First camera for Portrait shoots

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
DeCal Photography New Member • Posts: 12
First camera for Portrait shoots

Hello,

I am looking at buying a camera and lens/lenses for portrait photography. I currently have a Nikon d3200 and two kit lenses that I received as a gift. I unfortunately broke the 16-55 and was looking for a lens to replace it. I realized however that I would be investing money money in what is likely a dying system.

Here is what I am looking for, a camera with one or two portrait lenses. I have a budget of around 1,500 usd though I could possible go a little higher. Used gear is fine with me and preferred due to budget constraints. I would like to be able to do professional work though I am just starting out. I have never used a mirrorless camera but that or a DSLR would be fine. I have a few vintage Pentax lenses that I would like to use but it’s not a dealbreaker if I can’t. I would like to invest in a system that I can upgrade down the line and not have to sell all my lenses and camera bodies.

Options I have considered:

Sony a7 classic or a7 ii with 50mm 1.8 and 85mm 1.8

Nikon z50 with  ftz adapter and various lenses

Fuji x-t1/2 - I found this option limiting because of the expensive lenses and relatively few options. 
Nikon d600/610 with various lenses

Thank you!

DeCal Photography's gear list:DeCal Photography's gear list
Nikon D3200 Fujifilm X-H1 Fujifilm XF 35mm F2 R WR +1 more
Nikon D3200 Nikon Z50 Sony a7 Sony a7 II
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
dlevitt Senior Member • Posts: 1,040
Re: First camera for Portrait shoots

DeCal Photography wrote:

Hello,