Firmware Download R6

Started 5 months ago | Questions
fordman1 Regular Member • Posts: 137
Firmware Download R6

This may be more of a Windows question. I am in the process of performing the latest update for the R6 and I am a novice at this. I keep receiving an error message that prevents the update from being downloaded from my PC to the media card. I am following directions on the Canon site and the download is coming from the Canon site. It appears in my Windows downloaded files, yet keeps telling me Adobe Acrobat Reader cannot open though it clearly is an AAR file. Consequently the transfer of data from the file to the media card is being blocked. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

fordman1's gear list:fordman1's gear list
Canon EOS R6 Canon Extender EF 1.4x II Canon EF 70-200mm F4L IS USM Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5–5.6 IS STM Canon RF 24-105mm F4L IS USM
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Canon EOS R6
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
davinci953 Regular Member • Posts: 409
Re: Firmware Download R6

fordman1 wrote:

This may be more of a Windows question. I am in the process of performing the latest update for the R6 and I am a novice at this. I keep receiving an error message that prevents the update from being downloaded from my PC to the media card. I am following directions on the Canon site and the download is coming from the Canon site. It appears in my Windows downloaded files, yet keeps telling me Adobe Acrobat Reader cannot open though it clearly is an AAR file. Consequently the transfer of data from the file to the media card is being blocked. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Canon firmware files have a .FIR extension. The firmware download from Canon is packaged in a .zip file and contains the firmware update and pdf files with update instructions. I've never seen AAR files included in the zip file.

Larawanista