Google has admitted in an email to affected users that a bug has caused some video files stored in Google Photos to be sent to the wrong users. If you've been using Google's Takeout tool to back up files from your Google Photos account between November 21st and 25th, one or more copies of your videos might be in the hands of strangers, or you might have a copy of someone else's video.

In its email the company writes, 'some videos in Google Photos were incorrectly exported to unrelated users' archives.' It also says that backups during the time period in question might be incomplete and suggests deleting any data exports made in November. The company also says the issue has been identified and resolved, so all systems should be working fine now.

The team at 9to5Google talked to the company and learned that thankfully only a small portion of Photos users, 0.01 percent, was affected, and the error only occurred in the Photos app and not any of the other services that can be backed up with Takeout.

Google also told the pubication: 'We are notifying people about a bug that may have affected users who used Google Takeout to export their Google Photos content between November 21 and November 25. These users may have received either an incomplete archive, or videos—not photos—that were not theirs. We fixed the underlying issue and have conducted an in-depth analysis to help prevent this from ever happening again. We are very sorry this happened.'