1132

Nikon Z6 Review

Operation and controls

Nikon has done a lot to ensure that the Z6's operation feels familiar to users of its existing DSLRs. But, while the Z6's menus and interface are similar to Nikon's older models, the behavior of its AF system is likely to be unfamiliar.

Key takeaways:

  • Menus are familiar for Nikon DSLR owners
  • Touchscreen is extensively used but there's no AF touchpad option
  • i Menu now touch-sensitive and customizable
  • Buttons are highly customizable but dedicated AF mode button is absent
  • Separate stills/movie customization

Touchscreen

The touchscreen is used for a number of things: setting the AF point, interacting with both the main menu and the customizable 'i' menu (more on that further down this page) and for zooming and navigating images in playback mode.

One noticeable omission is that the screen can't be used as a touchpad when the camera is held to your eye, a few found on more and more cameras these days, including on Nikon's own D5600. Existing shooters of high-end Nikons need not concern themselves: there's an AF point joystick instead, but it does seem like an odd feature to omit on a touchscreen camera, especially given just how many focus points must be traversed to get from one side of the screen to the other. At the very least, there's a provision to skip every alternate point, if you prefer faster operation over increased precision.

Menus

The Z6's menus will be immediately familiar to anyone who's used a Nikon D200 or newer DSLR. Not only does it follow the same tabbed structure with the color-coded Custom Settings menu divided into logical subsections, but it also offers a near-identical set of options to those in the D850.

This color-coding and the 'index' screen shown above makes this the menu system we find it easiest to navigate, when it comes to complex, enthusiast and high-end cameras.

i Menu

One of the main changes on the 'Z' cameras is the move to a touch-sensitive, customizable version of the 'i' menu, used for quick settings changes. This is essentially a streamlined version of the system developed in Nikon's mass-market cameras.

Unlike the D750, which had an 'Info' button to show a screen of settings and an 'i' button that brought up a list of options, the Z6 sees the two concepts combined. There's still a full-screen info display, now accessed by pressing the 'DISP' button, but the twelve options along the bottom of this panel are now customizable and interactive.

These twelve options also pop up as an overlay in live view mode, if you hit the 'i' button. You can then navigate these either using the four-way controller and 'OK' button or by tapping the screen. You can't navigate using the camera's joystick: a slight annoyance.

Options assignable to i menu
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)
  • Image Quality
  • Image Size
  • Exposure Compensation
  • ISO sensitivity settings
  • White Balance
  • Set Picture Control
  • Color space
  • Active D-Lighting
  • Long exposure NR
  • High ISO NR
  • Metering
  • Flash mode
  • Flash compensation
  • Focus mode (AF/MF)
  • AF-area mode
  • Vibration reduction
  • Auto bracketing
  • Multi exposure
  • HDR (high dynamic range)
  • Silent photography
  • Release mode
  • Custom control assignment
  • Exposure delay mode
  • Electronic front-curtain shutter
  • Apply settings to live view
  • Split-screen display zoom
  • Peaking highlights
  • Monitor/viewfinder brightness
  • Bluetooth connection
  • Wi-Fi connection

If you select an option in the 'i' menu by tapping it, a list of available options appears, whereas if you navigate to it using the physical controls, it's simply highlighted and the camera's dials can be used to quickly scroll through the available options.


Button customization in stills mode

The two main Fn buttons (placed between the lens mount and the grip) can be used for a number of functions, either to temporarily have an effect while pressed or, in conjunction with the command dials, to cycle through the available options for a specific function.

A subset of these functions can be assigned to a press of the joystick and, with the sole exception of 'Protect' the single-press options can also be assigned to the L-Fn buttons that may exist on some Z-mount lenses.

Single-press options (Fn 1, Fn2, L-Fn, *Joystick press)
  • Select center focus point (Joystick press only)
  • AF-On*
  • AF lock only*
  • AE lock (Hold)*
  • AE lock (Reset on release)*
  • AE lock only*
  • AE/AF lock*
  • FV lock*
  • [Flash] Disable/enable*
  • [DoF] Preview*
  • Matrix metering*
  • Center-weighted metering*
  • Spot metering*
  • Highlight-weighted metering*
  • Bracketing burst*
  • Sync. release selection*
  • + NEF (Raw)*
  • Framing grid display*
  • Zoom on/on
  • MY MENU
  • Access top item in MY MENU
  • Playback
  • Protect (Not L-Fn)
Button + Dial turn options (Fn1, Fn2, *Joystick press)
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)*
  • Image quality/size
  • White Balance
  • Set Picture Control
  • Active D-Lighting
  • Metering
  • Flash mode/compensation
  • Focus mode/AF-area mode
  • Auto bracketing
  • Multiple exposure
  • HDR (high dynamic range)
  • Exposure delay mode
  • Peaking highlights
  • Rating
  • Choose non-CPU lens number*
  • None

Movie [Rec] button

Since the Movie record button isn't used in stills mode and the button configuration can be set separately for video capture, it essentially becomes a third Fn button.

Movie Rec Button press options
  • AE lock (Hold)
  • AE lock (Reset on release)
  • [DoF] Preview
  • + NEF (Raw)
  • Framing grid display
  • Zoom on/off
  • MY MENU
  • Access top item in MY Menu
Movie Rec Button + Dial Turn options
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)*
  • Image quality/size
  • White Balance
  • Set Picture Control
  • Active D-Lighting
  • Metering
  • Flash mode/compensation
  • Focus mode/AF-area mode
  • Auto bracketing
  • Multiple exposure
  • HDR (high dynamic range)
  • Exposure delay mode
  • Shutter spd & aperture lock
  • Choose non-CPU lens number*
  • None

AF-On

The AF-On button can only be used for a limited number of AF and AE-related functions.

Oddly, Nikon has omitted the 'AF-area mode' and 'AF-area mode + AF-On' options, which exist on its high-end DSLR and allow you to temporarily switch to a different AF mode or, better still, switch modes and initiate focus. We found these could be hugely useful in fast-paced shooting and are disappointed to see them go missing.

AF-On button options
  • Select center focus point
  • AF-On
  • AF lock only
  • AE lock (Hold)
  • AE lock (Reset on release)
  • AE lock only
  • AE/AF lock
  • Zoom on/off
  • None

Button customization in video mode

The camera's buttons can be configured separately for video shooting mode, with the camera offering a much wider array of options than the D850 did. It's also possible to configure the 'i' menu to offer access to a different set of features for video capture than the ones you've chosen for stills shooting.

The camera's buttons and 'i' Menu can be configured separately for video shooting

In video mode, the Fn1, Fn2, Joystick Press and AF-On buttons can be customized. The power aperture and exposure compensation options are designed to be assigned in pairs, such that Fn1 and Fn2 offer opposing functions.

Single-press options (Fn 1, Fn2)
  • Power aperture (Fn1: Open / Fn2: Close)
  • Exposure compensation (Fn1: + / Fn2; –)
  • Framing grid display
  • Protect
Button + Dial turn options (Fn1, Fn2)
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)
  • White Balance
  • Set Picture Control
  • Active D-Lighting
  • Metering
  • Focus mode/AF-area mode
  • Microphone sensitivity
  • Peaking highlights
  • Rating
  • None

One absence to note compared to Nikon's DSLRs is the 'Access top item in MY Menu' option. This is a great shame, since it can be a really useful way to gain access to a feature you want to access.

AF-On and Joystick press

The AF-On button can only be used for a limited number of AF and AE-related functions. Note the option to initiate video recording using the AF-On button.

AF-On button and *Joystick press options
  • Select center focus point*
  • AF-On
  • AF lock only*
  • AE lock (Hold)*
  • AE lock only*
  • AE/AF lock
  • Zoom on/off
  • Record movies
  • Framing grid display (Joystick press only)
  • None
Joystick press + Dial turn options
  • Choose image area (FX / Crop)*
  • None*

Other customization options

The camera lets you choose whether to use the shutter button to take photos (which it can do at 8MP without interrupting 4K capture), or to initiate video recording.

As in stills mode, the lens ring can be re-purposed. Again, by default it's used for manual focus or correcting autofocus but it can also be assigned to power aperture, exposure compensation or to have no function, in order to prevent accidental operation.

Finally, you can reconfigure the role of the 'OK' button at the center of the four-way controller. This can be set to 'Select center focus point,' 'Zoom on/off,' to 'Record movies' or to have no function. This means, in all, you can start movie shooting either with the dedicated button, with the shutter button, with AF-On, with a press of the joystick nub or using the 'OK' button.

Auto ISO

The Z6 continues Nikon's existing and excellent Auto ISO implementation. This lets you specify an upper limit and a shutter speed threshold at which the camera will increase the ISO setting. This threshold can be set to relate to the current focal length, with options to lean towards shutter speeds faster or slower than 1/focal length. As usual for Nikon, if you specify an ISO setting while in Auto mode, this becomes the minimum setting that the camera will use.

Auto ISO can be used in manual exposure mode (for both stills and video) and retains exposure compensation to let you specify the target lightness that the camera will try to maintain.

310
I own it
409
I want it
52
I had it
Discuss in the forums
View Comments (1132)

Comments

All (1132)
Most popular (15)
Editors' picks (1)
DPR staff (27)
Oldest first
lapomattiabarambaniviendalmare
lapomattiabarambaniviendalmare

Will wait the firmware update before deciding, I'm mostly interested in sport shooting and I bet that the D500 is still superior regarding AF performance.

