Natalia Evelyn Bencicova
Hasselblad Masters 2016
Winner of the Portrait category

Hasselblad is giving away 11 medium-format cameras in what it’s describing as the biggest Masters competition it has ever held. The 2018 contest introduces a new category for aerial photography in tribute, Hasselblad says, to the company’s roots in aerial work – its first camera was an aerial camera. The inclusion may also have something to do with drone-manufacturing share-holder DJI.

Recent Videos

Entrants need to be working professionals, with a specification that you should have been professional for three years, and any brand of film or digital camera can be used. The Project/21 category though is open to all photographers who have yet to reach the age of 22. Submissions should consist of three images which don’t have to be a set or related in any way so long as they fit the brief of the category.

Each category winner will receive a Hasselblad digital medium camera as a prize, but will also be loaned Hasselblad equipment to produce a set of images for the Hasselblad Masters commemorative book.

2018 Categories include:

  • Aerial (New for 2018)
  • Architecture
  • Fine Art
  • Fashion/Beauty
  • Landscape
  • Portrait
  • Product
  • Project/21 (Under 21)
  • Street/Urban
  • Wedding
  • Wildlife

The competition is open now and will close on June 10th 2017, and entry is free. For more information see the Hasselblad website

Press release

Hasselblad’s Prestigious Masters 2018 Competition Opens for Entries

Hasselblad is proud to officially open its renowned Masters competition for 2018. Photographers across the globe are invited to submit three images that best demonstrate their photographic ability for the chance to be named a Hasselblad Master. The Hasselblad Masters is one of the world’s most prestigious professional photographic competitions and gives acclaimed professionals, as well as aspiring newcomers, the chance to make their mark in the world of high-end photography.

Winners will not only receive the coveted accolade but will take home a state of the art medium format Hasselblad camera and have their work published in the Hasselblad Masters commemorative book, to be launched in 2018.

This year’s competition is bigger than ever with 11 categories, including the brand new ‘Aerial’ sector that pays tribute to Hasselblad’s history of aerial photography, with its technology used on several space missions including the first landing on the moon.
The 2016 Masters competition proved to be the most popular to date, with over 10,000 entries. The quality of entries was extremely high and the ten crowned Masters encompassed ambition, imagination and photographic skill. Each created truly outstanding work for Hasselblad Masters Volume 5 book, drawing on the theme of ‘Inspire’. Their images were displayed at photokina 2016 and across galleries and media publications around the world.

Previous Hasselblad Masters are some of the biggest names in photography; including Anton Corbijn (2001), Rodney Smith (2002), Charlie Waite (2002), Patrick Demarchelier (2003), Albert Watson (2004), Marco Grob (2007), Kevin Then (2008), and Hans Strand (2008).

Hasselblad Masters are judged on their photographic ability, creativity, compositional skills, conceptual strength and technique – and are acknowledged to have made a compelling contribution to the art of photography. Each entrant must submit three images per category, with the jury voting on the images rather than the photographer.

Entrants will first face an Internal Jury of Hasselblad staff, experts in the field of photography and supremely knowledgeable about Hasselblad cameras. The Internal Jury will select ten finalists in each category that showcase a high level of technical skill and creative flair. These finalists will then reach the professional Masters Jury, compiled of 24 of the best names in photography. Together with the public vote, which acts as a 25th jury member, the Hasselblad Masters are chosen.

The 2018 main Masters jury will be unveiled later in the year; past jury members have included world renowned photographers such as Marco Grob, Steve McCurry, and Tim Flach.

Hasselblad CMO, Johan Åhlen said “After the overwhelming response we received to the 2016 Hasselblad Masters, we’re excited to see what’s in store this year. The quality of entries in previous years has been simply outstanding and we’re immensely proud to continue to inspire and empower talented photographers across the globe. Our Masters become part of the Hasselblad family and we want to equip them with everything they need to make their mark on high-end photography.”

Open for entries 24th January – 10th June 2017. Entries are submitted via Winners will be announced in January 2018.
For full details on competition download Masters 2018 Rules & Regulations
Previous edition of Hasselblad Masters 2016 published in “Hasselblad Masters Vol. 5 – Inspire”: