Best way to export 4K video for web/social media?

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
mrswitters Regular Member • Posts: 339
Best way to export 4K video for web/social media?

Total newbie here. I have a Fujifilm X-T4 and am shooting with the following format:

• 4k, 29.97, 200
  • Long Gop
  • H.265 (HEVC)

For web and social media (YouTube, Instagram, etc.), what's the best format/size to convert to? And what's the easiest way to do that on a Mac?

Thanks!

hunk
hunk Veteran Member • Posts: 3,399
Re: Best way to export 4K video for web/social media?

mrswitters wrote:

Total newbie here. I have a Fujifilm X-T4 and am shooting with the following format:

• 4k, 29.97, 200
  • Long Gop
  • H.265 (HEVC)

For web and social media (YouTube, Instagram, etc.), what's the best format/size to convert to? And what's the easiest way to do that on a Mac?

Thanks!

Best is to not convert. Let YouTube do this. Are you editing in iMovie? Just export as Apple devices 4K. 
But first, watch some video's about video settings in general. Learn why you should use 29.97fps with 1/60sec shutterspeed, buy a nd-filter, etc.
happy days

hunk's gear list:hunk's gear list
Olympus Stylus 725 SW Canon EOS 5D Mark IV Panasonic GH5 Canon EOS R Canon EOS R5 +10 more
Andrew S10 Senior Member • Posts: 1,511

Are you editing the videos, and if so, what software are you using?

Here's an article that might be helpful, although, since technology moves quickly, it might not be completely up to date.

I think that every platform will recompress your video, no matter what codec you export.

If your videos are relatively short, and you have really fast internet, you could export your edited videos as ProRes, and YouTube will recompress them to AVC1, VP9, or AV1.

Keep the video as 4K, that way YouTube should assign it a higher bitrate than HD videos.

OP mrswitters Regular Member • Posts: 339

Thanks, everyone.