5 days ago*
eliehbk

Their camera, coupled with the new 50mm, is a dream come true. My requirements for AF aren’t too demanding, and therefore, it’s more than adequate to me. The build quality and picture quality (even JPEGs) are just unbelievable, almost puts Lightroom out of business :)

6 days ago
FujLiver
FujLiver

I switched to the Z6 from A7Rii, D810 and Leica M. Can't be happier. combination of build quality, ergonomics, IQ and useable functionality is really a sweet spot at the moment. I also like Nikon going for very high quality but compact 1.8 lenses. Sony 1.4 lenses are awesome but too much for me to carry around when travelling. Canon EOS-R lenses are similarly amazing but mostly only practical for studio. DSLR lenses are too large with their cameras and too many issues with mechanical analogue SLR phase detect. The time of the bulky, vibrating and drifting mirror boxes is now officially over.

1 week ago
Jenbenn16

Dpreview states that the Z6's viewfinder is "laggy". Sounds very serious to me. Is it really a problem in normal shooting? I wonder also because the Z7 review does not mention any laggyness of the viewfinder and I was led to believe that the Z6 and the Z7 viewfinder are the same.

3 weeks ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

I don’t find it laggy

3 weeks ago
Raven 777
Raven 777

I use it for three month and never have such a problem

1 week ago
FujLiver
1 week ago
NMSS_2

The images are horrendous. Looked like it came from yesteryears camera. Cant they post some eye catching samples?

3 weeks ago
photofan1986
photofan1986

Exactly my thoughts looking at the samples. Jpeg processing is awful.

2 weeks ago
Peter Hayward

I'm not sure what you're looking for however I find the images are superb on my PC. Really sharp. Good colour.
Do you really need 'eye catching' samples to determine how good the camera and lens is?
I'll be looking at one of these in the second iteration which will hopefully address the shortcomings identified in this excellent review.

1 week ago
photofan1986
photofan1986

I don't need any "eye-catching" samples. They are OK. Though I can see that the jpegs are smeared and that noise reduction is far from state of the art.

1 week ago
Entropius

The big competitor for the Z6 is a used D750. I can get one of those for around a third of the price (and might, if I want to go fullframe).

Sure, it's bigger, but if Nikon really wants to make the point that the system is smaller, they need to take advantage of the shorter flange-focal distance to make some combination smaller/cheaper/sharper normal and wide lenses.

The biggest argument against fullframe, for me, is that the Sigma 18-35/1.8 is so damn good, so I'm sticking with my D500 for now.

3 weeks ago
Clayton1985

Remind me... would I have an optical viewfinder, awful live view, no touch screen, lower resolution rear LCD, a bigger and heavier camera, no IBIS, no EFCS, and inferior video with the D750? Ok, in that case the chances of me buying the D750 over the Z6 are about .5% which is coincidentally higher than the chances of me buying the Sigma 18-35 f1.8.

3 weeks ago
StevieF

Clayton 1985 - good summary of the reasons why I sold my D750 to purchase the Z6. The touch AF/shutter (first encountered on a V3 but that’s a different story!) is an absolute gem for some of the outdoor stuff which I do (for a well known National Heritage Charity here in the UK) .

I also ditched the 14-24 and 24-70 2.8 zooms - the latter because the Z ‘kit’ is superb and I’m sure the forthcoming 14-30will be, with filters.

My back is also very grateful.

3 weeks ago
HenryDJP

@StevieF "The touch AF/shutter (first encountered on a V3 but that’s a different story!) is an absolute gem for some of the outdoor stuff which I do"

Not sure if that's going to be ideal, especially during broad daylight sunny days where the LCD screen will be unusable. Under these conditions the EVF would be better suited, but as DPR mentioned, the Touch AF is not enabled when using the EVF.

3 weeks ago
xyxyxyxyxy

Bought it, used it, love it. It works seamless with my Nikkor and Sigma lenses, is very manageable with its native 24-70 f/4 zoom, none of dpreviews caveats are of any importance to me whatsoever.
I use my old trustworthy D800 now for slow high resolution work and grab the Z6 for all other cases - for me it's gold.

3 weeks ago
Julian

I'm in exactly the same boat, I bought the Z6, kept my D800 for high-res, and I'm loving the Z6, its a really nice light weight very useable body, and I have found that I am definitely out shooting more with the Z6 than I was with my previous heavy hit.

3 weeks ago
Orsonneke
Orsonneke

I wanted to buy one , and rented one over the weekend
Disappointed, mainly about the AF , also for stills
My XT3 performs much better on AF
High ISO , is very good due to full frame though

3 weeks ago
Fao91

Really?!
I sold my xt3 after owning the z6 for about a week.
Maybe because i use f2.8 or faster lenses,I actually prefer the z6 af in all kinds of light and moving or static subjects.
What lenses were you using with the z6?

3 weeks ago
Orsonneke
Orsonneke

The 24-70/4 s and the Nikon 24-70 mark I
The F lens is more performing with my D 800!
The AF with the F lens on the Z6 was less snappy and hunted more
I tested mainly indoor at 2 location
When I took the Z6 back to the shop , the salesman , who wants to buy a new camera as well , agreed with me , and said he would not buy either

3 weeks ago
Raven 777
Raven 777

In a last three month of use my Z6 has few issues with AF-S pinpoint. But all problems disappears when I switched to AF-C Dynamic-area AF. Works like a charm.

1 week ago
DeathArrow

It Sony released such a camera it wouldn't get a Silver award and would be heavily criticized for AF, banding, battery life, menus.

3 weeks ago
Clayton1985

This might make sense if the Z6 had battery life or menus like the Sony cameras that have been criticized in the past for those things but it doesn't. The Z6 has been criticized for some aspects of AF and the banding is mentioned but isn't much of an issue at all.

3 weeks ago
StevieF

I've had a Z6 for about 3 weeks - the battery life 'issue' isn't, as everyone knew it wouldn't be - typically 700 shots, more if the LCD etc is used sparingly. The banding (I've never seen it) is supposedly +5EV or so - right! If I had to do that I'd consider my position. Menus? They mirror Nikon menus - if you don't like them, fine, use something else. They are the same as the D500, D750 and D5 more or less, which haven't done too badly. If they aren't for you - fine, who cares, that's just you. All entirely subjective.

There is no doubt that any reasonable person would agree that the AF system isn't as good as Sony at the moment - but that isn't to say it's bad, its certainly better than my old D750 which is fine for me at the moment.

But that's all v Sony at the moment - if I was reviewing a camera that had my fingers jammed against the lens barrel and felt like I was handling a soulless brick I wouldn't give it any stars whatsoever.

3 weeks ago
MarcusIMH

First Use of my Z6: Basketball in a dark place (1000Lux, old sports hall) at the same time my son had the D500 in use. Z6 with 12 bit Raw 12 FPS. Z6 did well, with significant better image quality, no surprise.... Lens: Sigma 50 mm 1.4 Art on both cams. Battery life D500 after 400 Shots: 80 %, Z6 after 300 shots: 60%, Monitor of the Z6 was not used....
Autofocus of the Z6 was incredibly fast! Not so good for Sports and Action? Sorry, that's absolutely wrong.................

3 weeks ago
Decooler

You get the feeling the z series are kinda ZZZZZzzzzzzzz- Boring! because I expected to buy one, and I cant bring myself to waste money on lesser AF performance and banding- its as though Nikon decided to market prototypes, because there should not be any such negatives in the mix, unless they are planning to give them away, and as to battery life, now its in Sony territory.

What with Leica horrendous 24MP limit and lamentable shutter lag, and the SLOwww new Fuji and Hasselblad X1D bigger sensor machines, it becomes obvious surely that the Camera Cartel are united in their decision to cunningly extend their programmed obsolescence into machines now costing what a Leica M does new, but always dependent on happy software interactions to function well at all.

Nobody knows or can explain the constant tide of firmware updates that should all be there when you first buy the camera-even Nikon update Dxxx firmware for correction of lenses that PREDATE their bodies!! There's worse to come?

3 weeks ago*
wilsoncraft

I think you need a new hobby.

3 weeks ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

Well i use one and its fine

3 weeks ago
wheatfieldsoul
wheatfieldsoul

ZZZzzzzzzz...

3 weeks ago
Decooler

I am not bothered, you see as a D800 is good enough for an entire lifetime of work. There are advantages, yes, to higher resolution, possibly, but in many cases just get 25% closer and the detail of a 50MP sensor will be yours on a 36MP sensor, a thought you may like to meditate upon for several years, as long as your zoom goes wider to equal the same area coverage. ZZZZzzzzz......

3 weeks ago
bluevellet

The studio scene is interesting. The performance plateau for sensors is clear to see. The Z6 is barely half a stop better than the D610 released 7 years ago. So if sensor performance were everything, not exactly a big motivator to upgrade an old FX DSLR.

But just like the EOS R, the big difference in IQ are the lenses. The Z 50mm smokes the old 85mm G.

3 weeks ago
Gon0S

The only race we get is just faster sensor to cope with good enough EVF experience and hi fps system...

I am still waiting for better color precision, higher accutance and the end of the monochromatic mess we get from BAYER CFA systems as we loose 50% of resolution when we have lights without green component... But go figure, we all only need 30fps cameras and 8k movie features...

At least, they manage to give us better high ISO DR and better controlled noise systems.

Waiting to see next SIGMA foveon like system, if ever it is released in the L alliance.

3 weeks ago*
Mikedigi

How can the Z6 get 88% when it suffers from EVF blackouts in burst shooting?

Mike

1 month ago
Frank C.

Here, 88%, I just gave it another one

4 weeks ago
Fao91

Maybe because only the a9 and xt3(crop mode on top of apsc crop) don’t blackout.

4 weeks ago
CaPi

Who called it a sports camera? Its an alrounder

3 weeks ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

I'm amused about the gnashing of teeth about EVF blackouts - my OVF blacks out too! Every time I take a shot.

3 weeks ago
Mikedigi

It was just a question, and thank you all for the replies. I was just surprised to read that EVF blackout is present at this price level.
OVF blackout is surely a different animal, otherwise people would not use DSLRs for action photography?
No gnashing of teeth, nor intention to upset anyone.

