127

LG G6 camera review

Features

Most of the G6's special modes can be accessed via the mode screen

The G6 comes with a comprehensive selection of imaging features and special modes, most of which can be accessed from the mode screen. On this page we take a closer look at some of the most useful ones.

Dual camera

Unlike 2016, when LG launched the G5, dual-cams are no longer a rarity. Nonetheless, LG's combination of a wide-angle lens with an additional super-wide-angle still makes the G6 stand out from the mass. Both cameras now come with the same size 1/3" 13MP sensors. At 125 degrees the super-wide-angle offers a slightly narrower field of view than the equivalent on the G5. The wide-angle comes with 71 degree angle of view which is in line with most conventional smartphone cameras.

As on the G5, the dual-cam is a great feature that simply allows you to squeeze more of a scene into your frame when necessary, without the need to carry an add-on lens. On the new model the super-wide-angle now also offers the same resolution as the standard lens. If you are using the digital zoom the G6 switches automatically between lenses but the system does not appear to use any image fusion technology. This means if you are using the wide-angle lens and zoom into your scene, digital zoom is applied to the wide-angle image until the angle of view of the second lens is reached. At this point, the camera app switches to the latter. So, as with any camera, best quality is achieved when shooting without any digital zoom applied to the image.

Super-wide-angle, 1x zoom
Super-wide-angle, 1.5x zoom
Main camera, no zoom
Main camera, 4x zoom

Dual-camera special features

Popout mode combines the images of both rear cameras

Unlike almost any other dual-cam equipped smartphone the LG G6 does not come with a 'fake-bokeh' function that blurs the background to simulate the shallow depth-of-field of a larger image sensor. For unknown reasons LG has also decided to drop the G5's Multi-View feature that created collages combining images from either one of the rear cameras or the front unit. More serious photographers will arguably be able to live with those omissions but for everyone else the Popout-function is still on board.

Popout combines images from the two rear cameras by placing the standard image on top of the wide-angle capture. Again, you can choose from a range of frame layouts. In a second step you can apply fisheye, vignette or blur filters to the wide-angle image or convert it to black and white. Those effects can also be combined. When you hit the shutter button the two images are captured simultaneously and digitally combined. Image size is limited to 8MP.

Popout image

Panorama mode

The G6's panorama feature is selected on the mode screen and works in the same way as before. A panorama is captured by slowly panning the camera and staying within the framing target that appears on the screen. The G6 captures full 360-degree panoramas, but you can stop anytime by hitting the shutter button.

Panoramas shot with the standard camera are very large at around 24,000 pixels wide. They show decent detail and, compared to the G5, stitching and ghosting on moving subjects looks improved. The mode is also capable of dealing well with brightness differences in a scene, like in the third sample below.

It's also possible to use the super-wide-angle camera in panorama mode. Overall output size is smaller but vertically more of a scene is captured, making it a good option on some occasions. Overall, the G6 panorama mode has improved over the G5, captures good image quality and is a lot of fun to play with.

Standard panorama, 24080 x 3968 pixels
Super-wide-angle panorama, 11728 x 3904 pixels
Standard panorama, 24080 x 3808 pixels

HDR

The G6's HDR mode is accessed through the settings menu in auto mode. The default setting is auto which makes sense, as there is no noticeable delay to the user and, as you can see in the samples below, there are benefits to having the mode enabled permanently. HDR noticeably captures highlight detail that was clipped in the standard image and captures an overall more balanced exposure.

HDR off, ISO 50, 1/665 sec
HDR on, ISO 50, 1/665 sec
18
I own it
3
I want it
1
I had it
Discuss in the forums
We are retrieving offers for your location, please refresh the page to see the prices.
View Comments (127)

Comments

All (127)
Most popular (3)
Editors' picks (0)
DPR staff (9)
Oldest first
Carlos Taylhardat
Carlos Taylhardat

I love almost everything about my G6 and think its the most under rated phone. One problem for me its the battery. Anyone else feel disappointed with the battery life? Does anyone have solutions?

3 months ago
jagojet

The main image sensor packs optical image stabilization, and appears to have a warmer image quality about it, with a faster f/1.8 aperture. The other wide-angle sensor is f/2.4 and lacks the same stabilizer, so images can come out less sharp.

https://jagojet.com/

6 months ago
Ashkan Anisi
Ashkan Anisi

Dear Dpreview
You should talk and review RAW mode on this smartphone.cause the result is stunning!!
Add RAW mode to your smartphone review.

7 months ago
(unknown member)

Can you set it to do RAW plus jpeg, and have that as the fixed default? My G4's one huge vice is that raw gets turned on ONSCREEN , and merely by momentarily touching the little square whilst you are busy leads to it reverting to horrid low-res blocky jpegs and no raw at all. This is VERY easy to do, and difficult to spot.

