Why is my canon m50 never able to take good pictures indoors

Started 3 months ago | Questions
Thanu New Member • Posts: 1
Why is my canon m50 never able to take good pictures indoors

Hello.  I am a new photographer and desperately looking for help.

I work at a veterinary clinic and I need to take pictures for our website gallery, social media etc.

I have the kit lens at the moment, but I am ready to spend a little to get another lens. (again looking for recommendations as I do not know much about lenses)

Obviously, vet clinic means indoors, and pets move all the time. Therefore I cannot afford to go below 200 shutter speed for dogs.

At this shutter speed, even if the room has okay lighting, I get blurry pictures always.

ISO is usually above 800

And f, at the minimum available 3.5

Now, sometimes the camera captures faces of staff who are standing beside animals sharply, but the faces of the animals are blurry or out of focus.

What am I doing wrong? Please help

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Canon EOS M50 (EOS Kiss M)
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Clickalot
Clickalot Contributing Member • Posts: 591
Re: Why is my canon m50 never able to take good pictures indoors

As an M5 user I'd recommend a good external flash unit like the Canon EL100. The minuscule flash tube built into our cameras is worse than a joke.

MOD Labe Forum Pro • Posts: 12,056

It’s not the camera’s fault. 
 It’s your understanding of photography that is causing you this frustration.

Without buying new equipment you will need to use much higher iso like 3200-6400 when using a kit lens and use good processing software to sharpen up and reduce noise in the images.

second option is add lighting which could be problematic with some animals.