Lightroom auto white balance

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
Henry Richardson Forum Pro • Posts: 19,131
Lightroom auto white balance

There is something that I have been somewhat perplexed about for years.  I have been using Lightroom for 10 years and for the last 4 years I have had the subscription plan so I have the latest version of Classic.  The auto white balance setting is awful and always has been.  While adjusting white balance in Lightroom for my raw files I will usually give it a try just to see what it will do.  I don't think I have ever seen it give even a half way decent result a single time in a decade.  Not even close.

In contrast, the auto white balance setting of my Olympus, Panasonic, Canon, Sony, etc. cameras is usually pretty good, often great.  The algorithm used by various camera companies is much better than the one in Lightroom, but why is that?

-- hide signature --

Henry Richardson
http://www.bakubo.com

Dareshooter Veteran Member • Posts: 4,904
Re: Lightroom auto white balance

I never bother using it for reasons which you pointed out.I just use the eye dropper where possible or adjust the WB via the eyeball method with the temperature slider.

Tom Axford Veteran Member • Posts: 7,701

Henry Richardson wrote:

There is something that I have been somewhat perplexed about for years. I have been using Lightroom for 10 years and for the last 4 years I have had the subscription plan so I have the latest version of Classic. The auto white balance setting is awful and always has been. While adjusting white balance in Lightroom for my raw files I will usually give it a try just to see what it will do. I don't think I have ever seen it give even a half way decent result a single time in a decade. Not even close.