D7200 problem with Lexar 64GB SD cards

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
nbirkett Senior Member • Posts: 1,966
D7200 problem with Lexar 64GB SD cards

I have a D7200 which has been working fine with 64Gb SD cards (I have been using the cards for 2-3 years). Last week, I spent a day shooting using a card that I have used all summer; things appeared OK (I could play back images in camera, no error messages).  But, when I got home to download my images, the card was empty.  It deleted not only my images from the day but from previous days too. My computer claims the card is unreadable and my camera says the card is damaged.

I tried some other 64 GB cards. None of the Lexar 64GB cards will work in my camera while my Sandisk ones will work. However, 32 GB cards (Lexar and Sandisk) work fine.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

-- hide signature --

Nick

nbirkett's gear list:nbirkett's gear list
Nikon D7200 Nikon D90 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm F1.8G Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 16-80mm F2.8-4E ED VR Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm F4G ED VR +6 more
Nikon D7200
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
DaveG16 Regular Member • Posts: 400
Re: D7200 problem with Lexar 64GB SD cards

First, the files on your compromised SD card. I've had the best luck with Recuva

Windows. Don't know anything about the Apple side.

Re: the the 64gb cards you trialled -- did you format them in the camera?

-- hide signature --

Dave G.
There are no real negatives in digital photography.

DaveG16's gear list:DaveG16's gear list
Nikon D5100
OP nbirkett Senior Member • Posts: 1,966

Thanks. I tried using recovery software but the card will not physicially mount on either an iMac, or Windows computer

I always format my cards in-camera. Both of the 'bad' cards have been used in my camera for months with no issues. Until a couple of days ago.

PS. I also tried using multiple sd card readers on several different devices, with similar results.

-- hide signature --