465

Fujifilm X-T30 review in progress

Sample Gallery

Please do not reproduce any of these images on a website or any newsletter / magazine without prior permission (see our copyright page). We make the originals available for private users to download to their own machines for personal examination or printing (in conjunction with this review), we do so in good faith, please don't abuse it.

5
I own it
109
I want it
16
I had it
Discuss in the forums
Base, Black, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Mar 20, 2019
From
$899.00 »
Base, Black, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Black, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Black, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$999.90 »
Base, Black, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$999.90 »
Base, Black, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Black, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Black, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Mar 20, 2019
From
$1,299.00 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,399.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,399.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Black, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Mar 20, 2019
From
$999.00 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,099.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,099.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Black, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
Base, Silver, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Mar 20, 2019
From
$899.00 »
Base, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$999.90 »
Base, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$999.90 »
Base, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Silver, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Mar 20, 2019
From
$1,299.00 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,399.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,399.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Silver, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Mar 20, 2019
From
$999.00 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,099.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,099.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
Base, Charcoal Silver, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Jun 30, 2019
From
$899.00 »
Base, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$999.90 »
Base, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$999.90 »
Base, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
Base, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,049.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Jun 30, 2019
From
$1,299.00 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,399.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,399.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XF18-55mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,449.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, Base
Pre-order now
Released on Jun 30, 2019
From
$999.00 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF23mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,099.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF35mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,099.99 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Black
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
w/ XC15-45mm Kit, Charcoal Silver, W/ Fujinon XF50mmF2 R WR Lens Silver
Pre-order now
Not yet released
From
$1,149.90 »
View Comments (465)

Comments

All (465)
Most popular (15)
Editors' picks (0)
DPR staff (7)
Oldest first
Biggly

I'm like a moth to a flame. I'd love this little thing as a pocket carry, then I see the "no weathersealing" and bounce away in total disgust.

For some reason I find myself heading back towards it again later, only to repeat the exact same process. No weather sealing, on a $1000 camera? Total garbage and I don't want that ^%$ near me, take it away!

Then later I think "Oh that looks nice! Just the kind of small, manual-controls,..." Then I see "no weathersealing" and bounce away in total disgust!

Then later...

What makes it easier to give a firm 'NO' is your own tests shows it has more noise at higher ISO than the XT-2. Throw it in the woods. Where it will get slightly damp and instantly die.

Garbage.

6 days ago
DrewRick

The previous models are perfectly fine in a drizzle, and lost Fuji cameras have actually survived the rain in the woods for months, so I'm not too worried. In a torrential downpour, all bets are off anyway, even for wr cameras.

5 days ago
Biggly

I live in Borneo and travel around the tropics a lot. Have had too many cameras (and phones) suffer from condensation.

On Youtube a guy mentions he dripped a single drop of sweat onto the viewfinder of an X-T20, killed it. I'm afraid I'm now of the view that if the company didn't even TRY to make an outdoor product weather-resistant then they can shove it somewhere dark and smelly.

5 days ago
yabeshphotography
yabeshphotography

For starters, the new Fuji Xt3 features a new back - illuminated X-Trans CMOS 4 sensor with 26 Mpx resolution (APS-C). Even with the increase in resolution compared to previous sensors, this camera achieves a great improvement by keeping the noise level low in any lighting condition

We will also find in the new Fujifilm X-T3 a new high-speed image processing engine. It is the new X-Processor 4 that has 4 cores or CPUs to triple the processing speed. This translates into an important improvement in almost all the important issues of the camera: it improves the performance AF, it allows to improve the quality and fps in video ... all this with an APS-C sensor

In the XT3 approach , we have to highlight that thanks to its 2.16 million focus points per phase detection, we will achieve surprisingly fast and effective performance. All with advanced tracking modes such as face or eyes to always get the perfect capture.

2 weeks ago
niciyou

question to the editor,
I owned X-T20 and am satisfied with its good image quality and body. But I expected more, which X-T20 cannot do it well, such as:

1. The wireless feature sucks. the connection with the smartphone is not easy and very slow. I have to wait too long to transfer images from camera to phone or my laptop.

2. the mobile and PC app is silly and not easy to use. I suppose some work can be done automatically or require very less clicks. for example, when the camera is charging, new images in the camera could be transferred to the pre-configured target PC or NAS (I guess every photographer enthusiast should own a NAS).

3. the autofocus is not fast and accurate as I expected.

4. I am glad Fuji adopted USB 3.1 to replace the dinosaur Micro USB.

It is appreciated If your review can cover my concerns above!

3 weeks ago*
herbalserpent
herbalserpent

I wish they left the buttons to assign more functions :(

3 weeks ago
DrewRick

With the low placement of the joystick there would have been room for at least one more button by moving up the joystick

3 weeks ago
Kharan
Kharan

See, Canon? This is how you do product segmentation, not by removing features from the firmware and recycled tech from 2009.

4 weeks ago
ecka84
ecka84

And yet I would rather buy the 6D($999) and 85F1.8($369), than the X-T30($899) and the 56F1.2($749). Because that would get me better images for less money. And if we add more lenses to the system, the body budget would go up, because Fuji lenses are so overpriced.

4 weeks ago
Kharan
Kharan

Nah, I'd go for the X-T30 every time, even though I don't like Fujifilm's interface. The 56mm f/1.2, albeit slow, is one of the best portrait primes ever made by anyone. It smokes the ancient EF 85mm f/1.8 in any metric you care to throw at it except focus speed.
Also, the 6D won't make better images - they're tied for light gathering, and the much superior sensor on the X-T30 will give users all the DR they need for those wonderful contre-jour photos.

3 weeks ago
DrewRick

ecka84 Let's see, your set delivers equivalent light gathering and separation ability. Beyond that the Canon kit has worse lens quality (aberrations, distortion), is castrated with the autofocus system of Canon's APS-C beginner cameras and is missing many functions that we expect in a camera today (tracking, face recognition, bluetooth, wifi, focus peaking / stacking). I agree with Kharan, X-T30 any day, especially at the current price as a kit with zoom and F2 lens at a $300 discount.

3 weeks ago
ecka84
ecka84

@DrewRick
Yes, FF gets the same amount of light cheaper, plus it has the option of using lower/cleaner equivalent ISOs. Yes, some old Canon lenses are pretty outdated by today's standards, but they still beat some modern expensive crop optics. Because FF doesn't magnify all of the optical imperfections as much as crop does.
I wasn't talking about the 6D2. Which does have crop AF system. The original 6D has a much simpler and old fashioned AF system, similar to the one in 5D2. Basically it has a "supercharged" center point and a bunch of rather useless satellites. And it works fantastically well for millions of people, who prefer a single point precision over the speed or auto AF convenience. Technically, I can center-focus everything and then crop it later to get the same thing a crop camera would, while skipping all the AF hassle. I really prefer higher definition images over a bunch of "bells and whistles". 6D does have face recognition and wifi :).

3 weeks ago
ecka84
ecka84

By the time you add more overpriced lenses to your X-T30, such budget would allow me to have a modern FF body, like the A7III or Z6. Because equivalent FF optics are cheaper.

