never designed with full frame in mind and Sony will have very soon massive dissadvantages at lens and IBIS construction against all their competioners.

2 days ago
RubberDials

@patfish

"The E-mount was never designed with full frame in mind and Sony will have very soon massive dissadvantages at lens and IBIS construction against all their competioners."

Can you explain how this will happen 'very soon'? Bearing in mind that an E-mount lens was DPR's lens of the year, there are more than 160 native e-mount lenses on the market, including probably the best autofocus 50mm F1.4
https://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2016/07/sony-fe-planar-t-50mm-f1-4-za-mtf-and-variance-testing/

and some very high end ones like this $21K par focal 70-200 T2.9 zoom
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/857787-REG/Zeiss_1984_159_70_200mm_T2_9_Compact_Zoom.html

In terms of IBIS the CIPA rating for the A7rIII is 5.5 and 5 for the larger mount z7. In testing on this site DPR found the IBIS of the A7III and z6 'similarly useful' https://www.dpreview.com/articles/5876118090/image-stablization-showdown-nikon-z7-vs-sony-a7r-iii

So there seems to be no substance to your claims.

2 days ago*
Arun H

@patfish: You hit the nail on the head as it relates to the disadvantages of the E mount. There is no question that Sony makes good lenses. There is equally no question that they will be at a disadvantage compared to Canon and Nikon's engineers when it comes to designing fast primes.

https://petapixel.com/2018/08/29/flange-distance-and-mount-diameter-explained-by-a-lens-engineer/

This has sound basis in physics, but count on certain people fighting tooth and nail to try and discredit it.

2 days ago*
samhain

@Arun Sony/Zeiss lenses eat Nikon lenses for lunch.
Nikon hasn’t made a lovable 50 since the original noct. Their lenses are the least exciting of any brand, and the z lenses are carrying that tradition.

Nikon has many strong points- lenses/ lens rendering isn’t one of them.

2 days ago
Arun H

samhain: I presented a link about the physics of why a lens mount diameter and flange back distance matters. You responded with opinion. I am allowed to have an opinion that the sun moves around the earth. That does not change the physics that dictate the relative motion of the earth and sun.

2 days ago
RubberDials

@Thoughts R Us/Arun H/Patfish

I really worry about your mental state Thoughts. You're now writing pidgin English and pretending to be Austrian to spread this unscientific large mount rubbish. An insult to the people of Austria. I've been there many times and I doubt there's anyone like you in the entire country. Did you upload the Nikon video to petapixel as well?

No-one is stopping you believing what you want. You are free to accept every piece of marketing from Nikon at face value - that's your choice, but please cease posting the same unscientific drivel across multiple fake logins on this site. You know nothing about lens design. And it's obvious every time you make a comment.

1 day ago*
MILC man

the $2300 canon rf50/1.2 lens has nearly 4.5 stops of vignetting, it's a disaster.

which proves that the overhyped big mount diameter is a fail, just like it is with the Nikon big mount diameter... in the real world, it doesn't make a bit of difference.

1 day ago*
Arun H

MILC man: People keep throwing out opinions.. not one is able to refute the physics. When someone else comes up with an 50mm AF f/1.2 lens, or an f/2 zoom, then we can have a rational debate. And you don't need to make an f/1.2 lens or f/2 zoom. Nikon's 50mm f/1.8S available for $600 basically matches the optical performance of the 55 mm Otus. It seems an extraordinarily hard concept to grasp that basic geometry has an influence on optical design. Because it would mean admitting that your company of choice is at a disadvantage.

1 day ago
MILC man

@Arun H - "People keep throwing out opinions.. not one is able to refute the physics."

vignetting measurements on the the rf50/1.2 are not opinion, it's scientific fact, that you refuse to admit is valid, because it proves how wrong you are.

it's sad that people can't accept hard facts like that, but it's par for the course out here.

1 day ago
Arun H

Oh, the vignetting of the RF 50mm f/1.2 is quite real. It is measurable and documented. What's opinion is saying the lens is a "disaster" because of it. The market will be the judge of that, not those that are wedded to a competing brand. What I notice is that when pressed on physics or asked about the science behind their opinions, people try to change the subject or discredit the poster. There are plenty of well documented scientific explanations of the benefits of a wide mount. Like I said, it is a free world and you are entitled to your opinion. When you post an actual scientific explanation that refutes the link I posted, I'll take you more seriously.

1 day ago
MILC man

@Arun H - "Oh, the vignetting of the RF 50mm f/1.2 is quite real. It is measurable and documented."

yes, and it's why these false claims about the bigger mount somehow being better are complete nonsense.

the bigger mount did NOT lessen the vignetting, in fact the old eos 50/1.2 has less vignetting, with the smaller eos lens mount.

it's sad that people fall for mindless hype, when it's so easily disproven with real-world measurements and facts, but such is life here on dpr.

1 day ago*
Arun H

MILC_man: We can go on and on about this, which I have no interest in doing... and the specific tradeoffs involved with the design of the RF 50mm is something you should take up with Canon.

Meantime, can you post a scientific study that says lens designs are not dependent on mount diameter? I have given you a link that supports my position - an explanation by a Nikon engineer. Now, you may claim that is biased, but Sigma also confirms this, and they are about as neutral as you can get. And by the way, it is not just the mount diameter, but the combination of that and the flange back distance. Because that is what determines the angles at which light hits the corner of the sensor.

And oh, also, the diameter of the EF and RF mounts are both 54mm.

1 day ago*
MILC man

@Arun H - "We can go on and on about this"

no, you are going on and on about it, because you don't like being proven wrong.

people can decide for themselves; they can look at real-world facts like the horrible rf50/1.2 vignetting measurements, from a $2300(!) lens, and then decide for themselves, that reality and mindless hype are two entirely different things.

some people will never admit it, as we see here, but such is life on dpr.

1 day ago*
RubberDials

@Arun H

"What I notice is that when pressed on physics or asked about the science behind their opinions, people try to change the subject or discredit the poster."

Yes, this perfectly describes you. In this thread https://www.dpreview.com/news/1158187392 you said this:

"The science of this has to do with conservation of etendue. In essence it becomes harder and harder to squish light from very wide angles into narrow ones."

When I pointed out that actually made no sense you posted a link to a Wiki page and said: "Referring to the figure "Etendue in refration", the angle theta for the corner of the sensor in "E" mount is sharper than for Z mount."

When I asked: "Why is the refraction angle 'sharper' for e-mount than Z mount? And how does this generic drawing on a wikipedia page demonstrate that?"

You said: "Arguments involving Euclidean geometry are lost on people that have a deficient high school education."

You know literally nothing about optical science. Nothing at all.

1 day ago
Arun H

@MILC_man: Still no scientific link, I see....

Such is life in comment forums everywhere....

And don't be so fixated on the 50mm from Canon. Nikon has the excellent 50 mm f/1.8S which rvials the Otus - for less than a quarter of the price... and the 28-70 f/2 zoom from Canon... I'm sure you'll find some fault with those as well.

Meanwhile, STILL no scientific studies to refute mine. Just opinions.

1 day ago*
RubberDials

@Arun H/Thoughts R Us

"Meanwhile, STILL no scientific studies to refute mine. Just opinions."

I wrote 300 words explaining why the mount diameters of all the mirrorless manufacturers are largely irrelevant and a propaganda exercise here: https://www.dpreview.com/videos/6852971667

You ignored it and carried on telling everyone that no-one has refuted what you said. Like you are now.

To be clear: you have said nothing that explains any advantage or disadvantage regarding the mount and register designs of Nikon, Canon and Sony cameras - in lay speak, let alone science. You didn't answer my question about the refraction angle, despite me asking four times - because you can't.

It's against the site rules to have multiple logins and to troll bash and flame. That is all you do. For the life of me I do not understand why you aren't booted off of here.

1 day ago
patfish

@ RubberDials

You are very entertaining my english friend :D ...if you like to come to austria this year we got 3m fresh snow in the last 10 days. :)

1) it's a simple fact that the E-Mount was never designed with FF in mind.

3) It's also also a simple physical fact that the combination of shorter flange distance and bigger mounts gives you advantages in lens construction!
You don't have to bend and spread the light rays that much (more elements don't mean extremer bendig! but more bending means les picture quality) threw that tiny mount and have more space to move the sensor (IBIS).

4) Everyone! Panasonic, Nikon and Canon (except Sony) went with a big mount for full frame mirrorless . All of them have more glas for their old mounts than sony will have in 15 years for their E-mount. But they all decide to go with a new big mount. It's more than crazy to believe they did this massive step only for fun without any advantages :D:D:D

1 day ago
patfish

5) I never said sony lenses are bad! but on paper they have to be longer to offer the same image quality like a camera with a bigger mount at FF.

The Z 50mm 1.8 S (600€) shows already a little bit where the journey will go in the next years.
https://www.cameralabs.com/nikon-z-50mm-f1-8s-review/2/

6) @ 2021 Canon, Nikon and co will have over 25+ native lenses of their new mounts (also fast pro glas!) on the market.
This will be the moment where the actual + of the E-mount shifts slowly to their - . Sony will have still good glas but their construction will be complexer/bigger for the same image quality.

7) @ IBIS ...Nikon never did an 5-Axis IBIS bevor and now they are already on eye level with their first try! That's more than impressive!
https://www.dpreview.com/articles/5876118090/image-stablization-showdown-nikon-z7-vs-sony-a7r-iii
A big mount (more possible movement) is here a big a advantage and we will see that more clearly in next iterations.

