New zoom lens vs teleconverter extender for sports photography

Started 2 months ago | Discussions
Neen303 New Member • Posts: 3
New zoom lens vs teleconverter extender for sports photography

I’m a VERY amateur Mum photographer of my (adult) kids’ sports - mostly field hockey. I currently photograph their games with my Canon EOS 60D with a Canon EF 70-200mm 2.8 L USM lens that I’ve owned for seven or eight years.

While I’m mostly happy with the shots I take, I’m thinking about trying to buy something with a longer zoom. Spending thousands to buy a 400mm+ zoom is out of the question - I’m looking at the very cheap end of the market.

So, I’m trying to decide between buying a Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III Lens or getting a Canon 1.4x EF Teleconverter Extender Mark III to use with my existing lens. The extender is about double the price of the 75-300mm lens, but I’ve read good reviews about using it with L series zoom lenses like the one I already have.

The question is, am I wasting my time (and money!) thinking about either of these solutions? Will the increase to 300mm come at the expense of image quality if I buy that lens? What about the extender? Is it a reasonable solution to achieving what I want, with less loss of quality than using a cheap lens? Or do I just stick with my 70-200mm and try to manoeuvre myself closer to the action?

Thanks in advance for your opinions and advice!

Janine

Canon EOS 60D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Scott Larson Veteran Member • Posts: 6,930
Re: New zoom lens vs teleconverter extender for sports photography

If you're shooting with the Mark II version of the Canon 70-200mm f2.8 then that lens works great with a 1.4X teleconverter. I've been using that combo with soccer. The photos might be a little soft on a 1.6X crop camera though.

Scott Larson's gear list:Scott Larson's gear list