Z7II vs. Z6II for upcoming video

Started 7 months ago | Discussions
CaptD Senior Member • Posts: 2,403
Z7II vs. Z6II for upcoming video

I need to shoot a video documentary for one of my clients in the near future. My primary work for this and other clients is still photographs in a landscape/architectural style for which I prefer using my Z7. The upcoming video will include scenics and interviews.

I'd prefer to add another Z7II to my workflow but preferences for video seem to fall on the Z6II (for Nikons) within the industry.

Are there any REAL world reasons why I should NOT shoot this documentary style video with a new Z7II vs. a Z6II? Video work that I have done with my current Z7 seems quite excellent.

I'm a still photographer, shooting a little video. 😀 Thanks, d

-- hide signature --
 CaptD's gear list:CaptD's gear list
Nikon D3S Nikon Z7
Nikon Z7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
shuncheung Veteran Member • Posts: 4,460
Re: Z7II vs. Z6II for upcoming video

If you specialize in video, I would get the Z6ii. For occasional usage, the Z7ii is fine and better compliments your Z7 overall for still photography.

shuncheung's gear list:shuncheung's gear list
Nikon Z6 Nikon Z6 II Nikon Z9 Nikon 500mm F5.6E PF Nikon Z 24-70mm F4 +6 more
Andre Yew Senior Member • Posts: 1,296

Yeah, just use your Z7. I've shot many videos with my D810, D500, and D850, and they were fine. The Z6 is better, but most people would be hard pressed to see a difference.

If you're worried, do a test with your Z7 on your scenics with something that has lots of small details like faraway leaves or roof tiles that are a little bigger than a pixel, and pan across and up and down that scene. If you see something that bugs you then you might want to consider a Z6.