off-camera lighting

Started 3 months ago | Photos
math guy
math guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,827
off-camera lighting

I have very little experience with off-camera flash, so I've decided to try to learn how to use it effectively for better formal portraits. As suggested on the Strobist blog, I've started off with a flash (Godox TT350S which I already had), a radio trigger (Godox XProS), an umbrella (Impact 45" convertible), and a light stand (Flashpoint 9.5 foot).

I spent about an hour tonight playing around with the kit. My usual model (my 3-year-old son) had fallen asleep already, so I was stuck modeling for myself. Basically all I did was try out different positions, different power settings, and different zoom settings, all using the simple shoot-through method.

Here are six photos that I thought turned out pretty good for my first attempt. I hope eventually I'll learn enough that I can look back on these and laugh. But for now I'm pleased with them because they are MUCH better than the typical flat light that I've always gotten from simply bouncing the flash mounted to the camera. I'm posting them here in case anyone else is considering this type of thing. If you're on the fence about it, do it . After just an hour or so, I can tell this will definitely be worth the money I spent. There's a lot to learn, but it seems like a big part of it will be experimenting with different things, which I think will be fun.

One thing I learned is that for me, because of my balding head, it worked better with the flash just a little above eye level rather than up higher where it would reflect more off of my head. I think I like the fourth one the best.

Anyway, apologies for the lack of a better model.

-- hide signature --

-- Joe S.
If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid. ~ Albert Einstein
https://www.flickr.com/photos/183511745@N03/

math guy's gear list:math guy's gear list