Haze on Contax CY 85mm f1.4?

Started 6 months ago | Discussions
zerosystem New Member • Posts: 24
Haze on Contax CY 85mm f1.4?

Hi all, I just bought this lens recently, bought it from a local film camera shop according to their listing online they said the lens was clean, no scratch, no haze and no fungus. But shining my phone flashlight through I think there is quite a lot of haze? Is there any possibility to clean this lens, or should I return it? I am not too fussed about the price, since I used money handed out by my government (a consumption voucher) to purchase this lens. It would be great to be able to clean this lens. I have not tried it out on my camera yet since I do not have an appropriate adaptor. I am relatively new to purchasing vintage lenses, any advice would be much appreciated!

zerosystem's gear list:zerosystem's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DC-GX9 Panasonic Lumix DC-S5 Olympus Zuiko Digital ED 70-300mm 1:4.0-5.6 Panasonic Leica 12-60mm F2.8-4.0 ASPH Panasonic S Pro 70-200mm F4 OIS +1 more
Rob de Loe
Rob de Loe Senior Member • Posts: 2,584
Re: Haze on Contax CY 85mm f1.4?

At the very least, the store was not honest, or not careful.

From your pictures I think there's more going on than just haze.

Do you have experience taking lenses apart and cleaning them?

Unless I paid very little indeed, I would return it and buy another that actually is clean.

Diacyclops81 Contributing Member • Posts: 679

Return it pronto. First, that’s very bad “haze” (more likely fungus), so there’s absolutely no question that the condition was misrepresented. Second, some of the Contax lenses are virtually impossible to open or disassemble for cleaning. My Planar 50 1.4 for example, neither I nor a professional repair shop could disassemble to get to oily iris diaphragm blades. Glued tight. So, unless they sold it to you for very, very, very low price, return it.

Richard Dutton Regular Member • Posts: 369

I suggest you return it.

It looks really bad to me.