The European Imaging and Sound Association (EISA) has awarded Canon and Sony four titles each from the 19-strong list of photography products it has held up as the best of the year. The European DSLR Camera award, which is the main photography title, went to the Canon EOS 80D, while the EOS-1D X Mark ll won the European Professional DSLR category. Canon also picked up awards for its EF 35mm F1.4L II USM lens (Professional Lens of the Year) and for its imagePROGRAF Pro-1000 printer.

Sony’s awards came in the Premium Compact  for the Cyber-shot RX1R II, Professional Compact System Lens for the FE 85mm F1.4 GM, Prosumer Compact System Camera  for the a6300 and Photo & Video Camera for the a7S II categories.

Sigma collected the DSLR Zoom Lens title for its 50-100mm F1.8 DC HSM Art lens, while Tamron won the overall DSLR Lens award for the recent SP 85mm F1.8 Di VC USD. Other notable awards are Prosumer DSLR of the Year for the Nikon D500 and Fujifilm’s X-Pro2 collecting the Professional Compact System Camera title. The Photo Innovation award went to Panasonic’s DUAL IS system as demonstrated in the GX80.

The EISA Awards have been running since 1982 when the only title was Camera of the Year – which went to the Minolta X700. Today’s awards are decided by the 14 editors of the Photography Experts group who represent weekly, monthly and bi-monthly photography magazines from 14 countries across Europe.

For more information visit the EISA website