3 weeks ago*
attomole

Canon throwing full frame RP into the ring, with adapted lenses, not so much, the RP's deep grip I think will also make it more compelling in the hand, the XT20/30 do not handle well in that respect

3 weeks ago
ecka84
ecka84

Nothing wrong with adapting lenses. It's no like adapting Canon lenses on Sony cameras. All EF glass is native to the RP and fully functional. But they need to make some new budget lenses as well, EF or RF.

3 weeks ago
DrewRick

ecka84 center point focus and recompose leads to out of focus images, especially portraits are sensitive to that and no-one should use this method except with cellphone cameras where it doesn't matter anyway due to the large DOF. A cross type AF point is incredibly standard and doesn't make it "supercharged". Your appeal to popularity "works for millions" is a logical fallacy, and for a reason, as you are doing readers of your comments a disservice by praising a system that will harm the result of their efforts to try and take sharp images. Frankly the only explanation I have for your bizarre insistence on Canon 6D is that you are worried your investment in Canon's lens system will lose value. In contrast, my lens investment was low because I buy used or on sale, so I can switch systems any time, which I did when I switched from Canon to Fuji, where I can get sharper results with better dynamic range with lenses that are a lot cheaper than Canon lenses of comparable IQ and sharpness.

2 weeks ago*
ecka84
ecka84

DrewRick, you're such a lier :). Fuji? Sharper? A lot cheaper? ... What planet are you from?
Fuji - soft, cropped, overpriced, pretentious snake oil. It can be good enough for those who don't need real/serious cameras. But it can't replace a real/serious camera.

"your bizarre insistence on Canon 6D is that you are worried your investment in Canon's lens system will lose value"
- No.
"In contrast, my lens investment was low because I buy used or on sale"
- Yes, me too.
"so I can switch systems any time, which I did when I switched from Canon to Fuji"
- OMG. And you are teaching me about logical fallacies and disservice to comment readers? :) I've processed thousands of Fuji RAW images. FF wins, no competition. FF has better detail clarity, better contrast, less aberrations, nicer and cheaper lens options. I don't even have to focus and recompose to beat the crop. Shooting wider and cropping/composing later is enough.

2 weeks ago
DrewRick

Lol ok sure :D

1 week ago
Bueche
Bueche

X-trans? Nein, danke.

4 weeks ago
DrewRick

Found the person who is bad with computers XD

3 weeks ago
Toni Salmonelli
Toni Salmonelli

"And did I mention that it looks really slick in charcoal silver?"

I really like that charcoal silver (as opposed to the normal silver) and I wish Fuji would add that color to the X-T3 line-up.

4 weeks ago
blink667

Cameras, the new “bling”.

3 weeks ago
Kid Kurtz
Kid Kurtz

And knock champagne on the head. It's not 1986.

3 weeks ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

The "grip" a camerabody plus lens offers to the hand is essential; it can and will mean the difference between a hand cramping up or staying pain free.

This bit of the review "The X-T30 fits well in the hand, and the fact that it's not a 'tall' camera allows your fingers to support it from underneath the grip." seems nonsensical and unncessarily positive to me.

"allows"? Your little finger and maybe your ring finger as well will not be accomodated by the grip, so they are either dangling off (uncomfortable) or trying to acquire some purchase on the underside of the camera body (uncomfortable as well).

Even my FM2n/3a bodies allow the entire left hand side of the body to be gripped, evn better so with an Enzo Patagonean leather half-case which has a bulge for your fingers to curl around on the front and a smaller bulge on the back that functions as thumbrest.

4 weeks ago
Peter1976

differnt people, different views... for me, the size of a body is not that important, as it more or less "lies" on my left hand and the left hand acts as a "stand" for it when having it at the eye. When not shooting but just holding the camera, I grip it by the lens. :)

4 weeks ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

"Even my FM2n/3a bodies allow the entire left hand side of the body "... right hand side, obviously.

Anyway, it's what is comfortable for the individual user; that's what counts.

4 weeks ago
skanter
skanter

Many of us (especially street shooters) shoot one-handed. I could not use this camera because of the lack of a grip. The Sony 6xxx bodies fit perfectly in the hand. A hand grip strap - essential for any camera, makes a small camera a part of the hand for holding and shooting one or two-handed.

3 weeks ago
guyfawkes
guyfawkes

No way intended as a criticism, but why do street shooters prefer shooting one handed? Genuinely interested in understanding why, that's all.

5 days ago
skanter
skanter

I said “many of us” - not “all”. I often do shoot one-handed, as the way I do street photography requires very fast, immediate-response framing and shooting of fast-moving subjects, at different angles and POVs, in difficult, candid situations.

For me, the camera is an extention of my hand, not a “thing’ I carry.

3 days ago*
BazzzH

ILIS is a waste of money. With every glass you buy, you're paying again for mediocre stabilisation (2, 3 stops on intermediate tele). IBIS would allow for better glass instead of mechanics. Intelligent software controlled IBIS (Knowing what kind of lens is on the body) is cheaper, better. Apart form that, this thing is ugly ands bulky. The brand has been second thier before digital, haven't convinced me that they are better now.

4 weeks ago
4 weeks ago
Androole

I agree that IBIS is table stakes, but bulky is a super bizarre criticism for this camera. The more common complaint is that its size is too fiddly and cramped - the opposite of bulky.

4 weeks ago
D_Gunman

XT30 is bulky? Only Trump would say such thing lol

4 weeks ago
ChicagoRob
ChicagoRob

@BazzH: BS, the Tamron 24-70 G2 has 5 stops of stabilization.

4 weeks ago
BazzzH

Tamron. 24-70. 5 stops. Enough said ;)

1 week ago
Androole

Have those 5 stops ever been tested and verified as such? Sounds unlikely...

1 week ago
noisephotographer

Unexplainable that the sample gallery doesn't seem to have DR200 or DR400 images. That's the most important advantage of Fujifilm cameras in my opinion.

4 weeks ago
noisephotographer

For example the DR200 or DR400 dynamic range is far superior to Canon Highlight Tone Priority jpgs, even when you use the lowest contrast setting with Canon cameras.

4 weeks ago
NotANumber

The old lovely rendering with Fuji color that pops out of your screen is gone. The new rendering is more realistic but somehow also flat. I found the same thing with Panasonic's 16 Mp sensor, everything is sharp, the color is accurate, but they just lack certain translucent clarity.

4 weeks ago
thenoilif

“translucent clarity”? LOL

4 weeks ago
keeponkeepingon

Everything looks "meh" then I realized that y'all are using ACR to process fuji X-Trans raw files?

What's up with that? Are the Adobe ACR/X-Trans issues "fixed"????

Thanks!

4 weeks ago*
Gary Martin
Gary Martin

Tough crowd.

4 weeks ago
SkiHound

Yep, pretty much every thread on new camera is a sh_t show.

4 weeks ago
D_Gunman

More like a bunch of insecure whiners who have never used Fuji cameras or have no interest in Fuji cameras to begin with.

