Are these NOSS satellites?

Started 4 months ago | Questions
starman1969
starman1969 Veteran Member • Posts: 4,425
Are these NOSS satellites?

Spotted these bright streaks on an image & when I looked up I could clearly see two moving objects, which faded not long after. Couldn't check Heavens Above at the time, so I kinda guessed they might be NOSS satellites.

-- hide signature --

Steve

starman1969's gear list:starman1969's gear list
Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm F1.8G Nikon D850 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II Epson Stylus Pro 3880 +1 more
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
nighthiker Contributing Member • Posts: 657
Re: Are these NOSS satellites?

Hi!

Sorry, but I'm not an expert in that topic, but what about Stellarium? You can add an extra catalogue with satellites. Just put in your location and the time and see if you can identify them.

mermaidkiller Senior Member • Posts: 1,345

Does this belong to 'astrophotography' ?
Artificial satellites are not astronomical objects but rather sky polluters.

-- hide signature --

Ricoh KR-5 ... Pentax ME Super ... Canon T90 ... ... ... 40d ... 7d ... 6d ... r6

mermaidkiller's gear list:mermaidkiller's gear list
Sony RX100 VI Canon EOS R6 GoPro Hero7 Black Canon EF 85mm F1.8 USM Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Macro +5 more

mermaidkiller wrote:

Is there a strict definition of 'astrophotography'?

I don't like satellites neither, but they have become - unfortunately - a reality of the night sky.

starman1969
OP starman1969 Veteran Member • Posts: 4,425

mermaidkiller wrote:

Sounds a bit pedantic. First time I’ve posted on here in ages & this is what I get 🤷‍♀️

-- hide signature --

Steve

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm F1.8G Nikon D850 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II Epson Stylus Pro 3880 +1 more

nighthiker wrote:

mermaidkiller wrote:

I don't like satellites neither, but they have become - unfortunately - a reality of the night sky.