New to film, and noticed that every one of my shots had this dust particle thing

Started 4 months ago | Questions
yahtzee577 New Member • Posts: 11
New to film, and noticed that every one of my shots had this dust particle thing

As the post indicates, I'm new to film photography and noticed that in every one of my shots, a dust spot shows up in the same spot. The pictures in question where taken using a AE1 Program and I want to know what part of the camera needs cleaning in order to get rid of this/or if there's some sort of mechanical issue.

Could this also be a error on the part of the person scanning my film?

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
sybersitizen Forum Pro • Posts: 20,978
Re: New to film, and noticed that every one of my shots had this dust particle thing

If the marks appear on the film itself, I'd say it's a piece of hair or fuzz caught in the film gate. You should be able to see it before you load the next roll. If the mark is on the top of your images, look at the bottom of the film gate - and vice-versa.

If the marks are not on the film itself, then the digitizing gear was the culprit.

blåland Contributing Member • Posts: 564
Re: New to film, and noticed that every one of my shots had this dust particle thing

I see this on my scans sometimes. If this was my picture it would be a scanning issue.

But to be sure open the back of the camera and see if any fiber with that shape is close to the film plane.

blåland's gear list:blåland's gear list
Sony a7 Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Samyang 14mm F2.8 ED AS IF UMC Samyang AF 75mm F1.8 FE Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
neilt3
neilt3 Senior Member • Posts: 2,123

Have you looked at the negatives to see if the mark is on each one ?

You might need a loupe or a reversed 50mm lens to be able to see it . Or take a photo of the negatives with your digital kit to look at it on the pc screen .