Looking to upgrade from Sony DSC-RX10 iv

Started 2 months ago | Discussions
Brendan_D New Member • Posts: 1
Looking to upgrade from Sony DSC-RX10 iv

Hello all…

I've been using a Sony DSC-RX10 iv since early 2018, primarily for sports photography with my Son's sports team.

It's an absolutely superb camera when in good daylight, and if you're able to get alongside the play - the huge zoom captures pin-sharp action portraits, with the autofocus doing a great job of keeping up.

But as the teams become teenagers, the players are getting faster, the pitches are getting bigger and the games are sometimes under lights – and in all of these contexts, this camera struggles.

What's the best option to get a bit more zoom, a bit more tolerance for lower-light conditions, and a slightly faster auto focus?

From my initial research, I seem to have to make big leaps in price – I'm working towards a budget of €4,000 (under $5,000), but would be thrilled if I can achieve better results for a lower price than that!

2trackdog New Member • Posts: 3
Re: Looking to upgrade from Sony DSC-RX10 iv

I see your in uk?  I have same camera been using at dirt track racing here in us.  Like you said it works great in good light but struggle the rest.  Do you like sony menu system?  My wife primarily uses a nikon d7500 with a 2.8 zoom and has no problems in low light.  Another photographer we know uses d500 and another just switched to the z6ii and loves it.  I prefer nikon to sony but would choose sony over canon myself for budget sports cameras.

Craig Gillette Forum Pro • Posts: 11,379
Re: Looking to upgrade from Sony DSC-RX10 iv

Odd that this seems to have slipped by. There are a couple of ways to go with this which might work for you. There are some trade-offs to consider when approaching a "replacement," too.  As you surmised, part of the trade-off is spending more money.  So, some thoughts.

Brendan_D wrote:

Hello all…