4 weeks ago
racin06

Considering that Nikon and Canon both laid big turds with the Z6/Z7 and EOS R/RP, I can understand the negativity. It's probably annoying to these Nikon and Canon owners that Fujifilm continues to hit home run after home run with each camera released. Even Panasonic is releasing a superior FF mirrorless camera when compared to Nikon and Canon's initial offerings.

4 weeks ago
CaPi

"Rational people might disagree" .
You never used the new R. Nor are the other offerings as described

4 weeks ago
ecka84
ecka84

Why are you people so orgasmic about USING a camera? Seems like Fuji is a magnet for all sorts of camera fetishists. It's just a camera. It's a tool. Big deal ... Bu no, you're always like - "have you ever UuUuSED a Fuji camera?!" - No, thank you, I don't want to be weird like you guys :). I'd rather get a real (FF) camera, because I care about the pictures, not this freaky touchy-feely camera-photog relationship. I'm not buying or using a camera if I don't like the images it produces.

4 weeks ago*
DrewRick

"Real FF", is that like deeper pixels?

3 weeks ago
DarnGoodPhotos

Real FF... so 35mm film.

2 weeks ago
GabrielZ
GabrielZ

The continued use of that tiny EVF (still at about the same magnification as my X-E2!) and slow UHS-I SD card slot are deal-breakers for me unfortunately, I have misgivings with those two things on my X-E2 which is why I barely use it anymore. And why on Earth did they lower the joystick to that unergonomic position? If it had a higher magnification finder and faster SD slot, I would seriously consider upgrading from my now ancient X-E2! Even with that sillily repositioned joystick.

4 weeks ago
John

That is precisely why I bought the X-T3. Vastly improved EVF and quickly saves pictures over the X-E1.

4 weeks ago
Foto64
Foto64

Usually a fan of Fuji images but to my eye there is something off about these. Maybe the post processing ?

4 weeks ago
MDicnMan

Thank you for confirming my thoughts. I actually had to pull up some other images to be sure it wasn't my eyes or my monitor.

4 weeks ago
CaPi

which generation of Fuji imaging? They change it with every new sensor

4 weeks ago
Dimych72

T20 is already too old and boring, so Fuji needs to show some development and issues T30 with some minor changes with small effort.

4 weeks ago
kreislauf
kreislauf

If you start finding a working camera-concept "old and boring", maybe it's time for another hobby? fashion maybe?

4 weeks ago
Dimych72

i guess all modern new cameras are "working", you definitely need some other parameters to distinguish.. :)

4 weeks ago
Peter1976

I really like the X-T10/20 series, but as someone wearing glasses I can hardly use the view finder... so much light spill and you are so far away... much better on X-T1/2/3

4 weeks ago
Toni Salmonelli
Toni Salmonelli

Exactly the big viewfinder of the X-T2 was the biggest selling point over the X-T20 for me. I use the setting, where the picture in the EVF is a little bit minimised and therefore does not cover the whole EVF screen. Of course this is a waste, but this allows to comfortably see the whole picture with my specs on and the resulting picture is still big enough.

I do not know if the X-T20 / 30 series of cameras offer this particular setting, but the EVF would be to small anyway.

4 weeks ago
Jefftan

i don't want x-trans
pass

4 weeks ago
pentaust

it doesn't matter, we have to sell.

4 weeks ago
blessingx
blessingx

x-trans > jeff-tans

4 weeks ago
kodachromeguy

Oh my gosh, when will you "experts" end this crap about X-trans? That is what Fuji uses in many of their cameras. Not interested? Go to the 100+ other cameras on the market with the Bayer array.

4 weeks ago
D_Gunman

Thanks for coming here to tell us how much you don’t want this camera.

4 weeks ago
Toni Salmonelli
Toni Salmonelli

As a Fuji user (with an X-Trans camera), I don't mind X-Trsns, but honestly I'd prefer a Bayer sensor if I had the choice. I think with 24+ MP on the current APS-C sensors the original case of X-Trans (alialising surpression) is pretty much gone and it is more like a marketing thing now. When I am informed correctly all other manufacturers with the exception of Canon have omitted AA-filters too on their APS-C sensor with the step from 16 to 24 MP sensors.

4 weeks ago
LookintotheMirrorlessoften

What a depressing gallery... must be a fuji color thing

4 weeks ago
Thematic

or a LookintotheMirrolessoften troll thing.

4 weeks ago
kristian2000
kristian2000

Probably, most of the Fuji film simulations avoid the garish cotton candy-rainbow style that some like.

4 weeks ago
radissimo
radissimo

or winter happening (northern hemisphere)

4 weeks ago
ChicagoRob
ChicagoRob

Go back to your mom’s basement.

4 weeks ago
Toni Salmonelli
Toni Salmonelli

@ christian: Glad you sad "most" because Velvia has lots of that cotton candy color. :-)

4 weeks ago
LookintotheMirrorlessoften

Seems like the fuji trolls are the most toxic

4 weeks ago
Richard Murdey
Richard Murdey

The sample gallery doesn't do the Fuji rendering any favors.

4 weeks ago
GrantBFoto

This is a humble request for some sample images with more foreground/background layering.

4 weeks ago
spaulrit2000

Does anyone on if the X-T2 accessories will work with the X-t30 - specifically the battery grip?

Thank you

4 weeks ago
DarnGoodPhotos

The XT## bodies don't have contacts for battery grips. Beyond that they are much smaller so an XT# grip really wouldn't work.

4 weeks ago
sosh
sosh

Meh. Not for me. Colors/contrast. Not for me. Even not considering tricks to get it right)
PS I've not even say mft name:-) A hint for other bushers of other brands. LOL

4 weeks ago*
NCB

Nor me either. I've tried, but I just can't see this thing about "wonderful Fuji colors". For me Nikon, Canon and Panasonic do it so much better.

4 weeks ago
mdb1974
mdb1974

Recent survey/test of over 1000 photographers showed that there was almost one ability for photographers to actually discern cameras by their color science.

4 weeks ago
sosh
sosh

mdb1974, please do not write about FujiColor. when contrast is damn high, it is obvious

4 weeks ago*
mdb1974
mdb1974

Sosh, I made no comment about Fuji color. Just commented, with actual, although not deeply scientific data, that there are a ton of blow hards who make claims about their color expertise that when tested don't know their head from a hole in the ground (present company excluded of course ;), and had no ability to recognize canon over nikon over fuji over sony, if your high contrast claims were valid that would be evident in the survey.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMfCDujQywY

4 weeks ago*
Rob890

Not sure about that video especially the guy who made it, I can see a difference from a Nikon and Fuji camera, moreover a Foveon camera. To me, the higher the resolution gets with Fuji's X-trans sensor, the worse and over contrast, their images seem. X-trans offers no noticeable advantages but has considerable disadvantages, which prompts people to consider their workflow when processing their images. Adobe is not perfect, but Capture One is not that far better for Fuji

4 weeks ago
mdb1974
mdb1974

Rob890 Yeah, I can't speak to his credentials. By his own admission there was a lack of scientific rigor to his survey but, fundamentally, 1,500 photographers could not consistently differentiate between camera brand imagery. Even though I shoot fujifilm I can't pick a fuji image over my 5d based on color (lenses are a bigger factor than sensors). No offense to you personally but the limited actual data does not support the strong biases expressed on this forum in regard to color science. It was accepted in certain circles that Sony can't do skin tones. I had a high level pro tell me that as though it were fact. But, in comparisons people can't discern those "obvious" differences. Someone earlier in this feed said the only substantive differences in real life imagery lie in performance and experience. I love the Fuji experience, others don't, there are other makes to choose from but these types of criticism seem to be pure conjecture with nothing but opinion to back them up.

