651

Nikon Coolpix P1000 Review

What it's like to use

One area in which the Coolpix P1000 excels that doesn't fit into the use cases that we usually consider is lunar photography. With its incredible reach and no requirement for responsive autofocus or a large buffer, you'll get some amazing shots. The dedicated 'Moon Mode' is a bit limited in terms of features, with the lack of Raw being the main offense (you can still take photos of the moon in other shooting modes).

The use cases for which we think the P1000 is a decent fit include:


Travel

ISO 100 | 1/1000 sec | F3.5 | 75mm equiv.

The P1000's lens allows it to handle any just about situation that may come up, from majestic landscapes to a whale breaching in the distance. That said, unless you're shooting at extreme focal lengths, it's a burden to carry around and outright image quality is unimpressive compared to competitors with less zoom range but larger sensors.

Pros:

  • Lens can be used for almost every shooting situation
  • Good out-of-camera JPEGs
  • SnapBridge app allows geo-tagging and image sharing
  • EVF good for shooting in bright light
  • USB charging
  • Good quality 4K video

Cons:

  • Bulk and weight make camera a burden to carry around all day
  • Lens sharpness drops off at longer focal lengths
  • Small sensor and slow lens produces noisy images
  • Poor battery life
  • Slow USB charging; external charger should've be included

(back to top)


Sports and wildlife

ISO 1600 | 1/400 sec | F7.1 | 2600mm equiv.

The P1000's versatile lens makes it a top choice for wildlife photography, as long as your subject isn't moving. It's not well-suited for sports, as telephoto focusing can be slow and the buffer fills very quickly in burst mode.

Pros:

  • Lens has incredible reach
  • Very good image stabilization, to a point
  • 'Snap zoom' lets you 'back out' to relocate a subject
  • Optional dot sight for bird-in-flight photography

Cons:

  • Quickly becomes front-heavy, making it hard to support, both in-hand and on modest tripods. There's no practical way to support the camera around the lens barrel
  • Heavy for a superzoom camera
  • Lens is very slow at telephoto end, reducing sharpness further
  • Small buffer greatly limits continuous shooting
  • No touchscreen, which is useful for tripod shooting
  • Poor battery life

(back to top)


Landscapes

ISO 100 | 1/800 sec | F2.8 | 24mm equiv.

With a lens starting at 24mm equiv. and nice-looking JPEGs, the P1000 is a camera worth considering if you're a landscape photographer, but there are far better options if image quality is your primary concern.

Pros:

  • Pleasing JPEG colors
  • Raw support lets you get the most of out the P1000's small sensor
  • Fully articulating LCD
  • Lens is threaded for filters

Cons:

  • Quickly becomes front-heavy, making it hard to support, both in-hand and on modest tripods
  • Not weather-sealed
  • Bare-bones remote capture in SnapBridge app
  • Noise reduction a bit high in JPEGs
  • Poor battery life
  • Heavy to carry around, especially compared to smaller cameras with 1" sensors and better image quality

(back to top)


Family and moments

ISO 100 | 1/200 sec | F8 | 145mm equiv. Photo by Wenmei Hill.

While some may look at versatility of the P1000's focal range and consider it good for everyday family photos, for virtually every situation a smaller camera will produce significantly better image quality, sometimes for half the price.

Pros:

  • Good out-of-camera JPEGs (for a camera with a small sensor)
  • Long focal range helps you spot your kids after they've run away
  • SnapBridge app allows for easily posting photos on social media

Cons:

  • Too big and heavy for most family outings, can be intimidating
  • Slow lens and small sensor will produce noisy images in low light
  • Face detection autofocus works for stationary portraits but not moving children

(back to top)


Video

While the P1000 is capable of shooting decent quality 4K video in most situations, there are better choices that cost a lot less and are easier to carry around and offer still better quality. Nikon warns users in the manual that rolling shutter, moiré and autofocus issues may occur (and they will). We appreciate the company's honesty.

Pros:

  • Decent quality 4K video with no crop
  • Effective digital IS for 1080p video at shorter focal lengths
  • Fully articulating LCD
  • External mic input
  • Dual zoom controllers

Cons:

  • Cheaper and lighter cameras produce better quality video
  • Large and heavy for video work
  • Noticeable rolling shutter when panning or if fast subjects cross the frame
  • Lack of a touchscreen makes rack focusing a challenge
  • No exposure compensation with Auto ISO

(back to top)


Our reviews are designed with real-world shooting scenarios in mind, and on this page we're looking at how the Coolpix P1000 performs for several popular use-cases. After considering its features and target market, we have opted not to specifically address 'Candid and street,' 'Portraits,' 'People and lifestyle' and 'Weddings and events' in this section.

164
I own it
183
I want it
67
I had it
Discuss in the forums
View Comments (651)

Comments

All (651)
Most popular (15)
Editors' picks (0)
DPR staff (6)
Oldest first
DodgerGirl67

After FINALLY receiving my P1000 (Jan) after weeks on backorder,
I have to say, it's way better on Action Shots than Reviews give it!
It's pretty much all I take is "Sports Pictures" But I also wanted to switch to a Bridge Camera w/a lense that could reach the moon!
Well I've succeeded in doing both w/the FIERCE Nikon Coolpix P1000 my pictures are Proof it's ALL THAT!
Also, the battery stays charged LONGER than the Reviews give it! I've taken over 1000 pics (normal for me) on 1 Battery charge and edited those pics from camera.
Cons; No Touch Screen, Weight, Smaller Sensor.
Pro's: Everything Else!

5 months ago*
Picturenaut
Picturenaut

Late comment, because someone asked me about bridge cameras for birding and I stumbled over this "review". I think it is really off the real target group: birders who cannot afford and/or carry heavy system camera + super tele combos (like I do). One particular target group are digiscopers, using a camera-spotting scope combo. The P1000 gets into that huge focal length range and certainly offers much better handling with full AF and IS.

I frequently meet happy users of the P1000 in bird watching stations. So there IS a market for the P1000, and it is good that Nikon tries to serve those users. But who the heck would take such a camera for social/family shots? Who would take a 20 tonnes truck for shopping?

7 months ago
Ambrogio Spinelli
Ambrogio Spinelli

there are reflex cameras that do worse than that.

Aug 29, 2020
vimalkrishna

I have read each page of this review. My experience tells something different as I own this camera. I bought it for travel based video-photography but it is also a VERY VERY good camera.

Started photography in 1984 in the old school, but this camera exceeded my expectation.

This is my 5th Camera and I don't need to carry another camera as I can get pretty good results. I needed a zoom lens for wildlife photography and 4K video, but one can see the results and compare it with any €3000 full-frame one.
It is a great all one camera with known limitations!

https://www.facebook.com/vimalwithlens

Dec 25, 2019*
M R Desai

Why can't Nikon make an one inch sensor camera with the same lens as P1000? It will be equivalent to 1500mm(35mm), still a lot of camera with better image quality etc. Sony RX10 M4 is an excellent example.

May 18, 2019
Luis Gabriel Photography
Luis Gabriel Photography

is not that easy. See how big the Sony is with only a 600mm max range? See how huge the p1000 which such tiny sensor? A 1" sensor with that range would be insanely big...just not gonna happen.

Jun 23, 2019
P10004K
P10004K

There are many 1" sensor cameras to choose from with zooms up to 25x so why would Nikon want to have a tiny slice of that pie when they could have the 125X 4K P1000 that is in a class by itself.BTW I sold my RX10 III after using the P1000.
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/62829468
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/62857691
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4euupZJMTg

Jul 13, 2019*
Aurico

It wouldn't necessarily be any bigger IF it had a slow F/8 lens like P1000.
But nobody wants a 1500mm F/8, at least I wouldn't.
I would like to see 1" F/4 800-900mm, or F/5.6 1200mm, that might be the same size as P1000.
But still RX10 3/4 is probably better size and aperture for general use.

I have lusted RX10 IV for a long time, but it might be a bad time to buy it right now. New model might be coming, and prices might fall. P1000 is fun camera but too amateurish for me.

Jul 18, 2019
Stephen McDonald
Stephen McDonald

A better idea would be to put a 2/3-inch type sensor into such a camera. A lens that size, if modified for that sensor, could possibly deliver an equivalent of 1500mm and the sensor would have about twice the active area of a 1/2.3-inch type.

Feb 25, 2020
(unknown member)

Used p1000 yesterday at Nikon CES booth.
Even though it is unbalanced at 3000mm and slow to zoom it certainly not slow focusing. I was taking pictures of people in the dark hall without any problems. What is interesting is that p900 could not focus on the same people.

Jan 11, 2019
praxmajer

If you looking for good small tripod for Nikon Coolpix P1000 check Manfrotto Pixi Evo.
This is the link to video about this smart tripod https://youtu.be/S6RDmk0btqE

Dec 29, 2018*
iamipa

Thanks for an interesting review. The P1000 appears to have an advantage over the P600 and P900 that no-one seems to have mentioned; it's got a hot shoe! I would have expected this to provide the light that the camera needs to avoid the use of higher ISO's, at least at reasonable distances, and enable users to obtain significantly better images.
I've been trying to find information on the use of flash with the P1000 but can't other than that in the manual which states that the Nikon SB-5000, SB-500 and SB-700 are the only ones that will work. I have SB-800 and SB-900 flashes that I would like to use.
I would also like to see some sample images taken with the P1000 and flash, but again can't find any.
Are DP Review or their readers able to comment?

Dec 28, 2018*
Paul K Payne
Paul K Payne

I quite like the P1000. It's a lot better than this reviewer would have you believe.