...see you in Austria! :)

1 day ago*
Arun H

@patfish: I recommend you leave them alone. Soon they will form a "small mount society". They will call themselves the 46 millimeters - lens specialists whose imaginary lenses are superior to actual lenses designed and produced by Sigma, Nikon, and Canon - in their imaginations, of course. They may even recommend a 4.6mm mount - the smaller the better - and tout the exceptional image quality of the f/16 lenses that are made for it.

Your sanity is more important than debating those who will counter your physics based arguments with personal attacks and unfounded opinions.

1 day ago*
patfish

...i know :-)

1 day ago
Niko Vita

From the comments in the forum it looks like the Sony fanboys are extremely interested in Z6, even more than the Nikonians.

Regarding the scores, it is funny to see that the 4+ year old D750 still beats A73 and Z6.

2 days ago
ovrebekk
ovrebekk

To be fair a camera is scored based on the technology available at the time.

2 days ago
Arun H

Niko: they need constant validation that they made the right choice by switching brands. They only way they can get that is by bashing Canon and Nikon. A very insecure bunch!

1 day ago
DiffractionLtd
DiffractionLtd

Most of the negatives are trivial compared to the positives.

2 days ago
brendon1000
brendon1000

The problem for the Z6 is the existence of the A7 III which is better in many aspects. If the Z6 was launched before the A7 III it would have been an outstanding camera as the A7 II was a strictly decent camera and no competition to the Z6. However Sony really raised the bar with their A7 III.

2 days ago
Clayton1985

The Z6 has many advantages over the A7III and vice versa... why is that a problem for the Z6 any more than it's a problem for the A7III?

2 days ago
brendon1000
brendon1000

Because the A7 III raised the bar on things. So consumers expect more from the cameras. Yes the Z6 has some advantages but the A7 III has better AF all round and much better battery life. Two very tangible benefits while the Z6 has better viewfinder and screen and slightly better video specs. Of the two I would wager the A7 III has the more desirable features which is why the A7 III still is #1 best selling mirrorless camera on amazon USA.

2 days ago
Mateus1

In most areas Z6 is better excluding AF-C but it will change soon in this as well. Nikon reached this high level in its first gen of FF mirrorless, Sony did not even In its third gen. It's amazing what Nikon did.

2 days ago
brendon1000
brendon1000

^^ Sony took up mirrorless technology when it was in its nascent stage. The technology just wasn't there. Now mirrorless technology has matured and I doubt we will see the massive strides that earlier bodies have had over their predecessors.

2 days ago
Clayton1985

@Brendon1000.... that's just internet talk and has little to do with some arbitrary bar. The A7III is a better selling camera for many reasons and the percentage of people that think it's a better camera is only part of it. Lenses, marketing, word of mouth and other things and just like Nikon and Canon users didn't rush to buy Sony 3 months into the new system, the same is true for Nikon Z. I'm not saying the A7III isn't a great camera but this need to declare a winner and loser or deem the Z6 to have a "problem" is nonsense when they are close enough to where it is going to come down to personal preference.

1 day ago
Daniel Ockeloen

One of the problems for nikon and canon is that the 7iii,a7riii and a9 are in the middle of their release cycle. We know sony will make big moves on the sensor and stacked sensor part and bring some of that tech down into the a7 line. Its nice that nikon/canon released cameras that are 'close' to the now 3 released sony's (except the a9 notice nobody compared with that one) but they should have jumped passed it since sony will for sure be the first to release in a cycle update on 4 cameras at least (a7S3, A7M4,A7R4 and A9M2) in the next 24 months.... Thats a lot of pressure on canon and nikon since sony's need to focus more on the lens lineup is now kinda done (its good enough with some small gaps) and can slow down.

1 day ago*
brendon1000
brendon1000

@Clayton - Ok let me try to make my point more clear. A year ago there didn't exist any A7rIII or the A7 III. If the Z6 was sold then it would be a truly revolutionary camera. Sony would have had the A7rII as its flagship and as much as I liked that camera (I have hence sold it) its no match for the Z7 or even the Z6. Sony would have had a very slight advantage in AF tracking but a disadvantage in battery life and no eye AF in continuous focusing. Sony wouldn't have had dual slots either so the Nikon Z6 would have been a clear winner in almost every aspect.

However with the A7rIII and the A7 III in existence its gotten a bit harder for Nikon as what would have been a revolutionary class leading camera it is now overshadowed slightly by Sony's offerings.

1 day ago
Clayton1985

I understand the point you're trying to make but in reference to what? This isn't a sprint, it's a marathon. So let's say Sony had a 25% head start and Nikon only made it to 20% leaving a 5% gap. That leaves Nikon in a great position to close that gap with firmware updates, more lenses and more cameras. No, Sony won't sit still either but again I don't understand where you see a problem? Sony would also be in a better position if Nikon, Canon and Panasonic didn't enter the FF mirrorless market so using your reasoning they all have problems. Sony having a marginally better camera (which means it actually won't be the better camera for a lot of people) isn't really a big deal either way. What matters is what they do next.... marathon, not sprint.

