Can someone please advise me on a video/lighting situation please?

Started 7 months ago | Discussions
simonharris Regular Member • Posts: 185
Can someone please advise me on a video/lighting situation please?

Hi All,

Although I work as a stills photographer, I dont do much video at all. I do have a basic grasp of video lighting but the situation I would like to show you is a bit out of my league....

here is a link to a youtube video where sculptor Anthony Howe is showing his latest, amazing kinetic Sculpture. It appears to have been shot at night or done post production, I dont know.

https://youtu.be/H8r_MC20AAM

In case you are weary of links, I shall describe it to you.  His stainless steel sculpture

is well light but the bit that interests me is that the background is pure black.  I mean black without any other speck of colour in it.  The result is stunning and I would love to know how this is done please.  Maybe green screen?

Any takers?

Kind regards,  Simon.

Whereabouts
Whereabouts Junior Member • Posts: 48
Re: Can someone please advise me on a video/lighting situation please?

It could have been shot in studio prior to moving it outside?

Not green-screen I don't think, the green reflections on the metal surface would be a nightmare to key.

It's definitely a controlled lighting environment, so either in studio or a nigh like you suggested. With the black background you can see the shadows of the sculpture from other parts of the sculpture casting hard shadows and the reflection of light off the metal is seen more as bright lines rather than outside where you can see colours of the sky and trees reflecting.

Cool sculpture.