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/4343443

Nov 29, 2018*
Stephen McDonald
Stephen McDonald

Jeff Keller is No. 1 as a camera reviewer in my estimation. But I think he should have an opportunity to retract this review and do it again. The score of 73 is not even close to being accurate as a rating for this extraordinary camera. This is a superzoom camera and it should be rated against all other superzooms. I don't consider a camera like the Sony RX10 M4, with a puny 600mm lens, as being a superzoom.

Feb 15, 2019
Augustin Man
Augustin Man

In my opinion, people that DON'T understand the zoom shouldn't make reviews of cameras like P900 or P1000. If they say "I'll never need such a zoom", or "you can't expect much quality to such a small sensor" or "for the telephoto end you always need a tripod", they simply didn't want to learn to shoot with such cameras, even if they are otherwise very skilled photographers.
I'm asking myself if they really understand what a 24-3000mm eq. lens means? Like someone said, the lens only deserves five stars!
Please visit the Nikon Coolpix Talk forum to see excellent images taken even at 3000mm handheld!

Nov 14, 2018
Oscar Baldo
Oscar Baldo

Right!👍🔭💯%

Jan 3, 2019
bonagva

I own a B700 which is much smaller and less pricey and still having a 24-1440mm lens, sufficient to take below shot handheld:
https://www.cjoint.com/doc/18_09/HIdt4pGG3z3_moon.jpg
I bought it mainly for video purposes (ski racing) and all-purpose photography when size and weight matters and, for ski purposes, I can easily keep it under my vest.

Aside of it, I also own a D800 which is my main camera but, even with a 200-500mm (a great lens by the way), it cannot compete when it comes to such telephoto extremes ...

Nov 9, 2018
JRM PT

This looks interesting but I wonder what's happening to Nikon's Coolpix range as the B700 and B500 seem to be or soon be discontinued. For me the 900 and now the 1000 are too big to be an alternative to my D5300. Though, the idea of having a huge zoom range is very tempting.

Nov 6, 2018
larryr

Why does the compare mode not show the cameras that were compared in the review, like the Sony RX10III and the Panasonic FZ1000?

Nov 4, 2018
Spudpug

As a recreational, "non-enthusiast" photographer, I'd like to get some thoughts on which would be a better choice - the P1000 or a Nikon d5500 (my current camera) with a Tamron 150-600 or Nikon 200-500 zoom. Specifically, does the bigger, better sensor of the APS-C outweigh the longer reach of the P1000. (3000mm vs.750-900mm with the crop factor). The costs are similar though the P1000 is more portable. I'd mostly be using it for wildlife and maybe some astrophotography.

Nov 2, 2018
Jwelz

DPReview has a thread linked below with photos comparing a D7100 using a 150-600 Sigma. After processing and scaling the results are comparable but until then, the P1000 appears to be the winner. The OP there is suggesting he will post more comparisons.

www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/4321236

I've seen a comparison between the 200-500 Nikon with the Sigma and Tamron with Imatest numbers which you may want to search for.

I'm loving 4K, range of continuous zoom, portability and stabilization with the P1000 though the mid range zoom strongly favors the bigger sensor, doubly so in challenging light.

Nov 2, 2018
CMCM

I have a D7500 and have recently tested the Tamron 150-600 (same size as Sigma) and the .6 lb heavier Niko 200-500. Both great lenses, but the camera and lens makes for a 6.5 lb package, and the long lenses are very heavy, plus on the camera it's a big, long thing to carry around. AND....on a crop camera the best you end up with is 900mm. I love the better IQ on the DSLR-zooms, but I also have the Nikon P900 that goes to 2000mm, and I have to say that after experiencing that, the DSLR lenses all seem woefully short. I've been debating between spending my money on a P1000 for its better features and longer zoom in a 3 lb. all in one package, or $1400 or so on a big heavy lens that often seems like not enough reach. 3 lbs vs. 6.5 lbs. After testing the DSLR and big lenses, theP1000 seems extremely light weight. After my P900 experience, I'm strongly leaning towards the P1000 for its long zoom capability that can't be matched any other way. You just can't beat it.

Nov 3, 2018*
CMCM

I have a D7500 and have recently tested the 4.5lb Tamron 150-600 and the 5 lb Nikon 200-500. This makes for an enormous 6.5 lb package, and the long lenses are very heavy and often difficult to manage, plus on the camera it's a big, long thing to carry around. Big as these lenses are, on a crop camera the longest you end up with is 900mm. I love the often better IQ on the DSLR-zoom combos, but I have the 2000mm Nikon P900 and after using that, the DSLR lenses all seem woefully short in reach. I've been debating between buying P1000 for its improved features and longer 3000mm zoom in a very manageable 3 lb. all-in-one package, vs $1400 or so on a big heavy lens that often isn't near log enough. 3 lbs vs. 6.5 lbs, that's a major difference. After shooting with the DSLR and big lenses, the P1000 seems extremely light. I'm strongly leaning towards the P1000 for its long zoom capability that can't be matched any other way. If you learn to use it, the image quality is great.

Nov 3, 2018*
Spudpug

Thanks for the input. Useful information.

