What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
vett93
vett93 Veteran Member • Posts: 5,075
What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?

I have been using LR Classic and Luminar products for a few years. I use LR Classic as the DAM and basic editing tool. If I need more advanced editing tools, I'll use the plug-ins from PortraitPro, Luminar 4, Topaz, On1, etc. Since I own Luminar 4 already, I am contemplating dropping LRC subscription and using Luminar 4 in its place.

What functions will I lose if I go with Luminar 4? I don't put keywords to images. Instead, I have learned to archive the images (e.g., using hierarchical folders) so that I can find them without too much trouble.

Is there a reason for me to keep LR Classic? I don't mind paying the subscription for LRC if it adds value.

-- hide signature --

"Keep calm and take photos"
Photography enthusiast, from 12mm to 600mm
Mac Pro 6,1 10-core/64GB RAM/2TB SSD/24" 27" 32" 43" monitors

 vett93's gear list:vett93's gear list
Sony a9 Sony a7R III Sony a6500 Apple iPhone 11 Pro
terrydev Regular Member • Posts: 348
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
5

The DAM. Luminar is nowhere near as sophisticated an photo manager

The Processing tools.

The difference between software created and managed by a long established leader in the field and being an new arrival with a poor record in promise delivery.

Does Luminar 4 accept plug-ins?

There are plenty of other apps you could replace LRC with. I wouldn't see Luminar 4 as a likely candidate.

vett93
OP vett93 Veteran Member • Posts: 5,075
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?

terrydev wrote:

The DAM. Luminar is nowhere near as sophisticated an photo manager

The Processing tools.

The difference between software created and managed by a long established leader in the field and being an new arrival with a poor record in promise delivery.

Does Luminar 4 accept plug-ins?

There are plenty of other apps you could replace LRC with. I wouldn't see Luminar 4 as a likely candidate.

Yes, Luminar 4 accepts plug-ins. I also have On1 2020 RAW. But it is quite slow.

Can you give specific functions that I will lose if I switch from LRC to Luminar 4?

-- hide signature --

"Keep calm and take photos"
Photography enthusiast, from 12mm to 600mm
Mac Pro 6,1 10-core/64GB RAM/2TB SSD/24" 27" 32" 43" monitors

 vett93's gear list:vett93's gear list
Sony a9 Sony a7R III Sony a6500 Apple iPhone 11 Pro
EMs1950 Regular Member • Posts: 275
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
6

You will lose the most important thing that a serious program like Lightroom CC offers. The confidence to still be able to use the database the day after tomorrow, to correct editing steps ...

Instead of stable features you'll get a lot of empty promises that will be forgotten tomorrow.

By the way: Luminar 4 is no longer under development. The current product Luminar AI cannot use the Luminar 4 database

Need to say more?

-- hide signature --

Best Regard
EMs1950

John_Hoffman
John_Hoffman Senior Member • Posts: 1,960
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
3

EMs1950 wrote:

You will lose the most important thing that a serious program like Lightroom CC offers. The confidence to still be able to use the database the day after tomorrow, to correct editing steps ...

Instead of stable features, you'll get a lot of empty promises that will be forgotten tomorrow.

By the way: Luminar 4 is no longer under development. The current product Luminar AI cannot use the Luminar 4 database

Need to say more?

Luminar has a history of abandoning one product and bringing out a brand new one.

Luminar 3, Luminar 4, Flex (supposed to be a Lightroom plugin), all abandoned now that AI is out.

-- hide signature --

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

 John_Hoffman's gear list:John_Hoffman's gear list
Canon EOS-1D X Mark III Canon EF 100mm F2.8L Macro IS USM Canon EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS II USM Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM Canon EF 24mm f/2.8 IS USM +9 more
vett93
OP vett93 Veteran Member • Posts: 5,075
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
1

EMs1950 wrote:

You will lose the most important thing that a serious program like Lightroom CC offers. The confidence to still be able to use the database the day after tomorrow, to correct editing steps ...

Instead of stable features you'll get a lot of empty promises that will be forgotten tomorrow.

By the way: Luminar 4 is no longer under development. The current product Luminar AI cannot use the Luminar 4 database

Need to say more?

Good point!

Can Luminar AI take Luminar 4's database and convert it to a form that can be used by Luminar AI?

-- hide signature --

"Keep calm and take photos"
Photography enthusiast, from 12mm to 600mm
Mac Pro 6,1 10-core/64GB RAM/2TB SSD/24" 27" 32" 43" monitors

 vett93's gear list:vett93's gear list
Sony a9 Sony a7R III Sony a6500 Apple iPhone 11 Pro
Lloyd O'Daniel Regular Member • Posts: 481
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
1

Similar to what you would lose going from a SUV to a tricycle.

Lloyd O'Daniel Regular Member • Posts: 481
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
1

No. Luminar 4’s database has been totally orphaned.

vett93
OP vett93 Veteran Member • Posts: 5,075
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
1

Lloyd O'Daniel wrote:

No. Luminar 4’s database has been totally orphaned.