8 months ago
Mike FL

Lars Rehm;

Please test the G6's REAL ISO, I have G5 which is at least overstate ISO one stop if not more comparing to my SONY RX100.M3.

Please test G5 too.

9 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

Hi Mike, with some sort of computational imaging going on on most smartphones ISO numbers really don't mean too much anymore on those cameras. Yes, they give you an indication of sensor gain but they tend to be far off "real camera ISOs" on most devices.

8 months ago
GossCTP

I just "upgraded" from a g4 that finally succumbed to the boot loop failure. The g6 is a big step back in camera quality. The g4 had better center sharpness than my DSLR compared at the equivalent aperture (f/6.7). Going with a smaller sensor is disappointing. The native 4/3 camera paired with a 2/1 screen seems haphazard. Speaking of which, the width of the phone really limits its usefulness. It reminds me of my first smartphone, the droid eris, but about 50% taller.

The only thing I won't miss from the g4 was Its awful spell check. It would constantly change out properly spelled words for different ones.

10 months ago
Q321

"DPReview smartphone reviews are written with the needs of photographers in mind. ..." Hence, please do test on the DNG / raw produced by smartphones; most photographers would likely use that if ever they were serious about taking photos on a smartphone

10 months ago
Falxon

I'm pretty sure you're wrong about it having laser AF, as that was on the LG V20 and the G5 but *removed* from the G6.

10 months ago
armanius

How is the stabilization when shooting 4K video?

10 months ago
tsunade82

nice phone specification...
Dual-camera with two 1/3" 13MP sensors
Wide-angle, 71 degree angle of view, F1.8, 3-axis OIS
Super-wide-angle, 125 degree angle of view, F2.4
Laser-assisted autofocus
4K video with stereo sound recording
5MP front camera with 100 degree angle of view, F2.2
Dual-LED flash

11 months ago
mrkarisma

Where are the raw-file samples?

11 months ago
(unknown member)

Well, sorry, but the one thing I hate about my G4 is its revolting sharpened Jpegs, and this thing is STILL doing it. Its about time they realized WHY Samsung phones outsell LG by an almost infinite factor. It is because, like our cameras and old Nokias, you can turn off the sharpening and Samsung hardly sharpens at all, leaving it to you. The blockey, messy results also ruin the panoramas and you may as well use a proper camera instead and spend hours stitching- because then you can shoot RAW and fix exposure for the entire pan instead of the horrid auto exposure compensation making the dark light and the light dark- why samples are usually monotonous!
Can it still record the radio in FM HD? Their biggest selling point of old?

11 months ago*
Gal Root
Gal Root

Are you serious? Have you seen any photo from an S7 or an S8??? It has the most ridiculous amount of sharpening in a mobile phone!

11 months ago
(unknown member)

Well, I was on about the S6 which has less I believe. Frankly I fail to understand WHY they sharpen anything ever at all. It makes no sense, you can add it how you like later and it slows processing a lot, they are all bonkers!!

10 months ago
Gal Root
Gal Root

I agree. Some phones like LeEco will offer you control over contrast\saturation and sharpness for your jpegs. Hopefully the big players will offer it too some day.

10 months ago
naruto1979

LG G6 camera inside is among the best available on any device today. LG also defaults to the wider 18:9 aspect ratio, yet markets a 13-megapixel image sensor. You only get the full 13-megapixel when shooting in 4:3. Otherwise, 18:9 maxes out at 8.7-megapixel. Shooting in the more common 16:9 is slightly better at 9.7-megapixel. So, to get the best possible quality on this device, you shoot in manual, RAW and at 4:3.
Surely LG G6 is one of the best lg smartphone created. With a very reliable camera specification.

11 months ago*
Nung

Love LG's high end phones........ BUT!!!!! Terrible QC and durability!!! V10 was probably the best phone I ever had! Brilliant audio and very good camera. Yes, there are phones with better IQ but the user interface was so good, I only ever use manual mode and I had no problem with its IQ. Of course bigger sensor, better dynamic range and less noise will always be welcome.
After a few months, my V10 started to have ghost image on the LCD. After 1 year, just after the warrenty expired, the phone went into boot loop and couldn't boot up. This was supposed to be LG's flagship and I bought it at a premium price! Only lasted 1 year? Good job LG!
I now use a HTC 10 and in many way, it's a much better phone then my old V10 but the camera interface just isn't quite as good, although the IQ is a bit better. I still miss my V10 but buying a LG again? NEVER!!!!

11 months ago
twhip

A wider lens seems the wrong direction to me. Ok, fine for architectural/vista shots, but aren't cellphones often used for everyday people snaps not necessarily in elevator-tight spaces? For these shots an even wider lens likely means more zooming & cropping or wide angle proximity distortion (not so hot for faces) and less than optimal end results. Not asking for a telephoto, but can't we at least have a 50mm equivalent? In non-cell camera terms, if you were heading out with a 27mm or 30mm equiv prime lens and wanted to bring another prime, would it really be an even wider lens?