Nov 3, 2018
Gesture

$425 tops.

Nov 1, 2018
P10004K
P10004K

Your post, $0 tops.

Nov 2, 2018
gebseng
gebseng

So, am I right in assuming that this monster has a smaller sensor than ... the iPhone Xs?

Nov 1, 2018*
MaxiMax

...but with a much better lens.

Nov 1, 2018
Jwelz

Google says about the iPhone XS Max:

"The actual active area of the sensor is around 5.6 x 4.2 mm, which is likely to see it classed as a 1/2.5"-type chip."

The P1000 uses a 6.17 x 4.55 sized sensor which is NOT smaller.

Nov 1, 2018
P10004K
P10004K

Most smartphones like my LG V20 have smaller sensors than the P1000.

Nov 2, 2018
p51d007
p51d007

for the price, even if you don't change the lenses, I think you'd be better off with a dslr & "super zoom" lens.

Nov 1, 2018
tracychess

The comparison with the Nikon D5600 DSLR is a bit off because the D5600 is a 24 megapixel sensor, so cropping to 16 megapixels extends the perception of zoom to 2250mm. The Nikon D850, at 45 megapixels would give an apparent zoom of over 4000mm.

Nov 1, 2018
cosinaphile
cosinaphile

the smoothing and detail loss in moon mode is frankly pathetic ..1\2.3 sensors at low iso are are capable of an order of magnitude more detail without an idiot beauty mode applied to earths satellite ,sheeesh!

Nov 1, 2018*
Jwelz

Your point becomes valid once sensors take photos. But they don't.

Nov 1, 2018
cosinaphile
cosinaphile

sensor most certainly do take photo as surely as particles of silver salt record light intensity
a shutter
pressing and mind composing participate

sadly overprocessing and destructive nr often makeit a parody of real photograph

Nov 1, 2018*
MaxiMax

Can you build a better 24-3000 mm zoom lens for the same price? Nikon made an excellent job designing this camera.

Nov 1, 2018*
Jwelz

When you marry a GH4 to an $86,000 Fuji 55x zoom with a 2x teleconverter, you get a certain level of quality you can see in the moon shots including 1:1 crops starting at the 4:50 mark of the video at:

https://youtu.be/E-baLc-POBM

There are probably very few shots that are up to the standards of this forum.

Another video shows what moon shots can be accomplished with a Leica 400 2.8 with various combinations of two 2x and a 1.4x and crop on a GH4 indicating effective focal length up to 15,000 mm.

https://youtu.be/DCfDMU92JqI

That GH4 - Leica 400 combo used for birds and just the 1.4x teleconverter plus crop can be seen at:

https://youtu.be/RkwNBc0CfaQ

The P1000 turns in a creditable 4K video performance at a comparative pittance. Many of the YouTube samples don't do it credit because less experienced lower skilled users with inadequate tripods undermine optimal results yet they still look quite good because the camera covers for many deficiencies.

Nov 2, 2018
cosinaphile
cosinaphile

amazng MOON video

,ufo @3:57

Nov 2, 2018
cosinaphile
cosinaphile

can i build a better 24-3000 lens than nikon , of course i could , by assembling a team of optical engineers , and pointing out a few suggestions ...firstly lose the insane range 35-3000 with a zoom limited to 1000mm equiv then an extreme position of 3000mm with excellent correction at that fl, to free the optical formula of correction at 1000 to 2999 making a cheaper lighter and better lens at 3000mm than would be possible with a conventional lens design burden .

but going beyond the lens design for a moment , it would be great if sensor makers would bring1,1\7 and 2\3 sensors[ 43 & 58 sqmm ] up to date like is done with other sensor sizes like the 17\ 20\23 sqmm cellphone ones and 1.2\3\1inch\m43\apsc\ff types
i would also explore the use of bak4 prisms to shorten optical paths and use a 1.1\7 type sensor at minimium

Nov 3, 2018
Jwelz

"can i build a better 24-3000 lens than nikon , of course i could" says Cosinaphile. Of course the better 24-3000 he suggests doesn't have a 24-3000 range.

Canon already makes the Digisuper 122 that zooms from 8 2 to 1000mm. It's not quite as wide and covers a 2/3" sensor which is bit better than a 1/1.7" sensor and the 2/3" is about 1.4 times the diagonal of the P1000's. At F:5, the front element needs to be at least 200mm diameter and with the bigger sensor and larger aperture, there's a bit less diffraction at the long end. Of course the Canon 86x Digisuper lists for $223,000 at B & H and if you have to ask the price of the 122, you probably can't afford it.

You could lose some of the zoom range to save cost, and that might work for still photography. But for videography, panning and zooming often make the shot. Nikon throws in a free 4K video camera with their lens.

Nov 3, 2018
cosinaphile
cosinaphile

while im at it i could make a better 18-50mm equivalent 1inch sensor compact enthusiast zoom camera than nikon ......oh wait !

