Instagram has started testing a new feature called 'favorites' that enables users to share photos with only certain people. Only a small number of users have access to the feature at this time, according to The Verge, though it may roll out to everyone in the future. 'Favorites' is a response to users who want more control over who they share content with, but without having to set their account fully private.

'Favorites' is described as a single list of friends that is private and customizable. Instagram users can add and remove individuals to/from the list at any time, adjusting who can see photos and videos shared privately. Speaking to The Verge, Instagram product lead Robby Stein explained, 'People are trying to hack Instagram to create smaller audiences, and we're trying to recognize that.' Content shared to only favorites is tagged with a special green badge.

Any number of users can be added to someone's favorites list, though they won't get a notification about it, instead only knowing they're on the list when they see content tagged with the green badge. Instagram has been working on the feature for more than a year and anticipates rolling it out to a larger number of users 'in coming months.'

Via: The Verge