Also, I have to say as a shafted G4 user, I have lost all trust for LG after the bootloop debacle with several models, including my G4. Unlike Samsung that at least fessed up quickly & recalled its Note, LG dragged its feet, apparently still dealing with a class action suit, one can read about on ArsTechnica or Wikipedia:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LG_smartphone_bootloop_issues

11 months ago
Gal Root
Gal Root

You're wrong. Any G5 \ V20 \G6 user will have hard time giving up the wide angle lens. It's just that useful. I'm in love with it. Have the phone since April 2016 and I just love the wide angle. Tele is OK, but it's for very specific scenarios.. of course I would love to have all three :)

11 months ago
itaibachar

Why no RAW samples in the gallery?...

11 months ago
Mike FL

The reviewer is not a camera guy as far as we can see,

He even does not give all the cameras specs, such as the front cam, but he is getting little better for knowing how to review cameras.

Anyway, DPR needs to find a camera guy to review phones, but wrong one.

11 months ago*
Andrewas

Lars Rehm you did 2 last reviews of Huawei Mate 9 and LG G6. What smartphone would you choose for a camera ?

11 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

well, it's just like with "real" cameras...they are all pretty good these days once you go over a certain price point...so which one you get mostly depends on what features are important to you and what type of images you like to shoot.

11 months ago
vadims

Lars's review of Huawei Mate 9 got me interested, and I got myself one. No regrets whatsoever so far.

I had LG V10 and I was on fence as to what to upgrade to: V20, Pixel XL, or Mate 9. Huawei won in the end.

Leica influence or not, but quality of cameras AND camera SW is outstanding for a phone. Especially camera app: very well thought out, tons of functions and yet no clutter.

I've read and watched lots of reviews before purchase... Well, the key, as always, is not just listen, but use your own brain. One prominent reviewer listed as a Con the fact that you adjust DOF ("bokeh") after the shot. Goodness, that's one of the biggest Pros! Phone camera bokeh often looks fake because it's overdone; being able to adjust it after the fact often saves the shot.

Second 20Mp camera makes 2x zoom shots essentially lossless, as if zoom was optical; I managed some good 2x shots even in dimly lit rooms. And so on.

All in all, very best or not, Mate P9 is an excellent camera phone.

11 months ago
ThorstenMUC

I like my LG G4 - still has a great camera, functional design and usable feature set. Battery is still lasting two or more days. The G6 would be an interesting successor this year... but not with LG's update policy.

I don't need unlimited new features and updates to all the latest Android-releases - but the hell TAKE CARE OF SECURITY FIXES!

The G4 still is Android Securitypatch-level of July 2016... there are numerous known security vulnarabilities fixed by Google, but never pushed as update by LG (Samsung did). There is even an open issue, which allows "drive-by hacking" of the smartphone just via WLan signal... and smartphones should be used for payment, banking or as car or home-key more and more - really?

11 months ago*
mrkarisma

The new G6 will sadly not give you better image quality. The G4 was waaay ahead of time when it was released and is still in the top fighting the the Iphone 7 and the Galaxy S8 when it comes to image quality, especially when shooting in Raw. I have had the G4 for about one year as my Galaxy S4 started to have problems finding the sim card. I am still impressed by the camera and use it for alot! Even shot some products in the studio with it at work when I forgot my Nikon at home! I have hundreds of images shot with the G4 on my vsco-account: http://vsco.co/mrkarisma/images/tags/lgg4/1 Most of them shot in raw and edited in the phone with Snapseed or Lightroom mobile.

11 months ago*
EwanMC

Like the V20, they've moved the twin lenses from the front to the back, unlike on my V10 with its twin front lenses, where arguably it is far more useful for getting a wide-angle selfie group shot.

11 months ago
Alex Efimoff

Selfie camera has a pretty wide angle lens itself... I don't take selfies though.

11 months ago
Mike FL

As far as I can see, V20's front cam is UWA while G5 is not:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fz88jSmb3NI

G6 should be as same as V20 for all three CAMs.

11 months ago
Alex Efimoff

LG V20 got 16 mpx main cam and 8 mpx wide angle; G6 - 13 mpx both main and uwa camera.

11 months ago
Mike FL

Right, only the front cams are the same.

Also, the battery life of G6 (as well as G5) is almost 4 times (stand by) longer than V20 b/c no additional always on display. 3 times more talking time.

The main UWA on G6 should be better than V20 as V20s main UWA is so so:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fz88jSmb3NI

11 months ago*
EwanMC

Well obviously if you reduce the front cameras from two --on the V10-- down to one the wide angle will be the one to leave.

