Dp3 Merrill Macro Focus Issues: Am I a dingus?

Started 3 months ago | Questions
16GreenBeans
16GreenBeans New Member • Posts: 15
Dp3 Merrill Macro Focus Issues: Am I a dingus?

Hey there,

I have a dp3 Merrill and absolutely love taking close up macro photos with it due to the high level of detail it provides. One rather annoying quirk I keep running into however is a strong falloff in focus near the far edges and/or corners of my photos.

For example, here at both the right and left ends of the image:

And here at the top right corner and bottom third of this photo below:

These photos were taken of a flat surface with the camera both on a tripod and aligned to not be on an angle. Despite this, almost every macro photo I take seems to have rather unpredictably spotty focus.

I am no pro photographer by any means, so Is this due to me just not using the proper settings or procedure when doing close-up photography? Does anyone know how I can address these issues in focus?

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Sigma DP3 Merrill
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
brendanpaxton
brendanpaxton Forum Member • Posts: 68
Re: Dp3 Merrill Macro Focus Issues: Am I a dingus?

16GreenBeans wrote:

Hey there,

I have a dp3 Merrill and absolutely love taking close up macro photos with it due to the high level of detail it provides. One rather annoying quirk I keep running into however is a strong falloff in focus near the far edges and/or corners of my photos.

For example, here at both the right and left ends of the image:

And here at the top right corner and bottom third of this photo below:

These photos were taken of a flat surface with the camera both on a tripod and aligned to not be on an angle. Despite this, almost every macro photo I take seems to have rather unpredictably spotty focus.