3 weeks ago*
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

I don't see that OVF blackout is a different beast except for the mirror-moving smears the image whereas the EVF just goes completely black. I find both utterly useless to follow something moving.

3 weeks ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

Whatever the perceived shortcomings of the Z6 (and7) I'm finding it to be superior to my D750 for gig shooting. The shot was taken at 3200iso with an 85mm 1.8 at f2 1/250 sec and lightly edited/converted in Photoshop. https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/62196231

1 month ago
Rensol

So what did you find there D600 could not pull?

3 weeks ago
CaPi

Z6 worked just fine.

3 weeks ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

Rensol clearly i said D750 beats 600 and for mr 6 beats 750 for what I shoot. 600 no where near 6 on focussing and not enough focus points. Theres more but thats the main stuff.

3 weeks ago
CaPi

Have you been looking at the jpegs?
I dont. The Raws dont show what you stated to me

3 weeks ago
avatar77

Rensol, what you claim is detail in the 610 is clearly grain, i.e., noise.

3 weeks ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

Rensol sorry but I don’t shoot studio scenes. And most of my shooting is gigs in quite low light. I know from actual usage which camera is best for me but go ahead and carry on thinking you know better about which camera is better for me.

3 weeks ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

Also I rarely shoot at 25600 if ever and to me all the samples at that iso look poor. So I,m not sure what the point of a slightly better “poor” quality is.

3 weeks ago
Wm G Levy

The lenses are too big. If you are going to make a lighter smaller camera then make lenses that are lighter and smaller too.

1 month ago
Dave Hurwitz

Physics wins here. The sensor size determines lens size. Though it is possible to minimize lens size, full frame lenses are going to be bigger than APS-C and Four Third lenses. I use the Tamron 28-300 zoom with my D750 and with an adapter it can be used on the Z6. It’s about as small as you can get for a lens with this wide a focal range. If you want really small lenses, go with Four Thirds.

1 month ago
MikeRan

No. The mount size is too big. So the lenses have to start at least with that diameter.

1 month ago
CaPi

The lenses are comparatively small.

3 weeks ago
Entropius

Having a shorter flange-focal distance allows for the design of lenses that are some combination of smaller, faster, and sharper, especially ones where the focal length is smaller or similar to than the flange-focal distance.

Compare the lenses for Four Thirds and Micro Four Thirds, particularly the wide-angle ones. The Olympus 7-14/4 for 4/3 is huge; the Panasonic 7-14/4 for m4/3 is much smaller. Same with the Panasonic 25/1.4's for both systems, or the Olympus 45/1.8, Panasonic 20/1.7, and Olympus 12/2 with anything.

3 weeks ago
MikeRan

This isn’t about flange distance. It’s about diameter of the mount..
The large diameter of the mount, the Nikon marketing “feature” is a liability when it comes to making small lenses...

3 weeks ago
Dave Hurwitz

My concern is backup in the field. I don’t like to carry a computer on trips and rely on a Hyperdrive for backup. I see no way to backup an xQD card to a Hyperdrive though it looks like it can be done with a WD wireless or a Lacie portable. Anybody have experience with this?

1 month ago
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

Sony and Nikon lead here, but I'd still pick the Nikon because the Sony is much less ergonomic. Nikon built a camera that's much better in the hand and the overall experience is better.
But Nikon has some tweaking to do, so I'll slum it with my D850 for now and wait for the Z6s or whatever comes next. No big deal.
I won't drive a Kia and I sure as heck won't shoot with a Sony.

Rob

1 month ago
dpcane

Well you also currently shoot Nikon, so there’s that.

1 month ago
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

Everyone's making great cameras these days, each with their own little advantages. Anyone who says that one camera is significantly superior is either a liar or has a very narrow window requirement. Any of the new mirrorless do things better than the very best pro stuff of just 10 years ago, so it's silly to claim that one is appropriate for a job while another is not. And every camera has fantastic lenses available with more released every few months. So what's left? The current system you're invested in and ergonomics. I've got about 15K in Nikon glass, which is a moderate amount for some. Since my glass still holds plenty of value along with my D850 I could easily switch systems. What stops me is that Sony has no significant advantages (nor does Nikon) and Sony ergonomics are poor.

1 month ago
MrHollywood
MrHollywood

Also:Most of the people who cry over which camera can track a green Miata against a green background aren't actually shooting anything and don't even have a posted gallery. They are gear heads and not photographers. I love my D850, but if I grab the old D90 with a cheap zoom on it I can still take wonderful pictures. That's all that matters. Choose what feels right in your hand and shoot!

1 month ago
steelhead3

Good for you

1 month ago
absquatulate

I came here to read lots of expert opinions from people who've never even held or used this camera, I wasn't disappointed....

1 month ago
FredMart

I came here to read lots of expert opinion from people who think it's not possible to take good picture whitout this camera and I wasn't disapointed too...
"Glory to NIkon.... All I need Nikon make it possible....All pictures are perfect with Nikon..."

1 month ago*
CaPi

The same brand talk is everywhere
That doesnt make it true

3 weeks ago
User8622029851

The Z6 is also for folks, like me, who shoot everything in available light, and who may not even own a Speed Light, or flash of any kind. I have been shooting in available light sonce the 1960’s, when I bought my first F camera and Nikkor 50mm f/1.4. Low light capability is that important to me. There are probably others who have the same priority.

1 month ago
CaPi

I own a speedlight.. for weddings etc..
but Thast all I ever use it for

3 weeks ago
Raven 777
Raven 777

Even so I'm Nikon shooter I was thinking to switch to Sony a7III. I've been trying a7III at photo shop and Z6 as well. But after playing with this two cameras I decided to get Z6. It's really well designed has better EVF and more user friendly for me. Mostly I'm shooting street and landscape and Nikon's AF works without any problem at all. Also low light pics looks just amazing. Z6 replaced my trusty D610 month ago and I don't regret about it even a single second.
btw I'm thinking Z6 is a replacement for D610 and Z7 replacement for D750...

1 month ago*
Spectro

yeah, the z6 feels like a d750 when you shoot it. If they made the grip a little bigger, I wouldn't mine.

1 month ago
In Camera

I think I’ll wait for gen 3 of Nikon Z.

1 month ago
demaio
demaio

Nice effort, Nikon!
Now give us Z 8 with dual card slots and Canon-to-Nikon autofocus lens adapter.

1 month ago
dereken

A larger Z is coming, no doubt positioned as a Sony A9 competitor as Nikon now seems to be following Sony's successful product strategy.

1 month ago
vFunct

Would be great as a 2nd/3rd cameras for photojournalist and weddings combined with 28 F1.4 and/or 105 F1.4 for soft-focus shots that don’t need high resolution, while using a Z7 or D850 with 24-70 or 70-200 as the main lens for all the sharp high-red shots.

1 month ago
adrianamol
adrianamol

This photo camera is suitable for a novice photographer?

1 month ago
1 month ago
Spectro

actually a lot of cameras are suitable for novice. But this will help future proof you for the future for photography. and video I find lenses quite expensive, but if you get the adapter nikon f mount lenses are much cheaper (especially 3rd party) then theses new lenses coming out. Lots of used k mount lenses out there, when I was a noive I bought used lenses. Watch out for the screw driver D lenses as they would AF, just MF.

1 month ago
David Bo
David Bo

It's way too expensive. Start out with some cheaper. Maybe a used Sony a7II.

1 week ago
Nuno Souto
Nuno Souto

Funny how battery life has started to be a problem with Nikon mirrorless...
My D80 and D200 go for weeks with a single battery charge - then again, I'm not a "pro" so I don't take 5000 photos of the same subject to get one image I can keep...
My Coolpix P1000 now suffers from the same: it eats battery juice like there is no tomorrow.
I do not believe it's all due to the EVF: my Oly EM5M2 has one and battery life is huge!

1 month ago
sandy b
sandy b

People are reporting 2000 shots on a single charge.

1 month ago
Barney Britton
Barney Britton

It's very use-case dependent. CIPA figures are extremely conservative, but they do serve as a useful means of comparing battery life from different products. I.e., if one camera is rated at 500 shots (CIPA) and another at 1000 per charge, you can probably expect a great many more shots than that from each camera, per charge, but the camera with the higher CIPA rating will probably give you about twice as many, whatever the conditions (assuming you're using both cameras in the same way).

Long story short - don't be too scared by low-looking CIPA numbers. All cameras give much better than their rated endurance in what we'd call 'normal' use for primarily stills photography. We got 1200 shots per charge from the Z6 in a recent controlled test, and we've stretched the Z7 to ~1700 shots on a single battery.

1 month ago*
shigzeo
shigzeo

Meanwhile, the X-H1 and every other camera I’ve tried in a dark studio with flash gets less than half the reported shots for magazine shoots. My X-H1 gets 120 max and the Leica SL around 200 max. It all depends. Both cameras would get over 2.000 when run-and-gun usage require such action.

1 month ago
vesa1tahti
vesa1tahti

Battery life in astrophotography: I shoot 30 to 60 seconds captures, in winter ab. -15 degr. Celsius. Battery life is about 100 images, normally 1000 shots. I mean mirror system (D7200). What about Z6: does it tolerate low temperatures and long exposures better than a camera with mirror? Thanks.

1 month ago
spbStan
spbStan

I walked around the city with my Z6 night before last getting photos of the snow covered historic city center at -20c. I was out for about 2.5 hours and took 262 shots and checked the next morning and found the battery indicator went down 1 bar. That is certainly better than the cold weather battery life from my D850 or D800. My D7000 is the battery king however and a charge seems to last forever. Last week I noticed my Z6 battery draining pretty quickly. I started checking through the menu, since it is relatively new to me, and found that I had WiFi on and connected even though I was not using the camera. In an event, with a continuous backup of the files to my laptop, I was getting about 700 shots but that included a lot of rear screen time because everyone wanted to see every image I took of them. Leaving it in EVF mode only I have gotten over 1200 with WiFi running. The wide range of battery life reports surely are based on which of the many optional features are running.

3 weeks ago
Nuno Souto
Nuno Souto

Very good point. I have wifi turned off in all my cameras that provide such a feature. It certainly makes a difference to battery life. What most folks don't realize is that when the wifi reception is on, the camera is constantly trying to connect to a wifi router, regardless of where it is. That surely drains a battery better than anything else!

3 weeks ago
patfish

After the announcement of ProresRAW for the Z6/Z7 no serious video shooter can go with a A7III any more :-)

1 month ago
David Bo
David Bo

A serious video shooter would never buy a DSLR style camera but a dedicated video camera 😉

1 week ago
patfish

@ David BO
thats right! :D ...but if you buy a DSLM for video and you know what you are doing in postproduction --> the Z6 is now your choice :D

1 week ago
chary zp

First impression one month ago, loads of comments based on that-time-info. Then one one month later a real review, yet, the comments are month old, based on a month old known facts. Is posting a new article such a huge problem? Is it? Like, so that people could comment on a month worth of new known fact and the latest review and the "most popular" comments are really relevant to the article, not the first impression one month ago? Is it really technically impossible to make a new article with a bunch of links to the old "first impressions" ones, so that the mess of new and month old comments doesn't interfere? Are the internets already out of space? I mean, the new text takes up as much data as either updated or new article, does it not?

1 month ago*
mxx
mxx

Maybe DPR gets more advertising income the higher hit count per article is?

1 month ago
chary zp

mxx, this is such a horribly ridiculous idea it must be true. Because why should they have four sheetloads of views per article (fresh news, first impressions, sample gallery, full review, especially with the hot buns like new Z cameras) when they can have one ridonculous number. I really wonder.

1 month ago
rjmcsr

"Nikon says that a battery grip is in development, but since there are no electronic connectors on the bottom plate of the camera or in the battery compartment, it may not offer portrait orientation controls." It's odd namely for the higher end camera z7. But the absence of contacts doesn't mean that the grip couldn't have those controls, as we can control a camera with a smartphone the grip itself may have wireless comunication to the camera (e.g. bluetooth) enabling the controls. Not a cheap solution...but having a grip only for additional batteries doesn't seems to be a smart solution

1 month ago
mgblack74

Back in the day, one removed the battery door, and the grip had contacts that extended into the battery chamber of the camera.

1 month ago
cosinaphile

there is no reason for such a scheme to work poorly , but wirelessly with infinitesimal lag,

get with it already! ........cameras....

1 month ago
dereken

I guess they will release a larger Z camera in the future. Built in vertical grip, dual card slots, positioned as an A9 competitor.

1 month ago
Barney Britton
Barney Britton

The upcoming grip for the Z6/7 will not offer vertical controls, it's just for handling and an extra battery. Confirmed by Nikon.

1 month ago
jackspra
jackspra

If I could let the D500 go I would get the Z6.Cant do it.Thanks for the great informative review.

1 month ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

I like mine! I've been pleased and I'm looking forward to the eye-AF update. Otherwise, I can't think of much I'd change. It's a nice size, feels great, easy to use as a long-time Nikon user, battery life is great, I love the 24-70S, and it's worked great with my 70-300 AFP.

I really enjoy my Z6.

1 month ago
CaPi

Sounds great :) Do you use primes like the 28mm 1.8?
How do large lenses feel? (is the 70-300 heavy?)

1 month ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

My big lenses (Tamron 70-200 G2 and 150-600 G2) feel really odd but they work. My shorter but heavy Sigma 24-35 is actually not bad, but has some incompatibilities that Sigma hasn't fixed yet.

The 70-300 AFP looks enormously long on the Z6 but it's so light it works great. easy to hold and balance and quick. I think it's the reason Nikon does't have any telephoto lenses besides the 70-200 f/2.8 on Z roadmap.

I have the 50 and 35 f/1.8 G primes and they're just perfect for the system. The S-mount versions are better but they're vastly more expensive. No thanks.

1 month ago
CaPi

Thank you for your fast and interesting answer. Much appreciated!

1 month ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

You're welcome CaPi. It's nice to find not-trolls in the comments. Let me know if you have any other questions.

1 month ago
spbStan
spbStan

I use my 70-200 2.8 VRII on the Z6 and it feels fine because with a tele, it feels natural to use the left hand at the balance point, we do that automatically with any of the DSLRs. I have a D850, 800 and 7000 that all use that lens and balance is just something we all do automatically. If one shoots on-handed, it might be an issue because at least the gripped D8x0 series I have shot with the camera/lens supported by my right hand and flash in my left hand. I can't do a lot of those or need to but sometimes in events it is needed. The Z6 might only be 680 grams but if feels heavier because it feels so solid, like machined out of a solid billet. It FEELs for dense and rugged than my D850 which as we all know is a very well built camera.
My everyday walking around lens is the 24-70 f/4 Zmount, it is sharper than either my 24-70 2.8 G or E. My MF lenses, like 50 1.2 are getting a lot more use because of the ease of focusing with the Peaking function.

3 weeks ago
Kaonashi

Hi if you don’t mind me asking I have a couple of questions and I can’t find that info in the manual. I am not a Nikon user but am interested in Z6. I am often bracketing exposures so: 1 does this camera go from -5 to +5? The manual seems to be implying the scale of -3 to +3. Does this function work with standard timer delay setting (2,5,10 seconds)? Also is there perhaps a programmable bulb mode - Canon and Fuji have an option where you can set the bulb mode to run for the amount of time needed. Fuji actually can figure this out itself and set the time correctly. Does Z6 offer something like this?

3 weeks ago*
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

I can do ±4 shots and yes, you can set a shutter delay too. There's a bulb and a timer (touch to open shutter, touch to close shutter), but no, I don't see a programmable time mode.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

3 weeks ago
Kaonashi

Thank you for the information.

3 weeks ago
Wild Bill - Polo Protog
Wild Bill - Polo Protog

Being a sports shooter I don't think either the Z6 or Z7 is yet for me. However, what I would like to see is a test conducted under the following conditions:
1) Shoot a sport where you use only the central AF point (this is the way I have shot a lot of sports, as I find it better to move my aim with the subject I want);
2) Shoot, simultaneously, with the 3 major brands (Canon, Nikon and Sony);
3) Shoot with a native brand 70-200 f/2.8 lens;
4) Shoot in AF-C mode (I know, called something different by each camera maker);
5) Shoot each camera in the highest FPS rate that allows for full AF and AE.
This would require, of course, three people shooting at the same time, side by side. What I would then like to know are the hit ratios for each, plus if there were any issues with AE. The odds of such a test being done are low I would expect.

1 month ago
Terkwoiz

Yeah this would be great. And honestly, why doesn’t DPR do more testing like this? They have all of the cameras and gear right there in the office. They could be doing heads-up tests like this on a daily basis and the readers would love it. What everyone really wants around here are real-world tests between the A7iii, Z6, and eos R to show objective differences!

1 month ago
MSullivan

Even then, those three different people probably having varying tracking skills. And even if the same person did all the tests the cameras handle differently with blackouts and such and some are easier to track action with than others, regardless of the AF system. What we need is an easily repeatable method that removes as many variables as possible. I would think that a dedicated enough tester should be able to create a automated system using an artificial target - kind of like a test chart for AF.

It seems to me that there's two main things you need to test:
1. AF-C accuracy when the target is moving towards or away from the camera.
2. Subject tracking, where the camera is stationary and the subject moves around in the frame.

To test the first one, put a target on a motorized unit riding on a rail or something and have it run straight at the camera. Camera is fixed and the user just has to keep AFing and shooting as the target approaches. Then, reverse direction and (continued)..

1 month ago
MSullivan

...shoot the target as it moves away.

For the second test, put the target on a motorized arm or something that can move it around in the frame. Camera is fixed, user engages subject tracking on the target, starts the target moving, and starts shooting.

Once the basic tests are working the user could devise a series of tests, such as making the targets move faster or more erratically, changing the lighting, using different targets (e.g. for face tracking), etc.

Do the same series of tests on each camera and you should be able to better compare them.

1 month ago
mxx
mxx

"Even then, those three different people probably having varying tracking skills."

Just have all three people repeat all the tests with all the cameras.

1 month ago
Wild Bill - Polo Protog
Wild Bill - Polo Protog

In reply to MSullivan:
Run the test three times, with each tester getting to use each of the three different cameras. In a lot of cases, that could be done in the same day. For example: A daytime baseball game (shoot three innings each with each camera); or a hockey game (shoot one period each with each camera).
Come to think of it, there are additional test conditions I would like to see:
1a) Test the three cameras on a daytime sport outside.
1b) Test the three cameras on a nighttime sport outside.
1c) Test the three cameras on an arena sport inside.

1 month ago
RobertJohn

Even if the one camera proofs to have a slightly better tracking ability, it is still hugely depending on a personal preference and lenses. I think it's best to just rent the considerations. If you are invested in a system, buying the if so slightly better other brand is just not worth it.

Tldr: if you are invested in a brand, de differences are too small to justify the costs of switching imho

1 month ago
visualenvy

I'll give you some insight.. Went to the local motocross track on the weekend as my first real outing with my new Z 6. I had one of my D500s with me so I could do a quick comparison.
Both bodies were mounted on a Sigma 150-600mm C.
D500 = 99% AF consistency using D-25 (I took about 100 images mostly between 150-300mm due to crop)
Z 6 = 80% AF consistency using D-25 (I took about 900 images at varying zoom ranges from 150-600mm)
Now.. here's the confusing part.
The ACCURACY of AF when acquired was better with the Z 6 over the D500. I can hit 10 fps consistently with the D500 but the Z 6 looks sharper and that's with the same lens and only 3 more MP.
And more confusing...
The AF consistency on the Z 6, in my opinion, wasn't due to the AF-C itself but the EVF blackout meant I couldn't keep the AF area exactly where I wanted when shooting in bursts. If I keep the box where I want with slower/less bursts then consistency raises.
It does however outright struggle with strong back lighting.

1 month ago
Wild Bill - Polo Protog
Wild Bill - Polo Protog

Thanks for the feedback visualenvy. At this point, I think I stay with my D810 and D750. The blackout issue would bother me, and with outside sports I have had to shoot a lot of strong back lighting.

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Salvation in Nikon form. The DXf

Imagine a Df (Silver and black as my retro style PREFERENCE); but thinner and APSC instead, for size and a low cost leading balance. Plus! NEW innovations; to finish fixing the current mirror-less cons. Which yes; means if and when you want it, then this new Nikon Xf or DXf also has superior video creation benefits. Now this could smoke the D500 in sports/kids and still have a decent balance for the occasional landscape detail. Plus excellent portraits. Manageable Macro and interiors options too. Which landscape resolution could easily be enhanced greatly by computation tricks and pixel shifting; to name one. Add I haven't even added a improved APSC sensor yet. 25mpx?

1 month ago*
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Also offering a combination of IBIS and one newly designed 50mm(short tele on APSC/DX) f/1.8 DXF, smaller, lower cost. better performance prime, included in the kit optionally. And a new adapter included for numerous old F-mount lenses to play with, including focus peaking for manual ones in the (programmable, open code) body. This adapter would also fully operate AF(G)/AE and VR for current tele lenses. (There could even be an AF-D motor-drive body ADAPTER option). DX or FF lens fully apply.

Now that is smaller than M43 best combo, currently! That is with the new thinner DXF 50mm. and a better total value than FF can be. At a much more fun to use and carry size(because pocket cam is your phone). More photographic options than anything else in history. At a LOWER cost for what you get! Plus maximal flexibility to play with lenses and even adapters for other system lenses.

1 month ago*
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Street photo too. And this is very much different than Canon APSC offerings; but could be applied there also; with sensor and practical mirror-less related upgrades.

1 month ago*
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

...And beating what FUJI is doing.

Every frekin body would want this. Why would they not? The only question is would greed foul it up? Because this has the potential of the most mass sales ever. And that is more profit, not less profit for the company who gets it, is fair, and willing work for it.

MAKE A BETTER CAMERA system!

1 month ago*
CaPi

FF is the new DX

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

No because of size limits and lack of room to LOWER costs per total system benefits value.

Nothing wrong with FF otherwise; It's just more toward specialty.

And FF could and should be much smaller; but the FF SYSTEM can, only so much.

This is not the same as APSC to M43 considerations. You might guess this can happen with future modern developments; but with more COC and diffraction issues then it isn't as likely.

APSC is the new FF.
Cell phones are the new pocket cam.
Future cell phones are quickly redefining the rules.
Current camera systems are not doing anything fast, relatively.

1 month ago*
CaPi

"APSC is the new FF."

Sony made a refresh of one body.. and you imply taht this is their new strategy not all those interesting FF that got upgrades?
I dont think so at all. Look where the money is going.

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Down the drain?

1 month ago
Mackiesback
Mackiesback

APSC is the new FF? LOL...good one. Looks like the biggest camera manufacturers missed your memo.

1 month ago
dereken

Full frame mirrorless seems to be where the profit is now and in the near future. Nikon has a few years roadmap for the Z system and no mention of APSC.

Anyway, why would they jump into a crowded pool AND split their resources away from the brand new Z system? Both Fuji and Olympus make 90% of what you describe already: https://i.imgur.com/QM4tnK3.jpg

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Yeah why did Nikon ever have DX? Silly rabbit.

Why does Fuji have an APSC system; that keeps improving it's benefits balance? In some ways; at least.

Bunch of memos swapped there; I'm sure. Did you miss the memo?

And what if that new Fuij or new Sony hack was Nikon and an adapter for F-Mount lenses like the Z? Things that make you go hmmmm?

1 month ago*
DenImage

Nikon made a great first effort with the Z6 👍
Let's hope the next gen are even better.
Den

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Yes and you didn't say "can" do better. Because they can and could have. Especially when looking at the very much faster cell cam developments.

I'm not buying this "give them a break' first out the gate mentality. As if we should be graced by their presents. A Nikon is one of the least worst. LOL.

1 month ago
PictureTakerPhotoMaker

Bythom.com reminds rightfully in his review that this is their 7th or so mirrorless after the nikon 1 releases.

So nothing new here, neither for nikon nor the industry.

While I like the silent shutter and viewfinder, AF is less good than in the past.

1 month ago
Mared
Mared

All Nikon did with their cameras is benchmark the Sony cameras and then take currently available mirrorless tech (EVF, Sensors, processors, etc) and package them into cameras and slap Nikon badges on them.

I don't really think they deserve a gold star for that effort.

1 month ago
spbStan
spbStan

You surely would not say that if you actually used the Z cameras. The integrated package is very well done, with far more sophisticated processor, speed of buses data transfer etc. Sony will need to fully redesign their cameras to come close to the speed of the processor and data transfer. TheZ cameras were designed for RF connectivity/backup from the start and for use of the much faster CFExpress that transfers data, with error correction at 1gigabit per second per pipe and it has 8 parallel pipes. That means video shooters will have ProRes HD RAW output to 14 bit out HDMI, no other camera has that speed advantage built in. It is the most "future proof " set of cameras on the market now. Just adding firmware updates for new features, because the hardware is ready for it. You lnow Sony is already at its architecture design limit since it is saddled with the slow unreliable SD cards

3 weeks ago
DenImage

Yeah, Nikon should be credited for such a good first effort.
Waaay better than Canon's half 8$$ed first effort at mirrorless.
Den

3 weeks ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

No just less worse than Canon this time.

3 weeks ago
IvanM

Before the R release I fondled a Z at my local camera store and I was massively impressed with it...just the way it felt and looked through the viewfinder. and it made me think that there might be something special to ff mirorless...

Of course I bought the R because I'm a Canon guy and even though its 'mightly' inferior according to DPR its the best Canon Eos I have ever had and I enjoy it tremendously. I expect Nikon users to feel the same, no matter how much 'better' the Sony's are if you are a Nikon guy, the Z is what you will get...

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Nay. Opps.

1 month ago
CaPi

Clearly understandable. I am wondering if I should upgrade. From Nikon Aps-C to the Z6 is not that clear of an upgrade path.. especially if most of my lenses are DX

1 month ago
Arun H

And this is the crux of the matter. These cameras cost thousands. View them and lenses the same as tools. Only buy what improves a meaningful capability gap you have. Not because it is rated gold or silver.

1 month ago
RickRick

I think comparison between brands is somewhat interesting in a review in order to see whether a new product is up to par with the current state of technology. For users, it is mildly interesting when you're a new buyer selecting a system - where it will be only one of the deciding factors.

For everyone else: come on, competing bodies seem to be more or less up to par and you are just going to buy the one you have the lenses for.

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Buying what you have lenses for is bad advice; following bad advice.

Consider the entire system. Sell the system; if it's different. If you paid too much for lenses then why wasn't that considered in the first place? Why would't you start doing that now?

Think, it's what's for breakfast. :P

You will never own the latest camera technology. It will be old the day you receive it. All the more reason to buy balanced benefits value systems ONLY. If you had unlimited funds you would still only need a new system every so often. If not then something's up. And it's not good.

1 month ago*
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Of course by "different" I mean a system you decide you rather own and If so. With a hard case for staying where you are at; unless warranted indeed.

1 month ago
RickRick

If you are considering switching systems, you would be in the "new buyer selecting a system" category. But you probably don't want to do that just because a different brand has an only marginally better body on offer - many other factors will play a (larger) role.

1 month ago
Iloveaircraftnoise

So the Nikon Z6 is a good camera. .. And If I buy this or a Sony or an Eos R I have to make do with dust and dirt accumulating all over the sensor every time I change a lens - because mirrorless is the future...

I'll give mirrorless a miss.

1 month ago
Zdman

You can clear sensors you know.

1 month ago
wcan

I haven't heard about "more dust" on mirrorless sensors in practice. Is this an issue?

1 month ago
IvanM

The R closes the shutter blades when you change lenses. My Eos M6 mirrorless has no dust issues after a year of use.

1 month ago
GeffBourke
GeffBourke

Iloveaircraftnoise Seriously, stupid remark. I had more dust on the sensor of my D800 in a month, than I've had in my current Fuji X-H1 ever. Also, ever heard of sensor cleaning, look it up, it might interest you because I promise you whatever you are using currently also collects dust. Check your facts/try it before making such remarks.

1 month ago
ikaika777

People terrified of mirrorless camera’s are hilarious! “The sky is falling, the sky is falling“! 😂😂😂🤦🏼‍♂️

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Yes but folks with OVF still have advantages. Why?

1 month ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

Image quality (RAW) seems better than A7III. Important.

1 month ago
bayindirh
bayindirh

I noticed that too, but the banding spoils it. Yes, I know +6EV is too much, but this means there's some inherent banding in the images, and that kills the DR a little.

At the end, they are head to head.

1 month ago
Camera-Man

This is weird, because I have Z6 and don't have this issue at all. Try to imitate and nope, zero banding. Maybe is software related??? I'm using photoshop in post production.

1 month ago
DennisPhotostein

Yeah, i wonder that too. It either is a software thing or does not happen with every Z 6.
I really tried to replicate the banding to see when it starts to appear but couldn't.