11 months ago*
Mike FL

V20/G6's front cameras is 100 degree which is a UWA even it is not as wide as main UWA, but it is still a low quality cam, but G6's main UWA is getting better.

BTW, G6 is a waterproof phone.

11 months ago*
Mike FL

Lot of phones have two lenses, but I think LG G5&6 are the ONLY phone has UWA lens, and its UWA lens (12mm) is really very wide.

The 12mm UWA is wider than all UWAs from MFT lenses. I wish some one make a 12mm UWA lens for my Olympus cams.

Also, I wish other phone makers will follow.

11 months ago*
Alex Efimoff

Really? What about V20?

11 months ago
EwanMC

Like the V20, they've moved the twin lenses from the front to the back, unlike on my V10 with its twin front lenses, where arguably it is far more useful for getting a wide-angle selfie group shot.

11 months ago
Advent1sam
Advent1sam

Cameraphone images are really low fi still, even on an iPad they look very very crude.
Maybe on its camera display at that size they are acceptable, but generally they are every bit a tiny sensor with too many pixels!

11 months ago
rrccad

for the majority of viewing, it's really a "who the hell cares" when it comes to sharpening, when most images aren't viewed over 1.5MP, corse sharpening probably "looks better" for the default crowd.

Also you can set it to shoot JPG+DNG, so really it's a no brainer to resolve.

11 months ago
ettiphotography
ettiphotography

LG G6 camera is really very awesome and give HD quality photos. Satisfy with the overall performance.

11 months ago
jwhig

An unusual 18:9 aspect ratio. Surely that is 2 :1.

11 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

absolutely right, I guess they call it 18:9 because it kind of 'competes' with 16:9...

11 months ago
mosc

More of a reason why aspect ratios should always just be 'some number >1' : 1

11 months ago
wetsleet

You are forgetting the first rule of marketing; a bigger number is a better number.

11 months ago
Gal Root
Gal Root

I have the LG G5. I LOVE the wide angle lens.
It's too early to replace it as it works great but my next phone will probably also be an LG just because of the wide angle!
Also, LG's camera app is by far the best on the market.

11 months ago
MrTaikitso
MrTaikitso

I had a G5 and as you say it is superb. I got some tack sharp and detailed wide angle shots. As someone else has pointed out, and I saw mentioned in another article, the sensor in the G5 may in fact be better than the G6.

11 months ago
juanmaasecas

Isn't the main camera a downgrade over past G5 and G4. Sensor size was 1/2.6" and now it's 1/3". It seems LG is cutting costs... Maybe software wise they're improving but the hardware seems cheaper.

11 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

to be honest, in terms of performance it does not feel like a downgrade...if they could just fix the processing in bright light...

11 months ago
Melchiorum

Lars Rehm, horrible processing has been the main problem with LG cameras since G3, so I don't think they will "fix" it. It seems that it's what they are intentionally going for, because it makes images "pop" on a phone screen (while ruining them on any other larger one).

They even had really bad sharpening algorithms applied to everything shown on the screen on G3 and G4 (not sure about later models), causing really bad "outline" artifacts around small contrasty objects (black text on beige/gray background was physically hurting my eyes). The only way to disable it was rooting and modifying the kernel. And the reason they did that was a cheap and artificial way to make their screens appear "sharper".

That was actually one of the reasons I had to switch to Samsung.

11 months ago*
kobakokh

as phone this is one of the best on market, as photo camera people must use even compact cameras with 1" sensor and they will have always nice photo, much better then from any smartphones... No need to require from smartphones even to brew the coffee...

11 months ago
snapa
snapa

The phone is a bit too large and the pictures are not that good. Some people (like me) do not want or need such large phones. I also think the Google Pixel with its 5" screen is a better phone. Also, the Google assistant seems like a nice feature to have.

BTW, it's hard enough to make an UWA lens for any camera, much less a camera phone! I mean, how much do those plastic lenses on that phone cost anyway?

11 months ago
wtang

Google Assistant is available on all Android phones running Marshmallow and Nougat, including the LG G6. See here: https://blog.google/products/assistant/google-assistant-coming-to-more-android-phones/
Also, the G6 is not as big as you think. It's smaller than it looks in photos, despite having a 5.7" screen. Due to having very thin bezels and a tall but narrow screen, it's only about 2mm wider than the Google Pixel and only about 5mm taller. Plus it's thinner than the Pixel. Hold one and you'll be surprised how small it is.

11 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

it's not that big, I don't think there are many high-end smartphones these days that are significantly smaller...it is a little bit thicker than some other premium phones, though...

11 months ago
noisephotographer

I much prefer a longer focal length (at least twofold focal length) instead of this extreme ultra wide angle lens (11mm field of view?) that even has a lot of distortion. I can't understand why LG did this. For the average photographer a 25mm lens and a 50mm lens would be much more versatile than 30mm and 11mm.

11 months ago
Impulses

I prefer the UWA, guess I'm not average!

11 months ago
Impulses

Although 50mm EFL + UWA would be sweet too...

11 months ago
Flac_Vest

Because most people just digitally zoom anyway and think it's good enough. They know this. Apple went the other way and did include a longer lens but it's plagued by having no image stabilization and being slightly slower than the normal lens in the 7 and 7+.

11 months ago
Gal Root
Gal Root

You know nothing John Snow.
The wide angle lens is just incredible.
I use it all the time!
Especially useful when I travel.

11 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

I am sure there are many reasons LG went for the wide angle but looking at the 'tele' implementation on the iPhone 7 Plus and Xiaomi Mi6 they are much more difficult to engineer than a wide angle and come with a lot of compromises (pretty much unusable in low light)...

11 months ago
Gal Root
Gal Root

Lars, I'll take the wide angle over tele any day. I'm sure most photographers will.

11 months ago
rrccad

the UWA is why i purchased a G5. it's extremely useful.

11 months ago
noisephotographer

No, the main camera is already a wide angle lens. And you can shoot a panorama or stitch images as a compromise. Whatever you can photograph with the ultra wide angle is also quite possible with the main camera when you stitch images. This compromise is not possible for tele. Moreover LG's wide angle lens is also not very usable in low light due to f/2.4 and it has much distortion and a fixed focus. That's much worse than Apple's low light compromise.
And most people want to take a portrait from a person they like. 56mm is also much better for photographing animals.

11 months ago
rrccad

only if you are in conditions for stitching and panoramas, I find it very useful .. so don't tell me .. "no".. if you were.

I shoot mostly UWA with an ILC, so having a smartphone with the same perspective is very useful. obviously you can't shoot people with it, unless you are careful.

11 months ago*
Simao

Having both the iPhone 7 plus and LG G5 I can tell you that the ultra wide lens is much more useful especially for travel. and that makes sense because most photographs taken by phone are for things or people that are usually very close.

11 months ago
twhip

Completely agree with noisephotographer on the greater usefulness of a normal lens option rather than an even wider lens. In the densely populated setting I live in, I notice a lot of everyday social snapshot taking. A 27mm or so lens is not optimal for people shots. Too close: distortion. Too far: unwanted content to crop later.

The digital zoom sucks, with results worse than not using it and editing in Snapseed--and then it's often tossing out 10% or more of the photo to get what was intended and not obliging viewers to pinch-zoom every pic. to read the faces.

Not that I don't like & do environmental portraits, but a 50mm+ equiv lens would be a godsend. And more blatantly a larger sensor.... Considering the increasingly powerful processors, having 3-4gigs of ram, and phone costs higher than most point & shoot cameras, are these things really impossible to bring to market?

11 months ago
OddieCZE

@Gal Root Seems like a poll is needed. I much prefer a longer lens. I was over the moon when the 56mm lens in the iPhone 7 Plus was announced.

11 months ago
Gal Root
Gal Root

The problem is that there are so much more iPhone users than LG users so it won't be a fair poll. First of all, iPhone doesn't have manual camera mode which itself is a deal breaker. Now, I like the tele lens on the iPhone but I'm sure the USA lens is much more useful. The tele lens is good for very specific photos of specific subjects while the wide angle lens is for the most useful scenario in phone photography - to capture the whole scene. To show what I am seeing. And no, panorama is just ridiculous. You can't go back to doing panoramas after having UWA lens. With panorama you can't move and the subject can't move which makes it very limited. If you prefer tele, that's fine, good that we have choices. But IMO , LG is the closet right now for a photographer dream of a camera phone.

11 months ago
mxx
mxx

No fake bokeh? At last an honest high end phone.

11 months ago
Impulses

LG and most Android OEM tried the fake bokeh thing already like 3-4 years ago, then abandoned it when it didn't catch on... HTC was using two lenses for it, Google had a 3D map you had to swing the camera for, I forget what LG's approach was but they had it too. Apple's implementation is a bit more elegant, tho not a ton, and aided by the second longer focal length module... Mostly it's better marketed. ;)

11 months ago
vadims

> Apple's implementation is a bit more elegant

I beg to differ: iPhone takes "bokeh" shot when it feels like it (you have to position the phone at right distance etc.), which essentially renders it unusable; in my book, anyway.

The arguably best implementation is that of Huawei phones... Recent Mate P9 article here at DPR got me interested, and I bought myself one. Very, very happy with its camera(s) so far.

As to bokeh implementation in Huawei Mate P9: yes, it's still hit and miss; it can still fail with some difficult scenes. BUT when it gets it right (and that is most of the time), there is nothing "fake" about the shot that you get.

