From D800E user need advice

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
Harry799 New Member • Posts: 20
From D800E user need advice

Hi guys, I love to read comments on DPreview forum since 2010. I am a hobbiest photographer, and a retired businessman,  my subject mostly landscape some times potrait, family and models. ...Thinking for upgrading my D800E for better result, but so far still not sure, as I am still happy with D800E result, only if comparing autofocus to newer model I do agree AF on D800E is already outdated. Anyone can giving advice ?

Do I need to upgrade now ? or not. I had a big hand, and do feel the uncomfortable of handling that Z6/Z7, weight of DSLR so far not borthering me.

If I need to upgrade, what model is better for my need to D810 or go straight to D850 or even need to consider the mirrorless Z7 or Z7II ?

Hope I got some respond and good advice  Thanks before guys.

MOD TOF guy Forum Pro • Posts: 16,128
Re: From D800E user need advice

You have several options to consider:

• Continue with the D800e, why break what's working?
  • A used D810, which for *me* was a significant upgrade over the D800e
  • A D850
  • The D850's successor is supposed to be out this year, so wait for that camera to be out (caveat: it's a very plausible rumor but still just a rumor)
  • The Z7II

My *personal* choice would be between the last 2: since you're happy with the D800e, waiting a few months should not be a problem. You can at that time get an even better dSLR. Besides, the D850 price will then come down if you still decide to go that way.