1 day ago
patfish

it will have very soon massive better video specs than the A7III ;-)

1 day ago
brendon1000
brendon1000

@Clayton - I wasn't referring to Sony or Nikon in general but since this is a Nikon Z6 review I was trying to make a point that the Z6 would have been much more impressive if Sony hadn't launched their A7 III. No doubt Nikon will release more cameras in future that will overcome their current shortcomings and Sony has a few lemons in their lens line up which can bite them in the ass in future as they need replacement like the 24-70mm f4 Zeiss while Nikon lens offerings seem to be all gems so far at least.

1 day ago
Arun H

Fair review. Great introduction by Nikon. They really have given this a lot of thought - not just this camera but the mount and system. They are clearly betting their future on the success of mirrorless.

2 days ago
Necip
Necip

Until Nikon can make a real mirrorless version of the D850 I'm not buying although on the video side a well done is in order. That would be my dream camera. Sorry dpreview I do love what you do this only is only an 83% for me quite a bit above the Canon R but only just that.

2 days ago
bocajrs
bocajrs

D750 got a 90%..still rockikg it :)

2 days ago
xPhoenix
xPhoenix

I'd take a D750 any day over one of these Z flops.

2 days ago
SVCguy

For low light stills the D750 beats the Z6, that is if you didn't get a malfunctioning 750. Nikon's Z series stills performance has not eclipsed their dslr line. I hope it's not purposeful by Nikon.
That said the Z series are still strong cameras and like every tool they too have their strengths and weaknesses. Just know your tool and go out shooting. I don't mind the frank comments as I hope it keeps the pressure on Nikon to improve.

2 days ago
photomedium

bocajrs
I read that the D750 successor is coming...maybe go for that?
I am hoping that camera will have the video capabilities of the Z6 and the D850 3D tracking sans the banding.

1 day ago
Clayton1985

There are so many things better about the Z6 vs the D750. I don't understand this odd tendency that so many have to hang on to one feature or one area of performance and ignore the rest. Z6 has a better viewfinder, better LCD, touchscreen, better video, better live view, better AF point coverage, EFCS, AF-ON, joystick, IBIS, bluetooth, etc.

1 day ago
JoeGuide

I am enjoying the camera. Quite good general purpose camera. With the soon to be released, eye AF and the ProResRaw software update, it just gets better and better. CFexpress update is the icing on the cake. Just need to clean up the AFC algorithm and it will perfect.

2 days ago
TMRoper

When I rented a Z6 a couple of weeks ago, it seemed to me the battery took a longer than "normal" amount of time to re-charge (based on all the other cameras I've had). It's not something I've read about or even thought about before, and I didn't have time before returning it to do a "controlled" recharge and time it. But is recharge time something anyone knows about or rates? Because I do a lot of travel photography, sometimes in places that have power outages (aka, "load shedding"), and recharging can be an issue at times.

2 days ago*
Spectro

This is my first new camera in 4 years. The first charge was very long as with all new battery. Older battery charge faster and can't hold a charge as it age, usually after 1-2 depending how many tiems you recharge it. I use my d750 back battery on it. I usually use the sock charger not the usb-c thing (I have that on my computer to transfer). My other camera I bought during this time was a DF. Bought it used on ebay (battery can't hold a charge much more, the dude somehow put 115k shots on it.

But to answer your question does the grey one charge longer then the black one, not sure. My old black one has been usd for years, so not a far comparison. Jsut use your black one if you need a quick recharge if you been shooting nikon.

2 days ago
BobT3218

Don't know about the Z6 specifically. Charging rate is dependent on the applied voltage but for lithium batteries, life is largely depended on how long they are exposed to high voltages. In other words, the faster the charging the shorter the long term battery life. It's likely that for a new system like this, Nikon played safe and chose a slower charging rate rather than risk getting a reputation for dying or exploding batteries. If all goes well they can up it later.

2 days ago
Chris Crevasse

Congratulations to Nikon. We photographers are being gorged on a feast of fantastic cameras and lenses. It's hard to determine to whom we are supposed to relinquish a pile of cash.

2 days ago
Arun H

If your current camera works for you, I suggest spending your cash on something more frivolous. Like rent, gas, or groceries.

2 days ago
beavertown
beavertown

The lousy AF tracking alone puts this cam to 69% without winning any awards, I returned it.

2 days ago
Pixel8888

The lucky open box buyer has just to wait for the firmware update and will be a happy camper. 😀

"beavertown
The lousy AF tracking alone puts this cam to 69% without winning any awards, I returned it."

2 days ago
ttran88
ttran88

A quick check on BHVideo website shows a few used or open box for sale. A pretty high resell or return rate for a camera less than 6 months old.