And yes, it's "most of the time" for me already. Why? As with *all* gear, you have to know its limitations; once you do, percent of keepers goes up dramatically.

All in all, this whole bokeh thing on double-camera phones reminds me AF / face detection flame wars. As time passes and technology improves, mocking it starts to look silly...

11 months ago
SaaraSmith

Nice phone

11 months ago
Roland Karlsson

Real bad result at 100% Over sharpened.

11 months ago
CaPi

The level of details smudged by the noise is surprising

11 months ago*
ButterflySkies

Is 1/30 really the slowest shutterspeed? I know the G4 has 30 sec (The whole reason why I own it). Is it a typo?

11 months ago
jshen808
jshen808

Nope.. on item "6. Image Quality & Performance".. there's a picture shown that was shot at 1/9 seconds..

11 months ago
ButterflySkies

@jshen808 But thats in night mode. They could restrict manual mode to 1/30 for whatever reason. Question still stands.

11 months ago
jshen808
jshen808

@ ButterflySkies.. thanks for clarifying this.. then yes, the question still stands..

11 months ago
Gal Root
Gal Root

It does 30 seconds.

11 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

it's 30 secs...where does it say 1/30? I'll fix that :)

11 months ago
Alex Efimoff

It still says 1/30 sec instead of 30 secs. V20 does 30 secs in manual mode too

11 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

could you please tell me what page that error is on?

11 months ago
Alex Efimoff

It's on page 3, third paragraph from the end.

11 months ago
Lars Rehm
Lars Rehm

Thanks!

11 months ago
(unknown member)

LG still refuse to play ball. I adore my G4, its a great phone, and has an excellent lens and sensor IF i use RAW. BUT, like this one and unlike all recent Samsungs etc etc, and old Nokias of far greater resolution, its jpegs are UTTERLY useless as they are oversharpened ghastly graphics that bear no resemblence to a photograph at all.

Here we have too a superwide angle on a sensor only just big enough for a normal wide-angle, whereas to be frank, it needs really to be a MUCH bigger sensor of double the resolution to really work.

I'm very glad they have AT LAST sorted the panoramas as a G4 are no good at maintaining an even exposure-results are a joke in poor taste.

but still the jpegs damn it all! What a daft company? Can you imagine them doing that amount of unalterable sharpening to an OLED TV screen!!!

11 months ago
rrccad

I enjoy my G5.. will have to upgrade.

11 months ago
Mike FL

For to see the distortion of UWA lens, Please shoot a brick wall.

It will be a great help for us.

11 months ago*
cosinaphile

im sure im a minority in caring little for the cameras with these tiny sensors ... a 1 1.7 or a 58 sq mm 2\3 sensor is the minimum a decent camera of any type should possess

but a decent resolution,, the sensible , consumer respectful, decision to retain the audio jack...the similarly sensible call of providing choice for expandability with a micro sd slot means that this latest effort by LG has my respect .

unlike phones that are consumer hostile by denying expandability or ubiquitous
important standards like audio jacks,,, which do not have mt respect ,,, and in fact i see as bordering on the absurd

11 months ago*
Death89
Death89

Sad that they chopped out the decent main camera for a run of the mill sensor. Moto G5 plus has a bigger sensor than this and is much cheaper. Sure no UWA camera on that or any other model but they really shouldn't downgrade the main camera on any flagship. Ever.

11 months ago
noisephotographer

If you wanted to shoot with an aspect ratio of 4:3 with the G5 or G4, then the G6 has a larger sensor area that is used.

11 months ago
Zoom Zoom Zoom

Phone cameras keep improving. Huge steps above what they were a few years ago. But in the end, its all the same thing and they all look the same.. low-resolution, low DR, limited DOF (or worse, fake), noise everywhere and a permanent oil-painting look from too much NR applied. As long as the sensors are as small as they are, this will never change. iPhone, Samsung, LG, Sony and everyone else in between.. with small variations and different processing algorithms, all phones yield about the same results. All it takes is a bigger sensor for real improvement in image quality.. instantly. Is that simple.

11 months ago*
yousaf

My previous phone (Galaxy S7 edge) had better DR and high ISO performance compared to my DSLR (canon 70D) . In low light I used my phone instead of my DSLR.

11 months ago*
noisephotographer

I know that LG's images often look terrible at 100%, but for instance the Pixel/Nexus camera doesn't look like oil paintings at 100% when HDR+ is turned on.
Moreover you can shoot in raw in order to avoid this.

11 months ago*
ANAYV

@zoom zoom zoom
NOT that simple. The bigger the sensor, the bigger/thicker the phone will be.
Avoid the NR smearing and noise issues...shoot RAW

DXO claims there is a difference in cellphone camera's. They even post there results, which are not the same, as you claim.

I see a difference in my G2 and G4 images, and thats shooting jpeg.

Better O.I.S. helps too.

11 months ago
a777
a777

yousaf, - ridiculous. Care to prove? I have samsung and 70D too. Low light quality incomparable, of course. How is your tiny sensor in phone, being 15 times smaller than APSC, able to perform better? I have bigger BSI sony sensor in compact (only 12 times smaller) and it outperforms samsung either. In terms of min ISO DR – it’s true, compact have comparable, but still smaller range. So your statement needs clarification.

11 months ago
rrccad

@a777 .. it's easy.. he's obviously high.

11 months ago
Zoom Zoom Zoom

yousaf, honestly I cannot imagine how a Galaxy S7 can give you better low light performance and higher DR than a Canon 70D that has a sensor that is gargantuanly larger. That being true would be a revolution in photography and the end of all DLSRs and all larger sensors than 1:2/3s.

I humbly venture to say, if that is was the case, then "m a y b e" your Canon 70D was faulty or something unusually off in the camera's settings.

The ONLY phone to date that came closer to dramatically better photo quality, was the ill fated Panasonic Lumix CM1 featuring a 1" sensor and Leica lens. Unfortunately the rest of the phone's both hardware and software sucked and the price was ludicrous..

ANAYV.. and no, the phone was actually not much thicker than most phones now. A brilliant design:
https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonic-lumix-dmc-cm1-camera-review

The day that cell phones outperform larger dedicated mirrorless and DSLR cameras, its all over.. surely, that day will come.. but not yet:)

11 months ago*
Andrewas

Sometimes it can seem as phone is better than DSLR as it has lots of software processing going on, like stitching multiple images into one and etc., and there is one comparison GH4 vs HTC U11 and indeed HTC images look better on a monitor but again due too massive image processing and stitching

11 months ago
fedway

Anyone can say on an Internet forum that their X phone takes better pictures than their medium-format camera.

10 months ago
benvision

Please include the DNG files in the gallery. Thanks :)

11 months ago
rsf3127

The green leaf rendering is catching up to Fuji x-trans cameras at base ISO.

11 months ago
Arca45Swiss

Biggest flaw: no iOS

11 months ago
Death89
Death89

As opposed to the biggest flaw of any iPhone, namely being an iPhone 😜

11 months ago
cosinaphile

biggest flaw of apples phone ? p i s s poor audio , dap , p i s s poor resolution ,
p i s s poor resistance to screen cracking , p is s poor expandability [sd], p i s s poor compatibility to existing audio headsets [ loss of audio jack] dependance on bluetooth audios poor audio quality ... overpriced

for people with a herd mentality and poor technological understanding and
a willingness to obey the edicts of a fascist corporation

[p i s s is a swear word?????]

11 months ago
Death89
Death89

I just found it an inane comment. The iOS is hugely locked down and (despite me using one right now), doesn't in my mind suit serious photography. Specifically irritating to me is the lack of automatic selection of Wi-Fi network when using the FlashAir app (present on Android) and the renaming of any photos imported leading to huge amounts of duplication when all devices are backed up to my PC. (Also as cosinaphile notes above, audio is pants compared to a Nokia N86 or N8 from several years back, let alone the later Lumias). Add to that the hobbled SD card reader that barely ever works with my 5S. USB OTG was 100% reliable on my N8 and any decent Android ever...

And the cameras suck, 7+ included.

11 months ago*
cosinaphile

it renames photos ? .... why??

11 months ago
Death89
Death89

God knows. Every photo has to be in the IMG_XXXX format on iOS it seems. VERY irritating.

11 months ago
cosinaphile

ill bet .... backups and drive maintenance for duplicate files must be a nightmare

11 months ago
Death89
Death89

Almost enough to make me want to go back to W10M despite MS having no plans to further develop the OS.

Realistically I think it'll be an android future for me. Despite me not getting on with it every time I try it.

11 months ago
cosinaphile

i think the plan is for every os to be a nightmare for those who care about files
, use computers to manage their photography [who doesn't ?] look for elegance and logic and ease when managing and co,llating ones files . and seeks signs of intelligence and straightforwardness in an os`s day to day usage

i hate android,but dislike appleverse even more

i hate win 10\8.1 [ but live with it with classic shell plus tweaks ] but i dislike iOS even more.
love linux but find it limiting for programs and too much work

my phone infuriates me ,constantly updating\ resetting, nyc free wifi constantly trying to turn on my wifi every time i ride the subway..cant seem to disable this .. new skins and arrangements of my android apps spontaneously occurring , games and apps turning on features against my wishes wi fi spontaneously turning on data turning on spontaneously .

im sure apple does not do this quite to this degree , but im never living in that ecosystem

11 months ago*
abudiman

iPhone is pretty much a locked down environment. It is network-dependant when it comes to file sharing. Can't even send files on bluetooth to other phones.

11 months ago*
Death89
Death89

Windows 10 on Arm might be the future, but it could also be another 2 year distraction for MS.

At least with Symbian I knew where everything was and it didn't need resetting every month.

11 months ago
noisephotographer

"That said, with our version of Adobe Camera Raw we found it impossible to set a white balance value that would achieve a totally neutral color response."
I am surprised that several smartphones have this issue when it comes to raw files. For instance the new Asus Zenfone 3 Zoom.
And dngs from Huawei smartphones often need something like tint = +70 in the Lightroom app.
Fortunately my Nexus 5x does not have this problem.

11 months ago
Gonard

Excellent review Lars. Thanks for the great job.
One thing that is seldom mentioned in reviews - the software used in editing. Not the apps that come with the phone camera - but the big boys. Photoshop, NIK, ON1, programs I use with phone/ tablet photos. I remain amazed what can be done with captured pixels using these programs.

11 months ago
fedway

When I first read your article I though Nik, ON1 don't have smartphone versions. Then I realized you were talking about downloading from your phone to a desktop/laptop and editing. That kind of defeats the purpose doesn't it?

10 months ago
Gonard

But not the quality.

8 months ago
Dante Birchen
Dante Birchen

No fake-bokeh function. It is a pro, not a con :p

11 months ago
panther fan

An option is never a con if it can be turned off.

11 months ago
Dante Birchen
Dante Birchen

would people buy a phone that had a permanent access for the NSA for 'your protection and national security' function that you could turn of? O well all phones have that anyway, don't they........

11 months ago
vv50
vv50

"permanent access for the NSA" - what does that have to do with photography?

11 months ago
noisephotographer

A fake-bokeh simulation option is good if it is at least as good as in the iphone 7 Plus. In my opinion this is also missing in DSLRs and mirrorless cameras in order to be more versatile with cheaper lenses. So my idea would be that DSLRs and mirrorless cameras should have a dual camera, too (the second camera can be a smartphone-like camera). But at present we only get miniature effects from ILCs..

11 months ago*
panther fan

The "problem" I see with many smartphone cameras is the optimization for smartphone displays. The G6 shows the same problems of noise in the sky and oversharpening.
Even companies with great low light features like the P10 often deactivate them in bright light to avoid artifacts. The result is that dailight shots look nice on your phone but not so nice on the PC. The Pixel is the only phone using their stacking algorithms under bright light. This results in "super clean" printable images. I hope other smartphone companies come to the same conclusion that "good enough" is not good enough and that dailight noise can still be reduced.

11 months ago
naththo

That is much more honest review than blind vote camera in other page, your daylight image sample looks underwhelmed, not nice sample so it looks like camera is not doing well with this situation of difficult lighting and in plain lighting. I am sticking to Samsung cos it does better for me, I have is S6 Edge and I am happy with this, it does support RAW but I like Samsung algorithm of colours and contrast better but sharpening seems aggressive similar behaviour to Sony. Glad to see this is a proper review, not nonsense blind vote photos sample in other page.

11 months ago
naththo

What I meant was: I saw some scene that like in grey stone or so should be grey not green cast in some of LG sample, and the shadow looks quiet bland/boring not much contrast. That is why it is underwhelmed sample to me. It needs better algorithm to have better outcome out of JPEG. Probably not very good algorithm so far from LG Im sorry to say.

11 months ago
TheDarmok74

I quite like the ultra wide angle lens idea.
What I din't like is LG's pricing- only 2 months after release the price has already fallen 40% (it can be had here for 515€ incl. VAT, only a three day offer but from well respected vendor Meida Markt). Good thing for people who waited, bad for people who forked over 800€ plus at the beginning.
As for the photos- they look better than I thought after reading the conclusion but looking at the sky at ISO 50 reveals artefacts that I haven't seen in years fro a high end device. Ouch! They may go for sharpening, but this is too much. And how many buyers will actually shoot RAW with this?
I'm hoping for the One plus 5 and if that's not great either, I personally will gladly continue to use a 2 year old S6 which is still really good in my opinion.

11 months ago
Androole

Why does it matter how many other buyers will shoot RAW so long as you do?

I shoot DNG on my LG G4 for any photo that isn't purely documentary or visual note. The 16MP images have a staggering amount of pixel level detail in Lightroom.

11 months ago
TheDarmok74

But I don't. If I shoot with a smartphone I don't want to have to post process. Absolutely not.

11 months ago
Androole

You often don't need to post-process at all. An "SOOC" RAW DNG conversion in Lightroom will yield much, much better detail than any SOOC JPEG from any manufacturer.

People seem to love soft smooshy images with weird context-sensitive sharpening and artifacts out of their smartphones. I prefer sharp and detailed at the expense of a small amount of uniform luminance noise.

Tomato, tomahto.

11 months ago