Nov 3, 2018
makofoto

So much lack of imagination on how one can use this camera/"ludacris" zoom. Sure, it ISN'T an all around, walk-about camera ... but for shooting mountain climbers in Yosemite, wildlife, certain sports ... there is nothing that compares. This is climbers half way up El Capitan, from the Meadow, with the P900 at 2,000. I would love to go back with an even longer lens + RAW! https://images12.fotki.com/v1667/fileXJsc/c9e66/4/43793/4909192/Ropewhip.png

Nov 1, 2018
Jwelz

Narrow minds are well suited to the gutters they're confined by. A broader view is not constrained by the P1000's narrowest.

Nov 1, 2018
P10004K
P10004K

The rating for the P900 was a 77% Silver award so a 73% rating for the P1000 shows what a joke DPR ratings are. The P1000 is light years better than the P900 with 4K video, RAW stills, high resolution EVF, hot shoe, ext mic , wireless remote option and 125x 4.3-539mm lens not to mention a much better tripod socket.
https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/933/29082164017_342cebf491_b.jpg
https://c2.staticflickr.com/2/1813/30150992218_6c06752f23_o.png

Nov 1, 2018
makofoto

? Everything changes, including the baseline for judging anything.

Nov 1, 2018
Jwelz

You failed to mention the capability of output to an external HDMI recorder. Even had it scored 20, the feature set made this a compelling purchase. Although many posters here think the score is excessive, that has no bearing on my use and experience with the camera.

Nov 1, 2018
profpb

I was excited to move up from my P900 to shoot RAW and use my 77mm filters to say nothing about going from 2000mm to 3000mm. I ordered mine from two large camera vendors in N.Y. in July. Nothing. I finally got my P1000 from Berger bros and have put my full-frame D850 and D750 on the shelf for most of my wildlife, landscape and astrophotography. I like my Nikon lenses and bodies. And the P1000 is FANTASTIC. For the price it's unbelievable. If you want tack-sharp images go full-frame. If you are weak and fragile get a iphone..
I never would say the Nikon Coolpix P1000 is for everyone. Nor would I say it's for no one.

Nov 1, 2018
samualson

"For the price it's unbelievable"

Some people think so but many others do not including the reviewer for DPR who said " Overpriced" for what it is .

A $1000.00 price for mediocre at best image quality is something that a lot of people think hard about as they should .

Some think $1000.00 is no big deal and will spend that on a "Fun" type of camera but others are not willing to part with that kind of money on this type of camera.

Others may prefer an "All rounder" , type of camera if spending that kind of $$, to each their own but as long as you're thrilled with it thats great.

Nov 4, 2018
Chris Rutt

I think, Nikon has missed a great opportunity to develop a bridgecamera with a big sensor. Once there was such a camera almost ready to sale. But Nikon stopped the project for technical reasons. The 3000mm zoom has a big fun factor and will be the preferred tool for peeping Tom, but on the other hand a 1" sensor provides much better image quality. And up to now the brand "Nikon" stood for quality in my eyes.

Nov 1, 2018
Jwelz

Nearly all UHD sports coverage is shot witn 2/3" (11 mm diag) sensors of about 2.08 times as big as the Nikon's. The size ratio between the P1000 sensor and those cameras is nearer than APS-C is to full frame. The sports cams use lenses with extreme zoom ranges; often to narrower fields of view than the P1000's 3000 equivalent.

People project sordid motives but I'm seeing wildlife, sports and distant geography and moon photos. My vendor sells many P900/1000 to law enforcement. I'll be using mine for dramatic video zooms impossible with equipment costing under 250 times as much and, if I'm shooting 1080 content, has similar quality output. The P1000 4K would lag more in quality yet it still is visibly better than the 1080 and atmospherics narrow the gap with the unaffordable alternatives.

Nov 1, 2018
confused circle

Why is the ability to take useless shots at 3000mm equivalent seen as a feature? You can also take pictures with the lens cap on, doesn't mean that the output is worth advertising.

The P1000 is unique, and for good reason. Everyone else realizes there's no point in doing it.

Nov 1, 2018
Le Kilt

Even if the quality isn't outstanding, if you learn to use it well, 3000mm will get you some very cool pics indeed that you just can't get with a shorter lens. There is mothing else like it at that price.
Of course, if you've never used ver long telephotos, you won't realise the potential of a 3000mm lens, and hey, that's ok.

Nov 1, 2018
confused circle

I shot dngs on the az901 for as month, and it simply wasn't good for anything at the long end. Even in good light iso went through the roof quickly, framing was difficult even with stabilization, and the output was marshmallow soft. My only ok shots at 1980 equivalent were b&w conversions. The gallery shows that even with Nikon quality, physics surprisingly still wins when you increase the reach further.

