ZEISS Milvus 50mm f/1.4

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
jwpnyc Junior Member • Posts: 47
ZEISS Milvus 50mm f/1.4

I am thinking of buying Zeiss Milvus 50 f/1.4 lens. But I am not good at manual focusing. If I understand it correctly, I can hold the back button AF-ON on my Canon 5D IV and hear the beep once the Milvus is in focus. This way is much easy to focus manually. Please let me know.

Here is a photo to show the bottom of Milvus 50mm

jwpnyc's gear list:jwpnyc's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark IV Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM Canon EF 24-70mm F2.8L II USM Canon EF 16-35mm F4L IS USM Canon EF 35mm F1.4L II USM +1 more
Canon EOS 5D Mark IV
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Blind Bill
Blind Bill Contributing Member • Posts: 988
Re: ZEISS Milvus 50mm f/1.4

I recently sold my 5D III but I learned to use the focus light in the view finder.  It was pretty accurate too in that model but I'm not sure what the 5D IV gives you. I own the Zeiss Milvus 50 f/2 Macro - it is a wonderful lens (as is the 50 1.4).  For me, I think the hardest part about these lenses is you have to force yourself to slow down, think about your composition and focus.  I also use my tripod on a majority of my shooting with all my Zeiss MF lenses. Once you master focus you're going to be very happy with the quality of your images.

Blind Bill's gear list:Blind Bill's gear list
Sony a7R III Carl Zeiss Apo Sonnar T* 2/135 Zeiss Milvus 15mm F2.8 Zeiss Milvus 50mm F2 Macro Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM +1 more
OP jwpnyc Junior Member • Posts: 47

Thanks for replying!

So, did you use autofocus to assist manual focus? Does the Milvus have the function and let you use autofocus as an assistant?

Canon EOS 5D Mark IV Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM Canon EF 24-70mm F2.8L II USM Canon EF 16-35mm F4L IS USM Canon EF 35mm F1.4L II USM +1 more
Blind Bill

jwpnyc wrote:

Thanks for replying!