Many Instagram users aim for a large number of followers. However, sometimes you'd like to share an Instagram moment with just your closest friends and not hundreds or thousands of followers, most of whom you probably don't know.

This is now possible, thanks to a new feature announced by Instagram today: Close Friends lets you share stories with a select group of people instead of all your followers.

Instagram says Close Friends gives you the "flexibility to share more personal moments with a smaller group that you choose."

To do so, you create a close friends-list and at the time of posting your story select the option to only share with the people on that list. You'll find the option to add people to the close friends-list in the side-menu.

Your list can only be seen by yourself. When someone has added you to their list, you will see a green badge when you viewing their stories and a green ring around their profile photo in the Stories tray.

Close Friends is now rolling out globally on the latest versions of the Instagram iPhone and Android apps.