Lower Antelope Canyon - camera settings

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
SrS12 New Member • Posts: 18
Lower Antelope Canyon - camera settings

Hello all,

I'm headed to Page,AZ around Christmas and have a reservations to Lower Antelope Canyon @10:15. I'm looking for help with camera settings since the photo tours are no longer available and I'll have to shoot handheld . I'm a newbie but reasonably comfortable shooting landscapes in Manual mode with a tripod but am not confident I can make the needed changes to settings while being rushed thru the canyon.

I'll be using a full frame Canon 6D with a 17-35 f2.8 . So,a few questions

1. What settings would you recommend I use  in manual mode ? Thinking ISO 800 ,aperture f11,shutter speed??
  2. Would a 24-105 f4 be a better lens to carry?
  3. Should I use Aperture priority (f8/f11?) instead of Manual mode ?
  4. Lastly,is a 10:15 tour good for the light? I've read conflicting  reports here on the best time of day to visit (most references are to summer but couldn't find much  for Dec)

Thanks in advance ,

S

SrS12's gear list:SrS12's gear list
Canon EOS 6D Canon EF 16-35mm F2.8L USM Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Canon EOS 6D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
stretchman Senior Member • Posts: 1,207
Re: Lower Antelope Canyon - camera settings

SrS12 wrote:

Hello all,

I'm headed to Page,AZ around Christmas and have a reservations to Lower Antelope Canyon @10:15. I'm looking for help with camera settings since the photo tours are no longer available and I'll have to shoot handheld . I'm a newbie but reasonably comfortable shooting landscapes in Manual mode with a tripod but am not confident I can make the needed changes to settings while being rushed thru the canyon.

I'll be using a full frame Canon 6D with a 17-35 f2.8 . So,a few questions