4 weeks ago*
Rob890

@mdb1974 A lot of it is conjecture indeed and other factors have to be considered when doing such comparison, lens, as you mentioned definitely has to be included due to the unique characteristics they provide, well at least some. Again personally for me, I can't discern between Nikon and Canon, however, I can do so with Fuji and Nikon and most assuredly that between them all regarding a Foveon camera. For me, a Foveon produces the most accurate colors and produces the best results for skin tones. Check this guy out, for example, https://www.mmaddock.co.uk/Sigma-DP-Quattro/ does some pretty nice work with one

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

I have to say, if this is 75%+ of what the XT3 is, then I'm interested.... I like what i see so far (was considering an XT3 but maybe I'll just get an XT30 since it seems to be a viable alternative that's a bit cheaper, as I am finding that I need a second Fuji body at times). I just wish they would have taken a piece from the XT100 and used a Bayer sensor instead of their X-Trans, but other than that, I think it will be a good seller (especially to the existing Fuji crowd).

4 weeks ago
medon78
medon78

Nice colors. Like.

4 weeks ago
getochkn
getochkn

Can I assume that Fuji is keeping tethering off this model and only for the higher models. Also, is there a remote port. These two things are what I want a small astro camera and studio camera.

4 weeks ago
FTOG

Yes, I'd assume the X-T30 won't come with tethering support.

As for remote shutter release: In the past, there were two supported connections. A proprietary remote release, or - more conveniently - attaching any 2.5mm remote release to the microphone plug. The camera will prompt to confirm what has been connected and you're good to go. I'm using a Canon RS-60 E3 I already had, because it's light, small and cheap.
The above worked for the X-E2/3 and X-T20, but since the X-T30 handbook is not online yet, I cannot confirm it with 100% certainty.

4 weeks ago*
scoobysnapstories

q menu should be somewhere else I agree, same as joystick, but wondering how fat this writer's thumb is? lmfao.

4 weeks ago
henrikbengtsson

To every cameramaker in the world: THIS is how you render colors

4 weeks ago
CaPi

It was. Every generation of X Trans has a different rendition. No accounting to taste. I prefer the 2nd: 16mp. This I dont like

4 weeks ago
UllerellU

I also prefer the creamy colors of XT1, but I have found that "any" camera can reproduce perfect colors and contrast outside the camera, in fact my RX10 takes out very "Fuji" colors with my current configuration. OCC Fuji colors and maybe Canon / Olympus are more pleasant (to my clear eyes) without having to touch anything. All the other brands that I have had to modify to achieve desirable colors and good balance between contrast and DR in the JPG outside of On the other hand, nice colors and faithful colors are not the same, and apparently the brand that reproduces the real colors with greater fidelity is ... Sony! (yes, I know, it sounds quite surprising)

4 weeks ago
retr01976

Agree 100%. I switched from FF to Fuji just because I really can't get (no matter how much work I do) the look I get from Fuji cameras (also Fuji's tiny f2 primes are equally as good as the very best L and Zeiss optics I have owned at a fraction of the price). I honestly don't what the secret sauce is they use, but it makes my jaw drop more than any other camera i have ever used...

4 weeks ago*
LookintotheMirrorlessoften

I much prefer the colors of my a7iii than the depressing green/grey fuji colors. Some people just jumped to the hype train.

4 weeks ago
henrikbengtsson

@LookintotheMirrorlessoften:

Nice try

4 weeks ago
Joseph K Boston
Joseph K Boston

@LookintotheMirrorlessoften: Try calibrating your monitor. Or your biases.

4 weeks ago
Karroly

I did not find any depressing green Fuji colors in this gallery. The pictures are somewhat gray, but I would rather say "neutral", without a touch of warm. But this is normal, IMHO : most of these shots were taken on a overcast day (no shadows).

DPR,
Please, could you add in the "Details" box of the gallery, for JPEG shots, the type of White Balance used ? It would be useful, for those who mainly shoot JPEG, for comparing cameras in similar lighting/white balance configurations. Or do you always use AWB ?

4 weeks ago
LookintotheMirrorlessoften

You may disagree, that doesn’t make me biased LOL
Maybe you’re... I simply don’t find anything pleasing about the colors in the picture, they just look grungy

4 weeks ago
UllerellU

In my years of work in graphic arts I have learned that color is a relative value, not absolute, so I always say "in my opinion" or "for my eyes" when I speak of color. There is no point in arguing about something so subjective, the colors Fuji, Canon and Olympus tend to please because they are more creamy and saturated than those of Sony, Nikon or Pentax. But they are not necessarily better or worse, there are no "better or worse" colors, it depends on the observer. That if in the measurable or "scientific" part it seems that Sony has the most accurate colors with respect to reality.

4 weeks ago
Hellraiser

@LookintotheMirrorlessoften
Of course the colors look gray in winter overcast day. How do you think they should look?

4 weeks ago
UllerellU

Why not supply a decent eyecap fuji? since the EFV is so small, ridiculous and not very usable ... I do not understand it, I have had many cameras, some even "bridge cameras" and the EVF stands out enough from the body of the camera to be able to use it without hit the body of the camera with your nose continuously. Horrible, one of the reasons why I returned my XT10, in addition to its poor construction quality (the integrated flash cover and the battery did not fit perfectly, they had slack ...) I do not understand the construction quality of Fujifilm , I had that XT10 one X70 (overheating, manufacturing marks around the lens) and one XT1 and only the latter was "saved", to see if we understand "metal finish" it is not equal to quality, adjustments and finishes, that is construction quality. Anyway, at least the XT-3 seems to have a decent Eyecap like that XT-1. My impression thinking about my XT-10 and X70 is that fuji is very, very, very overrated as a brand.

4 weeks ago*
Androole

It is more important that the camera is perceived as being very small.

4 weeks ago
Mr Bolton

I'm not sure what Ullerellu is on about WRT Fuji's build quality... Both my X100 and X100T cameras were/are solid, and my X-E1 has endured more abuse than any non-WR camera from 2012 should have had to. Every Fuji I've ever held in my hands from the department store Finepix S1500 on up, have been very well made.

4 weeks ago*
UllerellU

My XT-10 model was silver, so the slack line on the integrated flash cover was even more evident (a black line was visible) and of course it moved when it had to be fully engaged. It seemed a total fudge, the battery cover had slack too. It was bought new in a place of total confidence. The X70 had small marks on the inner edges of the lens and slack in the battery cover too, it warmed up, I ordered 2 Amazon replacements, all the same, poor build quality. The XT-1 I noticed normal, nor outstanding, did not seem to have gaps or defects of assembly or heating, at least not manufactured. Since then I have had RX100 (Mk1), RX100 (Mk3), A6000, RX10 (MK1), FZ1000 and LX100 (MK3). Of all these cameras the worst quality of construction is for X70 and XT10 and to a lesser extent Sony RX100 (mk3).

