OLY MFT -> Fuji X-S10 - First Impressions

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
LarsPolarBear
LarsPolarBear Contributing Member • Posts: 554
OLY MFT -> Fuji X-S10 - First Impressions

This thread is mostly aimed at m43 shooters that are looking for an alternative (especially after the Oly sale to JIP) and might consider the Fuji X-S10.

I have been shooting Oly m43 (16 MP) for 6 years and I enjoyed the experience of having a competent and small camera system.  I had bought the Pen E-PL7 for its small size, light weight (travel and street), the availability of a small long lens for wildlife (Oly 75-300mm) and the availability of a small, quality and well thought through underwater housing for scuba diving.

However, I have now outgrown the camera and lenses and was looking for some time for an alternative.  I did patiently wait for the OMD E-M5 III, but was underwhelmed by it and thought is was totally overpriced for its abilities... ...but then, suddenly out of nowhere the X-S10 appeared and I was immediately fascinated by it, it ticked sooo many of my boxes, that I went and bought it even though it just came to market (which I don't tend to do) and there is no underwater casing available (yet).

So, What did I get? To replicate my current system I got the following:

- Fuji X-S10 with 16-80 f4 kit lens for hiking, travel and general shooting;

- Fuji 100-400mm f4.5-5.6 for wildlife (local and international travel) and hiking;

- Fuji 23mm f2 for low light and street photography.

So, I have spend a week with it now and have only started to get used to it, therfore this is NOT review, but just a first impressions account.  Ones first reaction to something new are often the most honest reactions and less tainted by overthinking, therfore I thought it might be useful for others in a similar situation.

Arrival of the boxes: