Missing Aperture

Started 6 months ago | Discussions
Huxmiller New Member • Posts: 4
Missing Aperture

I am running Big Sur, and using Photos.  I had used Aperture for many years before being forced to switch to Photos.  I don't mind Photos.  I think it does an adequate job for me, an amateur.  My problem is that now I can't find my Aperture files.  Nor for that matter, can I find my iPhoto files, used before Aperture.  Of course I tried to migrate my Aperture files to Photos as instructed, but I could never make it work.  I eventually stopped trying because I became so frustrated and angry I was afraid I would smash my laptop.

Now, older, wiser and calmer I thought I would make another attempt.

No go.  I can't even find any files from before 2016.  Aggravating, because when I used Aperture I new exactly where all my files were.  And I've been shooting digitally since about 2005.  A lot of files to lose.

Thanks, Apple.

robgendreau Veteran Member • Posts: 8,364
Re: Missing Aperture

Huxmiller wrote:

I am running Big Sur, and using Photos. I had used Aperture for many years before being forced to switch to Photos. I don't mind Photos. I think it does an adequate job for me, an amateur. My problem is that now I can't find my Aperture files. Nor for that matter, can I find my iPhoto files, used before Aperture. Of course I tried to migrate my Aperture files to Photos as instructed, but I could never make it work. I eventually stopped trying because I became so frustrated and angry I was afraid I would smash my laptop.

No go. I can't even find any files from before 2016. Aggravating, because when I used Aperture I new exactly where all my files were. And I've been shooting digitally since about 2005. A lot of files to lose.

Thanks, Apple.

It's been dead for years, but I think the extension was .aplibrary. So what happens when you search for that?

If you can't find any of your pre 2016 files, then you've got other problems.

What about your backups?