4 weeks ago
Pixel8888

I fully agree.

This company offers one for the xt10/20. Innovative design. In mass production it would cost a few cents for Fuji and the could have included it for free.

The great thing is that it covers the diopter wheel, so this wheel cannot move by itself. That's always a problem using manual lenses.

https:///eyecup-for-fujifilm-x-t10-x-t20-x-e3/

4 weeks ago
Pixel8888

Amendment to my posting

I had no problems with the XT 10 built quality EXCEPT the replay button dead problem.

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3989209

This is absolutely unacceptable. It is a construction failure, and Fuji should solve it under warranty.
But they don't. It is a very expensive repair. The button is soldered to the motherboard, and the whole motherboard has to be replaced.

4 weeks ago
Swerky

For their next X-T.. and X-E models, Fuji better somewhat downgrade the autofocus system and put a better, more usable EVF with better eyepoint.

4 weeks ago
Mateus1

Agree. I see X-T30 as wonderful small video camera which with small gimbal can be a great tool for filming documents. For still reportage, landcape or portraiture I would not buy it because of this old, tiny EVF with terrible eyepiont.

4 weeks ago
Doug Pardee
Doug Pardee

The thing is, mirrorless autofocus is pretty much all software. There's not really much cost saving to be achieved there unless you use a cheaper sensor and/or processor (Fuji's X-A line, for example). Good EVFs, on the other hand, need expensive OLED and optical components -- which is why mirrorless cameras tend to cost more than similar DSLRs. And it's harder to fit a larger OLED into a smaller camera body.

4 weeks ago
Mateus1

Look at A6400 it has EVF with x71 magnification and long eyepoint compared to Fuji with x62 magn. I think there is a place in X-T30/X-E3 that Fuji could put at least x70 EVF.
X-E1/2 have better eyepoint.

4 weeks ago
Toni Salmonelli
Toni Salmonelli

@ Doug: I do not agree. If mirrorless cameras would generally be more expensive than DSLRs with the same features and performance (which I also doubt), than its nor because MILCs are more expensive to produce, but because manufacturers are able to charge more because MILCs are new and innovative (a classical case of Schumpeter benefit). DSLRs with the same specs and performance need the same sensors and processors as MILCs and big OVF are made up of expensive optics too. On top, DSLRs need additional hardware like a separate exposure sensor, a separate AF sensor and the mirror plus its mechanical parts.

4 weeks ago
SandySandy

The Gold and Silver Awards should be given to cameras across al price ranges. Instead of only the premium priced ones.

4 weeks ago
CaPi

The premiums dont get it more often

4 weeks ago
Barney Britton
Barney Britton

This isn't a review, so it hasn't yet been awarded anything. Although given how attractive the X-T30's feature set and performance appears to be considering its MSRP, it could very well get an award!

4 weeks ago
Androole

They are distributed across price ranges. The Panasonic G85 is in this price range and got a Gold Award.

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

They are distributed among the various ranges. Go look at a review of a $500 DSLR and you'll see Silver and Gold awards. Same for the $2000+ camera reviews... and AFAIK the Gold/Silver thing isn't limited to one per classification... I believe DPR does allow for multiple gold/silvers in a particular category.

4 weeks ago*
Ustinforever

X-T20 got silver award, X-E3 got gold award. They both cost about the same.

4 weeks ago
tbcass
tbcass

The reviewer said the camera has “a solid feel”. It’s possible for a camera to feel solid yet be poorly made. I’m not saying that’s the case with this camera, only that feel is not necessarily a reliable way to judge build quality.

4 weeks ago
John Bean (UK)

How true. You can use many an old junk Zenit as a hammer such is its solid feel.

Fortunately the Fujis are not only solid but rather better made than a Zenit :-)

4 weeks ago
CaPi

Lighter is better. It need not be a slab of led like the current macpbook pro

4 weeks ago
tbcass
tbcass

I’m not in the lighter is always better camp. I Iike a camera with some weight to it as long as it’s not extreme.

4 weeks ago
AbrasiveReducer

As long as it's built like a tank, I'm fine with it.

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

For me, it's weather sealing is a bit more important and then weight providing the camera isn't severely overweight compared to its competition (obviously IQ and ergonomics are the first two), A variance like 100g is not much of a difference in my opinion.

4 weeks ago
John

"In fact, the X-T30 truly is a 'baby X-T3' and, unless you're a serious videographer or need a more rugged body"

OR need a higher magnification / higher resolution EVF

"Would I like to have the larger (and higher resolution) EVF and more rugged body of the X-T3?"

I do, which is why I bought and would still buy the X-T3.

That is also why you get the lower resolution / lower magnification EVF with the X-T30. If you had the same EVF as the X-T3, the X-T30 would be nothing more than a cheaper X-T3. And as a camera manufacturer, why would one do that?

4 weeks ago
left eye
left eye

I'd say the main factor for choosing the X-T30 is that it's smaller than the X-T3, and when paired with a small prime it's truly compact in size. Visa versa, with larger lenses the X-T3 is better balanced.

Price and the EVF will play their part but I think size is a major factor. Some might even pay more for a small camera, while some wouldn't even consider a 'small' camera.

4 weeks ago
Leicalika

To left eye;

to secure a more solid position in a constasntly shrinking market

4 weeks ago*
CaPi

There is nothing comparable of this size on the marke.t Find your niche

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

I'd get the XT30 over the XT3 mainly because it's the same optics, but a cheaper price (obviously, the XT30 lacks some features, like the better EVF and dual card slots, but for me, IQ is the most important---and both use the same sensor and processor).

4 weeks ago
KLO82

I personally don't like shutter speed and ISO dials of Fujis - those feel gimmicky. And wish this camera had flip screen.

4 weeks ago
Doug Pardee
Doug Pardee

There is no ISO dial on the X-T30.

You can set the shutter speed dial to T and control shutter speed from the command dials if you want.

It has a standard flip screen (up/down). What it doesn't have is an articulating screen. Or a 2-way flip screen like the X-T3 and X-T100.

4 weeks ago
Hugo808
Hugo808

Treat yourself to a Sony and stop being so silly.

4 weeks ago
Androole

The shutter speed dial is fine, but ISO dials on a camera made in 2019 are a mistake. It's for the best that the X-T30 omits it.

4 weeks ago*
KLO82

@Doug: I meant 180-degree tiltable LCD.

4 weeks ago
Hugo808
Hugo808

I like the ISO dials on my X-T2 because you can shift between auto settings as well as keeping it right down for effects like slow shutter speeds or tripod work at night. When you get used to it, and can remember which way to turn it, it becomes second nature.

4 weeks ago
FTOG

Setting the shutter speed dial to "T" allows you to use a command dial for SS control. I'm using my X-E2 that way. Sure, it'd be a dial you are not using, but it shouldn't be the only reason to keep you from getting the X-T30.