2 days ago
Xcelent

Nikon is matching Sony in the FF milc camera you can get for your $, give and take here and there. What these reviews mainly show is how far behind Canon is, but for some reason it is charging more for its EOS R.

2 days ago*
Anulu

is very for matching Sony

2 days ago
ovlov

Nikon and Canon trailing in AF performance to Sony? Nobody would have believed it even 5 years ago. Sad!

2 days ago*
sandy b
sandy b

Only in mirrorless, and not by much. Wait for the next model, and the one for the Olympics.

2 days ago
ttran88
ttran88

The Sony A9 is on a whole new level, it’ll be years for the competition to catch up.

2 days ago
HenryDJP

@sandy b " Wait for the next model, and the one for the Olympics."

I always find posts like this comical at best. So you're saying to wait until Nikon's NEXT model? And you don't think Sony is going to continue improving on their next model? The only way your post makes any sense is if Sony were to stop making cameras today which would allow Nikon to catch up. Not gonna happen.

2 days ago
BlueBomberTurbo

@ttran88

Basically. No amount of firmware updates or faster processors or anything will allow any other brand to catch up, as the performance lies in the sensor itself. Sony isn't going to let that sensor out to third parties until it creates a successor (A9 II) that will go even further beyond. At that point, Sony may dole out the original A9's stacked sensor tech to its own FF lineup, ensuring they're at least one step ahead of the FF competition. Would be pretty incredible to see it used in APS-C, as well, since APS-C has always been ahead of FF in mirrorless AF, all things equal, due to the smaller sensor.

2 days ago
turbsy
turbsy

Sony semiconductor and camera division are different entities so it really doesn't work that way. If Nikon has the specs for a better sensor the semiconductor division will build it.

2 days ago
mgoldberg

What if I give them my interstellar spaceship blueprints, will they build it for me too??

2 days ago
sandy b
sandy b

TTran and BB. Look at their comment history. Sony Shil;ls for years, never fail to find a reason to attack Nikon. Nikon got an 88 and silver first try. The bleeding has stopped and sony is already losing market share according to decembers japanese figures.

2 days ago
photomedium

sandy b,
sure I wait for the Olympics, then what? The Worldcup in 2022, US prez inauguration in 2024?? Get real!
I don't have that many quadrennials left in my life...and zero I want to spend waiting for camera companies, particularly Canon, to get their sh*t together.

2 days ago
Terkwoiz

Sandy B they’re correct though. The A9 is on a completely different level and it’s been out for a while now (April 2017!). Hard to imagine what will come next.

2 days ago*
photomedium

turbsy,
I don't know what purpose is served by propagating this 'legend of the two sonys' but the nonsense has to stop. A corporate creature that in your mind would have its right hand shoot in its own foot by giving cutting edge technology away to the competition is delusional.
I wonder is playstation division is also making chips for the Xbox.

1 day ago
turbsy
turbsy

It's not a myth. Sony separated the companies themselves. Sony also isn't shooting itself on the foot. It's simple economics really. The semiconductor division gets an order for sensors they make them. The base sensor technology is always there it's what the different customers do with it that changes. It would be corporate suicide for some to hold back base tech for the much much smaller camera company. And yes if you had blueprints, enough money, and Sony had the manufacturering capability to make an interstellar spacecraft for you I'm sure they would. Supllply and demand.

19 hours ago
mgoldberg

turbsy so you think that Nikon has some magic "specs" while unable to produce the sensors on their own, while Sony are complete idiots who can magically produce "Nikon-specced" sensors without having any clue how to do that? I suspect these are purely your hallucinations, unless you can support them with some independently verifiable data.

15 hours ago
BlueBomberTurbo

As we've seen from the A7R II/III and D850, the D850's sensor is a near exact replica of the A7R II's, with just a few more MP, different CFA layer, shifts exposure to create an ISO 64 (which responds like an ISO 80), and removes OSPDAF. The same with the Z 7, which adds back OSPDAF, though apparently not in the same way due to the extra striping issues it creates.

15 hours ago*
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

photomedium - It's not an uncommon arrangement (the way Sony describes the situation is directly comparable to the distinction between Lotus Cars and Lotus Engineering, which I used to cover).

Third-party makers wouldn't use Sony Semiconductor as an OEM if: a) they were offered second-rate tech and b) they couldn't trust a supplier not to re-use their IP.

14 hours ago*
mgoldberg

Richard - "second-rate tech" compared to *what*? To other chip suppliers, or to Sony's own proprietary tech used in their cameras such as the A9? Of course, if Sony offers subpar tech compared to, say, Canon, then surely it is common sense to order the chip fabrication from Canon. But if the tech offered by Sony to third parties is competitive against Canon, yet lags behind Sony's own, the third party may still be compelled to order from Sony, since there may not be a better alternative.

