Lightroom for M1 MacBook

Started 3 months ago | Questions
rainydiary Regular Member • Posts: 288
Lightroom for M1 MacBook

Hi all

Does we able acess  Lightroom classic under Rosetta ?

Is Lightroom optimized for M1 was same as Lightroom use in Ipad ?

Thank

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Greybeard2017
Greybeard2017 Senior Member • Posts: 1,725
Re: Lightroom for M1 MacBook

rainydiary wrote:

Hi all

Does we able acess Lightroom classic under Rosetta ?

Yes

Is Lightroom optimized for M1 was same as Lightroom use in Ipad ?

No

Thank

 Greybeard2017's gear list:Greybeard2017's gear list
Fujifilm X-T3 Fujifilm X-T30 Fujifilm X-S10
Tom_N Forum Pro • Posts: 18,679
Re: Lightroom for M1 MacBook

rainydiary wrote:

Hi all

Does we able acess Lightroom classic under Rosetta ?

Adobe – Do Adobe apps work on Apple computers that use the M1 chip?

Yes, if you're on one of the Photography Plans and running the current version (10.x).  There are some known issues with that version, whether running on Intel-based Macs or M1-based ones.

Is Lightroom optimized for M1 was same as Lightroom use in Ipad ?

No.  Lightroom (cloud version) for M1-based Macs is a recompiled version of Lightroom (cloud version) for Intel-based Macs.

graybalanced Veteran Member • Posts: 6,890
Re: Lightroom for M1 MacBook

rainydiary wrote:

Does we able acess Lightroom classic under Rosetta ?

Yes, many people have tested this on Youtube, where it is shown that some operations are faster on an M1 than on Intel, even through Rosetta. However, some things are slower, But it all seems to work.

Is Lightroom optimized for M1 was same as Lightroom use in Ipad ?

Yes, because the Mac Lightroom optimized for M1 is the same cloud based feature set like Lightroom on iPad. It is not the same exact code, but that is only a technical distinction. It is the same feature set and they will fully sync to each other. It is not the Classic feature set.

If you are asking if the iPad version runs on the Mac or vice versa, the answer is no, because it is not exactly the same code. You must use the version for your machine.

Lightroom Classic for M1 is supposed to be out this year (2021). They did not say which month...

OP rainydiary Regular Member • Posts: 288
Re: Lightroom for M1 MacBook

graybalanced wrote:

rainydiary wrote:

Does we able acess Lightroom classic under Rosetta ?

Yes, many people have tested this on Youtube, where it is shown that some operations are faster on an M1 than on Intel, even through Rosetta. However, some things are slower, But it all seems to work.

Is Lightroom optimized for M1 was same as Lightroom use in Ipad ?

Yes, because the Mac Lightroom optimized for M1 is the same cloud based feature set like Lightroom on iPad. It is not the same exact code, but that is only a technical distinction. It is the same feature set and they will fully sync to each other. It is not the Classic feature set.

If you are asking if the iPad version runs on the Mac or vice versa, the answer is no, because it is not exactly the same code. You must use the version for your machine.

Lightroom Classic for M1 is supposed to be out this year (2021). They did not say which month...

Whether Lightroom Cloud and Lightroom Classic both have same feature ?

Thank

graybalanced Veteran Member • Posts: 6,890
Re: Lightroom for M1 MacBook

rainydiary wrote:

Whether Lightroom Cloud and Lightroom Classic both have same feature ?

No. They are very different. With Classic you keep your photos on your computer. With Cloud you keep your photos on Adobe cloud servers. Cloud has fewer features.

Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads