Lighter replacement for Canon 70D

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
AmeliePhotography New Member • Posts: 7
Lighter replacement for Canon 70D

Hi everyone - I’m an amateur photographer and have a Canon 70D for around 8 years now. I use it when travelling, taking photos for a blog I run. I’ve recently got a puppy and it’s just too heavy carrying her bits and the camera/lenses. i have a fixed 11-16 and a fixed 52 lens but tend to use the 18-200 most of the time. I find this covers the landscape and close ups pretty well. I’d really appreciate if anyone has any recommendations on lighter alternatives as I’m sure technology has come on since I purchased it. Thanks!

Canon EOS 70D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Ido Scharf
Ido Scharf Veteran Member • Posts: 5,215
Re: Lighter replacement for Canon 70D

You could go as small and light as a Sony RX100 VII or Panasonic ZS200. These won't be as great in low light as the 70D, but are pretty much the lightest you can get with a similar zoom range and a sensor that's bigger than a smartphone's.

For a more similar experience to the 70D, just lighter, look first at Micro Four Thirds. You could get, for example, a Panasonic GX9 or Olympus OM-D E-M10 III, and an Olympus 12-200mm or Panasonic 14-140mm II.

Ido Scharf's gear list:Ido Scharf's gear list
Olympus 40-150mm F2.8 Pro Panasonic Lumix DC-G9 Olympus 12-40mm F2.8 Pro Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 25mm F1.8 Panasonic 8-18mm F2.8-4
MoriceE Forum Member • Posts: 52

I second the rx100 VII, or, if you want a faster aperture, go with the zv1.

When you like the lenses you've got, you could look at the EF-m system: The m50 is a great replacement and you could still use your EF lenses with the EF-eos m adapter.

Krusty79 Veteran Member • Posts: 3,197

You mean an 11-16 zoom? Did you prefer to stay with Canon? What is your budget?