14 hours ago
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

There aren't many alternatives now but even when there were, pretty much every company in the industry still bought from Sony Semiconductor. This is exceedingly unlikely if they felt they were being given second-tier status, relative to Sony's own camera division (which was a much smaller player until recently).

See also smartphones, a bigger market with more chip makers. Sony Semiconductor makes sensors which are used by almost everyone (including companies such as Samsung, which is no small player in CMOS making), uses its sensors. There's no sign of Sony's phone division getting preferential treatment.

It's not wholly clear whether Sony camera has some of its own IP (unavailable to other customers) or whether they buy a period of exclusivity. But other than having better access to future plans and engineer expertise, Sony camera doesn't appear to get preferential treatment. Because its very unlikely its other customers would tolerate it.

13 hours ago
mgoldberg

What do you mean by "unlikely... would tolerate"? Or else? Like, Nikon will what, riot on the streets? Or order subpar chips from other manufacturers just to spite Sony? What leverage exactly does Nikon have against Sony's "preferential treatment" of Sony's own imaging division?

Besides, from what I can see, Sony's sensors are somewhat superior to Nikon's (for example, compare A7III, D850 and D5 on DxOMark - A7III's DR curve surpasses both D850's and D5 across the whole range of ISOs). I find it hard to believe the fairy tale of Nikon, who is unable to fabricate its own sensors, somehow magically commanding Sony to fabricate magic sensors with magic specs. It would be good to see any verifiable data on this.

EDIT: Let us also not forget that people compared the Z6 images with D750, and it was not at all obvious which camera was on top. Whereas the comparison of the A7III with D750 on DxOMark is somewhat tragic. This is simply to put the sensor quality into the perspective.

13 hours ago*
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

You'll not see me subscribing to any such fairytale. You'll notice the D850/Z7 sensor behaves an awful lot like a Sony sensor whereas the D5 chip looks much more like the Nikon-designed sensors in the last few generations of their sports cameras (which used to be fabbed elsewhere).

Since there are still other places to buy pretty good sensors, you'd have thought Ricoh, Nikon, Olympus, Panasonic or Fujifilm might have gone elsewhere if they thought they were getting second-rate treatment. (Though it's interesting that Nikon did shop elsewhere for some models).

12 hours ago
mgoldberg

Ok I get your point. "R, N, O, P, F might have gone elsewhere if they thought". So if they did not think, or did not have a choice, then they would not have gone. There is no hard evidence that Sony treats its imaging division in the same way they treat third parties, this is simply a speculation. I speculate that Sony's imaging division get just enough of the preferential treatment to still offer the chip fabrication to the third parties which is competitive against other alternatives, whatever those are (Canon?).

EDIT: the reason why I speculate this way is that it is rational for Sony to do this. If they can offer cameras which have an edge against the competitors, and at the same time the competitors are compelled to order from Sony lest they will get even worse sensors from Canon, it is a win-win for Sony. There is no reason not to do this, rationally.

12 hours ago*
Richard Butler
Richard Butler

I suspect there are only a handful of people on Earth who can be sure of these things (senior product managers at Sony Semiconductor and Sony DI) and no 'hard evidence' beyond the company's public pronouncements. But, as I say, their claims are consistent with the way these relationships work in other industries.

That said, I wholly agree that Sony Semiconductor are likely work as closely with Sony DI as they can without undermining other customers' goodwill (though I think I've seen them say they don't get first refusal on things).

But there are other places you can buy decent sensors (eg AMS, which designs and makes the sensors used in Leicas).

12 hours ago
photomedium

Richard Butler,
yes. It's clear that sony sells sensors to nikon and others but they keep their state-of-the-art, particularly ff, to themselves. I don't even think nikon could afford that and keep their prices competitive.
Sony can provide lowest cost sensors because their process is the most optimal and has highest yield. Like BlueBomberTurbo was sayin the D850 uses a version of the a7rII sensor without the phase arrays and some other mods. Perhaps now the rumored D6 may sport some of the 2yo a9 technology.
Someone brought up the the idea that Nikon would have some magic new sensor technology design that Sony simply had to fabricate for them in a braindead fashion. That is pure fantasy IMO.

8 hours ago
sandy b
sandy b

The way I understand it, Sony buys it's sensors from Sony. Separate business. If they come up with a unique design, it's theirs. Other stuff is off the shelf. But companies like Nikon can spec their own unique sensors as well. Sony will not keep state of the art equipment away from Nikon, who probably still buys half of the DSLR sensors they produce, the D750 certainly outsold any Sony FF DSLR, making a lot of money for Sony. The D800 Sony sensor was unique to Nikon for a year. It's a good financial relationship for both companies. And Nikon can certainly acquire sensors elsewhere, but Sony is certainly the best.
Nikon would be foolish to run their own foundry, terribly expensive business. Canon does it, but their sensors are not state of the art. As far as I know, none of the Dx series has used a Sony sensor.