Nov 1, 2018
Le Kilt

A lot depends on the camera and lens, you're comparing a bad experience with a $440 Kodak camera with a $1000 Nikon camera that you haven't tried.
Some of the pics from the P1000 are amazing, like the heron's head at 3000mm.
You may not get 100% keepers, but the raw of pic 57 shows you can get amazing quality from a 3000mm with that sensor when the conditions and your technique are good. The detail in the eye is surprisingly good. The jpg doesn't do it justice.
I've got soma great pro equipment, but I would love to play with this just for the 3000mm!

Nov 1, 2018
Phil A Martin
Phil A Martin

if you cannot take "cool" pictures with a 50mm lens, then there is no way a 3000mm lens will improve your abilities.

Nov 1, 2018
Le Kilt

@User9070981109 Erm, yeah.
The only point I'm making here is that the P1000 can get you cool pics at 3000mm.

Nov 1, 2018
samualson

I would like cool pics at 3000 mm i'm just not willing to drop $1000.00 for them thats all , now if they were really really cool pics thats a different story.

Nov 4, 2018
Fergus Ferguson

Mandingo-cam. I just heard that every one of the Kardashians just bought one. Except for Kendall.

Nov 1, 2018
BinHereBe4

1cm minimum focus distance (at wide-angle)
Isn't that measured from sensor?
If so, how is that possible with foot long lens? :D

Nov 1, 2018
Le Kilt

They probably mean the 'working distance' at 24mm , i.e. from the front of the lens - which of course varies as you zoom in.
As you say, MFD is measured from the sensor.
Curious to know the MFD at 3000mm!

Nov 1, 2018
Jwelz

27'

Nov 1, 2018
unbelievable
unbelievable

I can't find Daneel O's residence. Should be visible in that shot.

Oct 31, 2018
MaxiMax

I've got this camera about a week ago. All I can say is that it is amazing. You just can't get a camera/zoom combination of up to 3,000 mm equivalent focal length for this price and compactness. The image quality is better than I expected. Bulky and heavy? Not for a 3,000 mm lens. My A7RII with 70-200mm GM lens weights much more. But then, the P1000 is more a niche camera meant for telephotography, and it is great fun to use. A nice example posted by George Polska-Poland in YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Bmhg-wnG4w

Oct 31, 2018*
Endgame Trigger

Having played with the airliners, the muffs on the nudist beach and the moon for a while, this lump might even tend to annoy its owner more than to excite, cause it's far too heavy and bulky for the given IQ in the more common focal lengths, imho. The seeing corrupts most of the telephoto shots anyway, it even noticeable does from >=300mm. With 10 times that, most horizontal shots are ruined due to refraction anomalies.

But as it turns out, sensor size isn't everything. For telephoto and macro magnification, a smaller sensor might be a better choise, due to its deeper depth of field and crop factor. But that small, really? Build a m4/3 travellers cam with a 24 to 500 mm equivalent lens and put more money into the sensor and less money into such a phallus of a lens, which they should at least have painted pulsating veins onto! That is really more of a marketing phallus, has more from a PR focal length ejaculation than from a usefull tool.

Oct 31, 2018*
cosinaphile
cosinaphile

excuse me while I get a kleenex

Nov 1, 2018
jkokich

Maximax, that video of the airplane is astounding.

Dec 27, 2018
cosinaphile
cosinaphile

repost your comment a little above so maximax can see it

Dec 27, 2018
Gerhard1042

I saw Mr E-Davies P 1000 Moon shot about 1 Month ago. I have a Canon Powershot SX60 HS and like to take pictures of the Moon. So it was nice to compare. Of course one always has to consider different conditions like clarity of sky etc. It was no surprise to me that I could see more details in Mr E-Davies' shot than in my pictures. 3,000 mm equivalent optical focal length are superior to equivalent 1,365 mm, if the lenses have the same kind of optical quality. So to my opinion the Nikon P 1000 is probably the best camera on the market for pictures of the Moon. Of course people can get better pictures using cameras with a telescope and special processing. But if you just take a camera and take a shot of the Moon you do not get further with anything else. Even the most expensive SLR camera with full format sensor and a professional 1,000mm lens will not beat it.

Oct 31, 2018
Le Kilt

Agreed, this is a camera for those who love to zoom in!
I'll have to dig out (or take fresh ones) a moon shot with my 80D + 100-400 II + 1.4xTC + 2xTC (1792mm f/16 equiv) and see how they compare.
Of course, the price doesn't compare!

Nov 1, 2018
(unknown member)

The review stresses that the slow maximum lens speed causes diffraction when the actual aperture is huge given the focal length of the lens whatever the f number says.
I always thought diffraction was the result of a large proportion of the light travelling over the the aperture blade edges in relation to the light travelling through the orifice.
I am extremely interested in the mechanism how the f number or even worst the equivalent f number causes diffraction in what is a massive 67.4 mm aperture.

Oct 31, 2018*
BorisK1

The 539mm focal length and 67mm aperture, mean airy disk diameter of 10.7microns (0.0107mm):
http://www.calctool.org/CALC/phys/optics/f_NA
If the sensor is 6mm wide, it's 1/560 of the frame width, or 1/420 of height.