1 month ago
spbStan
spbStan

If you underexpose 6 stops and push it in post, some say, in some cases and some conditions banding can be seen. Do you REALLY purposely underexpose by 6 stops??
The whole idea of ISOless captures started with the D800 which was better in DR by 2.5 stops than anything on the market but even then it was rare to need to push a badly, improperly exposed image. Normally we delete files that we blew it on. I have tried in Lightroom and I can see some shade stripes in some shadows when pushing both exposure and shadow sliders but on some cameras, you would have an obviously trashed file and you would never attempt pushing that far because it would fail...Hint...Canon for example and all the APS-C cameras. If someone has to go to those extremes to find fault it is obvious that they an agenda and are trying to deceive you.
Notice every person who complains about this has never owned or used the camera in real life sessions. Most have never even see the camera.

3 weeks ago
Boss of Sony

Ah but does it take fake film cartridges like the new Yashica Y35? That’s something they failed to mention in the review. I’ll assume that means no, so that’s one point in favor of the Yashica. It’s a tough decision.

1 month ago
Nerfherder183

Best post by far

1 month ago
MikeStern

In shortest summary:
Z6 is a great camera but not as amazing as Sony a7III. And canon R... better and worse than Z6 here and there.

1 month ago
Michiel953
1 month ago
mgblack74

The Z, a7, and R all have features better or worse than each other here and there. Now everyone has a mirrorless option for their respective brand of choice. And despite certain fanboys unrelenting negativism towards Nikon, many people will stay (or even switch to (shhh!)) to Nikon. Specs on paper and regurgitated views are one thing. Using is another.

1 month ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

What's more "amazing" about the A7III then the Z6, except that it arrived earlier on the marketplace?

1 month ago
dereken

The A7III is an amazing cameras, but at the same time inferior to the Z6 in some ways. (Build, EVF, LCD as mentioned in the review.)

1 month ago
spbStan
spbStan

In one important aspect, for people actually using the cameras, the Z cameras have a major advantage. Cost of ownership over the life of the camera will be much in favor to the Nikons. Ask Sony users how many times that had to upgrade,losing most of the value of their original investment. The Nikons were designed to be over spec'd in the core architecture, and much faster bus speeds and fully capable of supporting the blazing speed requirements of RAW video and CF EXpress cards that handle 8 streams of over 1gigabit each. To catch up Sony has to scrap their current line. Same with the high speed RF connectivity. Sony is now expansion constricted by outdated tech. Nikons were designed for future expansion, higher performance adding features solely by firmware updates. It was not by chance that Atomas selected Nikon to partner with for ProRes RAW output. It was the only body with the data paths fast enough. The Z6 main competition for video will be pro cameras at 10 times the cost.

3 weeks ago
icic

The Eos R was a no contest why from the start. Yes it might do very few things better, but it's a very incomplete package in comparison to the other two.

3 weeks ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

There's a lot of negative noise but for me the Z6 is a winner.First I've got a lot of Nikon glass. Second it does everything I want fine. Reviews are useful but it basically confirms what I already know - the Z6 is up there with the Sony and Canon - the differences are comparatively small and an experienced photographer will get good images with either of them. A DSLR (I've still got my D750) will work fine or better for some subjects but for my shooting the Z6 covers all the bases. For example the focus points across the frame plus tracking means in gig photography I don't have to focus and re-compose any longer - thats a big one for me. Silent shooting means I can shoot at times when I had to hold off in the past - yesterday I was able to shoot some frames on the Z6 while videoing with the D750 - previously I could only use my Fuji X100F in those conditions. So yes, despite the noise I'm finding this is a great camera. So is the D750 but the Z6 edges it for what I shoot.

1 month ago
mgblack74

The noise comes from people who have never used it outside a camera store and suddenly everyone is entitled to their opinion. Your experience is louder than the noise. :-)

1 month ago
StevieF

@Brian Homer - entirely agree. I went as far as selling my 750 (was a bit painful!) to fund it but I have no regrets whatsoever, the 6 is a great machine. The AF is at least as good as the 750 IMO and that’s fine for my needs - any tweak to it would be a bonus.

1 month ago
mgblack74

@stevieF, I sold my D750 to subsidize the Z6 too. It kind of made me sick at the time but happier for the switch. Still have my D850 though which made the sell easier. :-)

1 month ago
StevieF

@mgblack74 - yes, the D850 is a great machine so I'm not surprised! I kept my Df (which I'll never sell) as a bit of a DSLR 'back up'. The AF is D610 vintage of course but OK - but the stills image IQ from that D4 sensor is stunning.

1 month ago
Brian Homer
Brian Homer

I'd put the AF above the 600/610 (I sold my D600 to fund the Z6) and at least on a par with the 750 and in some cases better.

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Yeah Brian; but since you know what your doing and what matters then almost everything you just said can also be done with a used body of about $300! Opps.

1 month ago
Mediterranean light
Mediterranean light

"The Z6 is responsive enough to capture special moments with image quality that easily beats what your smartphone can produce".
This is taken from this Nikon Z6 review.
You might scratch your head trying to understand what in heavens the reviewer wanted to say when comparing a high-end 35mm full-frame mirrorless camera to a smartphone.
There are other instances nearly as good as this one, in which the Z6 "is not" whatever fits the nonsense.
DPR needs an ombudsman, or someone with critical thinking to read thoroughly before publishing.

1 month ago*
MILC man

dpr spelled it out for people who know nothing about cameras.

it's relevant information for those people.

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

No LOL. With the speed of cell cam progression in design; it has become relevant for everyone. Good job DPR. Though I understand cell cam have a long way to go; to date. Apparently a short time to get there; however.

1 month ago
dereken

Just take a look at what some phone cameras can shoot now in the pitch dark: https://www.dpreview.com/news/4324089912/google-s-night-sight-allows-for-photography-in-near-darkness

In 5-10 years some people will still be scratching their heads as phone cameras leave conventional ones far behind. Frankly, if you're not developing your RAWs, you will already get far nicer photos from a 2018 smartphone than from a "real camera." So which one is better for someone who just wants pleasing photos of family memories to stick in an album or share on social media..?

1 month ago
turvyT

I used to be a sad guy, typycal boring guy with a dslr camera which I don't say brand or model since I'm ashamed of it now. Used to take some pictures, sell some of them. My life followed the dull rythm of the mirror clap. I even had some enthousiasm towards those pictures, but I was completely fooled. Because I followed advice, tried a new ML and it was love at first sight. Couldn't take my eye off the EVF since then. Life through it is different, happy, weightless, perfect. I even see sometimes the rainbow! I don't care anymore about taking pictures, reading about photography or art, not even travelling. My life is now perfect, round, direct and transparent without mirrors. I'm even thinking about dating someone. She has to have a small ML too, one of those cuties! I know she exists somewhere. Welcome to life, finally! Thanks dpr.

1 month ago*
Michiel953
Michiel953

Good trolling attempt! Love it!

1 month ago
1 month ago
El Diablo 73

Pentax...

1 month ago
CarpentersEye
CarpentersEye

Good point. Excellent point. What's the point; is the point. Because DSLR or mirror-less(DSLE) then what's it for? How is it better for photography and including how much does the total system cost. Over time.

1 month ago*
rsjoberg

The large camera makers are happy to help you out!

4 weeks ago
trebledee

Good balanced review, As we've come to expect from DPR.
I've had the Z7 from pre-production and onto a production model. I love it.
I had a Z6 for a few days to try out, I liked it but not enough to buy one. My working kit is the D850 and Z7 with D750 for 3rd camera or extra video setup if needed.
The Z7 is now my primary camera, with D850 in reserve or for when I need the features the Z7 can't match. I just get on with it, lucky enough to have the best of both worlds.

1 month ago
Arctican

This review of the Z6 is great enough to justify a purchase. If you are a Nikon fan or user, this camera is the perfect all-rounder and you can use your recent Nikon lens will th the FTZ adapter - no need to check the other offerings of the competitors (Sony A7iii, Canon EOS R, or FUJIFILM X-T3). Granted that there are some minor setbacks like less than stellar focusing (though still good), the Z6 may outperform the competition in terms of IQ and great video capabilities. Btw, I just purchased an A7iii and this camera has very minor weaknesses as well, though the positives outweigh the negatives.

1 month ago
keeponkeepingon

Can the EOS-R take a picture while taking a video? No.
Can the A7III take a picture while taking a video? No.
Can my iphone take a picture while taking a video? Yes
Can the Z6 take a picture while taking a video? Yes (?)

(?) I'm assuming the latter as most nikons can (and most sony/canons can't). For most nikons It's only at the video's resolution BUT that's still decent and it potentially saves you time playing hours of video then when you find that "one moment in time" looking for a compression artifact free frame to capture. Plus (and I'm assuming this) if the camera can offload jpegs to a smart phone you can rapidly share stills for an event before slogging through all that 4K video.......

And it's a shame I have to (assume) features such as this. Canon and sony dropped the ability to take a picture while taking a video from their entire line-up and dpreview, even with 1000s of page of coverage never mentioned it once......

1 month ago*
ed rader

can the Z6 use canon RF glass. NO!

1 month ago
Heywood Jablome

At the risk of being superfluous, isn't video just a series of pictures..........so your position that the Canon & Sony can't take picture while taking a video is needless. The pictures are being taken when the user specifies which frame rate to use e.g. 24,30 or 60 fps.

1 month ago
mgblack74

@heywood. You are right. However video (1080p) is only two mp and any stills taken during video 2mp in 16:9 aspect ratio. Crop to 3:2 and you lose more. Plus, if you’re at 24fps, you will see motion blur in any still taken.

1 month ago
bayindirh
bayindirh

You can select any frame in a A7III video and save it as an image, right from camera.

1 month ago
ozturert

Of course this is a huge issue for all...

1 month ago
bayindirh
bayindirh

@ozturert Yeah… I was planning to sell my a7iii if I was unable to find that feature /s.

1 month ago
photomedium

keeponkeepingon,
I can jack-off while watching a video...does that count?

1 month ago
keeponkeepingon

> You can select any frame in a A7III video and save it as an image, right from camera

I already addressed that. The issue is time. With the Z6 the stills you want can (in theory) start uploading right after you stop recording. Automagically while you go on and do something else. Meanwhile you have to chimp (defined: look like an idiot) head down in the camera slogging through an hour of video looking for frames (on a 3" screen) to upload on your A7III / EOS-R.

@heywood: "isn't video just a series of pictures.."

No it is not. Video on these cameras is compressed, a compression you can "in theory" be avoided by grabbing a still before the compression destroys it.

> Of course this is a huge issue for all

Not for a pro making a video OR taking stills with multiple cameras covering both. But for most people that use the camera for real life stuff yeah.... your iphone is better at catching the moment with stills and video.

1 month ago*
bayindirh
bayindirh

@keeponkeepingon
I believe in horses for courses. For my scenarios, a camera is a device for producing stills, and any video capability is a nice bonus. I also do not start uploading while taking a video. I'm not an "influencer", but an amateur photographer. I take my photos, let them stew for a week to month, then select the keepers, process and upload.

My iPhone is better and quicker at video, yeah. There's no doubt, except the noise in low light situations, which I encounter regularly. I'm not sure whether iPhone takes the photos from video pipeline or direct from sensor (never tried it), neither sure about Z6. If it's doing it directly from sensor at full resolution, kudos to them.

If this feature is a must for you, go and get a Z6/7. I never acted in zealotism about mirrorless cameras, and won't do it. Coming from Pentax and Nikon, currently shooting with a Sony. All brands have their own strengths and weaknesses & they are good at their own right.

1 month ago
icic

Great review! very detailed and objective 88% is a very good score by any means.
One issue this review is that, aside from resolution, the Z6 is every bit as good as Z7 and excelled it in a few things that really matters such as video, buffer depth, burst speed, AF speed and accuracy, AF in low light, better value for money... yet just the higher resolution make the Z7 a better camera with the 89% rating?!
The higher resolution is great for certain things, but the almost doubling of price would certainly would naturalised that advantage.

1 month ago*
basleigh

.....neutralize that advantage? Agree Z6 hits the mark but no SD card slot rules out this full-frame camera for me any time in the future.

1 month ago
ovrebekk
ovrebekk

Right... You have $2000 to spend on a camera, that would satisfy your needs, but because it uses the wrong type of card it's a no go?
Most places in the world you even get a 64GB card in the box when you buy it, so I find this argument hard to believe ;)

1 month ago
fz750

I have 8 Sandisk SDXC Extreme Pro cards: 4 128Gb and 4 64Gb (plus a collection of smaller ones) for my D7200, twin SD cards slots (of course, as once you've lost a card, you never want it to happen again.. ;-)

So, just looking at B&H, these would cost new : 4*50 and 4* 22 = $288

If I had to buy the equaivalent in XQD (Sony) it would cost: 4*155 + 4*130 = $1140

That is a significant difference - over half the price of the camera *IF* I was buying a camera which had twin XQD (which of course, there isn't, the Z6 has only (another factor for me, but that's another story..) has 1 slot, the D500 has an XQD & SD).

SDXC is cheap, let's face it and for what I want (stills only, a burst of 5-6 perhaps sometimes) it's fine and I will definitely consider this a factor when I come to get another camera body.

Also, my desktop has an SD slot, my macbook (2015 Pro) too, so it's additional practicality which I wouldn't want to lose yet..

1 month ago*
Photographer124

I had the Z6 for almost 2 months and I returned it... The review is spot on. It is fabulous camera, capable of great video and images; with perfect handling and probably the best built quality of all mirror-less cameras ever.
There are some issues, which are not bothersome for some, but critical for others, where other cameras fare better.
This is good, we are only going forward, and competition is fierce in this field now.. It means we will see higher quality products for cheaper in the future.

1 month ago
ovrebekk
ovrebekk

You're right fz750, if you have to buy 8 memory cards for the Z6 today it will cost you ;)
(fun fact, if you buy 16 cards it's will actually be more expensive than the camera!)

Personally I plan to stick to the free 64GB card included in the box until CFExpress cards come out and push prices down (XQD cards are expensive because it is a proprietary Sony technology).

As for a card reader I am just using the USB-C cable to get files directly from the camera ATM, but will probably invest in a card reader at some point. Will just wait to make sure I get one that supports CFExpress.

1 month ago
spbStan
spbStan

I suppose you used the same logic to reject a newer laptop because it only had 1 SSD drive since you already had a dozen 5.25 inch 360kb floppy disks. Just use the free 64 gig card Nikon supplies. Leave it in the camera and transfer by fast USB-c or wirelessly. You need all those SD cards because they are notoriously unreliable and you somehow think cards are cards and ignore the vast tech differences in the interface and bus. 1 XQD will last longer and retain data integrity far longer than a basket full of SD, the Floppy drive of the early 21st century.

3 weeks ago
fz750

Transfer to what?! e.g. I'm going to Costa Rica for 3 weeks soon and you think I want to lug (and buy, cause my macbook Pro only has 256Mb of SSD..) a laptop around with a 2Tb disk?! I have actually have had far more disk failures (admittedly HD and not SSD) with laptops (despite probably being a careful user..) than SD cards..

After having lost a whole SD card's worth of pictures in Istanbul once, I specifically replaced my previous Canon with a Nikon D7200 just to get redundancy (2 slots), so I'm also not ecstatic that Nikon is moving away from this for non-"pro" (yeah, I know..) cameras where the storage is so expensive and not redundant..

I see some evidence that the physical construction of XQD is better than that of SD(XC) (i.e. perhaps less user induced failure) but I don't see any evidence about the cards internally, unless you know otherwise?

3 weeks ago
fz750

Obviously, I mean my Macbook Pro has 256 Gb.. :-)

3 weeks ago
patfish

"So, unless you need the extra resolution, the Z6 is the better choice" - so why did it get less points than the Z7? ...for me the Z6 is the way rounder package!

And with the annaounced Video RAW update the Z6 will be the gamechanger in video since the GH4 five years ago!

You sould realy award Nikon and Atomos for that in 2019! ...and update the Z6 socre after the firmeware update (Eye-AF, Video RAW and CFExpress)

1 month ago*
Arctican

"So, unless you need the extra resolution, the Z6 is the better choice" This pretty much explains your complaint. Z7 is technically better vs Z6 since in terms of resolution, and some users DO need the extra resolution, which means Z7 is a better choice than Z6 - thus a higher score (IMO).

1 month ago
MILC man

Nikon doesn't have any video lenses, so there isn't much point in "raw" video output to an external recorder.

not to mention the weak preamps.

1 month ago
photomedium

Decent camera and I agree with the reviewers for the most part. However, I feel the score should be something like 88% ...of the D850 or D500 score. Cameras that can actually do focus tracking, predictably.

1 month ago
Brian P Smith

Good review, I'm sure it will ruffle some feathers in all the camps.

Can someone from DPReview explain how the "gold" and "silver" part of the awards work? Just curious to me the Z6 and the Fuji X-T3 both score an "88%" and one gets silver the other gets gold.

1 month ago
keeponkeepingon

I'm not from dpreview but they've explained multiple times here that it's a subjective evaluation and that a lesser rated camera may get the gold if it pushed the field/brand forward in some way.

What they have failed to explain is why some cameras such as the EOS-R get no gold/silver/bronze rating. Actually I don't think anything gets a bronze so we just assume no-rating equals "stay away from this camera". Or we can assume that big daddy amazon won't let them put a bad rating a potentially big seller:

https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canon-eos-r/11

1 month ago
RubberDials

@Brian P Smith

The scores of the z6 and the X-T3 are not comparable as they are evaluated in different categories. You can see what category a camera is tested in by looking at the top left in the scoring box.

If you toggle on the compare mode using the button on the top right of the box you'll then get a drop down menu where you can add other cameras and compare the tested parameters in the live widget.

A silver rated camera is usually an excellent camera that has a number of minor issues or one significant flaw DPR thinks you will come up against in use.

Most major releases from major manufacturers get a medal of one colour or another. The lack of gong for the R is fairly significant and reflects a trend started with the 6DII. The M50 got a Silver Award reflecting that DPR thinks it is a good camera but is held back by its 4K implementation and AF.

1 month ago
ekaton

Decent camera with no lenses. How will the 800 pound's answer be? Considering what versions III can do, the A7IV(r), A9II versions might put a cold sweat on Nikon's forehead. And then there is the growing number of e-mount lenses, Sony, Zeiss, Sigma, Tamron, Voigtlander😳.......

1 month ago
fb1996

No lenses? There are three Z mount lenses on the market already and plenty of Nikon and third-party F mount lenses that can be used with the FTZ adapter. In addition, six new Z mount lenses will be released this year.

1 month ago*
ekaton

@fb1996: A meaningful comparison is Z-Mount versus E-Mount. Adapters and lenses are plenty, for most mounts, some work ok, others are a pain.

1 month ago
patfish

Sony did a realy good job but they made one big mistake years ago! They didnt changed their mount size as they stept up from APS-C to full frame. The E-mount was never designed with full frame in mind and Sony will have very soon massive dissadvantages at lens and IBIS construction against all their competioners.

1 month ago
RubberDials

@patfish

"The E-mount was never designed with full frame in mind and Sony will have very soon massive dissadvantages at lens and IBIS construction against all their competioners."

Can you explain how this will happen 'very soon'? Bearing in mind that an E-mount lens was DPR's lens of the year, there are more than 160 native e-mount lenses on the market, including probably the best autofocus 50mm F1.4
https://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2016/07/sony-fe-planar-t-50mm-f1-4-za-mtf-and-variance-testing/

and some very high end ones like this $21K par focal 70-200 T2.9 zoom
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/857787-REG/Zeiss_1984_159_70_200mm_T2_9_Compact_Zoom.html

In terms of IBIS the CIPA rating for the A7rIII is 5.5 and 5 for the larger mount z7. In testing on this site DPR found the IBIS of the A7III and z6 'similarly useful' https://www.dpreview.com/articles/5876118090/image-stablization-showdown-nikon-z7-vs-sony-a7r-iii

So there seems to be no substance to your claims.

1 month ago*
Arun H

@patfish: You hit the nail on the head as it relates to the disadvantages of the E mount. There is no question that Sony makes good lenses. There is equally no question that they will be at a disadvantage compared to Canon and Nikon's engineers when it comes to designing fast primes.

https://petapixel.com/2018/08/29/flange-distance-and-mount-diameter-explained-by-a-lens-engineer/

This has sound basis in physics, but count on certain people fighting tooth and nail to try and discredit it.

1 month ago*
samhain

@Arun Sony/Zeiss lenses eat Nikon lenses for lunch.
Nikon hasn’t made a lovable 50 since the original noct. Their lenses are the least exciting of any brand, and the z lenses are carrying that tradition.

Nikon has many strong points- lenses/ lens rendering isn’t one of them.

1 month ago
Arun H

samhain: I presented a link about the physics of why a lens mount diameter and flange back distance matters. You responded with opinion. I am allowed to have an opinion that the sun moves around the earth. That does not change the physics that dictate the relative motion of the earth and sun.

1 month ago
RubberDials

@Thoughts R Us/Arun H/Patfish

I really worry about your mental state Thoughts. You're now writing pidgin English and pretending to be Austrian to spread this unscientific large mount rubbish. An insult to the people of Austria. I've been there many times and I doubt there's anyone like you in the entire country. Did you upload the Nikon video to petapixel as well?

No-one is stopping you believing what you want. You are free to accept every piece of marketing from Nikon at face value - that's your choice, but please cease posting the same unscientific drivel across multiple fake logins on this site. You know nothing about lens design. And it's obvious every time you make a comment.

1 month ago*
MILC man

the $2300 canon rf50/1.2 lens has nearly 4.5 stops of vignetting, it's a disaster.

which proves that the overhyped big mount diameter is a fail, just like it is with the Nikon big mount diameter... in the real world, it doesn't make a bit of difference.

1 month ago*
Arun H

MILC man: People keep throwing out opinions.. not one is able to refute the physics. When someone else comes up with an 50mm AF f/1.2 lens, or an f/2 zoom, then we can have a rational debate. And you don't need to make an f/1.2 lens or f/2 zoom. Nikon's 50mm f/1.8S available for $600 basically matches the optical performance of the 55 mm Otus. It seems an extraordinarily hard concept to grasp that basic geometry has an influence on optical design. Because it would mean admitting that your company of choice is at a disadvantage.

1 month ago
MILC man

@Arun H - "People keep throwing out opinions.. not one is able to refute the physics."

vignetting measurements on the the rf50/1.2 are not opinion, it's scientific fact, that you refuse to admit is valid, because it proves how wrong you are.

it's sad that people can't accept hard facts like that, but it's par for the course out here.

1 month ago
Arun H

Oh, the vignetting of the RF 50mm f/1.2 is quite real. It is measurable and documented. What's opinion is saying the lens is a "disaster" because of it. The market will be the judge of that, not those that are wedded to a competing brand. What I notice is that when pressed on physics or asked about the science behind their opinions, people try to change the subject or discredit the poster. There are plenty of well documented scientific explanations of the benefits of a wide mount. Like I said, it is a free world and you are entitled to your opinion. When you post an actual scientific explanation that refutes the link I posted, I'll take you more seriously.

1 month ago
MILC man

@Arun H - "Oh, the vignetting of the RF 50mm f/1.2 is quite real. It is measurable and documented."

yes, and it's why these false claims about the bigger mount somehow being better are complete nonsense.

the bigger mount did NOT lessen the vignetting, in fact the old eos 50/1.2 has less vignetting, with the smaller eos lens mount.

it's sad that people fall for mindless hype, when it's so easily disproven with real-world measurements and facts, but such is life here on dpr.

1 month ago*
Arun H

MILC_man: We can go on and on about this, which I have no interest in doing... and the specific tradeoffs involved with the design of the RF 50mm is something you should take up with Canon.

Meantime, can you post a scientific study that says lens designs are not dependent on mount diameter? I have given you a link that supports my position - an explanation by a Nikon engineer. Now, you may claim that is biased, but Sigma also confirms this, and they are about as neutral as you can get. And by the way, it is not just the mount diameter, but the combination of that and the flange back distance. Because that is what determines the angles at which light hits the corner of the sensor.

And oh, also, the diameter of the EF and RF mounts are both 54mm.

1 month ago*
MILC man

@Arun H - "We can go on and on about this"

no, you are going on and on about it, because you don't like being proven wrong.

people can decide for themselves; they can look at real-world facts like the horrible rf50/1.2 vignetting measurements, from a $2300(!) lens, and then decide for themselves, that reality and mindless hype are two entirely different things.

some people will never admit it, as we see here, but such is life on dpr.

1 month ago*
RubberDials

@Arun H

"What I notice is that when pressed on physics or asked about the science behind their opinions, people try to change the subject or discredit the poster."

Yes, this perfectly describes you. In this thread https://www.dpreview.com/news/1158187392 you said this:

"The science of this has to do with conservation of etendue. In essence it becomes harder and harder to squish light from very wide angles into narrow ones."

When I pointed out that actually made no sense you posted a link to a Wiki page and said: "Referring to the figure "Etendue in refration", the angle theta for the corner of the sensor in "E" mount is sharper than for Z mount."

When I asked: "Why is the refraction angle 'sharper' for e-mount than Z mount? And how does this generic drawing on a wikipedia page demonstrate that?"

You said: "Arguments involving Euclidean geometry are lost on people that have a deficient high school education."

You know literally nothing about optical science. Nothing at all.

1 month ago
Arun H

@MILC_man: Still no scientific link, I see....

Such is life in comment forums everywhere....

And don't be so fixated on the 50mm from Canon. Nikon has the excellent 50 mm f/1.8S which rvials the Otus - for less than a quarter of the price... and the 28-70 f/2 zoom from Canon... I'm sure you'll find some fault with those as well.

Meanwhile, STILL no scientific studies to refute mine. Just opinions.

1 month ago*
RubberDials

@Arun H/Thoughts R Us

"Meanwhile, STILL no scientific studies to refute mine. Just opinions."

I wrote 300 words explaining why the mount diameters of all the mirrorless manufacturers are largely irrelevant and a propaganda exercise here: https://www.dpreview.com/videos/6852971667

You ignored it and carried on telling everyone that no-one has refuted what you said. Like you are now.

To be clear: you have said nothing that explains any advantage or disadvantage regarding the mount and register designs of Nikon, Canon and Sony cameras - in lay speak, let alone science. You didn't answer my question about the refraction angle, despite me asking four times - because you can't.

It's against the site rules to have multiple logins and to troll bash and flame. That is all you do. For the life of me I do not understand why you aren't booted off of here.

1 month ago
patfish

@ RubberDials

You are very entertaining my english friend :D ...if you like to come to austria this year we got 3m fresh snow in the last 10 days. :)

1) it's a simple fact that the E-Mount was never designed with FF in mind.

3) It's also also a simple physical fact that the combination of shorter flange distance and bigger mounts gives you advantages in lens construction!
You don't have to bend and spread the light rays that much (more elements don't mean extremer bendig! but more bending means les picture quality) threw that tiny mount and have more space to move the sensor (IBIS).

4) Everyone! Panasonic, Nikon and Canon (except Sony) went with a big mount for full frame mirrorless . All of them have more glas for their old mounts than sony will have in 15 years for their E-mount. But they all decide to go with a new big mount. It's more than crazy to believe they did this massive step only for fun without any advantages :D:D:D

1 month ago
patfish

5) I never said sony lenses are bad! but on paper they have to be longer to offer the same image quality like a camera with a bigger mount at FF.

The Z 50mm 1.8 S (600€) shows already a little bit where the journey will go in the next years.
https://www.cameralabs.com/nikon-z-50mm-f1-8s-review/2/

6) @ 2021 Canon, Nikon and co will have over 25+ native lenses of their new mounts (also fast pro glas!) on the market.
This will be the moment where the actual + of the E-mount shifts slowly to their - . Sony will have still good glas but their construction will be complexer/bigger for the same image quality.

7) @ IBIS ...Nikon never did an 5-Axis IBIS bevor and now they are already on eye level with their first try! That's more than impressive!
https://www.dpreview.com/articles/5876118090/image-stablization-showdown-nikon-z7-vs-sony-a7r-iii
A big mount (more possible movement) is here a big a advantage and we will see that more clearly in next iterations.

...see you in Austria! :)

1 month ago*
Arun H

@patfish: I recommend you leave them alone. Soon they will form a "small mount society". They will call themselves the 46 millimeters - lens specialists whose imaginary lenses are superior to actual lenses designed and produced by Sigma, Nikon, and Canon - in their imaginations, of course. They may even recommend a 4.6mm mount - the smaller the better - and tout the exceptional image quality of the f/16 lenses that are made for it.

Your sanity is more important than debating those who will counter your physics based arguments with personal attacks and unfounded opinions.

1 month ago*
patfish

...i know :-)

1 month ago
Total: 185, showing: 1 – 50
« First‹ Previous1234Next ›Last »