4 weeks ago
Peak freak

I asked the question about the merits of the analogue shutter speed dial elsewhere.
As someone who almost exclusively shoots in manual (i.e. changes shutter speed often) I don't know why anyone would want to use two dials to change speed instead of one. Form over function.
ISO dial would be useful, but I like the look of Canon's 'FV' where you quickly assign any exposure parameter to either dial.

4 weeks ago*
sirhawkeye64

You also don't have to use the ISO and SS dials. You can program the camera (maybe not on the XT20 or XT30, but on the XT2) to use the front/rear command dials to control that stuff. They put the ISO and SS dials for those of us who either shot film and/or like the dials (I like them because I can adjust ISO without having to go into menus, so I can keep the camera to my eye and make adjustments faster than I could if I had to use a menu).

4 weeks ago*
ikaika777

Then buy one of Sony’s bar of soap PlayStation camera’s. Fuji’s are definitely not for you

4 weeks ago*
mdb1974
mdb1974

It’s strange to me that with 6 major camera makers offering similar dial/menu settings so many people feel the need to pile on Fuji for a departure that a lot of people love. Don’t buy one if you don’t want one. It’s pretty simple.

4 weeks ago
Pixel8888

I used to have a Pentax Spotmatic F decades ago. These wheels make me feel at home. I just wish they could be locked.

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

@mdb1974 agree completely. So Fuji wants to do things differently (less menus, more dials). There are other options out there for those who don't like what Fuji is doing, and honestly, they're good cameras as well. The main thing is find one that you like, that works for you, and make great pictures with it.... after all, the resulting images are what's the most important thing in photography, right?

4 weeks ago*
Hugo808
Hugo808

Pixel888, the Spotmatic F was a lovely camera. My dad bought one in 1974 and handed it down to me, I used it for decades and then passed it to a photography student as gear like that are the best things to learn your skills on.

I've no doubt it's still going strong somewhere!

4 weeks ago
Truebar
Truebar

All those amazing video features and then no IBIS..

4 weeks ago
Doug Pardee
Doug Pardee

To my limited knowledge, there are only two APS-C mirrorless camera models with IBIS: the Fuji X-H1 and the Sony a6500.

4 weeks ago
Androole

I think the expectation is that you carry a tripod with you at all times if you want to shoot video.

4 weeks ago
its_a_knife

IBIS isn't always your friend. I have seen some really bad jello artifacts from internal stabilization. A rig of any kind will always beat IBIS in terms of IQ.

4 weeks ago
CaPi

IBIS will not be possible for an aps-c camera of this size

4 weeks ago
Androole

CaPi - not a good argument. The A6500 is the same size.

4 weeks ago
CaPi

Didnt feel thay way when I held it in my hand. Did not read up.

4 weeks ago*
sirhawkeye64

It's also a $900 camera. Can't have all the bells and whistles, plus most of Fuji's lenses are optically stabalized. My XT2 doesn't have IBIS and quite frankly, I have never had that many issues regarding not having it. The few times I have, it was my own fault (poor technique or a SS that was way too slow).

I see IBIS as a benefit more to videographers than photographers (yes both would benefit from the technology) but if you want to get good shots, and are not "limited" by tripod use, exercise good technique and you should be fine (ie. use a tripod when possible/feasible) or pay attention to your shutter speed to avoid camera shake (use ISO if you have to to keep SS high enough).

4 weeks ago*
Pixel8888

IBIS on smaller sensors should be easier to implement, less mass to move. The tiny Olympus cameras have it perfectly integrated. The not much bigger FF Sony and Nikon's mirror less have it too.

It's one of Fujis biggest mistakes not having IBIS in it's XT and GFX models. Especially since most XF and GFX primes are not stabilized.

4 weeks ago
ikaika777

@CaPi, um, then why does the Ricoh GRIII have 3-axis IBIS and is smaller than the X-T30?

4 weeks ago
Truebar
Truebar

@Doug Pardee
And this camera could be the good add on to those 2 cameras. Why not? Excellent video features in particular should be supported by IBIS. I think it's a noticeable fault not to add this to the camera. Plus let's not forget, for a lot of people it will be a carry on landscape camera too.

4 weeks ago
Truebar
Truebar

@Androole
Yes, if you want to shoot video of boring board management meetings and presentations. But if you want to shoot a video for a band, in my experience, most of the time you will have the camera in your hands. I can imagine many other examples where you really wont want use tripod to shoot video. And by the way, why would I want to submit my professional and consumer needs to those of the manufacturer?

4 weeks ago
Truebar
Truebar

@sirhawkeye64
Agree with you. Yet you have your own way of shooting which caters to your needs and expectations. You have your experiences shooting with non IBIS camera and of course you adapt yourself because you have too. But perhaps all that can be done in much more convenient and practical way.
Having an IBIS in the camera really comes handy and most time it really can make a huge difference.

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

Convenient yes, but the point of my post was that it is possible to get by without it (don't get me wrong, I'll take it if its an option) but don't dismiss a camera because it doesn't have it, because you may be missing out on an otherwise good camera.

The other thing is that I don't shoot video, and so my need for IBIS is less. But again, that's me. I'm sure a videographer or someone else might still disagree. Yes it can make a difference and as to why Fuji didn't put it into this body is a bit puzzling--may have had to do with cost and possible cannibalization of its H1.

4 weeks ago
CaPi

@IKAI: I was honestly surprised to see that. Thats innovation right there to only go for 3 axis IBIS

4 weeks ago
ikaika777

@capi, I’ll take 3-axis IBIS on a camera that small over 0-IBIS.

4 weeks ago
CaPi

I was implying that a 3way system may be more compact than a 5way ibis. I wonder how it will do in a potential review

4 weeks ago
ikaika777

@Capi, I hope it works great. Now imagine 3-axis IBIS in the X-T30/X-E line of camera’s and then paired with the Fuji lenses that have OIS working together. Fuji would have a big hit on their hands.

4 weeks ago
nerd2

Tiny EVF, even tinier grip. $129 add-on grip is a must, which makes this camera more expensive than now-discounted A7mk2.

4 weeks ago
DarnGoodPhotos

Unless you buy ac$20 grip on eBay.

4 weeks ago
retr01976

Rather have this camera than any Sony A7 series camera just because of the output and lenses.

4 weeks ago
io_bg
io_bg

Or simply support the camera/lens from below with your left hand.

4 weeks ago
skanter
skanter

No grip - unuseable.

1 month ago
retr01976

I have big hands and I own the XT-20, no issue for me.

1 month ago
Doug Pardee
Doug Pardee

It depends on how you've learned to hold a camera. It used to be that portable cameras (and attached lenses) were held in your left hand, while your right hand operated the controls, aimed the camera, and squeezed the shutter release.

About 30-35 years ago, grips started to appear and many people started holding the camera with their right hand. For them, a large, solid grip is important. Image stabilization is a bit more important for them, too.

[It also used to be that people's index fingers were their most dextrous, as almost any old movie showing "two-finger typing" illustrates. Nowadays, the younger folks operate their mobile phones with their thumbs, and the phrase "all thumbs" -- meaning "clumsy" -- doesn't make any sense. Things change.]