No wonder people are angry at the company. This is totally amateur.

-- hide signature --

"Keep calm and take photos"
Photography enthusiast, from 12mm to 600mm
Mac Pro 6,1 10-core/64GB RAM/2TB SSD/24" 27" 32" 43" monitors

 vett93's gear list:vett93's gear list
Sony a9 Sony a7R III Sony a6500 Apple iPhone 11 Pro
KCook
KCook Forum Pro • Posts: 19,335
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?

Luminar3 is fun, but too hit-and-miss for me to make it my primary editor.

I use LR Classic as the DAM and basic editing tool. If I need more advanced editing tools, I'll use the plug-ins from PortraitPro, Luminar 4, Topaz, On1

So you don't think On1 would be a viable LR replacement?

Kelly Cook
(ACDSee, Affinity, ART, Darktable, Luminar3)

 KCook's gear list:KCook's gear list
Canon EOS 50D Olympus PEN E-P5 Panasonic G85
Dsnoir
Dsnoir Senior Member • Posts: 1,094
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?

I'm not sure I will continue with Luminar products, their Ai programme is astoundingly slow.

-- hide signature --

GAS - Get Another Sony

 Dsnoir's gear list:Dsnoir's gear list
Sony FE 24-70mm F4 OSS Sony FE 90mm F2.8 macro Tamron 17-28mm F2.8 Di III RXD Sony FE 200-600 F5.6-6.3 +4 more
vett93
OP vett93 Veteran Member • Posts: 5,075
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
2

KCook wrote:

Luminar3 is fun, but too hit-and-miss for me to make it my primary editor.

I use LR Classic as the DAM and basic editing tool. If I need more advanced editing tools, I'll use the plug-ins from PortraitPro, Luminar 4, Topaz, On1

So you don't think On1 would be a viable LR replacement?

Kelly Cook
(ACDSee, Affinity, ART, Darktable, Luminar3)

I have On1 2020 RAW. It is quite slow compared to other photo editing tools. It does not seem to allow plugins from other apps either.

-- hide signature --

"Keep calm and take photos"
Photography enthusiast, from 12mm to 600mm
Mac Pro 6,1 10-core/64GB RAM/2TB SSD/24" 27" 32" 43" monitors

 vett93's gear list:vett93's gear list
Sony a9 Sony a7R III Sony a6500 Apple iPhone 11 Pro
terrydev Regular Member • Posts: 348
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?

It does not seem to allow plugins from other apps either.

It can send and receive images to/from other apps quite easily:

https://on1help.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360023035531-Where-do-I-Launch-External-Editors-Plugins-Inside-of-ON1-Photo-RAW-

Scott Spain Regular Member • Posts: 157
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?
1

KCook wrote:

So you don't think On1 would be a viable LR replacement?

Kelly Cook
(ACDSee, Affinity, ART, Darktable, Luminar3)

Kelly,

I recently moved from LRCC to On1. It's considerably slower, and crashes much more, but so far it's worth it. The editing is way beyond what Lightroom can do alone.

-- hide signature --

Scott

vett93
OP vett93 Veteran Member • Posts: 5,075
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?

terrydev wrote:

It does not seem to allow plugins from other apps either.

It can send and receive images to/from other apps quite easily:

https://on1help.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360023035531-Where-do-I-Launch-External-Editors-Plugins-Inside-of-ON1-Photo-RAW-

It looks like that On1 can send to external editors only in Browse mode. With LR Classic, you can edit the images first and then invoke external editors to continue.

Can you do that with On1? If not, it is not very useful.

-- hide signature --

"Keep calm and take photos"
Photography enthusiast, from 12mm to 600mm
Mac Pro 6,1 10-core/64GB RAM/2TB SSD/24" 27" 32" 43" monitors

 vett93's gear list:vett93's gear list
Sony a9 Sony a7R III Sony a6500 Apple iPhone 11 Pro
vett93
OP vett93 Veteran Member • Posts: 5,075
Re: What do I lose for switching from LRC to Luminar 4?

Scott Spain wrote:

KCook wrote:

So you don't think On1 would be a viable LR replacement?

Kelly Cook
(ACDSee, Affinity, ART, Darktable, Luminar3)

Kelly,

I recently moved from LRCC to On1. It's considerably slower, and crashes much more, but so far it's worth it. The editing is way beyond what Lightroom can do alone.

I have used the various versions of On1. It has improved over the years. But I think it is best used as a plug-in, as opposed to being the main editor.

-- hide signature --

"Keep calm and take photos"
Photography enthusiast, from 12mm to 600mm
Mac Pro 6,1 10-core/64GB RAM/2TB SSD/24" 27" 32" 43" monitors

 vett93's gear list:vett93's gear list
Sony a9 Sony a7R III Sony a6500 Apple iPhone 11 Pro
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads