What to get for BIF and general wildlife, camera and lens.

Started Oct 6, 2022 | Discussions
Fishrman Senior Member • Posts: 1,862
What to get for BIF and general wildlife, camera and lens.

I have been putting up with my Panasonic FZ2500 for a few years now. It was suggested to me, many times, I should try something else. Focus with it is often to slow and sometimes it just won't lock focus when I am in tight situations with limbs or a background that is similar to the subject. I have seriously thought about going to the Sony RX10IV but am not sure if it really would be that big of an improvement?? I can sometimes get photos that are respectable but I usually have to spend some time in post processing to get them that way. I have thought about just getting a camera that is designated as my birding or wildlife camera and keep my FZ2500 for travel or family photos etc. If I did this, is there a camera and lens you might suggest that I could get that wouldn't break the bank? Fast focus is important to me and of course not only fast but accurate. Thanks for any ideas and help.

Fishrman's gear list:Fishrman's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200 Panasonic FZ2500 +1 more
Panasonic FZ2500
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Bob A L Veteran Member • Posts: 9,505
Re: What to get for BIF and general wildlife, camera and lens.

I find DSLR's to be the fastest for moving subjects and there is no viewfinder lag with the optical viewfinder, but many seem to prefer mirrorless. In both cases they are all interchangeable lens cameras and many models are a step or so up from the bridge cameras in focusing. But many get along well with the Panasonic FZ1000 and Sony RX10. I'm sure you will get quite the varied list of suggestions.