What camera to buy for my new life?

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
Viriato9 New Member • Posts: 2
What camera to buy for my new life?

Hello friends,

In a couple months I move to Japan to live there, and I plan to start a youtube channel with vlogs and cinematic shots. Also, i enjoy still photography so I had plans to buy a camera.

I've been doing digital photography and desing all my life, so I have that photography eye "developed" but when it comes to camera parts and info  I'm a newbie.

Yesterday was my birthday and my wife gifted me a Panasonic FZ300.

I've been looking info about this camera, and i don't know why but I got the impression that even though it's a really nice compact camera, it lacks some crispiness and sharpness on still photos. Like it's not a big jump on quality compared to my phone (Huawei P30 pro).

So that's where i find the SONY ZV1, a little bit more expensive, but with this camera I found that quality on still photography, and also that power for cinematic video. And of course, it's a vloggin camera after all.

But, this Sony ZV1 is maybe more lacking in the aspects of a reflex camera (zoom and stuff).

That's where my question resides.

Should I keep the FZ300 and try to work around the quality issue (maybe it's only because I'm a newbie I can't get that sharpness) or should I switch to the Sony ZV1?

Thank you so much, and sorry for the long text.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ300 Sony ZV-1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Martin Silenus Junior Member • Posts: 33
Re: What camera to buy for my new life?

You're wife GIFTED you a camera! She cares about you and your endeavors! Use that! (at least to start with)

Spend the money on audio equipment instead. Half of everyone will be watching your videos at 360p anyway. Half will be multitasking and focused on something else. But everyone WILL notice crappy audio.

Congrats on the exciting move! Best of luck!