4 weeks ago
kodachromeguy

Don't tell us, this is a "deal breaker," right,?

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

Ergonomics, as always, is subjective. What one says feels comfortable, the next may say it's not. I agree that sometimes shooting without a grip is cumbersome, especially when shooting vertical, but I'm sure that someone will release a 3rd party grip for the XT30 as others have for older models (maybe not a battery grip, but a grip).

4 weeks ago
Pixel8888

You can always add a grip later. But you cannot make a out of the box big camera smaller.

Get a cheap after market grip or a XT 3.

The signature of the XT10/20/30 line is a small body size.

4 weeks ago
ZeroGravitas

Specs specs specs - how about the user experience?
That's where fuji fall flat.

1 month ago
Acrill
Acrill

Have you ever used one?

Most of us who actually use Fuji cameras love the user experience and feel like that is their strong point.

1 month ago*
ZeroGravitas

I've heard positive reviews for the way the camera looks, but only lukewarm reviews at best for their handling. I suspect this flaw comes from mimicking retro body designs that aren't commensurate with digital photography.

1 month ago
Richrf
Richrf

Handling is very poor. The EVF is about as small as they could make it without being too obvious about how they were trying to cripple the camera. The rest of the buttons are made for baby fingers and the dials are scrunched together. It feels like a toy camera compared to the X-T20 which has far superior ergonomics and cheaper in used condition. No one should purchase this crippled camera until actually handling enough to understand how uncomfortable it can be the more you use it. And then of course there is that absurdly expensive love of lenses with no alternatives.

1 month ago*
1 month ago
jor23

The af mode dial in the front is a joke on these cameras.

4 weeks ago
DarnGoodPhotos

Why is it a joke?

4 weeks ago
jor23

try to turn it with gloves?

4 weeks ago
DarnGoodPhotos

That toggle has been used on lots of Fuji's I've owned and gloves have never posed a problem.

4 weeks ago
jor23

it could be that I am turning it wrong ...

4 weeks ago
DarnGoodPhotos

I don't twist it, but rather rest the tip of my index finger on the larger raised part and push/pull it (my finger moves parallel to the bottom of the camera). Its easy to do and it is always in reach of where my left hand naturally is; I don't even need to look at the camera while changing it.

4 weeks ago*
ZeroGravitas

If detailed instructions are needed to operate a mode dial, then the ergonomics are surely poor.

4 weeks ago
DarnGoodPhotos

Turn to operate.

Everyone loves articulating screens despite their requiring more instruction than a simple dial.

I certainly don't want that AF mode toggle to stick out further.

4 weeks ago*
sirhawkeye64

For the focus selector switch, I just push on it with my finger and turn. I don't try to turn using the little nib on the dial. Many dials (regardless of brand or model) will be a challenge with gloves on.

4 weeks ago
Kharan
Kharan

People, predictably, are ganging up on you for daring to dismiss the holy ritual that is handling a Fuji camera!
But you're not alone, my friend. I also do not like their interface, the ancient hard dials, the eye sensor (it's the third generation - fix it already, FFS!), and the huge disconnect between some tasks and others (AF has gotten really fast, for example, but going into and out of video recording is slooow).
It's a shame, because I like a lot of what Fujifilm are doing in terms of lenses and general approach to photography, but these stylistic and technical decisions just don't work for me.

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

I would be nice if they did move the focus selector switch to either a button on the back or a lever on the back as opposed to the front. Although I can sometimes see some logic to putting it there: so you don't accidentally change focus modes while holding the camera/shooting. I've done this a few times with my D750 while holding it (accidently went from AF-S to AF-C but pressing the focus button in on accident, while moving the command dial--thinking I was just changing aperture or shutter speed).

4 weeks ago*
Gwynedd
Gwynedd

That is the opposite of what I think about my Fuji vs My Sony. Fuji = a fun time sony = top features.

4 weeks ago
Bilbo_bobbins
Bilbo_bobbins

ha ha, never used one I see. User experience is where Fuji are strongest. It's the main reason I left Canon and went to Fuji.

1 week ago
sirhawkeye64

I look to mine for more weight for the purpose; Fuji is good for street; Nikon or Fuji are good for landscape (although I reach for my Nikon most times for landscapes). For portraits, it depends. Usually the Nikon but will sometimes use the Fuji with the 16-55. So for me, it's mostly about weight as they're both 24MP and they both do a decent job in low light (the Nikon has the edge in low light but the Fuji isn't a slouch either in that regard).

1 week ago
Mateus1

Very good video features including F-Log, Eterna, Slow motion, 4K and external 10bit 4:2:2... but why no Zebra? It's a must for right exposure in video.
Hope Fuji will bring it soon via firmware udate.

1 month ago*
Mateus1

It turned out X-T30 has Zebra!

4 weeks ago
Alexstaytrue
Alexstaytrue

A Gold Reward is guaranteed here.
As M4/3 shooter, I'm happy with Fuji coming out with this kind of killer camera, good for the whole industry to push ahead quickly, not still squeezing toothpaste.

1 month ago
Fastguitars
Fastguitars

Personally, im not interested in the next 20 Fuji cameras that dont have IBS.
This is not the dark ages, and IBS is not some yet to be discovered tech.
Sure, i can get the 16, or the 18X55, and have IS, if i want to carry around a black dumbell/brick, but, i dont care for these ultra heavy lenses.
So, F-fans, rejoice, as here is one more Fuji "new" product, that hopes you can live without any type of IS, and in that case, grab the 27mm, and get some nice fuzzy photos and the occasional perfect one, just like you find with the X70.
Or, buy the 35mm, then that one is stabilized (1.4) and its a great lens.
And Yep, ive owned the X-H1, and its great, except its large and heavy.
Its actually larger (body) then the Sony RX10-IV
There are about 34,566 of X-H1s 4 sale "used" on Amazon....so, i guess all became tired of carrying a toaster around.
Fuji, needs to acquire some engineers from Panasonic, as these designers know how to make it small, powerful, and fun.

1 month ago*
deeotee

I‘m sorry, but I have no idea what you‘re talking about.
There is neither a 16 nor a 35 which is stabilised. Neither are pictures without IBIS/IS fuzzy per sé. And it‘s definitely incredible for a APS-C body to be bigger and heavier than a RX10.
And I don‘t see how the the new FF-lenses from Panasonic are small...

4 weeks ago
sirhawkeye64

I've seen IBIS fail people sometimes so it's not always a gaurantee that IBIS will be a benefit. Actually, I think PhotographyLife did an article on the pros/cons of OIS versus IBIS. I think from their findings, longer telephotos are better off with OIS and shorter FLs are better off with IBIS (although I'm not sure if IBIS+OIS is any benefit or any better/worse--maybe worse if the two don't talk to eachother). I don't know, but either way, to rule out a camera simply because it doesn't have IBIS means you may be missing out on some pretty good cameras, just because they lacked ONE feature.

