noph0t0
noph0t0 Junior Member • Posts: 34
Best negative scanner???

Hi,

I wanted to ask anyone if they had any experience with either
Epson Perfection V850 Pro
or
Plustek OpticFilm 8200i Ai

I wanted to get one for my 35mm negatives. but not sure which would give me the best scans?

I guess if I were to only ever scan 33mm negatives, the Plustek might be the right choice. BUT who knows what the future holds?

Having said that, if the Plustek OpticFilm 8200i Ai would give better scans than the Epson Perfection V850 Pro, I would go for the Plustek.
Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance/

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
IainD Senior Member • Posts: 2,545
Re: Best negative scanner???

I have no experience with the Plustek, but my Epson V850 Pro is scanning prints for me right now and doing a great job. I am also completely satisfied with the job it does scanning slides. I find it very good for negatives as well, but you may require higher standards than I do. I really like my nEpson and it can scan 6x6cm negatives too.

I

PerTulip Senior Member • Posts: 1,618

noph0t0 wrote:

Hi,

I wanted to ask anyone if they had any experience with either
Epson Perfection V850 Pro
or
Plustek OpticFilm 8200i Ai

I wanted to get one for my 35mm negatives. but not sure which would give me the best scans?

I guess if I were to only ever scan 33mm negatives, the Plustek might be the right choice. BUT who knows what the future holds?

Having said that, if the Plustek OpticFilm 8200i Ai would give better scans than the Epson Perfection V850 Pro, I would go for the Plustek.
Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance/

I have a 850 Pro, because I also scan 120 and 4x5. I was considering a better option for 135 and now use the 850 for "preview scans" for the catalog. Those I want to print get "rescanned" with my DSLR and a macro lens.

PerTulip's gear list:PerTulip's gear list