How To Make Skin 'Smoother' For Headshot (Example Pic Inside)

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
FinstersFinsta New Member • Posts: 4
How To Make Skin 'Smoother' For Headshot (Example Pic Inside)

Hi, I am new to retouching and went through a workflow of white balance/exposure/ adjustments followed by blemish removal with the healing brush and then frequency separation. I am using Photoshop 2021. The frequency seperation made a huge difference in evening out the colours of the skin tone but the skin looks very rough/grainy with so many little marks on the face i'm not sure I could spot remove them all.

How do I make the skin on my pic more 'smooth'? I have included the pic I am working on as well as an example picture of which I would like mine to look like in terms of skin tone/texture. Thank you!

Toermalijn
Toermalijn Forum Pro • Posts: 16,805
Re: How To Make Skin 'Smoother' For Headshot (Example Pic Inside)

FinstersFinsta wrote:

Hi, I am new to retouching and went through a workflow of white balance/exposure/ adjustments followed by blemish removal with the healing brush and then frequency separation. I am using Photoshop 2021. The frequency seperation made a huge difference in evening out the colours of the skin tone but the skin looks very rough/grainy with so many little marks on the face i'm not sure I could spot remove them all.

How do I make the skin on my pic more 'smooth'? I have included the pic I am working on as well as an example picture of which I would like mine to look like in terms of skin tone/texture. Thank you!

You can do this via frequency seperation.

There are plenty of tutorials on youtube...

With frequency seperation you can smooth out the skin much more then your example, if needed.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=frequency+seperation

Babine Veteran Member • Posts: 8,039