Sharpening levels

The 4700Z offers three levels of sharpening, most of the time you could happily shoot in '+' mode as the sharpening isn't too obvious and brings out some detail. '-' mode would be useful only for portrait shots (something which Portrait mode appears to do for you). 100% crops from sample images shown below.

Sharpening + Sharpening 0 Sharpening -

JPEG Compression levels

The 4700Z offers three JPEG compression levels, at 2400 x 1800 this translate to file sizes of approx 1,700 KB for FINE, 800 KB for NORMAL and 330 KB for BASIC. The samples below show 100% crops of an image detail shot at each compression level.

2400 x 1800 FINE
1,550 KB
2400 x 1800 NORMAL
738 KB
2400 x 1800 BASIC
272 KB

Image Resolutions

The 4700Z offers three different image resolutions, 2400 x 1800, 1280 x 960 and 640 x 480. The three images below were shot at each resolution

2400 x 1800 FINE
1,550 KB
1280 x 960 FINE
542 KB
640 x 480 FINE
143 KB

ISO Sensitivity

Changing the sensitivity of a digital camera is like adjusting the volume on an amplifier, you're altering the amount the signal from the CCD's is amplified. Along with that extra sensitivity (turning the volume up) comes added noise which is why sensitivity is generally left in the control of the photographer. The 4700Z suffers the same fate as all digicams and adds noise, however it's basic ISO rating of 200 is double that of most digicams. The three samples below were shot at each ISO sensitivity. 100% crops from sample images shown below.

ISO 200 ISO 400 ISO 800

Unfortunately in most circumstances ISO 800 is almost unusable, not only does it generate ALOT of noise but it also generates a green cast over the colours in the image.