Oct 31, 2018
(unknown member)

Thanks for the info. Must look in to the mysteries of the Airy rings. We live and learn.

Oct 31, 2018
BorisK1

No big mystery there. If you take a picture of a point, like a star, diffraction smudges it into a disk instead of a point. An airy disk is what they call the smallest possible size of that disk you could get, using a theoretical lens, perfectly focused.

Oct 31, 2018
DiffractionLtd
DiffractionLtd

One way to partly get around distance blurring photos at 1000-3000mm. Take video instead. Run a few seconds of video through a program like Registax (there are others). It selectively weeds out the blurry images, keeps the sharp ones and combines them into a better-quality sharp image. This is how amateur astronomers take top-flight images of planets with detail we rarely see just looking with our eyes. What you are seeing are often compilations of thousands of frames.
Of course, it only works on static objects.

Oct 31, 2018*
makofoto

These cameras certainly have their place! Great for mountain climbing shots. This photo link is like half way up El Capitan in Yosemite. 2,000 mm with the P900. That zoom starts going softish at that focal length, but with the P1000 2,000 is still very sharp. I would love to go back with the P1000! http://public.fotki.com/makofoto/work/miscellanous/rope-whip.html

Oct 30, 2018
makofoto

When DpR tests cameras with built-in lenses ... do they zoom to the 50 mm equivalent focal length? I assume that is the focal length of choice when testing interchangeable lens cameras?

Oct 30, 2018
Jeff Keller
Jeff Keller

Do you mean for the studio test scene?

Oct 30, 2018
Jwelz

The link near the top of the comparison page explains the general guidelines and spells out that if you click the 'i' below the bottom right of each comparison window, the settings used for that camera will be displayed. The P1000 indicates 85 mm equiv at F:3.5.

Oct 31, 2018
makofoto

Why did they compare it with the RX10 mk3 ... instead of the current MK4 version?

Oct 30, 2018
Jeff Keller
Jeff Keller

Price.

Oct 30, 2018
V Ahrlenz

I was price checking in NYC. It was kinda funny. The sales guy at Adorama saw me coming from a mile away. I mean, he had a photo of me talking to the Nikon counter guy at B&H! Another guy told me he got a parking ticket with his new P1000, and he was all the way in Cincinnati! I mean, it was crazy! I took some test shots of wise, old Tibetan monks from Eleventh Avenue! They even had the elevator version of the song "So Far Away" playing while everyone was browsing! Nothing like this happened when I was shopping for one of those Bigma 50-500mm lenses a few years ago! The rest room was all the way in Queens! Totally Ground Control to Major Tom, you know?

Oct 30, 2018*
Flat Earther

This beast is a an official flat-earth camera.
NASA is really scared of this camera.

Oct 30, 2018
(unknown member)

The smaller the brain, the flatter the earth.

Nov 1, 2018
Flat Earther

Don't forget brother, I got thoroughly brainwashed through the same education system you did.

Nov 1, 2018
(unknown member)

Possible. But they definitevely don't use the same detergent for both of us.

:D

Nov 1, 2018
ogl
ogl

Which ISO need to put at 3000 mm to get picture? It would be very bad IQ with 1/2.3" sensor....JPEG at ISO100 lost details already...

Oct 30, 2018*
xPhoenix
xPhoenix

ISO performance is another huge problem with this. Try shooting wildlife in the woods where ISO 3200 and up is not uncommon. I often feel my f/5.6 lens is too slow for those conditions. This camera will be at f/8 and ISO will be crazy high, giving unusable photos. The only two uses I can think of for this thing are shooting the moon, and spying on chicks at the beach.

Way to go Nikon. You perfected the ultimate camera for perverts, but your mirrorless camera is a joke. Talk about bass ackwards!

Oct 30, 2018
Richard Murdey
Richard Murdey

You need very bright conditions to get passable results - even with VR working flat out in your favor. That's ... well, that's what it is.

Oct 31, 2018
Dodge_Rock
Dodge_Rock

It's pretty good at shooting butterflies. :) Click the link to a 2600mm image.

https://www.dpreview.com/galleries/1987479175/photos/3820615/45523291862_a98bd98b28_o

Oct 30, 2018
Flowchart
Flowchart

agreed

Oct 30, 2018
photomedium

Sure, the output is good for social media upload.

Oct 30, 2018*
V Ahrlenz

What happens if drink five large cherry slurpees in rapid succession, play an old record at 78 speed at max volume, and extend the P1000 to full zoom length facing a mirror, with its reflection in a mirror directly behind you?

Oct 30, 2018*
newe
newe

My uses dictate a need for 24-6000. We are almost there. Exciting times for big lens users!

Oct 30, 2018
Richard Murdey
Richard Murdey

Yep, just make the sensor 1/3 smaller again and it should be just about doable. Exciting indeed!