4 weeks ago*
ikaika777

Boy, how did REAL photographers ever deal with not having IBIS? Darn those first world problems. 🤦🏼‍♂️

4 weeks ago
jonby

Good specs for the money, I guess, but I do wonder whether some of the things that matter to me get missed amongst all the specs - what's it actually like to use for the kind of thing that I do? My only hands-on experience with Fuji was with the X100t, and I have to say, I hated it. I kept pressing buttons and turning dials accidentally - the camera would turn off or on every time I picked it up or put it down. I kept changing settings by pressing or turning the e-dials all the time. I was presented with loads of options which I didn't need and couldn't find the things I did. The thing felt like an electronic gadget rather than a mature photographic tool. I just don't have these problems with Pentax, Nikon or Canon DSLRs. Some of these problems would no doubt have improved with use, but I don't think it was just that.

Maybe Fuji have improved on these things, but the comments about the e-dials make me wonder. Specs are great but not if they get in the way of the fundamentals.

1 month ago
arjunmehta

Your experience is the opposite of mine. But it may just be because what we’re both used to whatever we’re used to.

I’ve found the Fuji controls very intuitive and extremely easy to read, but DSLRs so hard to figure out how to control exposure and focusing.

But again, pretty sure it has to do with what we’re each familiar with.

1 month ago
jonby

I'm sure you're right. The only real way is to try them out I guess! The Fuji system has a lot going for it, but I wouldn't buy one without getting it in my hands first.

1 month ago
Richrf
Richrf

Your correct. I tried it out the X-T20 over a several well period until I was totally convinced that the form factor destroyed the act of photo taking. To get that experience, Fuji wants the bucks. This camera only exists to lock a user into the expensive eco-system and then dangling the far superior X-Tn form factor in front of them. Best to save money and skip the X-Tnn.

1 month ago
jonby

Richrf: interesting. What exactly was it that didn't work for you?

4 weeks ago
Richrf
Richrf

For me, the camera has to connect me to the subject and then permit me to adjust light in such a way that I never lose sight of the subject. The X-Txx is anathema to this approach. The little (and it is tiny) EVF makes the subject feel very small and distant. I have to press hard against the eye piece to get any kind of view. Right off I am annoyed.

The dials and controls are equally tiny which means I'm constantly bumping into them accidently and have to take my eye off the subject to see what is going on.

Then there is the lens eco-system which is not appropriate for the X+Tnn. They are expensive and should be people paired with X-Tn.

Retro does not mean squeezing dials and viewfinders into a small form factor. Retro means ease of sight and control which brings out the fun of photography. There is nothing about the x-Tnn that is fun - intentionally so.

4 weeks ago
jonby

Sounds like stuff that would bother me also. The viewfinder is massively important. Controls need to be placed so that you can use them with the camera to your eye and not keep pressing or moving them accidentally. Some cameras seem to be designed around a spec sheet rather than around actual photographers and this is starting to look like one of those. Thanks for your insights.

4 weeks ago
biggercountry

I’ve been watching from the bleachers of the mirrorless game for a few years now. I’m 99% sure that Fuji is going to get my money on this - I’m in.

1 month ago
Foto64
Foto64

Nice looking little camera with a great sensor.

1 month ago
racin06

No doubt, the X-T30 will be another Gold Award winner for Fujifilm.

1 month ago
droneshd

Love Fuji X cameras

1 month ago
Hammeredklavier

I was just about to order an X-T3, now I'm not so sure. This does look a great little camera!

1 month ago
Bigsensorisbest

It's just so expensive. I would look out for a cheap XT3 or not bother unless you need to travel very small and light. Then you could just buy a canon m100 it's the same sized sensor...

1 month ago
Tomasz_Wk

Yes, but the m100 doesn’t have the same sensor or AF performance.

1 month ago
biggercountry

An honest question... expensive compared to what?

1 month ago
Bigsensorisbest

Biggercountry compared to the XT3 I think you might as well wait for a deal on that. Either are pretty disappointing compared to full frame (sold my full frame to buy GFX and Fuji X, wish id left the latter)

1 month ago
The Fat Fish
The Fat Fish

Nice addition to the Fujifilm lineup. I'd love to see an X-T200 which brings excellent video features to a Bayer sensor Fuji.

1 month ago
Alexdi

I like this camera, though I think it represents a dated shooting paradigm. On my X-T20, I don't care about the dials because I'm not often adjusting ISO or shutter; ISO invariance means I set a fixed ISO, conservative shutter, and only bother with aperture as needed. On Sony's latest A-series, I'd go one step further: the AF system seems to make focus modes and point selection redundant. Advances in computational photography and crossover from phone cameras will soon, I think, obviate much of the button-twiddling for which this camera's UX is suited.

1 month ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

"obviate much of the button-twiddling for which this camera's UX is suited." - interesting take. I use SS and aperture to achieve the effects I desire - I certainly need the ability to twiddle them at will.

1 month ago
Androole

SS and aperture are fine to adjust, as they have actual consequences for image-making.

ISO, however, should never be a variable that people have to deal with in the world of ISO invariant sensors.

There is only one correct ISO setting - the lowest one possible. That lowest setting is based on the aperture and shutter speed (controlled by the photographer) and the image brightness desired (controlled by the photographer via exposure compensation).

ISO dials only lead to mistakes and worse image quality.

4 weeks ago*
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

Androole - but we're past the age of ISO-invariants, which just makes life more confusing. The Aptina-derived (related? something or other) technology that Sony and Nikon are using for their latest sensors means there IS a gain (electrical engineering pun!) to letting ISO float above 400 or 640 or 800 (depends on the sensor). An image shot at ISO 100 and increased in exposure in post by 3 to ISO 800-equivalent (ISO 100 + 3 stops = ISO 800 S/N ratio) is noisier than shot originally at ISO 800. I don't think the difference is significant in anything I've seen, but it's there and it's real, if small.

4 weeks ago
Androole

Fair point, dual gain does throw a bit of a wrench in the gears.

In the photo critiques I participate in, I still see more Fuji photos shot at unnecessarily high ISOs because people absent-mindedly forget their ISO dial. Obviously that is user error, but good design should encourage the user to make fewer errors...

4 weeks ago
FuhTeng
FuhTeng

Good point on the ISO dials. I've never understood the love Fuji's dials get, but then, I'm new to ILCs - my first was an a6000 so I've grown up shooting A or M with auto-ISO. For my Fuji rentals I've just left ISO in auto and shot like I do with Sony or Nikon!

One of these days I'm going to have to play with my D850 and Z6 to see if dual gain makes any actual difference. Most of what I shoot (wildlife and my sons) need high (>800 ISO) anyway so I'm unlikely to see the impacts!

4 weeks ago
BeefCoffee

Traded (rather foolishly at the time) an aging 5mk2 for a X-T10 last summer, and haven't looked back. After buying a couple of the "cheaper" lenses for the system - I'm totally hooked. And the DR? Better than my old 5D. This new X-T30 might be my upgrade.

1 month ago
Tomasz_Wk

Going from the X-t10 to the X-T30 will be a great upgrade.

I remember when I upgraded from the x-e2 to the x-t2 (which is a more mature camera). The new sensor and AF performance was so great!

1 month ago
Total: 99, showing: 1 – 50
« First‹ Previous12Next ›Last »