Great for still objects in good light, but bad in poor light and for fast action.

Started 3 months ago | User reviews
Ikl land
Ikl land Regular Member • Posts: 132
Great for still objects in good light, but bad in poor light and for fast action.

I picked up this as my very priest camera back in March. I have been very pleased with it so far. The zoom range is incredible, reaching up over 3,000mm! However, as expected, past 1500, it get quite bad quality. The high ISO levels create a TON of noise. The autofocus is a bit slow, but that’s expected with a point and shoot, though. If you have decent to great light and a subject not SO far away from you, and it’s not a bird in flight, you can come away with some fantastic images for a pint and shoot. I am a birder and bird photographer, so you can know what I’m using this for. I unfortunately can’t compare to anything as this is my only camera, but later this year I will upgrade. The controls are relatively easy to use. The viewfinder is a little small.....

All in all I think it’s a great starter point and shoot. 
here are some of my samples.

Ikl land's gear list:Ikl land's gear list
Panasonic FZ80/FZ82
Panasonic Lumix DC-FZ80 (Lumix DC-FZ82)
18 megapixels • 3 screen • 20 – 1200 mm (60×)
Announced: Jan 4, 2017
Ikl land's score
Average community score
AshleyMC Senior Member • Posts: 1,395
Re: Great for still objects in good light, but bad in poor light and for fast action.

Thanks for sharing some very nice bird photos.

Your brief review, based on actual experience in the field, realistically mentions the relevant points about the FZ80.

Lacking sophisticated AF support, the FZ80 is good for “reaching” stationary objects at far distances — in your case, they are birds perching. (Same can be said about the FZ300.)

The zoom range is incredible, reaching up over 3,000mm! However, as expected, past 1500, it get quite bad quality.