Sigma 45mm 2.8 communication/focusing issue

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
Mark Ahn Junior Member • Posts: 32
Sigma 45mm 2.8 communication/focusing issue

Just got the 45mm 2.8, mounted it on my S5, and none of the focusing function works...not even manual focus.  Initially, the aperture info communicated with the camera as I turned the ring, but after a couple of times of re-mounting the lens, that function stopped as well.  I checked the firmware just for grins, and it won't read that info either (shows only dashes, like this  -.-)

So no-brainer that it's a faulty lens?  Or am I missing something?  Anyone experience something similar with any of the Sigma lenses?   I'm new to the L-Mount and only have the 20-60 lens so far, which works perfectly.

Mark Ahn's gear list:Mark Ahn's gear list
Fujifilm X100F Ricoh GR III Panasonic GH5 Fujifilm X-T3 Fujifilm XF 35mm F1.4 R +4 more
JDLaing50 Senior Member • Posts: 2,522
Re: Sigma 45mm 2.8 communication/focusing issue

Mark Ahn wrote:

Just got the 45mm 2.8, mounted it on my S5, and none of the focusing function works...not even manual focus. Initially, the aperture info communicated with the camera as I turned the ring, but after a couple of times of re-mounting the lens, that function stopped as well. I checked the firmware just for grins, and it won't read that info either (shows only dashes, like this -.-)

So no-brainer that it's a faulty lens? Or am I missing something? Anyone experience something similar with any of the Sigma lenses? I'm new to the L-Mount and only have the 20-60 lens so far, which works perfectly.

It sounds like a faulty lens if the 20-60 works.

Have you tried a camera reset?

JDLaing50's gear list:JDLaing50's gear list
Sony RX1R II Olympus PEN-F Leica M-P (Typ 240) Voigtlander 50mm F1.5 Nokton Sigma 45mm F2.8 DG DN +6 more
OP Mark Ahn Junior Member • Posts: 32

JDLaing50 wrote: