Canon FD 75-200 multicolored spots on the glass

Started 5 months ago | Questions
dibya12 New Member • Posts: 16
Canon FD 75-200 multicolored spots on the glass

Hi, I recently bought a canon FD 75-210 f4.5 lens from eBay auction, I'm relatively new to the old lens market. Upon arrival I noticed that the lens s rear element has a patch, I'm not sure if it's something temporary like fungus or permanent damage. I dropped a note to the seller mentioning this since he mentioned that the lens has no marks and clean. I'm planning on dismantling and cleaning it( I have few other lenses that I need to clean as well) , would really appreciate if someone could say what is it and how bad will it impact the photos. Is it worth dismantling and cleaning the lens or not?

Here's how it looks, it's inside the rear element group

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Smaug01
MOD Smaug01 Veteran Member • Posts: 5,367
Looks like a fingerprint

...if it doesn't come off with hot breath and a gentle touch with a microfiber cloth, send it back. (assuming it was advertised inaccurately)

-- hide signature --

-Jeremy
"Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength."
-Eric Hoffer
Opinions expressed are mine and not necessarily DPR's

Smaug01's gear list:Smaug01's gear list
Pentax MX-1 Panasonic FZ1000 Panasonic Lumix DMC-TS30 Nikon D610 Olympus OM-D E-M10 III +33 more
DenverSteve Contributing Member • Posts: 658
Re: Canon FD 75-200 multicolored spots on the glass

That is a fungus. Whether it's reparable, or not, I can't say. Just the area inside the hood would have eliminated the lens for me.  It looks like it's either extremely dirty or has been wet. Hopefully you got it cheap. Rules on used lens purchases for me are: No fungus, No separation, No haze, No damage.

-- hide signature --

It's just my educated opinion. Don't get bent out of shape.
Steve

DenverSteve's gear list:DenverSteve's gear list