How to get this matte effect in Lightroom?

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
Nebell
Nebell Regular Member • Posts: 339
How to get this matte effect in Lightroom?

I photograph motorsport and use very slow shutter speed. This inevitably creates a lot of blur on the cars. It's especially noticeable on cars with a lot of text. So pretty much all of them. While some are great, some of them I want to keep but I'm not happy with them.

I found a preset, I'm not sure where but it somehow manages to make the blur less noticeable. The problem is, it also completely destroys natural color.
I have tried to recreate the effect without affecting the natural colors but since I'm new to photography, I have not been successful.

Can anyone give me some tips on how to get this "blur reducing matte effect" without destroying the colors?
Here's an example:
My normal edit:

The preset that makes blur on the car look less pronounced:

Nebell's gear list:Nebell's gear list
Sony a7R IV Sony FE 135mm F1.8 GM Sigma 24-70 F2.8 DG DN Sigma 100-400mm F5-6.3 DG DN OS
Keit ll Veteran Member • Posts: 4,960
Re: How to get this matte effect in Lightroom?

OK, I gave it a go. I found the general streaking on the second car & the background a distraction so blurred then using gaussian blur. Some sharpening applied with a slight shift in colour.

Rodger in Edmonton
Rodger in Edmonton Veteran Member • Posts: 3,721

You may find this tutorial instructive to your goals:

Generate "Perspective Motion" with Photoshop!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cL1BvOtd5zY

-- hide signature --

Best Regards, Rodger
Save Lives - Be an Organ or Stem Cell Donor.
Quaecumque vera

Nebell
OP Nebell Regular Member • Posts: 339

Keit ll wrote:

OK, I gave it a go. I found the general streaking on the second car & the background a distraction so blurred then using gaussian blur. Some sharpening applied with a slight shift in colour.