7 hours ago
BlueBomberTurbo

"As far as I know, none of the Dx series has used a Sony sensor."

All of the DX cameras have Sony sensors. Mostly variations on the A6000 base, though the D7500 and D500 use variations on the A6300 sensor.

The only time in recent history that Nikon has broken away from Sony for DSLR (Aptina used for all but one Nikon 1) was the D7100/7200 and D5200. They used Toshiba instead, starting with the D7100/D5200 combo. Unfortunately, the sensor suffered from heavy shadow banding, Canon level. The second version of that sensor in the D7200 fared much better, and was competitive with Sony's best. Then Sony bought Toshiba's sensor production lines. XD

7 hours ago
sandy b
sandy b

Dx indicates the D3, 4 and 5

7 hours ago
BlueBomberTurbo

Ah. Some of those were Renesas, though Nikon's VERY tight lipped about their recent sensors.

EDIT: Cat's out of the bag, it seems:

https://techinsights.com/reports-and-subscriptions/open-market-reports/Report-Profile/?ReportKey=DEF-1605-801

7 hours ago*
sandy b
sandy b

Now you're splitting hairs, it's a Toshiba sensor with a Toshiba designation that was purchased by Sony.

7 hours ago
photomedium

"the way I understand it, Sony buys it's sensors from Sony"
sandy b,
of course they do. Ever heard of the concept of 'cost center' and how companies do their internal bookkeeping?

7 hours ago
sandy b
sandy b

You would be surprised the number of Sony users over the years that have claimed that Sony gets their sensors for free because they are made by Sony.

7 hours ago
BlueBomberTurbo

@sandy b

Sony bought all of Toshiba's sensor technologies along with the factory that produce them. They even inherited many of Toshiba's workers from the factory.

7 hours ago*
mgoldberg

sandy b, I think you mix together two unrelated things. One is whether Sony imaging "pays" Sony semiconductor, another is whether they have an access to in-house proprietary fabrication tech not offered to third parties. No matter what magical "specs" Nikon "reinvents" on paper and in youtube ads, they are not going to get what Sony imaging has access to fabrication-wise if Sony semiconductor does not offer that to third parties. And no, Nikon cannot just throw a temper tantrum and get similar sensors elsewhere, if nobody else offers comparable tech for the same money. So, it is quite possible that Sony does not offer the latest fabrication tech to third parties, and yet remains competitive with whatever they offer against other companies such as Canon, so that Nikon and other sensorless brands still buy from Sony.

6 hours ago
MrZuma

Can the sharpening in video be turned off or reduced?

2 days ago
visualenvy

Yes. But you must download Nikon Picture Control Utility 2 and create a custom profile.
I use the Flat profile as a start then reduce sharpening and clarity to 0 or -1. Then create a custom s curve to bring up the blacks a touch.
Works a treat on the Z 6 and my D500.. and any Nikon really.
The default profiles aren't good for video, even the Flat profile and you can't customize it enough in camera so the software is needed.

2 days ago
sandy b
sandy b

Awesome camera, 88 is a very good score, I think it deserved gold, but still. I saw a comment from Jeff Keller that the score was very close to gold. I have a feeling silver was not a consensus vote by the staff. It has excellent glass already, with more on the way. The adaptor is flawless, making it a risk free buy. Nikon REALLY upped their video game, it's got to be considered a leading choice for vid at its price point.
Kudos Nikon, great first mirrorless. I was happy they already announced the firmware upgrade.

2 days ago
LookintotheMirrorlessoften

What glass it has already? 3 lenses and none of them is anywhere exiting. They are slow but big & overpriced.

2 days ago
ovrebekk
ovrebekk

Modern F lenses work great with the adapter, so there are plenty of lenses available. I have some f1.4 primes that absolutely shine on the Z6, with the addition of image stabilization and super accurate focus.

As for silver vs gold I am sure the camera would get gold if the battery life and AF tracking was as good as the competition.

2 days ago*
LookintotheMirrorlessoften

For video they don’t work as good. Or do they?

2 days ago
ovrebekk
ovrebekk

AF during video works better with S lenses, that is true.

When using the internal MIC you get noise from the focus motor in AF-S lenses, and continuous focusing is probably a bit smoother with S lenses (I haven't seen an issue with this so far though).

I would recommend recording sound externally if using F lenses.

1 day ago
patfish

for the quality of the Z Lenses no other brand is cheaper ;-) ... you can't compare it to the cheap glasses of the old mounts or other brands.