Oct 31, 2018
Nuno Souto
Nuno Souto

Before all the "pros" put you off this excellent camera, go to the P1000 group in Facebook and have a look at the tremendous photos being taken by real users.
Of course there are better cameras for certain purposes!
But everyone seems to be focusing on the extreme tele capability here.
I actually like the wide angle and normal equivalents: very little distortion.
And while the "modes" are there for moon and birds, I've found just having it on good old Aperture priority mode, ISO 400(fixed) and RAW image only is more than enough for just about everything. But then again, I refuse to be a "pro"....

Oct 30, 2018*
PieterB
PieterB

I saw a photographer with this camera in the woods 2 weeks ago.
He was testing it. It is really an enormous camera. He wasn't really enthusiastic about the camera. He said that even on a tripod it was really hard to take sharp pictures.

Oct 30, 2018
thomy
thomy

Image quality is so bad, how can you sell such a camera in 2018 ?!

3000mm (!), but what for if the photo is ugly...

Oct 30, 2018
beavertown
beavertown

Compare to your iPhine with the same sensor size?

Oct 30, 2018
arbux

compared to what?

Oct 30, 2018
beavertown
beavertown

whatever

Oct 30, 2018
photomedium

beaver,
why compare this to a phone? The camera is always going to lose.
Have you compared texting with the P1000 to any phone?

Oct 30, 2018
xPhoenix
xPhoenix

@thomy
Exactly. They should've used a bigger sensor and sacrificed reach. Having 3000mm is pointless if the images look like trash.

Oct 30, 2018
arbux

xPhoenix - by that appraoch many posters were pointless as well, but dpreview allow them to posy for some reason. enjoy then.

Oct 30, 2018
Stephen McDonald
Stephen McDonald

What the superzoom industry needs is a 2/3-inch type sensor. It would have twice the sensing area of the 1/2.3-inch type. A modified P1000 lens, that would work with the increased sensor size, could probably still reach 1300-1500mm, which would be plenty for most people. The increased image quality and lower noise, could satisfy a much larger number of buyers. It would still be so much of a niche product, it's not likely it would cut into sales for more expensive cameras enough to nix the idea.

Oct 31, 2018
Rainer2022
Rainer2022

who is going to need this one?

Oct 30, 2018
bazzap101
bazzap101

Probably the people who buy it, use it and keep it :-)

Oct 30, 2018
paulfulper

This P1000 is next on my dream list
Next is the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 IV
And last the Sony A7 SIII when it comes out
I'll be very happy when I have extra cash for these.....

Oct 30, 2018
skookum8

I'm just surprised at those who are complaining about the review given that the camera fills a narrow niche. The highest ratings in recent memory have been given to all arounders.

Think of it this way - suppose you have a new girlfriend who's interested in a bridge camera. Would you be willing to recommend the P1000 over other alternatives? Likewise, would you recommend the P1000 to family or friends? That's the challenge in my mind of giving it a much higher rating - significant tradeoffs exist with this particular camera over its competition.

Oct 30, 2018
fpessolano
fpessolano

The problem is in the fact that the score reflects an opinion with respec to ... yes there are no real comparable cameras. It would have been fairer to make a review and leave it without score. But we are the era of headers driven reports and subjective numbers highlights, hence they still scored and gave a number which has no meaning, this camera either is needed by a prospect buyer who has no true alternative, or it is irrelevant,

Oct 30, 2018
arbux

You shouldn't be surprised.
Camera, or anything, should be evaluates as a tooll for the prupose. Not for something it is not and doesn;t attempt to be.
How about we check how RX10 performs on 3000mm - I checked Rx10 review and this is not even in "the bad" section!

The reviewer didn't even left city to check this camera.

Oct 30, 2018
mailman88
mailman88

One word says it all....mushy

Oct 30, 2018
Michael1000

This article seems based on the false premise of "who needs a telescope, when you have binoculars". There are shots you can get with this camera that you will not be able to get with any other camera.

Oct 30, 2018
arbux

Psssst, reviewer went above an beyond to asses it without leaving the city, even bought ticket to the zoo - where obviously binoculars are enough.

Oct 30, 2018
MrBrightSide
MrBrightSide

Tis irony indeed that the same dudes who have made a fetish out of shooting hyper-masculine tropes like vigorous outdoor sports, grotesquely overgrown facial hair, boats, old cars, rock bands, and non-stop drinking should whine so loudly about carrying around a 3 lb. camera for a couple of hours.

Oct 30, 2018*
arbux

The same?
Looks like you have some kind of an issue with yourself here.

Oct 30, 2018
MrBrightSide
MrBrightSide

No question about it, guilty of whatever it is you are trying to imply.
Still, they’re whinging about a 3 lb camera? Photojournalists of all genders carry pairs of Canon 1D-series cameras plus zooms with no problems.
I’m just asking what is the connection between the celebration of a very theatrical machismo and issues with a lightweight camera?

Oct 30, 2018
Total: 201, showing: 1 – 50
« First‹ Previous12345Next ›Last »