What is this gadget in my 'new' phone?

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
sybersitizen Forum Pro • Posts: 21,743
What is this gadget in my 'new' phone?

I finally had to make the move to a better phone to replace the one I've been using for ten years. The 'new' (used) one is a Galaxy S10e (2019).

One thing that has me baffled is this little sensor at the far right of the camera group:

Here's a closer view showing better detail of what's inside:

It's in the correct position be to be a heart rate sensor, but the S10e doesn't support heart rate monitoring. I suppose it could be such a sensor although support for it was omitted in the S10e design.

The same question has been asked by others elsewhere, and some people say it's a 'light sensor' ... but I've tested various operations with it exposed to the ambient light and completely blocked, and I can't see that it makes any difference.

Does anyone know what it is?

OrigamiCactus Regular Member • Posts: 445
Re: What is this gadget in my 'new' phone?

It really just is an ambient light sensor

Search for: " Front and Back Dual Ambient Light Sensors for Improved Automatic Brightness Settings" in the article.

https://www.displaymate.com/Galaxy_S10_ShootOut_1S.htm

OrigamiCactus's gear list:OrigamiCactus's gear list
Fujifilm X-Pro3 Fujifilm X-T4 Fujifilm XF 18-55mm F2.8-4 R LM OIS Fujifilm XF 23mm F2 R WR Fujifilm 50mm F2 R WR +1 more
OP sybersitizen Forum Pro • Posts: 21,743

OrigamiCactus wrote:

Search for: " Front and Back Dual Ambient Light Sensors for Improved Automatic Brightness Settings" in the article.

In that case, what should I do to observe its function? I thought I tested for that. (Note also that the page doesn't acknowledge the existence of my S10e - a different phone.)

OrigamiCactus Regular Member • Posts: 445

sybersitizen wrote:

OrigamiCactus wrote:

In that case, what should I do to observe its function? I thought I tested for that.