1 day ago
Holografix

Wondering if Nikon addresses the AF issues and adds eye-af we could see the Z6 in Gold Award territory. Ps: Can’t wait to see that 58mm f0.95 review! Exciting times, even though I shoot with the Sony a7iii

2 days ago
thomas2279f
thomas2279f

Rumored of Firmware of adding Eye-AF, Cfexpress and the AF algoritms maybe improved with it and maybe some operation amendements / menu changes

2 days ago
visualenvy

Its really a weird feeling when video AF-F is better than photo AF-C.
But it is workable. Went to try out the new Z 6 on some motocross yesterday. I'd say about 70-80% in focus compared to my almost perfect 99% D500s. What I found wasn't always the AF itself having a hard time tracking but me having a harder time tracking the subject because of the blackout.
When reviewing my images my AF box was always behind the rider on the ones that missed.
I will say that the ones that hit were noticeably cleaner than my D500 files with using the same Sigma 150-600 C lens.
Even with ISO 8000 you can't tell.

2 days ago
mgblack74

@visual.... you can turn review off and with it the blackout period between shots. You are seeing what you'll get after all.

2 days ago
visualenvy

Tried it with and without that setting and do prefer the review in continuous option. Compared to my D500s I just find it harder to follow fast moving objects. There is a delay from when the image is taken until your preview returns whereas the trusty DSLR flaps the mirror much quicker and everything is optical. However when using the D500 in live view and you take a burst it also takes a while for the preview to come back so I can only assume switching the feed from capture to EVF/LCD just takes time and in continuous it all adds up. Hope that made sense :/

2 days ago
mgoldberg

No camera without a full-fledged vertical grip option should ever be considered for any kind of "award", if you want serious people to take your "award" seriously.

2 days ago
Holografix

You should start your own camera review site. Catering only to “serious” photographers like yourself.

2 days ago
mgoldberg

They do not even mention the lack of vertical grip in the "Conclusion" section. Among the things that the reviewers "do not like" are EVF refresh rate and default JPEG settings, but no mention of the complete and total lack of vertical grip. I would call this gaffe a joke if it was witty and funny, but it is dumb and tragic.

2 days ago
Terkwoiz

Actually it is a little surprising that Nikon didn’t release a vertical grip. Just read up on it and a lot of people are complaining. They have an add-on battery pack but it has no functionality besides charging.

2 days ago
Barney Britton
Barney Britton

mgoldberg - you're doing a lot of complaining around these here parts recently, and while we're flattered that you hold us to such high standards, your tone is starting to grate. The lack of a vertical grip accessory is not a 'con' of the camera, much as you (and I, in fact) might wish for one. It's a con of the system. The pending availability of a battery grip (sans vertical controls) is mentioned in the review.

2 days ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

Oh come on. I've only ever had one camera (D700) with a vertical grip which I hardly ever used. I'm a pretty serious photographer including getting paid. I even managed for 20 odd years to make money out of Nikon FMs without a motor drive.

2 days ago
Azathothh
Azathothh

Yeah any “serious” photographers uses a vertical grip. And a lens hood. And a big lens. And on top of that a big speedlight. With a huge bounce card. Like this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9tEjGgeN5I

2 days ago
BlueBomberTurbo

Z 6 is entry level. Grip not necessary. Z 7, on the other hand...

2 days ago
Dazaau

I agree that a camera at this point should have a grip. Only Canon Eos Rebel type cameras should be excused. A bit of a shocker really.

2 days ago
NarrBL

'Z6 is entry level'. I ask you...

And would ask how many more of these endless shading comments we have to hear?

How much would the forums improve, if there were a nice limit each person could post, per day, and a lower-based fence per week?

18 hours ago*
Love Photography 888
Love Photography 888

Reading prior comments and the Z forums you would think this would’ve been a “slam dunk” Gold Award 🥇.

2 days ago
mgoldberg

Reading Z forums is like reading a mental patient diary - "I am totally healthy, the doctor is wrong"

2 days ago
turbsy
turbsy

mgoldberg that's the same with any forum. Take a look at the micro 4/3s forum for a perfect example.

2 days ago
Androole

So for the speculators out there (I know, I know, no one speculates on DPReview...) which of this latest crop of FF-mirrorless bodies do we think will be the first to hit $1200-1300? A7 III or Z6?

Both the A7 III and Z6 have finally arrived at the baseline level of functionality I expect from a modern mirrorless camera (whereas the A7 II still fell significantly short), so I will be eyeing the evolution of this market with great curiosity.

2 days ago
Terkwoiz

I would have to guess that the a7iii will reach that price sooner. I think Sony products depreciate similarly to android phones (maybe not quite that quickly ☺️). I could be wrong though. The a6000 body only is $549 on amazon right now and it’s been that price for years - sometimes going lower for whatever reason and then returning. I bought one on sale for $399 several winters ago.

2 days ago
BlueBomberTurbo

Nikon's known for launching rebates relatively fast for their cameras. Not as quickly as Canon, but it'll still drive the price down after a bit. Not to mention if the D750 gray market effect hits, $1500 is easy to see in a couple of years.

2 days ago
Total: 168, showing: 1 – 50
« First‹ Previous1234Next ›Last »