Canon Pro-200 - print quality / darker colours not printing well

Started Aug 8, 2022 | Questions
yhope New Member • Posts: 11
Canon Pro-200 - print quality / darker colours not printing well

Hi everyone,

I am wondering if anyone can help me. I am an illustrator and I have bought the canon pro 200 to print greeting cards, art prints etc.

Prints come out perfect when I use the canon photo papers but I am having problems with greeting cards.

As you can see in the images below, when I print a card that has a slightly darker colour, it comes out with lots of white specks showing (not dust as you can see the comparison with the lighter coloured cards that have no specking)

I did a lot of research on the best way to print and this is what I have been doing:

1. designing in illustrator

2. rasterizing design (cymk, high 300 dpi, transparent background, art optimized)

3. Export as jpg:

-colour model RGB -This is what I found a lot of people suggesting on youtube

-high quality, art optimized etc

-Question: Should I be checking "Embed ICC profile" ?

4. Open in canon professional print & layout

5. media type: cardstock (i am using mondi color copy 350gsm)

-brightness 15, contrast 30

6. print.

I hope all of that makes sense! I would really appreciate if anyone could suggest a better method for better print quality - i dont have a lot of experience with print processes.

- a reason why the dark colours come out looking really bad

- why there is specking on the darker colours

- if i am doing something generally wrong

thank you so much for your time and advice

IMAGES FOR REF:

Darker colours with white specks

darker colours with specks

lighter colours no specks

lighter colours no specks

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Gesture Forum Pro • Posts: 10,914
Re: Canon Pro-200 - print quality / darker colours not printing well

I see some of the same effect on the lighter images zooming to 100 percent.